NON-FINAL REJECTION
This application, filed Jul. 25, 2024, claims benefit of priority to Provisional Application 63/529,077, filed Jul. 26, 2023.
Claims 1-16, 33, 34, and 36-51, as amended, are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on Sep. 11, 2024, Jun. 24, 2025, Aug. 4, 2026, and Aug. 19, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to compounds of formula (I), and the compound species (I-10) (5-(4-chlorophenyl)-5-isobutoxy-2,5-dihydro-3H-imidazo[2,1-a]isoindole), having the structural formula,
Elected Species (I-10)
Claimed Formula (I)
in the reply filed on Sep. 3, 2026 is acknowledged.
The elected compound species (I-10) reads on formula (I) as recited by claims 1-4, 16, 33, 38, and 40-51, wherein R1 is isobutyl; R12 is chloro; and R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7, R8, R9, R10, R11, R13, and R14 are hydrogen.
Claims 5-15, 34, 36, 37, and 39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on Sep. 3, 2026.
Claims 1-4, 16, 33, 38, and 40-51 are currently pending and under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d) – Improper Dependency
Claims 47, 48, 50, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Specifically, claims 47 and 48 fail to further limit claim 45 from which they depend, because claim 45 recites compounds of claim 43, wherein R1 is isopropyl, isobutyl, sec-butyl, t-butyl, neopentyl, or isopentyl, all of which are inherently branched alkyl groups, as recited by claim 47; and are duplicated in claim 48.
Similarly, claims 50 and 51 fail to further limit claim 48 from which they depend, because claim 48 recites compounds of claim 45, wherein R1 is isopropyl, isobutyl, sec-butyl, t-butyl, neopentyl, or isopentyl, all of which are inherently branched alkyl groups, as recited by claim 50; and are duplicated in claim 51.
It suggested to amend claims 47-48 to depend from claim 46; and to amend claims 50-51 to depend from claim 49.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 16, 40, 43, 46, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barcza et al. (J. Pharm. Sci. 64 (5), pp. 829-831 (1975), cited on PTO-892).
Barcza et al. exemplify compound (Ic) (Scheme I, p. 829), having the structural formula,
Barcza et al.
Compound (Ic)
Claimed Compound (I-8)
(Claims 4 and 16)
Claimed Formula (I)
(Claim 1)
which reads on formula (I) as recited by claims 1-4, 16, 40, 43, 46, and 49, wherein R1 is ethyl; R12 is chloro; and R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7, R8, R9, R10, R11, R13, and R14 are hydrogen.
As shown above, compound (Ic) of Barcza et al. is identical to compound (I-8) (5-(4-chlorophenyl)-5-ethoxy-2,5-dihydro-3H-imidazo[2,1-a]isoindole) as recited by claims 4 and 16.
For the foregoing reasons, Barcza et al. anticipates claims 1-4, 16, 40, 43, 46, and 49.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 16, 33, 38, and 40-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metlesics et al. (USPN 3,931,217, cited on PTO-892).
Metlesics et al. disclose 1,3-diazacycloalkenyl[2,1-a]isoindoles having useful anorexigenic and psychostimulant properties as pharmaceuticals (abstract; col. 1, lines 12-15).
In particular, Metlesics et al. exemplify 2,3-dihydro-5-methoxy-5-phenyl-5H-imidazo[2,1-a]isoindole hydrochloride salt (Example 19), having the structural formula,
Metlesics et al. Compound 19
Claimed Formula (I)
which reads on formula (I) as recited by claims 1-4, 16, 33, 38, and 40-51, to the extent that R1 is alkyl (methyl), and R2 through R14 are hydrogen.
The compounds of Metlesics et al. are disclosed to be formulated into preparations for administration by enteral or parenteral routes. In general, the formulations will be prepared with pharmaceutically acceptable adjuvant materials (col. 14, lines 24-66), as recited by claim 33.
Compound 19 of Metlesics et al. differs from the elected compound species (I-10) in that R12 is hydrogen instead of chloro, and R1 is methyl instead of isobutyl.
Metlesics et al. Compound 19
Elected Species (I-10)
However, Metlesics et al. disclose compound 19 as a species of the formula defined in claim 1, wherein R1 and R3 are each hydrogen or halogen, and R7 is lower alkyl:
Regarding the chloro substituent, Metlesics et al. further exemplify the compounds of Example 9 (5-(p-chlorophenyl)-2,3-dihydro-5-hydroperoxy-5H-imidazo[2,1-a]isoindole HCl) and Example 15 (5-(4-chlorophenyl)-2,3-dihydro-5-hydroxy-5H-imidazo[2,1-a]isoindole), each having R3 defined as chloro in the para position.
Thus, Metlesics et al. expressly disclose, teach, and suggest not only halogen at R3, but specifically a chloro in the para position, i.e., at R12 of claimed formula (I).
Regarding the isobutyl substituent, R7 of formula (I) of Metlesics et al. is limited to lower alkyl, generally understood by those skilled in the chemical arts as C1-6 alkyl. Because compound 19 is exemplified with methyl in this position, Metlesics et al. expressly disclose, teach, and suggest that this alkoxy methyl group can be extended to C4-alkyl, e.g., isobutyl.
Therefore, it would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the filing date to modify the compound of Example 19 of Metlesics et al. to arrive at the elected compound species (I-10) with a reasonable expectation of success, because compound genus of Metlesics et al. is very small, and expressly encompasses these two modifications to Compound 19. Further, the compounds of Metlesics et al. are disclosed for the same use as the claimed compounds, as pharmaceuticals for the treatment CNS disorders.
As recognized by MPEP § 2144.09, compounds which are homologs (i.e., differing regularly by the successive addition of the same functional group, e.g., CH2) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 16, 33, 40, 43, 46, and 49 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,454,535. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims would anticipate the examined claims.
Reference claim 1 recites compounds of formula (I), having the structural formula,
Reference Claim 1
Formula (I)
Examined Claim 1
Formula (I)
R1 is a dioxolanylmethyl group
R1 is an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an aralkyl group, an alkoxyalkyl group, a carboxyalkyl ester group, a cinnamyl group, a heteroalkyl group or a heterocycloalkyl group;
R2-R5 are each independently H or alkyl
R2-R5 are each independently H or alkyl
R6-R11, R13 and R14 are each independently H, alkyl, alkoxy, F, Cl, Br, CF 3 or I
R6-R14 are each independently H, alkyl, alkoxy, F, Cl, Br, CF3 or I
R12 is alkyl, alkoxy, F, Cl, Br, CF3 or I
at least one of R6-R14 is alkyl, alkoxy, F, Cl, Br, CF3 or I
Reference formula (I) falls within the scope of examined formula (I), because the alkyl, alkoxy, F, Cl, Br, CF3 or I substituent is specifically at R12; and because the dioxolanylmethyl group at R1 reads on heteroalkyl.
The instant specification defines “alkyl” to include C1-20 straight chain and branched alkyl groups, as well as cycloalkyl groups (para. [0046]), including, e.g., cyclopentyl (para. [0047]). Wherever “hetero” is used it is intended to mean a group as specified, where at least one carbon atom has been replaced with a heteroatom selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, oxygen, and sulfur (para. [0053]).
Thus, reference formula (I), requiring a dioxolanylmethyl substituent at R1 of reference claim 1, and the compound species (I-19) of reference claim 2,
fall within the scope of “heteroalkyl” at R1 as recited by examined claim 1. Further, reference compound (I-19) is recited by examined claim 16.
Reference claim 3 recites compound (I-1) (5-(benzyloxy)-5-(4-chlorophenyl)-2,5-dihydro-3H-imidazo[2,1-a]isoindole, having the structural formula,
which falls within the scope of examined formula (I), wherein R1 is benzyl (aralkyl). Further, reference compound (I-1) is recited by examined claim 16.
Reference claim 4 is drawn to a composition comprising a compound of formula (I), and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, which reads on examined claim 33.
Reference claim 5 is drawn to the compound of formula (I), wherein R12 is Cl, which falls within the scope of examined formula (I), which requires at least one of R6-R14 to be alkyl, alkoxy, F, Cl, Br, CF3 or I.
For the foregoing reasons, the reference claims would anticipate the examined claims.
Claims 1-4, 16, 33, 38, and 40-51 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18/899,299 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims would anticipate the examined claims.
Reference claim 1 is drawn to a method for treating a central nervous system disorder in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula I, II, or III, or a stereoisomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein formula (I) has the structural formula shown below:
Reference Claim 1
Formula (I)
Examined Claim 1
Formula (I)
R1 is an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an aralkyl group, an alkoxyalkyl group, a carboxyalkyl ester group, a cinnamyl group, a heteroalkyl group or a heterocycloalkyl group;
R1 is an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an aralkyl group, an alkoxyalkyl group, a carboxyalkyl ester group, a cinnamyl group, a heteroalkyl group or a heterocycloalkyl group;
R2-R5 are each independently H or alkyl;
R2-R5 are each independently H or alkyl
R6-R14 are each independently H, alkyl, alkoxy, F, Cl, Br, CF3 or I;
R6-R14 are each independently H, alkyl, alkoxy, F, Cl, Br, CF3 or I,
wherein at least one of R6-R14 is alkyl, alkoxy, F, Cl, Br, CF3 or I
Further, reference claim 2 recites the elected compound species (I-10) (5-(4-chlorophenyl)-5-isobutoxy-2,5-dihydro-3H-imidazo[2,1-a]isoindole), as recited by examined claims 1-4, 16, 38, and 40-51.
It is implicit in the methods for treating a central nervous system disorder in a subject in need thereof comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula I, as recited by the reference claims, that the compound is formulated in a composition together with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, as recited by examined claim 33.
For the foregoing reasons, the reference claims would anticipate the examined claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SARA E. TOWNSLEY whose telephone number is 571-270-7672. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jeff S. Lundgren, can be reached at 571-272-5541. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SARA E. TOWNSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1629