DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al (US 20240077576) in view of Mackenzie (US 5969686) and Chen et al (US 20220001982).
Regarding claim 1, Long teaches a radar deployment assembly for a seaplane having an airframe compartment with a retractable roof, the radar deployment assembly (abstract) comprising: a scissor lift assembly having: a stowed configuration and a deployed configuration (abstract); and a first end and a second end, wherein the first end comprises: worm wheel; and a fixed connector opposite the worm wheel (fig 2c, items a212 and a 226); a motor assembly at the scissor lift assembly first end, the motor assembly having a worm gear extending therefrom and engaging with the worm wheel; a base below the motor assembly, the scissor lift assembly fixed connector being rigidly coupled with the base (para 260); a mounting plate at the scissor lift assembly second end, the scissor lift assembly being operatively coupled with the mounting plate at a first surface (fig 1b, item a30 and a20 and a60), a radar assembly disposed at the mounting plate second surface, the retractable roof having a closed position that encloses the airframe compartment and an open position where an opening is formed in the airframe compartment when the retractable roof is in the open position, wherein when the scissor lift assembly is in the deployed configuration, the radar assembly extends through the opening and when the scissor lift assembly is in the stowed configuration, the scissor lift assembly is enclosed within the airframe compartment (para 7 and 260).
Regarding claim 1, Mackenzie teaches the radar assembly acquires targets in proximity to the aircraft prior to and during takeoff (fig 2 and abs). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include the radar assembly acquires targets in proximity to the aircraft prior to and during takeoff because it is expected that the radar would detect object and targets around the aircraft.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches the mounting plate including a switch disposed at a second surface that opposes the mounting plate first surface (para 116). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include the mounting plate including a switch disposed at a second surface that opposes the mounting plate first surface because it would allow the control to stop raising the device when it is fully extended.
Regarding claim 2, Mackenzie teaches guide rods extending from a surface of the airframe compartment and into the airframe compartment, the mounting plate including apertures adjacent the switch where the mounting plate apertures slidingly engage with the guide rods (col 5, lines 7-13). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include guide rods extending from a surface of the airframe compartment and into the airframe compartment, the mounting plate including apertures adjacent the switch where the mounting plate apertures slidingly engage with the guide rods because it would guide the compartment from deployed to stowed more easily.
Regarding claim 3, Mackenzie teaches the mounting plate includes tracks formed in the mounting plate first surface (col 4, lines 22-29). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include the mounting plate includes tracks formed in the mounting plate first surface because it would guide the compartment from deployed to stowed more easily.
Regarding claim 3, Long teaches the scissor lift assembly includes feet at the scissor lift assembly second end, the scissor lift assembly feet slidingly engaging with the mounting plate tracks and moving within the mounting plate tracks when the scissor lift assembly moves between the stowed configuration and the deployed configuration (abstract and fig 1b and 9).
Regarding claim 4, Long teaches the mounting plate tracks define a stop at an end thereof, where the scissor lift assembly is in the deployed configuration when the scissor lift assembly feet abut the mounting plate stop (fig 10b).
Regarding claim 5, Long teaches the mounting plate includes a seal configured to sealingly engage with the airframe compartment when the scissor lift assembly is in the deployed configuration (para 14 and 49).
Regarding claim 6, Long teaches the radar assembly includes electronic navigation instruments and a rotating antenna that sweeps a beam of microwaves around a surface that surrounds the airframe compartment (para 93).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches the switch is operatively coupled with the motor assembly and the mounting plate engages a surface of the airframe compartment when the scissor lift assembly is in the deployed configuration where the switch contacts the airframe compartment surface and sends a signal to the motor assembly (para 116, “the sensors may then transmit a first signal to the actuator mechanism via a trigger switch or a limit switch, to instruct the actuator mechanism to stop actuating or driving”). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include the switch is operatively coupled with the motor assembly and the mounting plate engages a surface of the airframe compartment when the scissor lift assembly is in the deployed configuration where the switch contacts the airframe compartment surface and sends a signal to the motor assembly because take it would allow the control to stop raising the device when it is fully extended.
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long in view of Mackenzie and Chen and Tietjen (WO 2008073260).
Regrading claim 8, Long teaches a radar deployment assembly for a seaplane having an airframe compartment with a retractable roof (for a seaplane is the intended use of the radar deployment assembly and does not carry patentable weight), the radar deployment assembly (abstract) comprising: a hydraulic lift assembly para 302, “mechanism capable of realizing lifting or turnover in the prior art, such as an electric lifting platform, a hydraulic turnover platform”) comprising: a stowed configuration and a deployed configuration; a first end and a second end (fig 2c, items a212 and a 226); a hydraulic housing at the hydraulic lift assembly first end (para 302); a radar assembly disposed at the mounting plate second surface, the retractable roof having a closed position that encloses the airframe compartment and an open position where an opening is formed in the airframe compartment when the retractable roof is in the open position, wherein when the hydraulic lift assembly is in the deployed configuration, the radar assembly extends through the opening and when the hydraulic lift assembly is in the stowed configuration, the hydraulic lift assembly is enclosed within the airframe compartment (para 7 and 260).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches the mounting plate including a switch disposed at a second surface that opposes the mounting plate first surface (para 116). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include the mounting plate including a switch disposed at a second surface that opposes the mounting plate first surface because take it would allow the control to stop raising the device when it is fully extended.
Regarding claim 8, Mackenzie teaches the radar assembly acquires targets in proximity to the aircraft prior to and during takeoff (fig 2 and abs). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include the hydraulic lift assembly is enclosed within the airframe compartment and wherein the radar assembly acquires targets in proximity to the aircraft prior to and during takeoff because it is expected that the radar would detect object and targets around the aircraft.
Regarding claim 8, Tietjen teaches the lift assembly is a hydraulic lift assembly comprising: hydraulic pump at the lift assembly first end; and a hydraulic piston extending from the hydraulic pump, the hydraulic piston being operative to engage the hydraulic pump with hydraulic fluid to move the hydraulic lift assembly between the stowed configuration and the deployed configuration (para 32, “The powered hydraulic pump assembly 41 connects to the hydraulic cylinder 31 through connections A, and B. The cylinder has a piston which is operated when hydraulic fluid enters the cylinder, as is known. Hydraulic pump assembly 41 is in fluid communication through hoses 51 , 53 that provide and return hydraulic fluid to the cylinder 31 to supply pressurized fluid to cylinder 31 for the selective upward extension and downward retraction of the axle 13 relative to the trailer to accomplish lifting thereof”). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include the lift assembly is a hydraulic lift assembly comprising: hydraulic pump at the lift assembly first end; and a hydraulic piston extending from the hydraulic pump, the hydraulic piston being operative to engage the hydraulic pump with hydraulic fluid to move the hydraulic lift assembly between the stowed configuration and the deployed configuration because it is merely a substitution of a well-known method push on a living mechanism of long with the method to push on a lifting mechanism of Long to yield a predictable lifting mechanism.
Regarding claim 9, Mackenzie teaches guide rods extending from a surface of the airframe compartment and into the airframe compartment, the mounting plate including apertures adjacent the switch where the mounting plate apertures slidingly engage with the guide rods (col 5, lines 7-13). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include guide rods extending from a surface of the airframe compartment and into the airframe compartment, the mounting plate including apertures adjacent the switch where the mounting plate apertures slidingly engage with the guide rods because it would guide the compartment from deployed to stowed more easily.
Regarding claim 10, Long teaches the mounting plate includes a seal configured to sealingly engage with the airframe compartment when the hydraulic lift assembly is in the deployed configuration (para 14 and 49).
Regarding claim 11, Long teaches the radar assembly includes electronic navigation instruments and a rotating antenna that sweeps a beam of microwaves around a surface that surrounds the airframe compartment (para 93).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches the switch is operatively coupled with hydraulic pump and the mounting plate engages a surface of the airframe compartment when the hydraulic lift assembly is in the deployed configuration where the switch contacts the airframe compartment surface and sends a signal to the hydraulic pump (para 116). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include the switch is operatively coupled with hydraulic pump and the mounting plate engages a surface of the airframe compartment when the hydraulic lift assembly is in the deployed configuration where the switch contacts the airframe compartment surface and sends a signal to the hydraulic pump because take it would allow the control to stop raising the device when it is fully extended.
Claim(s) 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al (US 20240077576) in view of Mackenzie (US 5969686) and Chen et al (US 20220001982).
Regarding claim 13, Long teaches a radar deployment assembly for a seaplane having an airframe compartment with a retractable roof, the radar deployment assembly (abs) comprising: a lift assembly having a stowed configuration and a deployed configuration (abs), the lift assembly having a first end and a second end (fig 2c, items a212 and a 226); a power assembly at the lift assembly first end, the power assembly operative to move the lift assembly between the stowed configuration and the deployed configuration (para 260); a mounting plate at the lift assembly second end, the lift assembly being coupled with the mounting plate at a first surface (fig 1b, item a30 and a20 and a60), a radar assembly disposed at the mounting plate second surface, the retractable roof having a closed position that encloses the airframe compartment and an open position where an opening is formed in the airframe compartment when the retractable roof is in the open position, wherein when the lift assembly is in the deployed configuration, the radar assembly extends through the opening and when the lift assembly is in the stowed configuration, the lift assembly is enclosed within the airframe compartment (para 7 and 260).
Regarding claim 13, Mackenzie teaches the radar assembly acquires targets in proximity to the aircraft prior to and during takeoff (fig 2 and abs). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include the radar assembly acquires targets in proximity to the aircraft prior to and during takeoff because it is expected that the radar would detect object and targets around the aircraft.
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches the mounting plate including a switch disposed at a second surface that opposes the mounting plate first surface (para 116). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include the mounting plate including a switch disposed at a second surface that opposes the mounting plate first surface because take it would allow the control to stop raising the device when it is fully extended.
Regarding in claim 14, Long teaches the lift assembly is a scissor lift assembly and the first end comprises: a fixed connector opposite the worm wheel, wherein the power assembly has a worm gear extending therefrom and engaging with the worm wheel (fig 2c, items a212 and a 226 and para 226).
Regarding in claim 15, Long teaches a base below the power assembly and the lift assembly includes a fixed connector where the lift assembly fixed connector is rigidly coupled with the base (para 260).
Regarding in claim 16, Mackenzie teaches guide rods extending from a surface of the airframe compartment and into the airframe compartment (col 5, lines 7-13). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include guide rods extending from a surface of the airframe compartment and into the airframe compartment, the mounting plate including apertures adjacent the switch where the mounting plate apertures slidingly engage with the guide rods because it would guide the compartment from deployed to stowed more easily.
Regarding in claim 17, Mackenzie teaches the mounting plate includes apertures adjacent the switch where the mounting plate apertures slidingly engage with the guide rods (col 5, lines 7-13). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include the mounting plate includes apertures adjacent the switch where the mounting plate apertures slidingly engage with the guide rods because it would guide the compartment from deployed to stowed more easily.
Regarding in claim 18, Long teaches the mounting plate includes a seal configured to sealingly engage with the airframe compartment when the lift assembly is in the deployed configuration (para 14 and 49).
Regarding in claim 19, Long teaches the radar assembly includes electronic navigation instruments and a rotating antenna that sweeps a beam of microwaves around a surface that surrounds the airframe compartment (para 93).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long in view of Mackenzie and Chen as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Tietjen (WO 2008073260).
Regarding in claim 20, Tietjen teaches the lift assembly is a hydraulic lift assembly comprising: hydraulic pump at the lift assembly first end; and a hydraulic piston extending from the hydraulic pump, the hydraulic piston being operative to engage the hydraulic pump with hydraulic fluid to move the hydraulic lift assembly between the stowed configuration and the deployed configuration (para 32, “The powered hydraulic pump assembly 41 connects to the hydraulic cylinder 31 through connections A, and B. The cylinder has a piston which is operated when hydraulic fluid enters the cylinder, as is known. Hydraulic pump assembly 41 is in fluid communication through hoses 51 , 53 that provide and return hydraulic fluid to the cylinder 31 to supply pressurized fluid to cylinder 31 for the selective upward extension and downward retraction of the axle 13 relative to the trailer to accomplish lifting thereof”). It would have been obvious to modify Long to include the lift assembly is a hydraulic lift assembly comprising: hydraulic pump at the lift assembly first end; and a hydraulic piston extending from the hydraulic pump, the hydraulic piston being operative to engage the hydraulic pump with hydraulic fluid to move the hydraulic lift assembly between the stowed configuration and the deployed configuration because it is merely a substitution of a well-known method push on a living mechanism of long with the method to push on a lifting mechanism of Long to yield a predictable lifting mechanism.
TIMOTHY A. BRAINARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648