DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauck et al. US Patent Pub. No.:2019/0116619, hereinafter, ‘Hauck’ in view of Win et. al. US Patent Pub. No.:2019/0116619, hereinafter, ‘Win’.
Consider Claim 1, Hauck teaches a method of ranging in an ultra-wideband (UWB) (e.g., see ultra-wide band noted in at least 0023), the method comprising: obtaining, by a UWB module of a first device, a first key sequence from a narrowband communication module of the first device (e.g., this is met based on at least 0024 “a Bluetooth radio or WiFi radio or NFC radio can be used on each device to establish a secure connection between the devices to then allow the secure elements on each device to perform a secure key exchange from which the ranging keys can be derived or generated”),; and transmitting, by the UWB module of the first device, a first ranging signal, wherein the first ranging signal is generated based on the first key sequence, and the first ranging signal is used to measure a distance between the first device and the second device (e.g., this is met based on the suggestion in 0003 – “Secure ranging, through the use of ranging codes which are independently generated by or derived from one or more ranging keys, can be used in radio (wireless) communication between devices, such as between (1) two smartphones or (2) a smartphone or wearable device and another device to allow both devices to separately determine the distance or range between the devices based on the time of flight of the received signals. Secure ranging aims at providing a guarantee of the proximity of two devices.”).
However, Hauck does not specifically teach wherein the first key sequence is generated based on channel state information between the narrowband communication module of the first device and a narrowband communication module of a second device.
In analogous art, Win teaches “using the physical characteristics of the communication channel to continually update encryption keys based on changing characteristics of the communication channel in at least 0012.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the first key sequence is generated based on channel state information between the narrowband communication module of the first device and a narrowband communication module of a second device for the purpose of providing an extra layer of security in the event the encryption becomes compromised at some moment.
Consider Claim 6, Hauck teaches a method of ranging in an ultra-wideband(e.g., see ultra-wide band noted in at least 0023) and in 0005 teaches a Bluetooth transceiver on each device to establish a secure communication channel and then to mutually authenticate each secure processing element and then to perform a secure key exchange to provide a set of one or more ranging keys and one or more data keys which can be used to encrypt timestamped information used in the ranging process. In one embodiment, the one or more ranging keys generated through the secure key exchange can be provided, in encrypted form, to an ultra wide band radio transceiver which is configured to perform time of flight ranging operations using pseudorandom codes with another ultra wide band radio on the other device.
Hauck does not specify wherein the method specifically comprises: obtaining, by an ultra-wideband UWB module of a second device, a second key sequence from a narrowband communication module of the second device, wherein the second key sequence is generated based on channel state information between the narrowband communication module of the second device and a narrowband communication module of a first device; receiving, by the UWB module of the second device, a first signal used for ranging, wherein the first signal used for ranging is obtained after a first ranging signal is transmitted through a wireless channel, and the first ranging signal is generated based on a first key sequence obtained by the first device; and generating, by the UWB module of the second device, a fourth ranging signal based on the second key sequence, and performing a correlation operation on the fourth ranging signal and the first signal used for ranging, to obtain a second timestamp, wherein the second timestamp is used to calculate a distance between the first device and the second device.
In analogous art, Win teaches “using the physical characteristics of the communication channel to continually update encryption keys based on changing characteristics of the communication channel” in at least 0012. In 0025 Win further suggest key extraction from channel state information. In 0050, Win further teaches a “key extraction algorithm is adopted in an experiment, in which two laptops equipped with INTEL 5300 WiFi cards are used. The packages are transmitted in the channel with central frequency 5180 MHZ. After receiving a package, the channel state information (CSI) of 30 subcarriers with timestamps is obtained. During the coherence time (approximately 200 ms), two laptops exchange 20 packages and then we implement the PEM scheme and average the phase and amplitude. In total, 1800 packages are exchanged. In the experiment, two laptops move with the speed around 1˜2 m/s in an indoor environment, while the distance between them is kept around 3 meters.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of the Hauck and Win to arrive at the claimed invention wherein the method specifically comprises: obtaining, by an ultra-wideband UWB module of a second device, a second key sequence from a narrowband communication module of the second device, wherein the second key sequence is generated based on channel state information between the narrowband communication module of the second device and a narrowband communication module of a first device; receiving, by the UWB module of the second device, a first signal used for ranging, wherein the first signal used for ranging is obtained after a first ranging signal is transmitted through a wireless channel, and the first ranging signal is generated based on a first key sequence obtained by the first device; and generating, by the UWB module of the second device, a fourth ranging signal based on the second key sequence (i.e., note the teachings of “continually update encryption keys), and performing a correlation operation on the fourth ranging signal and the first signal used for ranging, to obtain a second timestamp (i.e., note data keys to encrypt timestamped information), wherein the second timestamp is used to calculate a distance between the first device and the second device(i.e., note encrypted ranging signals ) for the purpose of secure ranging providing an extra layer of security in the event the encryption becomes compromised at some moment.
Consider Claim 11, Hauck as modified by Win teaches, on the basis and rational of method of claim1, the corresponding communication apparatus (e.g., see hardware architecture in at least figures 1 and 2 of Hauck), comprising: a non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the memory, wherein the one or more processors execute the method of claim 1.
Consider Claim 16, Hauck as modified by Win teaches, on the basis and rational of method of claim1, the corresponding communication apparatus (e.g., see hardware architecture in at least figures 1 and 2 of Hauck), comprising: a non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the memory, wherein the one or more processors execute the method of claim 6.
5. Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 7-8,10, 12-13, 15, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauck et al. US Patent Pub. No.:2019/0116619, hereinafter, ‘Hauck’ in view of Win et. al. US Patent Pub. No.:2019/0116619, hereinafter, ‘Win’ and further in view of Chhabra et al US Patent Pub. No.: 20200052892 A1, hereinafter, ‘Chhabra’.
Consider Claims 2 and 12, Hauck as modified by Win teaches the claimed invention except wherein the first key sequence comprises a first key subsequence and a second key subsequence, and a length of the first key subsequence is equal to a length of the second key subsequence; and that the first ranging signal is generated based on the first key sequence comprises: the first ranging signal is generated based on the first key subsequence in the first key sequence.
However, in analogous art, Chhabra suggest “security and protection of communication between computing devices or between components of a computing device”-0002…to reduce or contribute to reducing the latency of link encryption. Cryptographic splitting, also known as cryptographic bit splitting or cryptographic data splitting, is a technique for securing data over a computer network. The technique involves encrypting data, splitting the encrypted data into smaller data units. Chhabra suggest in at least 0047 cryptographic splitting … used to meet the security requirements while significantly reducing the latency due to cryptographic operations for link protection, by eliminating cryptographic waste. In addition Chhabra further suggest the applications of improving conventional authenticated encryption (e.g., Advanced Encryption Standard)- 0007 as also applied to Light Imaging Detection And Ranging (LIDAR) systems – 0108. By definition LiDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) is an active remote sensing technology that uses pulsed laser light to measure distances and create precise, three-dimensional information about surfaces and objects.
Therefore, based on the Cryptographic data splitting teachings of Chhabra, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings suggested by Hauck and Win to arrive at wherein the first key sequence comprises a first key subsequence and a second key subsequence, and a length of the first key subsequence is equal to a length of the second key subsequence; and that the first ranging signal is generated based on the first key sequence comprises: the first ranging signal is generated based on the first key subsequence in the first key sequence for the purpose of overhead reduction for link protection.
Consider Claims 3 and 13, Hauck teaches the claimed invention except, after transmitting the first ranging signal, further comprising: receiving, by the UWB module of the first device, a second signal used for ranging, wherein the second signal used for ranging is obtained after a second ranging signal is transmitted through a wireless channel, and the second ranging signal is generated based on a fourth key subsequence in a second key sequence obtained by the second device; and generating, by the UWB module of the first device, a third ranging signal based on the second key subsequence, and performing a correlation operation on the third ranging signal and the second signal used for ranging, to obtain a first timestamp, wherein the first timestamp is used to calculate the distance between the first device and the second device.
In analogous art, Win teaches “using the physical characteristics of the communication channel to continually update encryption keys based on changing characteristics of the communication channel” in at least 0012. In 0025 Win further suggest key extraction from channel state information. In 0050, Win further teaches a “key extraction algorithm is adopted in an experiment, in which two laptops equipped with INTEL 5300 WiFi cards are used. The packages are transmitted in the channel with central frequency 5180 MHZ. After receiving a package, the channel state information (CSI) of 30 subcarriers with timestamps is obtained. During the coherence time (approximately 200 ms), two laptops exchange 20 packages and then we implement the PEM scheme and average the phase and amplitude. In total, 1800 packages are exchanged. In the experiment, two laptops move with the speed around 1˜2 m/s in an indoor environment, while the distance between them is kept around 3 meters.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of the Hauck and Win to arrive at the claimed invention after transmitting the first ranging signal, further comprising: receiving, by the UWB module of the first device, a second signal used for ranging, wherein the second signal used for ranging is obtained after a second ranging signal is transmitted through a wireless channel, and the second ranging signal is generated based on a fourth key subsequence in a second key sequence obtained by the second device(i.e., note the teachings of “continually update encryption keys); and generating, by the UWB module of the first device, a third ranging signal based on the second key subsequence, and performing a correlation operation on the third ranging signal and the second signal used for ranging, to obtain a first timestamp(i.e., note data keys to encrypt timestamped information), wherein the first timestamp is used to calculate the distance between the first device and the second device(i.e., note encrypted ranging signals ) for the purpose of secure ranging providing an extra layer of security in the event the encryption becomes compromised at some moment.
Consider Claims 5, 10, 15 and 20, Hauck as modified by Win teaches the claimed invention except wherein the first ranging signal is generated based on the first key sequence comprises: the first ranging signal is generated after a first ranging sequence is modulated, and the first ranging sequence is obtained after bit-wise XOR is performed on a first key subsequence in the first key sequence and an original ranging sequence; or the first ranging signal is generated after a first ranging sequence is modulated, the first ranging sequence is obtained after advanced encryption standard AES encryption is performed on an original ranging sequence by using the first key subsequence in the first key sequence, and a length of the first ranging sequence, the length of the first key subsequence, and a length of the original ranging sequence are equal; or the first ranging signal is generated after the first key subsequence in the first key sequence is modulated, wherein the original ranging sequence is a sequence determined by the first device and the second device through negotiation, or the original ranging sequence is a preset random sequence.
However, in analogous art, Chhabra suggest “security and protection of communication between computing devices or between components of a computing device”-0002…to reduce or contribute to reducing the latency of link encryption. Cryptographic splitting, also known as cryptographic bit splitting or cryptographic data splitting, is a technique for securing data over a computer network. The technique involves encrypting data, splitting the encrypted data into smaller data units. Chhabra suggest in at least 0047 cryptographic splitting … used to meet the security requirements while significantly reducing the latency due to cryptographic operations for link protection, by eliminating cryptographic waste. In addition Chhabra further suggest the applications of improving conventional authenticated encryption (e.g., Advanced Encryption Standard)- 0007 as also applied to Light Imaging Detection And Ranging (LIDAR) systems – 0108. By definition LiDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) is an active remote sensing technology that uses pulsed laser light to measure distances and create precise, three-dimensional information about surfaces and objects. Chhabra further teaches in at least 0048 “In using authenticated encryption such as AES-GCM to encrypt and integrity protect secrets over a link, … data is encrypted/decrypted by XORing …”.
Therefore, based on the Cryptographic data splitting teachings of Chhabra, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings suggested by Hauck and Win to arrive at wherein the first ranging signal is generated based on the first key sequence comprises: the first ranging signal is generated after a first ranging sequence is modulated, and the first ranging sequence is obtained after bit-wise XOR is performed on a first key subsequence in the first key sequence and an original ranging sequence for the purpose of overhead reduction for link protection.
Consider Claim 7 and 17, Hauck as modified by Win teaches the claimed invention except wherein the second key sequence comprises a third key subsequence and a fourth key subsequence, and a length of the third key subsequence is equal to a length of the fourth key subsequence; and wherein the generating, by the UWB module of the second device, the fourth ranging signal based on the second key sequence comprises: generating, by the UWB module of the second device, the fourth ranging signal based on the third key subsequence in the second key sequence.
However, in analogous art, Chhabra suggest “security and protection of communication between computing devices or between components of a computing device”-0002…to reduce or contribute to reducing the latency of link encryption. Cryptographic splitting, also known as cryptographic bit splitting or cryptographic data splitting, is a technique for securing data over a computer network. The technique involves encrypting data, splitting the encrypted data into smaller data units. Chhabra suggest in at least 0047 cryptographic splitting … used to meet the security requirements while significantly reducing the latency due to cryptographic operations for link protection, by eliminating cryptographic waste. In addition Chhabra further suggest the applications of improving conventional authenticated encryption (e.g., Advanced Encryption Standard)- 0007 as also applied to Light Imaging Detection And Ranging (LIDAR) systems – 0108. By definition LiDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) is an active remote sensing technology that uses pulsed laser light to measure distances and create precise, three-dimensional information about surfaces and objects.
Therefore, based on the Cryptographic data splitting teachings of Chhabra, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings suggested by Hauck and Win to arrive at wherein the second key sequence comprises a third key subsequence and a fourth key subsequence, and a length of the third key subsequence is equal to a length of the fourth key subsequence; and wherein the generating, by the UWB module of the second device, the fourth ranging signal based on the second key sequence comprises: generating, by the UWB module of the second device, the fourth ranging signal based on the third key subsequence in the second key sequence for the purpose of overhead reduction for link protection.
Consider Claims 8 and 18, Hauck as modified by Win teaches the claimed invention except wherein after the receiving, by the UWB module of the second device, a first signal used for ranging, the method further comprises: sending, by the UWB module of the second device, a second ranging signal, wherein the second ranging signal is generated based on the fourth key subsequence in the second key sequence, and the second ranging signal is used to measure the distance between the first device and the second device.
However, in analogous art, Chhabra suggest “security and protection of communication between computing devices or between components of a computing device”-0002…to reduce or contribute to reducing the latency of link encryption. Cryptographic splitting, also known as cryptographic bit splitting or cryptographic data splitting, is a technique for securing data over a computer network. The technique involves encrypting data, splitting the encrypted data into smaller data units. Chhabra suggest in at least 0047 cryptographic splitting … used to meet the security requirements while significantly reducing the latency due to cryptographic operations for link protection, by eliminating cryptographic waste. In addition Chhabra further suggest the applications of improving conventional authenticated encryption (e.g., Advanced Encryption Standard)- 0007 as also applied to Light Imaging Detection And Ranging (LIDAR) systems – 0108. By definition LiDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) is an active remote sensing technology that uses pulsed laser light to measure distances and create precise, three-dimensional information about surfaces and objects.
Therefore, based on the Cryptographic data splitting teachings of Chhabra, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings suggested by Hauck and Win to arrive wherein after the receiving, by the UWB module of the second device, a first signal used for ranging, the method further comprises: sending, by the UWB module of the second device, a second ranging signal, wherein the second ranging signal is generated based on the fourth key subsequence in the second key sequence, and the second ranging signal is used to measure the distance between the first device and the second device for the purpose of overhead reduction for link protection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9, 14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not specifically teach wherein the channel state information is a complex sequence, a real part of the channel state information is used to generate a first key subsequence in the first key sequence, and an imaginary part of the channel state information is used to generate a second key subsequence in the first key sequence; and the first key subsequence and the second key subsequence are equal in length.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250392346 A1 teaches performing ranging operations with ultrawideband (UWB) devices in a network. An example method includes providing scrambled timestamp sequence information and a secure sequence to a wireless node via a first radio access technology, transmitting one or more initiator data packets to the wireless node via a second radio access technology based at least in part on the scrambled timestamp sequence information, receiving one or more responder data packets from the wireless node via the second radio access technology, computing a time of arrival estimate based on a correlation of the one or more received responder data packets with the scrambled timestamp sequence information and the secure sequence, and determining the integrity of the time of arrival estimate based at least in part on the correlation of the one or more received responder data packets with the scrambled timestamp sequence information and the secure sequence.
US 20200228331 A1 teaches devices for deriving keys for coding the contents of data frames, which are to be transmitted in a keyless entry system during an ultra-wide band ranging session between a transceiver device coupled to a base structure to be opened and closed and/or to be locked and unlocked, and a mobile transceiver device associated with the structure-coupled transceiver device.
US 20210345102 teaches physical layer key generation provides privacy protection technique suitable for devices with limited computational ability. A key generation algorithm is based on OFDM waveforms. By exploiting the holistic CSI, key generation rate (KGR) is improved significantly. A cross-layer encryption protocol is based on the key generation algorithm and the AES. The secrecy of the encryption is enhanced compared to traditional encryption schemes with one pre-shared key (e.g., WPA2-PSK), even when some generated keys are leaked to the eavesdropper. The results lead to practical and robust applications of physical layer key generation.
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646