DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 11, 15-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,516,715 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following comparison.
Claim
Instant Application
Claim
US Patent 11,516,715 B2
1
A communication apparatus, comprising:
circuitry configuration to:
receive handover-related information from a first base station apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus, and
the second base station apparatus is a switching destination candidate;
determine whether to execute the handover;
execute the handover from the first base station to the second base station apparatus based on the handover-related information and the determination to execute the handover; and
execute connection to the second base station apparatus using a radio resource, wherein
the handover-related information includes resource information related to the radio resource.
1
A communication apparatus, comprising:
circuitry configured to:
receive switching information from a first base station apparatus, wherein
the switching information includes resource information related to a radio resource for wireless communication of the communication apparatus with a second base station apparatus to be a switching destination candidate, wherein
the second base station apparatus is a movable base station apparatus,
the first base station apparatus is connected to the communication apparatus, and
the first base station apparatus receives the resource information from the second base station apparatus;
determine whether to switch the connection between the communication apparatus and the first base station apparatus with a connection between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus; and
execute the connection between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus based on the switching information, the radio resource, and the determination.
8
A first base station apparatus, comprising:
circuitry configured to:
acquire handover-related information, wherein
the handover-related information includes information used by a communication apparatus for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus, and
the second base station apparatus is a switching destination candidate; and
transmit the handover-related information to the communication apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is used by the communication apparatus to determine whether to execute the handover, and
the handover-related information includes resource information related to a radio resource.
11
A first base station apparatus, comprising:
circuitry configured to:
receive resource information from a second base station apparatus, wherein
the resource information is related to a radio resource for wireless communication of a communication apparatus with the second base station apparatus to be a switching destination candidate,
the second base station apparatus is a movable base station apparatus, and
the communication apparatus is connected to the first base station apparatus;
acquire switching information that includes the resource information, and
trigger information to determine whether to switch the connection between the communication apparatus and the first base station apparatus with a connection between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus; and
transmit the switching information to the communication apparatus.
9
A communication method, comprising:
In a communication apparatus:
receiving handover-related information from a first base station apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus, and
the second base station apparatus is a switching destination candidate;
determining whether to execute the handover;
executing the handover from the first base station apparatus to the second base station apparatus based on the handover-related information and the determination to execute the handover; and
executing connection to the second base station apparatus using a radio resource, wherein
the handover-related information includes resource information related to the radio resource.
15
A communication method, comprising:
in a communication apparatus:
receiving switching information from a first base station apparatus, wherein the switching information includes resource information related to a radio resource for wireless communication of the communication apparatus with a second base station apparatus to be a switching destination candidate, wherein
the second base station apparatus is a movable base station apparatus,
the first base station apparatus is connected to the communication apparatus, and
the first base station apparatus receives the resource information from the second base station apparatus;
determining whether to switch the connection between the communication apparatus and the first base station apparatus with a connection between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus; and
executing the connection between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus based on the switching information, the radio resource, and the determination.
10
A communication method, comprising:
In a first base station apparatus:
acquire handover-related information, wherein
the handover-related information includes information used by a communication apparatus for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus, and
the second base statin apparatus is a switching destination candidate; and
transmitting the handover-related information to the communication apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is used by the communication apparatus to determine whether to execute the handover, and
the handover-related information includes resource information related to a radio resource.
16
A communication method, comprising:
in a first base station apparatus:
receiving resource information from a second base station apparatus, wherein
the resource information is related to a radio resource for wireless communication of a communication apparatus with the second base station apparatus to be a switching destination candidate,
the second base station apparatus is a movable base station apparatus, and
the communication apparatus is connected to the first base station apparatus; and
acquiring switching information that includes
the resource information, and
trigger information to determine whether to switch the connection between the communication apparatus and the first base station apparatus with a connection between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus; and
transmitting the switching information to the communication apparatus.
(1) Regarding claim 1:
Claim 1 of US Patent 11,516,715 B2 with the interpretation of the switching information as the claimed handover-related information, and switching the connection as the claimed handover, discloses all limitation of claim 1.
(2) Regarding claim 8:
Claim 11 of US Patent 11,516,715 B2 with the interpretation of the switching information as the claimed handover-related information, and switching the connection as the claimed handover, discloses all limitation of claim 8.
(3) Regarding claim 9:
Claim 15 of US Patent 11,516,715 B2 with the interpretation of the switching information as the claimed handover-related information, and switching the connection as the claimed handover, discloses all limitation of claim 9.
(4) Regarding claim 10:
Claim 18 of US Patent 11,516,715 B2 with the interpretation of the switching information as the claimed handover-related information, and switching the connection as the claimed handover, discloses all limitation of claim 10.
Claims 1, 8-10, and 26-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,101,676 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following comparison.
Claim
Instant Application
Claim
US Patent 12,101,676 B2
1
A communication apparatus, comprising:
circuitry configuration to:
receive handover-related information from a first base station apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus, and
the second base station apparatus is a switching destination candidate;
determine whether to execute the handover;
execute the handover from the first base station to the second base station apparatus based on the handover-related information and the determination to execute the handover; and
execute connection to the second base station apparatus using a radio resource, wherein
the handover-related information includes resource information related to the radio resource.
1
A communication apparatus, comprising:
circuitry configured to:
receive handover-related information from a first base station apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is used for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus to be a switching destination candidate;
determine whether to execute the handover, wherein the determination is based on:
trigger condition information,
a first radio quality between the communication apparatus and the first base station apparatus after the reception of the handover-related information, and
a second radio quality between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus after the reception of the handover- related information, and
the trigger condition information indicates at least one of:
a first threshold value related to the first radio quality and a second threshold value related to the second radio quality, or
an offset value related to the first radio quality and the second radio quality;
execute the handover from the first base station apparatus to the second base station apparatus based on the handover-related information and the determination to execute the handover; and
execute connection to the second base station apparatus using a radio resource, wherein
the handover-related information includes resource information related to the radio resource and the trigger condition information.
8
A first base station apparatus, comprising:
circuitry configured to:
acquire handover-related information, wherein
the handover-related information includes information used by a communication apparatus for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus, and
the second base station apparatus is a switching destination candidate; and
transmit the handover-related information to the communication apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is used by the communication apparatus to determine whether to execute the handover, and
the handover-related information includes resource information related to a radio resource.
7
A first base station apparatus, comprising:
circuitry configured to:
acquire handover-related information, wherein
the handover-related information includes information used by a communication apparatus for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus to be a switching destination candidate; and
transmit the handover-related information to the communication apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is used by the communication apparatus to determine whether to execute the handover,
the determination is based on:
trigger condition information,
a first radio quality between the communication apparatus and the first base station apparatus after the acquisition of the handover-related information, and
a second radio quality between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus after the acquisition of the handover- related information,
the trigger condition information indicates at least one of:
a first threshold value related to the first radio quality and a second threshold value related to the second radio quality, or
an offset value related to the first radio quality and the second radio quality, and
the handover-related information includes resource information related to a radio resource that is used for connection to the second base station apparatus by the communication apparatus and the trigger condition information.
9
A communication method, comprising:
In a communication apparatus:
receiving handover-related information from a first base station apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus, and
the second base station apparatus is a switching destination candidate;
determining whether to execute the handover;
executing the handover from the first base station apparatus to the second base station apparatus based on the handover-related information and the determination to execute the handover; and
executing connection to the second base station apparatus using a radio resource, wherein
the handover-related information includes resource information related to the radio resource.
8
A communication method, comprising:
in a communication apparatus:
receiving handover-related information from a first base station apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is used for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus to be a switching destination candidate;
determining whether to execute the handover, wherein
the determination is based on:
trigger condition information,
a first radio quality between the communication apparatus and the first base station apparatus after the reception of the handover-related information, and
a second radio quality between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus after the reception of the handover- related information, and
the trigger condition information indicates at least one of:
a first threshold value related to the first radio quality and a second threshold value related to the second radio quality, or
an offset value related to the first radio quality and the second radio quality;
executing the handover from the first base station apparatus to the second base station apparatus based on the handover-related information and the determination to execute the handover; and
executing connection to the second base station apparatus using a radio resource, wherein
the handover-related information includes resource information related to the radio resource and the trigger condition information.
10
A communication method, comprising:
In a first base station apparatus:
acquire handover-related information, wherein
the handover-related information includes information used by a communication apparatus for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus, and
the second base statin apparatus is a switching destination candidate; and
transmitting the handover-related information to the communication apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is used by the communication apparatus to determine whether to execute the handover, and
the handover-related information includes resource information related to a radio resource.
9
A communication method, comprising:
in a first base station apparatus:
acquiring handover-related information, wherein
the handover-related information includes information used by a communication apparatus for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus to be a switching destination candidate; and
transmitting the handover-related information to the communication apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is used by the communication apparatus to determine whether to execute the handover,
the determination is based on:
trigger condition information,
a first radio quality between the communication apparatus and the first base station apparatus after the acquisition of the handover-related information, and
a second radio quality between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus after the acquisition of the handover- related information,
the trigger condition information indicates at least one of:
a first threshold value related to the first radio quality and a second threshold value related to the second radio quality, or
an offset value related to the first radio quality and the second radio quality, and
the handover-related information includes resource information related to a radio resource that is used for connection to the second base station apparatus by the communication apparatus and the trigger condition information.
28
A communication apparatus, comprising:
circuitry configured to:
receive handover-related information from a first base station apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus, and
the second base station apparatus is a switching destination candidate
determine whether to execute the handover, wherein the determination is based on:
trigger condition information, and
at least one of:
a position of the communication apparatus and a position of one of the first base station apparatus or the second base station apparatus,
time information about the communication apparatus, or
a radio quality between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus, and
the trigger condition information indicates at least one of:
a specific distance from a specific position associated with one of the first base station apparatus or the second base station apparatus,
a specific time, or
a basis value related to the radio quality;
execute ethe handover from the first base station apparatus to the second base station apparatus based on the handover-related information and the determination to execute the handover; and
execute connection to the second base station apparatus using on a radio resource, wherein
the handover-related information includes resource information related to the radio resource and the trigger condition information.
1
A communication apparatus, comprising:
circuitry configured to:
receive handover-related information from a first base station apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is used for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus to be a switching destination candidate;
determine whether to execute the handover, wherein the determination is based on:
trigger condition information,
a first radio quality between the communication apparatus and the first base station apparatus after the reception of the handover-related information, and
a second radio quality between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus after the reception of the handover- related information, and
the trigger condition information indicates at least one of:
a first threshold value related to the first radio quality and a second threshold value related to the second radio quality, or
an offset value related to the first radio quality and the second radio quality;
execute the handover from the first base station apparatus to the second base station apparatus based on the handover-related information and the determination to execute the handover; and
execute connection to the second base station apparatus using a radio resource, wherein
the handover-related information includes resource information related to the radio resource and the trigger condition information.
26
The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the determination is based on:
a basis value, and
a radio quality between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus.
1
determine whether to execute the handover, wherein the determination is based on:
trigger condition information,
the trigger condition information indicates at least one of:
a first threshold value related to the first radio quality and a second threshold value related to the second radio quality, or
an offset value related to the first radio quality and the second radio quality;
27
The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the determination is based on:
a trigger condition information, and
a radio quality between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus,
the trigger condition information indicates a basis value, and
the handover-related information includes the trigger condition information.
1
determine whether to execute the handover, wherein the determination is based on:
trigger condition information,
the trigger condition information indicates at least one of:
a first threshold value related to the first radio quality and a second threshold value related to the second radio quality, or
an offset value related to the first radio quality and the second radio quality;
the handover-related information includes resource information related to the radio resource and the trigger condition information
(1) Regarding claim 1:
Claim 1 of US Patent 12,101,676 B2 discloses all subject matter of claim 1 as shown in the above comparison, therefore, claim 1 of US Patent 12,101,676 B2 anticipated claim 1.
(2) Regarding claims 8-10:
Claims 7-9 of US Patent 12,101,676 B2 discloses all subject matter of claims 8-10 as shown in the above comparison, therefore, claim 7-9 of US Patent 12,101,676 B2 anticipated claims 8-10.
(3) Regarding claim 28:
Claim 1 of US Patent 12,101,676 B2 discloses all subject matter of claim 28 with the interpretation of:
“a first threshold value related to the first radio quality and a second threshold value related to the second radio quality, or an offset value related to the first radio quality and the second radio quality” as the claimed “a basis value related to the radio quality”, thus satisfied all claimed limitation of claim 28
(4) Regarding claim 26:
Claim 1 of US Patent 12,101,676 B2 discloses all subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses the determination is based on trigger condition information, and the trigger condition information indicates at least one of:
“a first threshold value related to the first radio quality and a second threshold value related to the second radio quality”, or “an offset value related to the first radio quality and the second radio quality”.
Therefore, with the interpretation of “a first threshold value related to the first radio quality and a second threshold value related to the second radio quality” as the claimed basis value ; and “an offset value related to the first radio quality and the second radio quality” as the claimed a radio quality between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus; thus claim 1 of US Patent 12,101,676 B2 met all limitation of claim 26.
(5) Regarding claim 27:
Claim 1 of US Patent 12,101,676 B2 discloses all subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses the determination is based on trigger condition information, and the trigger condition information indicates at least one of:
“a first threshold value related to the first radio quality and a second threshold value related to the second radio quality”, and “an offset value related to the first radio quality and the second radio quality”.
Therefore, with the interpretation of “a first threshold value related to the first radio quality and a second threshold value related to the second radio quality” as the claimed basis value ; and “an offset value related to the first radio quality and the second radio quality” as the claimed a radio quality between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus; thus claim 1 of US Patent 12,101,676 B2 met all limitation of claim 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 8-10, 22, 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hassan Hussein et al. (US 2020/0178137 A1).
(1) Regarding claims 1 and 9:
Hassan discloses a communication apparatus (user equipment (UE), para. 0091), comprising:
circuitry (Some or all of the method steps may be executed by (or using) a hardware apparatus, like for example, a microprocessor, a programmable computer or an electronic circuit, para. 0210; it is inherent a UE comprises circuitry) configuration to:
receive handover-related information (expectation list may thus comprise base stations along one or more routes of the UE, wherein along each route one but especially a higher number of eNB may be present. The eNB may be associated with a time stamp indicating a time or time interval in which the user equipment is expected to be in range of the eNB, indicating the start of the attention mode respectively, para. 0091) from a first base station apparatus (a communication between the user equipment (UE) 10 and the coordinator 4 may be performed via different nodes such as the source gNB as displayed, para. 0114), wherein
the handover-related information is for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus (expectation list may thus comprise base stations along one or more routes of the UE, wherein along each route one but especially a higher number of eNB may be present. The eNB may be associated with a time stamp indicating a time or time interval in which the user equipment is expected to be in range of the eNB, indicating the start of the attention mode respectively, para. 0091), and
the second base station apparatus is a switching destination candidate (the eNB in the expectation list is a candidate for handover for the UE based on a traffic map, para. 0097);
determine whether to execute the handover (the user equipment may decide, after having received a first signal form the first base station and a second signal from the second base-station, to transmit a response signal to the first and second base-station or to the first base-station only, the second base station only respectively and to thereby executing the handover to both base stations or only one of those, wherein it is also possible for the UE to connect to a higher number of base stations. The user equipment may configured to decide whether to transmit the response signal to the first and second base-station or to the first base-station only based on a first link quality between the user equipment and the first base station and based on a second link quality between the user equipment and the base station, para. 0139);
execute the handover from the first base station to the second base station apparatus based on the handover-related information and the determination to execute the handover (Once the user equipment(s) approach the promising one of this signaled base-station list, the user equipment is supposed to do coarse synchronization utilizing the broadcasted synchronization signals of the (one or more) promising base-station(s) before transmitting (with RACH-less mechanism) on the Uplink and apply the framing-time and the frequency offset of the appropriate target-cell, para. 0143); and
execute connection to the second base station apparatus using a radio resource (the user equipment decides, e.g. based on the signal strength, with which receiving base-station the handover happens, para. 0114; Based on a reply received from the user equipment each of the base stations may continue to supply the user equipment with resources, i.e., the user equipment may decide, after having received a first signal form the first base station and a second signal from the second base-station, to transmit a response signal to the first and second base-station or to the first base-station only, the second base station only respectively and to thereby executing the handover to both base stations or only one of those, para. 0139), wherein
the handover-related information includes resource information related to the radio resource (the coordinator unit is configured to feedback to the user equipment possible tie stamps (or at least one possible time stamp) of the handover and/or a handover component carrier ID (CCi) and/or physical resource blocks (PRBs) and/or the at least one base-station of the expectation list, para. 0034).
(2) Regarding claims 8 and 10:
Hassan discloses a first base station apparatus (source gNB, para. 0114) comprising:
circuitry configured to (Some or all of the method steps may be executed by (or using) a hardware apparatus, like for example, a microprocessor, a programmable computer or an electronic circuit, para. 0210):
acquire handover-related information (expectation list may thus comprise base stations along one or more routes of the UE, wherein along each route one but especially a higher number of eNB may be present. The eNB may be associated with a time stamp indicating a time or time interval in which the user equipment is expected to be in range of the eNB, indicating the start of the attention mode respectively, para. 0091) from a first base station apparatus (a communication between the user equipment (UE) 10 and the coordinator 4 may be performed via different nodes such as the source gNB as displayed, para. 0114), wherein
the handover-related information includes information used by a communication apparatus for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus (Once the user equipment(s) approach the promising one of this signaled base-station list, the user equipment is supposed to do coarse synchronization utilizing the broadcasted synchronization signals of the (one or more) promising base-station(s) before transmitting (with RACH-less mechanism) on the Uplink and apply the framing-time and the frequency offset of the appropriate target-cell, para. 0143), and
the second base station apparatus is a switching destination candidate (the eNB in the expectation list is a candidate for handover for the UE based on a traffic map, para. 0097); and
transmit the handover-related information to the communication apparatus (a communication between the user equipment (UE) 10 and the coordinator 4 may be performed via different nodes such as the source gNB as displayed, para. 0114), wherein
the handover-related information is used by the communication apparatus to determine whether to execute the handover (expectation list may thus comprise base stations along one or more routes of the UE, wherein along each route one but especially a higher number of eNB may be present. The eNB may be associated with a time stamp indicating a time or time interval in which the user equipment is expected to be in range of the eNB, indicating the start of the attention mode respectively, para. 0091), and
the handover-related information includes resource information related to a radio resource (the coordinator unit is configured to feedback to the user equipment possible tie stamps (or at least one possible time stamp) of the handover and/or a handover component carrier ID (CCi) and/or physical resource blocks (PRBs) and/or the at least one base-station of the expectation list, para. 0034).
(3) Regarding claim 9:
Hassan discloses a communication method, comprising:
In a communication apparatus:
receiving handover-related information from a first base station apparatus, wherein
the handover-related information is for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus, and
the second base station apparatus is a switching destination candidate;
determining whether to execute the handover;
executing the handover from the first base station apparatus to the second base station apparatus based on the handover-related information and the determination to execute the handover; and
executing connection to the second base station apparatus using a radio resource, wherein
the handover-related information includes resource information related to the radio resource.
(3) Regarding claim 28:
Hassan discloses a communication apparatus (user equipment (UE), para. 0091), comprising:
circuitry (Some or all of the method steps may be executed by (or using) a hardware apparatus, like for example, a microprocessor, a programmable computer or an electronic circuit, para. 0210; it is inherent a UE comprises circuitry) configured to:
receive handover-related information (expectation list may thus comprise base stations along one or more routes of the UE, wherein along each route one but especially a higher number of eNB may be present. The eNB may be associated with a time stamp indicating a time or time interval in which the user equipment is expected to be in range of the eNB, indicating the start of the attention mode respectively, para. 0091) from a first base station apparatus (a communication between the user equipment (UE) 10 and the coordinator 4 may be performed via different nodes such as the source gNB as displayed, para. 0114), wherein
the handover-related information is for a handover from the first base station apparatus to a second base station apparatus (expectation list may thus comprise base stations along one or more routes of the UE, wherein along each route one but especially a higher number of eNB may be present. The eNB may be associated with a time stamp indicating a time or time interval in which the user equipment is expected to be in range of the eNB, indicating the start of the attention mode respectively, para. 0091), and
the second base station apparatus is a switching destination candidate (the eNB in the expectation list is a candidate for handover for the UE based on a traffic map, para. 0097);
determine whether to execute the handover (the user equipment may decide, after having received a first signal form the first base station and a second signal from the second base-station, to transmit a response signal to the first and second base-station or to the first base-station only, the second base station only respectively and to thereby executing the handover to both base stations or only one of those, wherein it is also possible for the UE to connect to a higher number of base stations. The user equipment may configured to decide whether to transmit the response signal to the first and second base-station or to the first base-station only based on a first link quality between the user equipment and the first base station and based on a second link quality between the user equipment and the base station, para. 0139), wherein the determination is based on:
trigger condition information (If the user equipment is predicted to move to a terrestrial uncovered area (without any supported terrestrial RAT, e.g., LTE, 3G etc.) or an area which has uncovered spots, a handover to satellite/HAP as a non-terrestrial base-station is possible if the coordinator unit is configured to compensate for the round-trip time (RTT) delay for the satellite initial access (handover triggering time, para. 0178), and
at least one of:
a position of the communication apparatus and a position of one of the first base station apparatus or the second base station apparatus,
time information about the communication apparatus, or
a radio quality between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus (after having received a first signal form the first base station and a second signal from the second base-station, to transmit a response signal to the first and second base-station or to the first base-station only, the second base station only respectively and to thereby executing the handover to both base stations or only one of those, wherein it is also possible for the UE to connect to a higher number of base stations. The user equipment may configured to decide whether to transmit the response signal to the first and second base-station or to the first base-station only based on a first link quality between the user equipment and the first base station and based on a second link quality between the user equipment and the base station. Alternatively or in addition, any other channel criterion may be used, e.g., data throughput, availability of resources, para. 0139), and
the trigger condition information indicates at least one of:
a specific distance from a specific position associated with one of the first base station apparatus or the second base station apparatus,
a specific time (If the user equipment is predicted to move to a terrestrial uncovered area (without any supported terrestrial RAT, e.g., LTE, 3G etc.) or an area which has uncovered spots, a handover to satellite/HAP as a non-terrestrial base-station is possible if the coordinator unit is configured to compensate for the round-trip time (RTT) delay for the satellite initial access (handover triggering time, para. 0178), or
a basis value related to the radio quality;
execute ethe handover from the first base station apparatus to the second base station apparatus based on the handover-related information and the determination to execute the handover; and
execute connection to the second base station apparatus using on a radio resource (the user equipment decides, e.g. based on the signal strength, with which receiving base-station the handover happens, para. 0114; Based on a reply received from the user equipment each of the base stations may continue to supply the user equipment with resources, i.e., the user equipment may decide, after having received a first signal form the first base station and a second signal from the second base-station, to transmit a response signal to the first and second base-station or to the first base-station only, the second base station only respectively and to thereby executing the handover to both base stations or only one of those, para. 0139), wherein
the handover-related information includes resource information related to the radio resource and the trigger condition information (the coordinator unit is configured to feedback to the user equipment possible tie stamps (or at least one possible time stamp) of the handover and/or a handover component carrier ID (CCi) and/or physical resource blocks (PRBs) and/or the at least one base-station of the expectation list, para. 0034).
(4) Regarding claim 26:
Hassan discloses all subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses the determination is based on:
a basis value (Multiple base-stations are set in a state to be ready for a handover at certain time stamps. Resources are freed in these base-stations as follows: first same resources first, then different resources in the same carrier and finally different resources in different carriers. This may include the coordinator to try to reserve or block the same resources at different base stations so as to enable the UE to continue transmission during the handover, i.e., to perform a seamless handover. The reservation may include a time stamp indicating a time or time interval or reservation, para. 0194; the examiner interprets the time stamp or time interval as the claimed basis value), and
a radio quality between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus (after having received a first signal form the first base station and a second signal from the second base-station, to transmit a response signal to the first and second base-station or to the first base-station only, the second base station only respectively and to thereby executing the handover to both base stations or only one of those, wherein it is also possible for the UE to connect to a higher number of base stations. The user equipment may configured to decide whether to transmit the response signal to the first and second base-station or to the first base-station only based on a first link quality between the user equipment and the first base station and based on a second link quality between the user equipment and the base station. Alternatively or in addition, any other channel criterion may be used, e.g., data throughput, availability of resources, para. 0139).
(5) Regarding claim 27:
Hassan discloses all subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses
the determination is based on:
a trigger condition information (Multiple base-stations are set in a state to be ready for a handover at certain time stamps. Resources are freed in these base-stations as follows: first same resources first, then different resources in the same carrier and finally different resources in different carriers. This may include the coordinator to try to reserve or block the same resources at different base stations so as to enable the UE to continue transmission during the handover, i.e., to perform a seamless handover. The reservation may include a time stamp indicating a time or time interval or reservation, para. 0194; the examiner interprets the time stamp or time interval as the claimed trigger condition information), and
a radio quality between the communication apparatus and the second base station apparatus (after having received a first signal form the first base station and a second signal from the second base-station, to transmit a response signal to the first and second base-station or to the first base-station only, the second base station only respectively and to thereby executing the handover to both base stations or only one of those, wherein it is also possible for the UE to connect to a higher number of base stations. The user equipment may configured to decide whether to transmit the response signal to the first and second base-station or to the first base-station only based on a first link quality between the user equipment and the first base station and based on a second link quality between the user equipment and the base station. Alternatively or in addition, any other channel criterion may be used, e.g., data throughput, availability of resources, para. 0139),
the trigger condition information indicates a basis value (Multiple base-stations are set in a state to be ready for a handover at certain time stamps. Resources are freed in these base-stations as follows: first same resources first, then different resources in the same carrier and finally different resources in different carriers. This may include the coordinator to try to reserve or block the same resources at different base stations so as to enable the UE to continue transmission during the handover, i.e., to perform a seamless handover. The reservation may include a time stamp indicating a time or time interval or reservation, para. 0194; the examiner interprets the time stamp or time interval as the claimed trigger condition information and it indicates a start of attention mode, para. 0139), and
the handover-related information includes the trigger condition information (If cell coordination is accurate, the user equipment may apply the time stamp broadcasted to it without need for coarse synchronization, if the symbol synchronization can be compensated, para. 0144, as shown in figure 4A, stage 4 discloses UE knows his possible HO time stamps, CCI, PRBs and T-eNBs, radio frame timing ).
(6) Regarding claim 22:
Hassan discloses all subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses the determination is based on:
a specific time (Multiple base-stations are set in a state to be ready for a handover at certain time stamps. Resources are freed in these base-stations as follows: first same resources first, then different resources in the same carrier and finally different resources in different carriers. This may include the coordinator to try to reserve or block the same resources at different base stations so as to enable the UE to continue transmission during the handover, i.e., to perform a seamless handover. The reservation may include a time stamp indicating a time or time interval or reservation, para. 0194), and
timing information about the communication apparatus (the position is tracked in an embodiment along the traveling time of the moving vehicle, para. 0090; the examiner interprets the traveling time of the moving vehicle as the claimed timing information about the communication apparatus).
(7) Regarding claim 25:
Hassan discloses all subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses the determination is based on:
trigger condition information (Multiple base-stations are set in a state to be ready for a handover at certain time stamps. Resources are freed in these base-stations as follows: first same resources first, then different resources in the same carrier and finally different resources in different carriers. This may include the coordinator to try to reserve or block the same resources at different base stations so as to enable the UE to continue transmission during the handover, i.e., to perform a seamless handover. The reservation may include a time stamp indicating a time or time interval or reservation, para. 0194; the examiner interprets the time stamp or time interval as the claimed trigger condition information), and
time information about the communication apparatus (the position is tracked in an embodiment along the traveling time of the moving vehicle, para. 0090; the examiner interprets the traveling time of the moving vehicle as the claimed timing information about the communication apparatus),
the trigger condition information indicates a specific time (Multiple base-stations are set in a state to be ready for a handover at certain time stamps. Resources are freed in these base-stations as follows: first same resources first, then different resources in the same carrier and finally different resources in different carriers. This may include the coordinator to try to reserve or block the same resources at different base stations so as to enable the UE to continue transmission during the handover, i.e., to perform a seamless handover. The reservation may include a time stamp indicating a time or time interval or reservation, para. 0194; the examiner interprets the time stamp or time interval as the claimed trigger condition information), and
the handover-related information includes the trigger condition information (If cell coordination is accurate, the user equipment may apply the time stamp broadcasted to it without need for coarse synchronization, if the symbol synchronization can be compensated, para. 0144, as shown in figure 4A, stage 4 discloses UE knows his possible HO time stamps, CCI, PRBs and T-eNBs, radio frame timing).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-21 are 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hong et al. (US 2024/0172066 A1) discloses method for performing terminal-based handover and device thereof.
Choi et al. (US 2016/0100374 A1) discloses method for transmitting information for synchronization of user equipment by base station in wireless communication system and apparatus.
Yaoya (US 6,512,920 B1) discloses satellite communications system and handover processing method.
/SIU M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 6/3/2026