DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communication filed on April 3, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed March 19, 2026 was received and has been considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, with respect to claims 1, 8 and 15, that Ryoki does not disclose, teach or suggest that in the peripheral region of the semiconductor device, at least a portion of the compound semiconductor layer is covered with a protective film.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ryoki teaches that in the peripheral region of the semiconductor device, at least a portion of the compound semiconductor layer (202) is covered with a protective film (The compound semiconductor layer (202) is covered with a planarization layer (209), which is an “inorganic insulating film such as silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, and silicon nitride, or an organic insulating film such as resin”, as detailed in paragraph 0017 of Ryoki and shown in figure 2A.).
Therefore, the rejection is maintained by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryoki (US 2016/0093657).
Consider claim 1, Ryoki teaches:
A semiconductor device (see figures 2A and 2B), comprising:
an upper section including a compound semiconductor layer (The photoelectric conversion film (202) is a “compound semiconductor layer”, as detailed in paragraph 0019.) and a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (i.e. the photoelectric conversion units (220) of pixels (PIX), figure 2A, paragraph 0018); and
a lower section (wiring structure, 201, substrate, 200, figure 2A, paragraph 0017) including a plurality of circuits (“The substrate 200 includes, for example, a silicon substrate, and includes an element such as a transistor formed thereon. In the present embodiment, the elements include a storage capacitor 205, an amplification transistor 208, and a reset transistor 207. These elements constitute the reading circuit of the pixel PIX.” paragraph 0017), the upper section and the lower section (201, 200) being stacked (see figure 2A) and each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (220) and each of the plurality of circuits being coupled via electrodes (e.g. via first electrodes, 203, paragraph 0018, see figure 2A),
wherein, in a peripheral region of the semiconductor device (see figures 2A and 2B), a voltage is applied to at least one of the plurality of the photoelectric conversion portions (i.e. by applying a voltage (ΦVp) to a second electrode (204) of at least one of the photoelectric conversion portions (220), paragraphs 0024 and 0025); and
wherein, in the peripheral region of the semiconductor device, at least a portion of the compound semiconductor layer (202) is covered with a protective film (The compound semiconductor layer (202) is covered with a planarization layer (209), which is an “inorganic insulating film such as silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, and silicon nitride, or an organic insulating film such as resin”, as detailed in paragraph 0017 of Ryoki and shown in figure 2A.).
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Ryoki further teaches that in the peripheral region of the semiconductor device (see figures 2A and 2B), at least a portion of the compound semiconductor layer (202) is covered with a metal film (second electrode, 204, paragraph 0018).
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 2 above, Ryoki further teaches that the voltage (ΦVp) is applied to the metal film (204, see paragraph 0024).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Ryoki further teaches that the compound semiconductor layer (202) includes gallium arsenide (GaAs) (“As still another exemplary material for the photoelectric conversion film 202, the quantum dot layer includes, for example, a buffer material such as ALGAAS or GAAS” paragraph 0019).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 2 above, Ryoki further teaches that the metal film (204) is selected from the group that includes tungsten (W), aluminum (Al) and gold (Au) (“the second electrode 204 include, for example, aluminum” paragraph 0018).
Consider claim 8, Ryoki teaches:
A semiconductor device (see figures 2A and 2B), comprising:
a compound semiconductor layer (The photoelectric conversion film (202) is a “compound semiconductor layer”, as detailed in paragraph 0019.) and a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (i.e. the photoelectric conversion units (220) of pixels (PIX), figure 2A, paragraph 0018); and
a silicon substrate (wiring structure, 201, substrate, 200, figure 2A, paragraph 0017) including a plurality of circuits (“The substrate 200 includes, for example, a silicon substrate, and includes an element such as a transistor formed thereon. In the present embodiment, the elements include a storage capacitor 205, an amplification transistor 208, and a reset transistor 207. These elements constitute the reading circuit of the pixel PIX.” paragraph 0017), the compound semiconductor layer (202) and the silicon substrate (201, 200) being stacked (see figure 2A), and each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (220) and each of the plurality of circuits being coupled via electrodes (e.g. via first electrodes, 203, paragraph 0018, see figure 2A),
wherein, in a peripheral region of the semiconductor device (see figures 2A and 2B), a voltage is applied to at least one of the plurality of the photoelectric conversion portions (i.e. by applying a voltage (ΦVp) to a second electrode (204) of at least one of the photoelectric conversion portions (220), paragraphs 0024 and 0025); and
wherein, in the peripheral region of the semiconductor device, at least a portion of the compound semiconductor layer (202) is covered with a protective film (The compound semiconductor layer (202) is covered with a planarization layer (209), which is an “inorganic insulating film such as silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, and silicon nitride, or an organic insulating film such as resin”, as detailed in paragraph 0017 of Ryoki and shown in figure 2A.).
Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 8 above, Ryoki further teaches that in the peripheral region of the semiconductor device (see figures 2A and 2B), at least a portion of the compound semiconductor layer (202) is covered with a metal film (second electrode, 204, paragraph 0018).
Consider claim 10, and as applied to claim 9 above, Ryoki further teaches that the voltage (ΦVp) is applied to the metal film (204, see paragraph 0024).
Consider claim 11, and as applied to claim 8 above, Ryoki further teaches that the compound semiconductor layer (202) includes gallium arsenide (GaAs) (“As still another exemplary material for the photoelectric conversion film 202, the quantum dot layer includes, for example, a buffer material such as ALGAAS or GAAS” paragraph 0019).
Consider claim 12, and as applied to claim 9 above, Ryoki further teaches that the metal film (204) is selected from the group that includes tungsten (W), aluminum (Al) and gold (Au) (“the second electrode 204 include, for example, aluminum” paragraph 0018).
Consider claim 15, Ryoki teaches:
A semiconductor device (see figures 2A and 2B), comprising:
an upper section including a compound semiconductor layer (The photoelectric conversion film (202) is a “compound semiconductor layer”, as detailed in paragraph 0019.) and a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (i.e. the photoelectric conversion units (220) of pixels (PIX), figure 2A, paragraph 0018); and
a lower section (wiring structure, 201, substrate, 200, figure 2A, paragraph 0017) including a plurality of circuits (“The substrate 200 includes, for example, a silicon substrate, and includes an element such as a transistor formed thereon. In the present embodiment, the elements include a storage capacitor 205, an amplification transistor 208, and a reset transistor 207. These elements constitute the reading circuit of the pixel PIX.” paragraph 0017), the upper section and the lower section (201, 200) being stacked (see figure 2A) and each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (220) and each of the plurality of circuits being coupled via electrodes (e.g. via first electrodes, 203, paragraph 0018, see figure 2A),
wherein, in a peripheral region of the semiconductor device (see figures 2A and 2B), at least a portion of the compound semiconductor layer (202) is covered with a protective film (The compound semiconductor layer (202) is covered with a planarization layer (209, i.e. protective film), which is an “inorganic insulating film such as silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, and silicon nitride, or an organic insulating film such as resin”, as detailed in paragraph 0017 of Ryoki and shown in figure 2A.) and a metal film (The compound semiconductor layer (202) is covered with an upper electrode film (204, paragraph 0018) which is comprised of aluminum (paragraph 0018).).
Consider claim 16, and as applied to claim 15 above, Ryoki further teaches that the voltage (ΦVp) is applied to the metal film (204, see paragraph 0024).
Consider claim 17, and as applied to claim 15 above, Ryoki further teaches that the compound semiconductor layer (202) includes gallium arsenide (GaAs) (“As still another exemplary material for the photoelectric conversion film 202, the quantum dot layer includes, for example, a buffer material such as ALGAAS or GAAS” paragraph 0019).
Consider claim 18, and as applied to claim 15 above, Ryoki further teaches that the metal film (204) is selected from the group that includes tungsten (W), aluminum (Al) and gold (Au) (“the second electrode 204 include, for example, aluminum” paragraph 0018).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 13, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoki (US 2016/0093657) in view of Nagano et al. (US 2014/0291486).
Consider claims 6 and 7, and as applied to claim 1 above, Ryoki does not explicitly teach that the electrodes include bump electrodes provided between connection electrodes.
Nagano et al. similarly teaches a semiconductor device (figure 2) including a light detection element (10A) connected to a mounting substrate (20, paragraphs 0026, 0027 and 0043) via electrodes (E7, BE, E9, paragraphs 0032, 0036, 0039 and 0041).
However, Nagano et al. additionally teaches that the electrodes include bump electrodes (bump electrodes, BE, paragraphs 0041 and 0042) provided between connection electrodes (E7 and E9, see figure 2, paragraph 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electrodes taught by Ryoki include bump electrodes provided between connection electrodes as taught by Nagano et al. as this simply involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as enabling readout of image signals for signal processing (Nagano et al., paragraph 0045).
Consider claims 13 and 14, and as applied to claim 8 above, Ryoki does not explicitly teach that the electrodes include bump electrodes provided between connection electrodes.
Nagano et al. similarly teaches a semiconductor device (figure 2) including a light detection element (10A) connected to a mounting substrate (20, paragraphs 0026, 0027 and 0043) via electrodes (E7, BE, E9, paragraphs 0032, 0036, 0039 and 0041).
However, Nagano et al. additionally teaches that the electrodes include bump electrodes (bump electrodes, BE, paragraphs 0041 and 0042) provided between connection electrodes (E7 and E9, see figure 2, paragraph 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electrodes taught by Ryoki include bump electrodes provided between connection electrodes as taught by Nagano et al. as this simply involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as enabling readout of image signals for signal processing (Nagano et al., paragraph 0045).
Consider claims 19 and 20, and as applied to claim 15 above, Ryoki does not explicitly teach that the electrodes include bump electrodes provided between connection electrodes.
Nagano et al. similarly teaches a semiconductor device (figure 2) including a light detection element (10A) connected to a mounting substrate (20, paragraphs 0026, 0027 and 0043) via electrodes (E7, BE, E9, paragraphs 0032, 0036, 0039 and 0041).
However, Nagano et al. additionally teaches that the electrodes include bump electrodes (bump electrodes, BE, paragraphs 0041 and 0042) provided between connection electrodes (E7 and E9, see figure 2, paragraph 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electrodes taught by Ryoki include bump electrodes provided between connection electrodes as taught by Nagano et al. as this simply involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as enabling readout of image signals for signal processing (Nagano et al., paragraph 0045).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALBERT H CUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637