Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “support plate disposed below the display panel and comprising patterns for bending disposed in the folding area, the first bending area, and the second bending area” (Claim 1, ln. 11-13) and “a first buffer member disposed on the first part” (Claim 1, ln. 21) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. More in detail, although figure 11C shows a support plate having patterns disposed in the folding area, the first bending area, and the second bending area (fig. 11C, elements 4515, 4516, and 4531 of support plate 450), said embodiment does not appear to meet other limitations of claim 1 such as a first buffer member disposed on the first part (461a, fig. 11C) or a reinforcement plate having a difference in height (Claim 1, ln. 16-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, in lines 2-3, recites “a thickness of the first buffer member is substantially equal to the second thickness”. This limitation is confusing because the term “substantially” denotes a degree of uncertainty that, unless a deviation value or tolerance is provided to compare with, it would not allow a person of ordinary skill to unequivocally determine whether said limitation has been met. Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be read as: a thickness of the first buffer member is equal to the second thickness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo et al. (US 10342121 B2, and Koo hereinafter) in view of Choi (EP 4180914 A1, and Choi hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Koo discloses a foldable electronic device comprising:
a foldable housing comprising a first housing (1100, fig. 16), a second housing (1200, fig. 16), and a hinge device configured to connect the first housing and the second housing(1300, fig. 16); and a flexible display (10, fig. 15) disposed to be supported by the foldable housing (fig. 16) and comprising a folding area (411, fig. 17), a first bending area (left instance of 112 in fig. 15(a)) positioned at one side of the folding area, and a second bending area (right instance of 112 in fig. 15(a)) positioned at another side of the folding area, the flexible display being configured such that the folding area, the first bending area, and the second bending area are bent when the foldable electronic device is folded (fig. 15(b)), wherein the flexible display comprises: a display panel (11, fig. 15(a)), a support plate (100, fig. 15(a)) disposed below the display panel and comprising patterns for bending disposed in the folding area, the first bending area, and the second bending area (figs. 1-2).
Koo does not explicitly disclose a first reinforcement plate and a second reinforcement plate disposed between the foldable housing and the support plate, wherein the first reinforcement plate comprises: a first part having a first thickness and at least extending from the folding area to the first bending area, a second part having a second thickness greater than the first thickness and extending from the first part, and a first buffer member disposed on the first part, and wherein the first part is bent together with the support plate by means of at least a part of the hinge device while the foldable electronic device changes from an unfolded state to a folded state.
Choi discloses a first reinforcement plate (720, fig. 13) and a second reinforcement plate (730, fig. 13) disposed between a foldable housing and a support plate (1230, fig. 13, “720 and 730 according to an embodiment may be disposed in the space between the front plate 710 and the rear plate”, [0049]), wherein the first reinforcement plate comprises: a first part (portion of 720 located under 1260, fig. 13) having a first thickness and at least extending from a folding area (central area between instance of 1260, fig. 13), a second part (portion of 720 located to the left of 1260, fig. 13) having a second thickness greater than the first thickness (fig. 13) and extending from the first part (fig. 13), and a first buffer member (left instance of 1260, fig. 13) disposed on the first part (fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo to incorporate the teachings of Choi so that it further comprises a first reinforcement plate and a second reinforcement plate disposed between the foldable housing and the support plate, wherein the first reinforcement plate comprises: a first part having a first thickness and at least extending from the folding area, a second part having a second thickness greater than the first thickness and extending from the first part, and a first buffer member disposed on the first part, in order to provide a support structure that allows arranging some electronic components without showing irregularities (“The third surface of the middle plate 720 may include a recess 721 … in which various electronic components 817 (see FIG. 5) of the electronic device are arranged”, [0049] of Choi and “The buffer layer 1260 according to various embodiments may absorb the surface irregularities or operations of the middle plates 720 and 730 and elastically support the support layer 1230 with an elastic force generated by compression”, [0090] of Choi). Given the flexibility of the buffer member, and of the bending area of the display during folding, extending the first part to the first bending area would be an obvious choice when implementing the above modification. Furthermore, since the functional role of hinge mechanisms during folding and unfolding is well known in the art of foldable devices, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill that the first part is bent together with the support plate by means of at least a part of the hinge device while the foldable electronic device changes from an unfolded state to a folded state (“Fig. 16A shows a first state in which the first body 1100 and the second body 1200 are arranged in parallel, and FIG. 16B shows a second state in which the second body 1200 is folded over the first body 1100. The mobile terminal 1000 is configured to freely modify its form from a first state to a second state, or from a second state to a first state. In order to implement this, the first body 1100 and the second body 1200 may be respectively connected to the hinge portion 1300, and configured to be rotatable with respect to the hinge portion 1300”, Col. 17, ln. 27-36 of Koo).
Regarding Claim 4 (as best understood), Koo/Choi discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose a thickness made by summing up the first thickness and a thickness of the first buffer member is substantially equal to the second thickness.
However, a person of ordinary skill would have recognized that having a thickness made by summing up the first thickness and a thickness of the first buffer member to be equal to the second thickness would be considered a mere change in size/proportion of the first buffer member. Changes in size/proportions have been ruled to carry no patentable weight (In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). See also MPEP § 2144.04, IV, A). A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to do said modification, for instance, in order to allow the edge adhesive layer (1250, fig. 13 of Choi) to fully cover the surface of the support layer and uniformly bond it to the lower elements.
Regarding Claim 5, Koo/Choi discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first part extends from a first edge (E1), which is close to a folding axis (F) of the foldable housing (Koo as modified by Choi discloses the first part extends from right edge of 720, fig. 13 of Choi), to a position corresponding to the first bending area (see rejection of Claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 16, Koo/Choi discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose a third part having the first thickness and extending from the folding area to the second bending area; a fourth part having the second thickness and extending from the third part; and a second buffer member disposed on the third part.
Choi further discloses a third part (portion of 730 located under 1260, fig. 13) having the first thickness and extending from the folding area (central area between instance of 1260, fig. 13);
a fourth part (portion of 720 located to the left of 1260, fig. 13) having the second thickness and extending from the third part (fig. 13); and
a second buffer member (right instance of 1260, fig. 13) disposed on the third part (fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo and Choi to incorporate the additional teachings of Choi so that it further comprises a third part having the first thickness and extending from the folding area to the second bending area; a fourth part having the second thickness and extending from the third part; and a second buffer member disposed on the third part, in order to provide balanced support to both sides of the foldable display panel. Furthermore, given the flexibility of the buffer member, and of the bending area of the display during folding, extending the third part to the second bending area would be an obvious choice when implementing the above modification (see rejection of Claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 17, Koo/Choi discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 16 but does not explicitly disclose in the folded state, the third part is bent together with the support plate by means of at least a part of the hinge device.
However, since the functional role of hinge mechanisms during folding and unfolding is well known in the art of foldable devices, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill that the third part is bent together with the support plate by means of at least a part of the hinge device (“Fig. 16A shows a first state in which the first body 1100 and the second body 1200 are arranged in parallel, and FIG. 16B shows a second state in which the second body 1200 is folded over the first body 1100. The mobile terminal 1000 is configured to freely modify its form from a first state to a second state, or from a second state to a first state. In order to implement this, the first body 1100 and the second body 1200 may be respectively connected to the hinge portion 1300, and configured to be rotatable with respect to the hinge portion 1300”, Col. 17, ln. 27-36 of Koo).
Regarding Claim 18, Koo/Choi discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first bending area and the second bending area include reverse bending sections (portions of 112 characterized by R2) configured to be bent in a direction opposite to a bending direction of the folding area while having a curvature greater than a curvature of the folding area in the folded state of the electronic device (fig. 2 of Koo shows R2 being greater than R1).
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of Choi, further in view of Mao et al. (US 20250220832 A1, and Mao hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 2, Koo/Choi discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose the first buffer member comprises a layer including a non-Newtonian material.
Mao discloses a first buffer member (40, fig. 14b) comprises a layer including a non-Newtonian material (“first buffer member 40 may be a polymer material, for example, thermoplastic polyurethanes (TPU), a thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), foam, or rubber. The material may alternatively be Mylar, a non-Newtonian fluid”, [0186]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo and Choi to incorporate the teachings of Mao so that the first buffer member comprises a layer including a non-Newtonian material, in order to provide velocity-sensitive protection in case of a sudden impact (a recognized property of non-Newtonian materials is that the viscosity increases, becoming near-solid, when subjected to high shear strain or sudden impact).
Regarding Claim 7, Koo/Choi discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose the first buffer member comprises a layer including a bonding material.
Mao discloses a first buffer member (40, fig. 14b) comprises a layer including a bonding material (“first buffer member 40 may be fastened, by using an OCA optical adhesive (not shown in the figure), a PVB adhesive, a foam adhesive”, [0184]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo and Choi to incorporate the teachings of Mao so that the first buffer member comprises a layer including a bonding material, in order to securely fasten it to adjacent layers (“the first buffer member 40 may be fastened to any one or two of the first stiffening plate 30, the second stiffening plate 31, and the third stiffening plate 32”, [0183]), so that it does not fall off after repeated compression/expansion.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of Choi and Mao, further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20220158185 A, and Kim ‘185 hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 3, Koo/Choi/Mao discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose the first reinforcement plate comprises: a first plate extending from the first part to the second part and having the first thickness; and a second plate having a third thickness and stacked on the first plate to form the second part.
Kim ‘185 discloses a reinforcement plate comprising: a first plate (801, fig. 3) extending from a first part to the second part and having first thickness (801 extends, from left to right, from central gap between 801 and 802 to left end under 1300, fig. 3; thickness of 801 is shown in fig. 3); and a second plate (1300, fig. 3) having a third thickness (thickness of 1300, fig. 3) and stacked on the first plate to form a second part (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo, Choi, and Mao to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘185 so that the first reinforcement plate comprises: a first plate extending from the first part to the second part and having the first thickness; and a second plate having a third thickness and stacked on the first plate to form the second part, in order to allow flexibility in the fabrication process. More in detail, having the reinforcement plate consist of two separate plates instead of one would allow to match different heights of buffer member(s) by just replacing the top plate.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of Choi and Mao, further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20180006530 A, and Kim ‘530 hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 6, Koo/Choi discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 2 but does not explicitly disclose the first buffer member comprises: a first layer including the non-Newtonian material; a second layer disposed between the first layer and the first part; and a third layer disposed between the first layer and the support plate.
Kim ‘530 discloses a first buffer member (BF, fig. 8) comprises: a first layer (SP, fig. 8); a second layer (BF1, fig. 8) disposed below the first layer; and a third layer (BF2, fig. 8) disposed above the first layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo, Choi, and Mao to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘530 so that the first buffer member comprises: a first layer; a second layer; and a third layer, in order to increase the cushioning effect of the buffer member during (“By providing the support film (SP) to the cushioning material (BF), the cushioning effect of the cushioning material (BF) can be increased”). This modification would be implemented by adding a buffer layer directly above and below the non-Newtonian layer, which in turn would act as a support element that improves resistance during impact (see property of non-Newtonian materials in rejection of Claim 2 above). A person of ordinary skill would recognize that said multilayer structure would have a similar functional role of protection during an impact as the buffer member disclosed by Koo/Choi as modified by Mao with the advantage of increased protection (“By providing the support film SP on the buffer material BF, the buffering effect of the buffer material BF can be enhanced”, [0113] ‘530 and “Support film SP may be provided in various forms depending on the region on the back surface of the display panel DP, taking into consideration the case where the impact position from the outside is changed.”, [0114] of Kim ‘530). Furthermore, implementing said modification as described above would necessarily lead to the second layer disposed between the first layer and the first part; and a third layer disposed between the first layer and the support plate.
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of Choi, further in view of Zhu et al. (US 20240290228 A1, and Zhu hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 8, Koo/Choi discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose the first buffer member comprises a protective layer as an upper layer
Zhu discloses a first buffer member (including 14-15, fig. 7) comprises a protective layer as an upper layer (15, fig. 7; “By coating the hardened layer 15 on the surface of the buffer layer 14, … also can resist stresses caused by thermal expansion and contraction of the rubber material after curing”, [0075]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo and Choi to incorporate the teachings of Zhu so that the first buffer member comprises a protective layer as an upper layer, in order to provide enhanced mechanical and thermal protection (“not only can level uneven surfaces of the buffer layer 14 adopting the rubber material during coating, thereby improving flatness of the buffer layer 14, but also can resist stresses caused by thermal expansion and contraction of the rubber material after curing”, [0075 of Zhu]).
Regarding Claim 9, Koo/Choi discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose an upper layer of the first buffer member is coated.
Zhu discloses an upper layer (15, fig. 7) of the first buffer member (including 14 and 15, fig. 7) is coated (“baking a hard coating slurry film formed on the buffer layer 14 in an oven to obtain the hardened layer 15”, [0073] and “coating the hardened layer 15 on the surface of the buffer layer 14”, [0075]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo and Choi to incorporate the teachings of Zhu so that an upper layer of the first buffer member is coated, in order to improve flatness of the buffer layer (“level uneven surfaces of the buffer layer 14 adopting the rubber material during coating, thereby improving flatness of the buffer layer 14”, [0075]).
Regarding Claim 10, Koo/Choi/Zhu discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 9, wherein the coated upper layer comprises a hard coating layer or a Teflon coating layer (“baking a hard coating slurry film formed on the buffer layer 14 in an oven to obtain the hardened layer 15”, [0073] of Zhu. See rejection of Claim 9 above).
Regarding Claim 11, Koo/Choi discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose the first thickness (t1) is 100 µm or less.
Zhu discloses a reinforcing plate (13, fig. 7) having a thickness being 100 µm or less (“thickness of the support layer ranges from 30 um to 50 um”, Claim 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo and Choi to incorporate the teachings of Zhu so that the first thickness (t1) is 100 µm or less, in order to define a thickness that is comparable with available manufacturing equipment and standards (a person of ordinary skill would have recognized that having a thickness in the range recited above would be considered a mere change in size/proportion. Changes in size/proportions have been ruled to carry no patentable weight (In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). See also MPEP § 2144.04, IV, A).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of Choi, further in view of Yun et al. (US 12332700 B2, and Yun hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 19, Koo/Choi discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose the hinge device comprises: a first hinge plate coupled to at least a part of the first housing; a second hinge plate coupled to at least a part of the second housing; and a center plate disposed between the first hinge plate and the second hinge plate, wherein the first hinge plate, the second hinge plate, and the center plate is configured to form the same plane as the first housing and the second housing when the electronic device is in the unfolded state.
Yun discloses the hinge device comprises:
a first hinge plate (240a, fig. 11B) coupled to at least a part of a first housing (120, fig. 9A);
a second hinge plate (240b, fig. 11B) coupled to at least a part of the second housing (110, fig. 9A); and
a center plate (250, fig. 11B) disposed between the first hinge plate and the second hinge plate (fig. 11B), wherein the first hinge plate, the second hinge plate, and the center plate is configured to form the same plane as the first housing and the second housing when the electronic device is in the unfolded state (fig. 11B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo and Choi to incorporate the teachings of Yun so that the hinge device comprises: a first hinge plate coupled to at least a part of the first housing; a second hinge plate coupled to at least a part of the second housing; and a center plate disposed between the first hinge plate and the second hinge plate, wherein the first hinge plate, the second hinge plate, and the center plate is configured to form the same plane as the first housing and the second housing when the electronic device is in the unfolded state, in order to provide a hinge mechanism that rotatably connects the housing elements and provides support to the folding portion of the flexible display both when folded and when unfolded (figs. 11A and 11B of Yun).
Regarding Claim 20, Koo/Choi/Yun discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 19, but does not explicitly disclose in the folded state of the electronic device, at least a part of the first part of the first reinforcement plate is configured to be supported by the center plate.
Yun further discloses in the folded state of the electronic device, at least a part of the first part of the first reinforcement plate is configured to be supported by the center plate (fig. 11A).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo and Choi to incorporate the teachings of Yun so that in the folded state of the electronic device, at least a part of the first part of the first reinforcement plate is configured to be supported by the center plate, in order to provide support to the folding portion of the flexible display when unfolded to minimize sagging/wrinkles (11B of Yun).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 12, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “the patterns of the support plate comprise: a first recess disposed in the first bending area and directed toward the first reinforcement plate; and a first elastic member accommodated in the first recess”. Koo (US 10342121 B2), Han (US 20170060188 A1), Youn (US 11334117 B2), Kwak (US 11979997 B2), Park (US 11610520 B2), Park (US 12197255 B2), Tsuchihashi (US 20200389986 A1), Fu (US 11963318 B2), Kim (US 11246228 B2), and Afsar (US 12087187 B2) are cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a flexible display, a support plate, patterns, reinforcement plate, recess and/or elastic member. However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
For instance, Koo discloses foldable electronic device comprising a support plate (100, fig. 15) including patterns (figs. 4-5), wherein the patterns of the support plate comprise a first recess disposed in a first bending area (112, fig. 3); however Koo lacks first recess disposed in the first bending area and directed toward the first reinforcement plate; and a first elastic member accommodated in the first recess.
Conclusion
/MARTIN ANTONIO ASMAT UCEDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841