DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 & 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinto et al. (US patent application publication 2008/0271478) (hereinafter Pinto) in view of Ueda et al. (US patent application publication 2013/0027906) (hereinafter Ueda) and Selin et al. (US patent application publication 2011/0162403) (hereinafter Selin).
Regarding claim 1, Pinto discloses a refrigerator, comprising: a cabinet (1) including a back wall (Fig. 1) partially defining a compartment; a door (4) operably coupled to the cabinet and configured to seal the compartment; a plurality of wall panels (3a, 3b, 3c) operably coupled to the cabinet, wherein each wall panel of the plurality of wall panels includes a first side (9) and a second side (10), wherein at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels is disposed adjacent to the back wall (Fig. 1) and includes a three-dimensional design (9) on the first side thereof (Fig. 1), the three-dimensional design including a wave pattern (Fig. 2).
Pinto does not disclose an air vent disposed on the back wall of the cabinet to move air within the compartment; and a lighting structure operably coupled to the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels to provide light to the compartment.
Selin teaches an air vent (53a) disposed on a back wall of a cabinet to move air within a compartment. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pinto to include an air vent on the back wall in view of Selin’s teaching, because this arrangement would have distributed cold air throughout the compartment as taught by Selin in [0068].
Ueda teaches a lighting structure (200) operably coupled to the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels to provide light to the compartment (Figs. 3 & 4). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pinto to include a lighting structure in view of Ueda’s teaching, because this arrangement would have illuminated the compartment.
Regarding claim 2, Pinto, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the first side of each wall panel faces the compartment and the second side of each wall panel faces the cabinet (Figs. 1 & 2).
Regarding claim 3, Pinto, as modified, teaches the refrigerator as claimed. Pinto, as modified, does not teach a refrigerator wherein the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels includes the three-dimensional design on the second side thereof facing the cabinet. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pinto, as previously modified, wherein the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels includes the three-dimensional design on the second side thereof facing the cabinet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 4, Pinto, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the second side of the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels includes a flat surface positioned adjacent to the back wall of the cabinet (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Pinto, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels extends a full height and a full width of the back wall of the cabinet (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Pinto, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the three-dimensional design includes spaced peaks and valleys to form the wave pattern (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Pinto, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the lighting structure is disposed adjacent to an edge of the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels (Ueda: Figs. 3 & 4).
Regarding claim 10, Pinto, as modified, teaches the refrigerator as claimed. Pinto, as modified, does not teach wherein the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels is at least partially opaque. The examiner is taking OFFICIAL NOTICE that opaque wall panels are common and well known in the art. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pinto, as previously modified, wherein the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels is at least partially opaque, because this arrangement would have replaced one known wall panel with another known wall panel yielding a predictable result.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinto view of Ueda, Selin and Chow et al. (US patent application publication 2016/0123655) (hereinafter Chow).
Regarding claim 7, Pinto, as modified, teaches the refrigerator as claimed. Pinto, as modified, does not teach wherein the compartment includes compartment storage structures, and wherein the plurality of wall panels extend between the cabinet and the compartment storage structures. Chow teaches a refrigerator including compartment storage structures (34), and wherein the plurality of wall panels extend between the cabinet and the compartment storage structures (Fig. 3). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pinto, as previously modified, wherein the compartment includes compartment storage structures, and wherein the plurality of wall panels extend between the cabinet and the compartment storage structures in view of Chow’s teaching, because this arrangement would have provided a space for storing goods.
Regarding claim 8, Pinto, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the compartment storage structures are secured to the cabinet independently of the plurality of wall panels via compartment mounting structures (Chow: 28).
Claim(s) 11, 14 & 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinto in view of Ueda.
Regarding claim 11, Pinto discloses a refrigeration appliance, comprising: a cabinet (1) including a plurality of walls defining a compartment (Fig. 1); a door (4) operably coupled to the cabinet configured to seal the compartment; a plurality of wall panels (3a, 3b, 3c) operably coupled to the cabinet, wherein each wall panel of the plurality of wall panels includes a first side (9) facing the compartment and a second side (10) facing the cabinet, and wherein the first side of at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels includes a three-dimensional design (Fig. 2) and the second side is a flat surface (Fig. 2).
Pinto does not disclose a lighting structure operably coupled to an edge of the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels to provide light to the compartment.
Ueda teaches a lighting structure (200) operably coupled to an edge of the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels to provide light to the compartment (Figs. 3 & 4). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pinto to include a lighting structure in view of Ueda’s teaching, because this arrangement would have illuminated the compartment.
Regarding claim 14, Pinto, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the plurality of walls form a bottom surface, a back surface, a top surface, and a pair of side surfaces of the compartment (Fig. 1), and wherein the plurality of wall panels extends from the bottom surface to the top surface to extend a full height of the compartment (Fig. 1), and wherein the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels extend between the pair of side surfaces to extend a full width of the back surface of the compartment (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Pinto, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the three-dimensional design defines a wave pattern (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Pinto discloses an appliance, comprising: a cabinet (1) defining a compartment (Fig. 1); a door (4) operably coupled to the cabinet configured to seal the compartment; a wall panel assembly operably coupled to the cabinet within the compartment, wherein the wall panel assembly includes: a plurality of wall panels (3a, 3b, 3c) operably coupled to the cabinet, wherein each of the plurality of wall panels includes a first side (9) facing the compartment and a second side (10) facing the cabinet; and a three-dimensional pattern on the first side of at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels (Fig. 2).
Pinto does not disclose a lighting structure configured to light the compartment.
Ueda teaches a lighting structure (200) configured to light the compartment (Figs. 3 & 4). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pinto to include a lighting structure in view of Ueda’s teaching, because this arrangement would have illuminated the compartment.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinto in view of Ueda and Selin.
Regarding claim 12, Pinto, as modified, teaches the refrigerator as claimed. Pinto, as modified, does not teach a refrigerator further comprising: at least one refrigeration component coupled with at least one of the plurality of walls of the cabinet, and wherein the at least one refrigeration component is disposed between the cabinet and the second side of the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels for the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels to conceal the at least one refrigeration component.
Selin teaches a refrigerator comprising at least one refrigeration component (53a) coupled with at least one of the plurality of walls (4) of the cabinet, and wherein the at least one refrigeration component is disposed between the cabinet and the second side of the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels for the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels to conceal the at least one refrigeration component (Figs. 14 & 15). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pinto, as previously modified, to comprise at least one refrigeration component coupled with at least one of the plurality of walls of the cabinet, and wherein the at least one refrigeration component is disposed between the cabinet and the second side of the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels for the at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels to conceal the at least one refrigeration component in view of Selin’s teaching, because this arrangement would have distributed cold air throughout the compartment as taught by Selin in [0068].
Regarding claim 13, Pinto, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the at least one refrigeration component includes an air vent (Selin: 53a) disposed along the at least one of the plurality of walls of the cabinet to move air within the compartment.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinto in view of Ueda and Khizar et al. (US patent application publication 2016/0281959) (hereinafter Khizar).
Regarding claim 15, Pinto, as modified, teaches the refrigerator as claimed. Pinto, as modified, does not teach a refrigerator wherein at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels includes a reflective surface.
Khizar teaches a wall panel with a reflective surface (100). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pinto, as previously modified, wherein at least one wall panel of the plurality of wall panels includes a reflective surface in view of Khizar’s teaching, because this arrangement would have replaced one known surface with another known surface yielding a predictable result.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinto in view of Ueda and Lee (US patent 8,393,746)
Regarding claim 18, Pinto, as modified, teaches the refrigerator as claimed. Pinto, as modified, does not teach a refrigerator further comprising: a controller configured to activate the lighting structure, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the lighting structure between different conditions based on a user interaction. Lee teaches a refrigerator comprising: a controller configured to activate the lighting structure, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the lighting structure between different conditions based on a user interaction (Col. 7: 37-62). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pinto, as previously modified, to comprise a controller configured to activate the lighting structure, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the lighting structure between different conditions based on a user interaction in view of Lee’s teaching, because this arrangement would have provided a means for controlling the lighting structure.
Regarding claim 19, Pinto, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the controller is coupled to a door ajar detection system configured to detect when the door is in an open position or a closed position, and wherein the user interaction includes adjusting the door to the open position (Lee: Col. 7: 37-62).
Regarding claim 20, Pinto, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the three-dimensional pattern is a wave pattern of peaks and valleys (Fig. 2).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,585,592 in view of Selin.
Regarding claims 1-20, the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,585,592 recite similar features such as a refrigerator comprising a cabinet, a door, a plurality of wall panels including a three-dimensional design including a wave pattern; and a lighting structure. They do not recite an air vent. Selin teaches an air vent (53a). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,585,592 to include an air vent in view of Selin’s teaching, because this arrangement would have distributed cold air throughout the compartment as taught by Selin in [0068].
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,405,051 in view of Selin.
Regarding claims 1-20, the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,405,051 recite similar features such as a refrigerator comprising a cabinet, a door, a plurality of wall panels including a three-dimensional design including a wave pattern; and a lighting structure. They do not recite an air vent. Selin teaches an air vent (53a). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,405,051 to include an air vent in view of Selin’s teaching, because this arrangement would have distributed cold air throughout the compartment as taught by Selin in [0068].
Conclusion
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637