DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
It appears at least paragraphs [0072], [0075], and [0077] (in the original disclosure of U.S. Application No. 13/181,725) are the most relevant, but do not provide adequate written description support for the specific “automatic login” limitation as claimed.
The original disclosure has these gaps:
“Automatically log in the user” is not clearly described. The spec says the stored authentication information can be provided automatically (so the player doesn’t have to re-type it). However, it does not clearly describe that this results in an automatic login to the EGM / first server / gaming system without further player action. It describes transmission of credentials + logon code, but the actual “login” step is not framed as fully automatic in the way the claims require.
The combination of “stored authentication information + EGM identifier from the captured code” triggering automatic login via a server is not adequately described. While the spec mentions transmitting both the logon code (which identifies the EGM) and authentication information, it does not clearly convey that the system uses both together to automatically log the user in via a server. The disclosure is more general about establishing a session.
No clear “first server” role in the automatic login step. The original disclosure discusses communication with “a server” or “the gaming system,” but it does not describe a distinct first server whose specific role is to receive the data from the PED and perform the automatic login. The claims introduce a structured “first server / second server” architecture for login vs. crediting that is not reasonably conveyed in the original filing.
The “following … capture of the code” trigger for automatic login is not clearly supported. The spec describes various ways the logon code can be exchanged (QR code, NFC, Wi-Fi, etc.), but it does not clearly tie the capture of the code by the app directly to an automatic login process via a server in the precise manner claimed.
The spec discusses player tracking sessions and account login, but the specific automatic login flow triggered purely by scanning a code is not described.
After automatic login, "cause the game controller ... to increase a credit meter" based on credits from a second server.
The spec talks about cash transfers, depositing credits, and player tracking, but does not use or clearly describe the precise sequence of "auto-login via QR code scan and immediately credit meter increase from a separate second server."
The very specific two-server architecture (first server for login/authentication + second server for credit transfer) tied directly to the QR code capture + auto-login is a narrowed embodiment that appears to be a later development.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sekine (US 2006/0025222 A1) in view of Leon Cobos (US 2010/0070759 A1) and further in view of Muir (US 2007/0021198 A1).
Claim 1. Sekine teaches an electronic gaming machine that displays a machine-readable code (two-dimensional QR code or barcode) on its display screen during or after specific game events. A portable electronic device (mobile phone with camera) that captures the machine-readable code displayed on the gaming machine. The portable electronic device transmits data (including device ID or player information) derived from the captured code to a server over a network. The server processes the received data and returns premium data, points, rankings, or other services to the portable electronic device. The overall system operates in a gaming/arcade environment and uses the captured code to trigger server-mediated interaction with the gaming machine. (See Abstract; [0010]–[0030], [0050]–[0070]; Figs. 1–5, 40–41.)
However, Sekine does not teach or suggest the portable electronic device executes an application associated with storing authentication information of the user. Data is received via a first server to automatically log in the user based on the stored authentication information of the user and an identifier of the electronic gaming machine embedded in the captured machine-readable code. Following the automatic log in of the user, the game controller of the electronic gaming machine is caused to increase a credit meter of the electronic gaming machine based on an amount of credits from a second server.
Leon Cobos discloses a system in which a client computer (analogous to the EGM) displays a 2D code (QR code) containing a URL and a challenge/nonce. The user’s mobile device scans the code. The mobile device uses a stored secret or password on the phone to compute a cryptographic response to the challenge. The response, along with user ID, is sent to a server. The server authenticates the user based on the response and stored information and enables automatic login to the client computer (by pushing a welcome screen). The system relies on stored credentials/secret on the mobile device to achieve secure, automatic authentication and login without requiring full credential re-entry on the client device. (See Abstract; Figs. 1–4, [0022]-[0058], [0104]-[0120])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the gaming machine and mobile device system of Sekine to incorporate the mobile device authentication and automatic login technique taught by Leon Cobos and would have been motivated to combine these references in order to provide secure, convenient, password-minimized player authentication and automatic login in a gaming environment using a player’s portable device and stored credentials, thereby improving user experience and security while leveraging existing mobile and server infrastructure.
Additionally, Muir discloses a method and apparatus for registering and associating a mobile device with a gaming machine to enable secure interaction and remote play. A player input at the gaming machine requests securing of the machine. The gaming machine provides an access code and a security code to the player. The player’s mobile device uses these codes to access a communications system and submit the security code. A confirmation message is sent (via server) indicating successful access, which secures the gaming machine for the player. The system supports fund/credit transfers to the gaming machine via the mobile device and backend servers (e.g., transferring value from a player account to the gaming machine’s credit meter or enabling continued play). The mobile device communicates with servers for authentication, confirmation, and transaction processing. (See Abstract; [0015], [0017], [0018], [0034], [0162], [0173])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify the combined system of Sekine and Leon Cobos to incorporate the mobile device registration, server-based confirmation, and fund/credit transfer techniques taught by Muir and would have been motivated to combine these references in order to enable seamless, server-mediated crediting of the EGM credit meter after player authentication and automatic login, which is a common and desirable feature in modern gaming systems for cashless play and player convenience.
2. Sekine, Leon Cobos and Muir disclose the system of claim 1, wherein Muir further discloses the amount of credits from the second server are from an account maintained by the second server in association with the user, Muir [0018], [0034], [0162], [0173].
3-4. Sekine, Leon Cobos and Muir disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the first server and the second server are different servers, wherein the first server comprises a player tracking system server (Both Sekine and Leon Cobos use server(s) for processing captured code data and authentication. Muir further supports server-mediated transactions and player tracking server (Fig. 4, 5). It would have been obvious to implement the first server as a player tracking/authentication server and the second server as a separate accounting/funds server).
5. Sekine, Leon Cobos and Muir disclose the system of claim 1, wherein Leon Cobos teaches the user is automatically logged into at least one of the first server, the second server and the electronic gaming machine (after the mobile device provides the authenticated response) [0104]-[0120].
6. Sekine, Leon Cobos and Muir disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the machine-readable code is displayed on the electronic gaming machine, Sekine (Fig. 1).
7. Sekine, Leon Cobos and Muir disclose the system of claim 1, wherein Leon Cobos further discloses the authentication information of the user is associated with at least one of identifying information of the user and an account of the user (user ID and stored secret tied to user identity), [0024]-[0049], [0105]-[0120].
8. Sekine, Leon Cobos and Muir disclose the system of claim 1, wherein Muir further discloses the game controller of the electronic gaming machine is caused to increase the credit meter of the electronic gaming machine via the network interface, Muir [0015], [0017], [0018], [0034], [0162], [0173].
9-13. Sekine, Leon Cobos and Muir disclose the system of claim 1, wherein Muir further discloses the processor is supported by the housing of the electronic gaming machine; a player tracking controller; a card reader controller; a bill validator controller; and a printer controller as these are conventional hardware implementations and secondary controllers commonly found in electronic gaming machines, Muir (Fig. 2), [0052], [0056].
14-21. Sekine, Leon Cobos and Muir disclose a method of operating a system, the method comprising: following a machine-readable code identifying an electronic gaming machine being captured by a portable electronic device executing an application associated with storing authentication information of a user, enabling, by a processor that is independent of a game controller of the electronic gaming machine, a receipt, via a first server, of data communicated from the portable electronic device to automatically log in the user based on the stored authentication information of the user and an identifier of the electronic gaming machine embedded in the captured machine-readable code, and following the automatic logging in of the user, causing the game controller of the electronic gaming machine to increase a credit meter of the electronic gaming machine based on an amount of credits from a second server as similarly discussed above.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached USPTO form PTO-892.
Filing of New or Amended Claims
The examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the original disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims. See Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 263, 191 USPQ at 97 (“[T]he PTO has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasons why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims.”). However, when filing an amendment an applicant should show support in the original disclosure for new or amended claims. See MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 (“Applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.”). Please see MPEP 2163 (II) 3. (b)
Correspondence
/Seng H Lim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715