DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I encompassing claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 07/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. Examiner suggests that title maybe changed to provide more description regarding the instant invention. Therefore, a new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “extraction unit” in claims 1 and 15.
A review of the specification, according to PG-Pub, shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
extraction unit – inspection PC 110, paragraphs 166-169.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohara, US 2007/0212143 in view of Misawa, US 2023/0070196.
Regarding claim 1, Ohara discloses a testing apparatus (variable system 14, fig. 1) configured to connect to an image forming apparatus (image forming device 26, fig. 1) (variable system and image forming device are connected as shown in fig. 1, paragraphs 16, 22), the testing apparatus comprising:
a controller (controller 50, fig. 2, paragraph 24), the controller being configured to (system controller 50 controls the operation of the various components of the variable system 14, paragraph 26):
extract a character string from a designated area on a scanned image acquired by scanning a printed product with an image printed thereon based on a job (based on created digital document (i.e., job), the printer 26a prints the document and sends the printed sheet to the scanner, which scans this sheet, generates scanned data and transmits the data to the variable system 14. At the variable system 14, only the data corresponding to the variable part (i.e., designated area on scanned image) is extracted, basically, the scanner masks the scan data generated from the printed result using the form, extracts the data corresponding to the variable part, and performs OCR processing as necessary, paragraphs 36, 40, 19);
acquire information regarding the job (variable system 14 further receives scanned data of a printed result from the image scanning device and with the scanned data as a mask on the form 22 used for printing, the scanned data in the vicinity of the variable part is extracted. Thus, the form 22 is managed by association with the print job, wherein, variable system 14 acquires a form 22 such that data to be substituted into a variable part of the acquired form 22, and finally the extracted scanned data is converted to character codes by the OCR section, paragraphs 18-19);
and perform testing on the printed product based on the acquired information about the job by comparing the character string extracted by an extraction unit (Optical Character Reader and barcode reader, paragraphs 19, 25, 31) with a correct value referred to from reference data (obtained character codes are sent to the variable system 14 and compared with the data used in the creation of the digital document such that result is first compared with a result of searching from the database 18 and a notification of the comparison result is sent to the user terminal notifying if printing was performed correctly or if there is a printing discrepancy, paragraphs 36, 40, 49).
Ohara fails to explicitly disclose testing apparatus comprising: a controller having one or more processors which executes instructions stored in one or more memories, the controller being configured to: extract a character string from a designated area on a scanned image.
However, Misawa teaches testing apparatus (inspection apparatus 110, paragraphs 25-26) comprising: a controller having one or more processors which executes instructions stored in one or more memories (components of the inspection control unit 300 include CPU 302 which controls the entire inspection apparatus 110 and RAM 303, ROM 304 for storing program data to be executed by the CPU 302, paragraph 38), the controller being configured to: extract a character string from a designated area on a scanned image acquired by scanning a printed product with an image printed thereon based on a job (inspection control unit 300 controls the entire inspection apparatus 110, and performs inspection as to whether a print product has a defect and inspection of a extracted variable area portion, such as a character string or a barcode (by OCR, paragraph 48) from an scanned inspection target that is stored in the RAM 303, thereby, the inspection processing unit 305 calculates a differential value between a reference image stored beforehand in the RAM 303 as a correct image and the scanned image stored as the inspection target, paragraphs 36-37, 40-41 and paragraphs 113-115 for further details);
and perform testing on printed product based on acquired information about job by comparing the character string extracted with a correct value referred to from reference data (inspection apparatus 110 then performs inspection by comparing the calculated differential value and an inspection threshold of each inspection item, pixel by pixel. For example, when printing is executed for a print job for inspection, the inspection apparatus 110 detects conveyance of a sheet, scans the sheet using the image reading unit 310, and the scanned image is stored in the RAM 303 of the inspection apparatus 110. The stored image is compared with the reference image, so that an inspection result is obtained, paragraphs 40-42, 48-52).
Ohara and Misawa are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing inspection as to detect whether a print product output from the image forming apparatus has a defect.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohara to incorporate the teachings of Misawa for the benefit of providing an effective inspection method by which the character strings can be accurately recognized, and the accuracy of the inspection can be improved as taught by Misawa at paragraph 128.
Regarding claim 2, Combination of Ohara with Misawa further teaches wherein the controller generates second reference data by rearranging the correct value in first reference data stored in advance based on the acquired information about the job (Misawa, based on job information, setting item 910 is for selecting data to be used for collation inspection, by file selection. The reference CSV file (i.e., first reference data) is a file to be prepared beforehand by the user, and correct character strings for character string inspection and barcode inspection are listed in this file. A character string inspection area and a barcode reading result are collated (arranged or rearranged in specific order) with the correct character strings listed in the reference CSV file when data inspection is executed (thus, CSV file is updated, i.e., second reference data), paragraph 88), and the controller performs the testing on the printed product using the second reference data (Misawa, inspection processing unit 305 collates the character recognition result and the barcode recognition result with the correct character strings listed in the reference CSV file (i.e., second reference data). Subsequently, the inspection processing unit 305 outputs a correctness/incorrectness determination result based on second reference data as an inspection result, paragraph 113).
Ohara and Misawa are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing inspection as to detect whether a print product output from the image forming apparatus has a defect.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohara to incorporate the teachings of Misawa for the benefit of providing an effective inspection method by which the character strings can be accurately recognized, and the accuracy of the inspection can be improved as taught by Misawa at paragraph 128.
Regarding claim 3, Combination of Ohara with Misawa further teaches a user interface (UI), wherein the controller acquires the information about the job via a screen displayed on the UI (Misawa, image reading unit 310 reads a print product conveyed from the image forming apparatus 100 and A UI unit 320 is provided for a user to make setting of the inspection apparatus 110 and to display an inspection result for the user such that UI unit 320 displays the scanned image of the inspection target and the inspection result, for the user. For example, inspection apparatus 110 performs inspection by comparing the calculated differential value and an inspection threshold of each inspection item, pixel by pixel and the result of the inspection include information as to whether a print product has a defect, the type (dot or streak) of a detected defect, and position information about the position of a defect and the like of the detected defect, together with the detected defect is displayed on the UI unit 320, paragraphs 37, 42, 115).
Ohara and Misawa are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing inspection as to detect whether a print product output from the image forming apparatus has a defect.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohara to incorporate the teachings of Misawa for the benefit of providing an effective inspection method by which the character strings can be accurately recognized, and the accuracy of the inspection can be improved as taught by Misawa at paragraph 128.
Regarding claim 4, Combination of Ohara with Misawa further teaches wherein the controller acquires information about a page to be printed from information about a job for printing using the image forming apparatus (Ohara, based on acquired control printing job created from the user terminal, it is determined whether double-sided or N-up printing is to be performed by the printer, paragraphs 26, 41).
Ohara and Misawa are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing inspection as to detect whether a print product output from the image forming apparatus has a defect.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohara to incorporate the teachings of Misawa for the benefit of providing an effective inspection method by which the character strings can be accurately recognized, and the accuracy of the inspection can be improved as taught by Misawa at paragraph 128.
Regarding claim 7, Combination of Ohara with Misawa further teaches wherein the correct value corresponding to a character string extracted from a scanned image of a page (Ohara, inspecting page by page basis, paragraphs 51-52) is stored in a row in the reference data, and the correct value corresponding to a character string extracted from a scanned image of a next page is stored in a row following the row in the reference data (Misawa, character string inspection area and a barcode reading result are collated with the correct character strings listed in the reference CSV file when data inspection is executed, basically, that correct character strings stored beforehand are collated with extracted scanned (OCR) character strings for job data/page to be stored in one (first) row of the reference CSV file and thereby, next then the correct character strings stored beforehand are collated with extracted scanned (OCR) character strings for subsequent/next job data/page which are to be stored in next row (second row following the first row), paragraph 88).
Ohara and Misawa are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing inspection as to detect whether a print product output from the image forming apparatus has a defect.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohara to incorporate the teachings of Misawa for the benefit of providing an effective inspection method by which the character strings can be accurately recognized, and the accuracy of the inspection can be improved as taught by Misawa at paragraph 128.
Official Notice is taken that it is well known and obvious in the art to provide to store results/values belonging to first data/page in first row in CSV file and thereby store subsequent/second results/values belonging to second data/page in following (second) row in the CSV file (See MPEP 2144.03). The motivation for doing so would have been to provide organized and effective reference CSV file to the user for easily identifying or in an easy-to-understand manner, the correct character strings concerning each job/page data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine well known prior art with Ohara and Misawa to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Combination of Ohara with Misawa further teaches wherein in a case where the acquired information about the job is information indicating that printing is to be performed (Misawa, when printing is to be or is performed/executed, the inspection apparatus 110 detects conveyance of a sheet, scans the sheet using the image reading unit 310, and the scanned image is stored in the RAM 303 of the inspection apparatus 110. The stored image is compared with the reference image, so that an inspection result is obtained, paragraph 52) from the first page, the controller performs the testing on the printed product by referring to the correct value corresponding to the first page and the correct value corresponding to a page following the first page in the reference data (Misawa, the inspection processing unit 305 collates the character recognition result and the barcode recognition result obtained with the correct character strings listed in the reference CSV file. Subsequently, the inspection processing unit outputs a correctness/incorrectness determination result, as an inspection result which are displayed as the scanned image of the inspection target and the inspection result, for the user. In a case where a print product has a defect, the UI unit 320 emphasizes the detected defect using a dotted line frame or a color frame on the scanned image, and displays the type (dot or streak), the position information, and the like of the detected defect, together with the detected defect. On the other hand, in a case where a print product has no defect, the character string having no defect is displayed. The method for displaying the inspection result by the UI unit 320 is not limited to these examples. The method may be any method if the method can display the detection result for the user in an easy-to-understand manner, paragraphs 113-115).
Ohara and Misawa are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing inspection as to detect whether a print product output from the image forming apparatus has a defect.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohara to incorporate the teachings of Misawa for the benefit of providing an effective inspection method by which the character strings can be accurately recognized, and the accuracy of the inspection can be improved as taught by Misawa at paragraph 128.
Official Notice is taken that it is well known and obvious in the art to have analyzing the results/values belonging to first data/page in CSV file and having subsequent/second results/values belonging to following/second data/page in the CSV file (See MPEP 2144.03). The motivation for doing so would have been to provide organized and effective reference CSV file to the user for easily identifying or in an easy-to-understand manner, the correct character strings concerning each job/page data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine well known prior art with Ohara and Misawa to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Combination of Ohara with Misawa further teaches wherein the reference data is a comma-separated values (CSV) file (Misawa, reference CSV file is a file to be prepared beforehand by the user, and correct character strings for character string inspection and barcode inspection are listed in this file. A character string inspection area and a barcode reading result are collated with the correct character strings listed in the reference CSV file when data inspection is executed, paragraphs 88, 113).
Ohara and Misawa are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing inspection as to detect whether a print product output from the image forming apparatus has a defect.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohara to incorporate the teachings of Misawa for the benefit of providing an effective inspection method by which the character strings can be accurately recognized, and the accuracy of the inspection can be improved as taught by Misawa at paragraph 128.
Regarding claim 10, Combination of Ohara with Misawa further teaches the controller extracts the character string from an image of the designated area based on a character string testing setting (Ohara, controller selects and sets part of an area corresponding to the variable part as an inspection area on the basis of variable part characteristics such as variable part of form data and the setting unit sets as an inspection area at least part of an area corresponding to the variable part of the form data and variable system performs an extract command for the area corresponding to the variable part. In accordance with this command, the scanner masks the scan data generated from the printed result using the form, extracts the data corresponding to the variable part, and performs OCR processing as necessary. Then, the extracted result is transmitted, paragraphs 40, 51-52).
Ohara and Misawa are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing inspection as to detect whether a print product output from the image forming apparatus has a defect.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohara to incorporate the teachings of Misawa for the benefit of providing an effective inspection method by which the character strings can be accurately recognized, and the accuracy of the inspection can be improved as taught by Misawa at paragraph 128.
Regarding claim 11, Combination of Ohara with Misawa further teaches wherein the controller extracts the character string from a code image of the designated area based on a barcode testing setting (Misawa, inspection apparatus 110 also performs inspection of a variable area portion, such as a character string or a barcode in variable printing. Examples of the inspection include data readability inspection of checking whether a character string or barcode can be read, and data collation inspection of collating a result of reading a character string or barcode with correct data including the setting for the character/barcode inspection, and the setting for the selected area, paragraphs 26, 88-90, 98).
Ohara and Misawa are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing inspection as to detect whether a print product output from the image forming apparatus has a defect.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohara to incorporate the teachings of Misawa for the benefit of providing an effective inspection method by which the character strings can be accurately recognized, and the accuracy of the inspection can be improved as taught by Misawa at paragraph 128.
Regarding claim 12, Combination of Ohara with Misawa further teaches wherein the designated area is a variable area where printing content changes for each page of the printed product (Ohara, when print data is generated using form data having variable parts, variable printing becomes possible where variable data is changed for every page or every multiple pages, paragraph 51).
Ohara and Misawa are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing inspection as to detect whether a print product output from the image forming apparatus has a defect.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohara to incorporate the teachings of Misawa for the benefit of providing an effective inspection method by which the character strings can be accurately recognized, and the accuracy of the inspection can be improved as taught by Misawa at paragraph 128.
Regarding claim 13, Combination of Ohara with Misawa further teaches wherein the reference data is variable data corresponding to the designated area (Misawa, performing inspection of a variable area portion, such as a character string or a barcode, wherein, data for collation inspection is a reference CSV file for data inspection to be collated when data inspection is performed. The reference CSV file is a file to be prepared beforehand by the user, and correct character strings for character string inspection and barcode inspection are listed in this file. A character string inspection area and a barcode reading result are collated with the correct character strings listed in the reference CSV file when data inspection is executed, paragraphs 26, 88).
Ohara and Misawa are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing inspection as to detect whether a print product output from the image forming apparatus has a defect.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohara to incorporate the teachings of Misawa for the benefit of providing an effective inspection method by which the character strings can be accurately recognized, and the accuracy of the inspection can be improved as taught by Misawa at paragraph 128.
Regarding claim 14, Combination of Ohara with Misawa further teaches wherein the controller rearranges the correct image based on the acquired information about the job (Misawa, based on acquired job information, setting item 910 is for selecting data to be used for collation inspection, by file selection and character string inspection area and a barcode reading result are collated (rearranged) with the correct character strings listed in the reference CSV file which is updated when data inspection is executed, paragraph 88) and performs the testing on the printed product based on the rearranged correct image and the scanned image (Misawa, inspection processing unit 305 collates the character recognition result and the barcode recognition result with the correct character strings listed in the reference CSV file and the inspection processing unit 305 outputs a correctness/incorrectness determination result based on rearranged corrected CSV image data and OCR (scanned image) detection as an inspection result, paragraph 113).
Ohara and Misawa are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing inspection as to detect whether a print product output from the image forming apparatus has a defect.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohara to incorporate the teachings of Misawa for the benefit of providing an effective inspection method by which the character strings can be accurately recognized, and the accuracy of the inspection can be improved as taught by Misawa at paragraph 128.
Regarding claim 15, it recites similar features as claim 1 and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohara, US 2007/0212143 in view of Misawa, US 2023/0070196 as applied in claims 1 and 4 above and further in view of Mori, US 2008/0259395.
Regarding claim 5, Ohara with Misawa fails to explicitly teach wherein information about page to be printed is setting information about a range of pages to be printed.
However, Mori teaches wherein information about page to be printed is setting information about a range of pages to be printed (page range setting can be defined for page(s) to be printed, paragraphs 56, 66, 88-89).
Ohara and Misawa are combinable with Mori because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing printing control with optimized printing.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohara and Misawa to incorporate the teachings of Mori for the benefit of providing an efficient printing method which is capable of realizing the cascade printing in units of pages irrespective of the forms as taught by Mori at paragraph 10.
Regarding claim 6, Ohara with Misawa fails to explicitly teach wherein the information about the page to be printed is a print order setting.
However, Mori teaches wherein the information about the page to be printed is a print order setting (page order setting such as first page to last page can be defined for page(s) to be printed, paragraphs 94, 150).
Ohara and Misawa are combinable with Mori because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing printing control with optimized printing.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohara and Misawa to incorporate the teachings of Mori for the benefit of providing an efficient printing method which is capable of realizing the cascade printing in units of pages irrespective of the forms as taught by Mori at paragraph 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nagahara, US 2023/0044456 – teaches CSV file having various columns, rows for each set of data.
Kazumi, US 2023/0281796 – teaches inspection apparatus for inspecting whether a printing failure has occurred on an image printed on a sheet.
Nozaki, US 2001/0055415 – teaches inspection method with having the reference data obtained by imaging of said design data, corrects said reference data to generate the reference image and compares the image of said inspected pattern and the reference image to detect any defects of the inspected pattern.
/PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683