DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farr et al. (US – 2003/0047397 A1) and further in view of Smith (US – 2013/0220961 A1).
As per claim 1, Farr discloses Adjustable Shock Absorber comprising:
a damper chamber (Fig: 1) comprising:
an outer wall (18, Fig: 1) with a first inner diameter (Attached figure and Fig: 1);
a tubular body (22, Fig: 1) within said damper chamber, said tubular body comprising an exterior wall (28, Fig: 1) with an external diameter (Attached figure and Fig: 1) less than said ID of said outer wall to form an annular region therebetween (16, Attached figure and Fig: 1); and
a fluid bypass within a portion of said annular region (via ports 26, Fig: 1);
a damping piston (24, Fig: 1) coupled to a piston rod (Attached figure and Fig: 1), said damping piston disposed in said tubular body and axially movable relative to said tubular body (Fig: 1), said damping piston to bifurcate said tubular body into a compression side (22a, Fig: 1) and a rebound side (22b, Fig: 1).
Farr also disclose “fluid flow can be bi-directional between the rebound 22b and compression 22a sides or check valves can be used to allow fluid to flow in one direction while preventing fluid flow in an opposite direction”, [0023], but fails to explicitly disclose a valve to allow a working fluid to flow from said annular region into said rebound side and limit a flow of said working fluid from said rebound side and into said annular region.
Smith disclose Railcar Cushioning Device comprising:
a valve (182, 192, 202, Fig: 2-3 and 9-10) to allow a working fluid to flow from said annular region into said rebound side and limit a flow of said working fluid from said rebound side and into said annular region ([0040] and [0041], Fig: 2-3 and 9-10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Adjustable Shock Absorber of the Farr to include the valve to allow a working fluid to flow from said annular region into said rebound side and limit a flow of said working fluid from said rebound side and into said annular region as taught by Smith in order to provide the threshold pressure may be adjustable or controllable by adjusting the valve or selecting a valve having a particular threshold pressure release.
As per claim 3, Farr discloses at least one compression-side bypass orifice disposed at said compression side of said tubular body (one of 26 from chamber 22a, Fig: 1), said at least one compression-side bypass orifice fluidly coupled with said annular region (Fig: 1).
As per claim 4, Farr discloses at least one rebound-side bypass orifice disposed at said rebound side of said tubular body (one of 26 from chamber 22b, Fig: 1), said at least one rebound-side bypass orifice fluidly coupled with said annular region (Fig: 1).
As per claim 5, Smith further discloses said valve configured to allow said working fluid to flow from said compression side into said annular region, and limit a flow of said working fluid from said annular region into said compression side, via said at least one compression-side bypass orifice during a compression stroke (182, 192, 202, operation of the device, [0040], [0041], and [0044]-[0058], Fig: 2-5 and 9-10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Adjustable Shock Absorber of the Farr to include the valve configured to allow said working fluid to flow from said compression side into said annular region, and limit a flow of said working fluid from said annular region into said compression side, via said at least one compression-side bypass orifice during a compression stroke as taught by Smith in order to provide the threshold pressure may be adjustable or controllable by adjusting the valve or selecting a valve having a particular threshold pressure release.
As per claim 6, Smith further discloses said valve located external of said exterior wall of said tubular body (Fig: 2-5, 9-10) and proximate said at least one compression-side bypass orifice (202, 192, Fig: 2-5, 9-10).
As per claim 7, Smith further discloses said valve located internal to said exterior wall of said tubular body and proximate said at least one compression-side bypass orifice (182, 192, 202, operation of the device, [0040], [0041], and [0044]-[0058], Fig: 2-5 and 9-10).
As per claim 8, Smith further discloses said valve to allow said working fluid to flow from said annular region into said compression side, and limit a flow of said working fluid from said compression side and into said annular region, via said at least one compression-side bypass orifice during a rebound stroke (182, 192, 202, operation of the device, [0040], [0041], and [0044]-[0058], Fig: 2-5 and 9-10).
As per claim 9, Smith further discloses said valve located external of said exterior wall of said tubular body and proximate said at least one compression-side bypass orifice (182, 192, 202, Fig: 1).
As per claim 10, Smith further discloses said valve located internal to said exterior wall of said tubular body and proximate said at least one compression-side bypass orifice (182, 192, 202, Fig: 1).
As per claim 11, Smith further discloses said valve configured to allow said working fluid to flow from said rebound side into said annular region, and limit a flow of said working fluid from said rebound side into said annular region, via said at least one rebound-side bypass orifice during a rebound stroke (182, 192, 202, operation of the device, [0040], [0041], and [0044]-[0058], Fig: 2-5 and 9-10).
As per claim 12, Smith further discloses said valve located external to said exterior wall of said tubular body and proximate said at least one rebound-side bypass orifice (182, 192, 202, Fig: 1).
As per claim 13, Smith further discloses said valve located internal to said exterior wall of said tubular body and proximate said at least one rebound-side bypass orifice (182, 192, 202, Fig: 1).
As per claim 14, Smith further discloses said valve configured to allow said working fluid to flow from said annular region into said rebound side, and limit a flow of said working fluid from said rebound side and into said annular region, via said at least one rebound-side bypass orifice during a compression stroke (182, 192, 202, operation of the device, [0040], [0041], and [0044]-[0058], Fig: 2-5 and 9-10).
As per claim 15, Smith further discloses said valve located external to said exterior wall of said tubular body and proximate said at least one rebound-side bypass orifice (182, 192, 202, Fig: 1).
As per claim 16, Smith further discloses said valve located internal to said exterior wall of said tubular body and proximate said at least one rebound-side bypass orifice (182, 192, 202, Fig: 1).
As per claim 17, Farr discloses Adjustable Shock Absorber comprising:
a damper chamber (Fig: 1) comprising:
an outer wall (18, Fig: 1) with a first inner diameter (Attached figure and Fig: 1);
a secondary chamber (22, Fig: 1) within said damper chamber, said secondary chamber comprising an exterior wall (28, Fig: 1) with an external diameter (Attached figure and Fig: 1) less than said ID of said outer wall to form an annular region therebetween (16, Attached figure and Fig: 1);
a damping piston (24, Fig: 1) coupled to a piston rod (Attached figure and Fig: 1), said damping piston disposed in said secondary chamber and axially movable relative to said secondary chamber (Fig: 1), said damping piston to bifurcate said secondary chamber into a compression side (22a, Fig: 1) and a rebound side (22b, Fig: 1).
Farr also disclose “fluid flow can be bi-directional between the rebound 22b and compression 22a sides or check valves can be used to allow fluid to flow in one direction while preventing fluid flow in an opposite direction”, [0023], but fails to explicitly disclose a valve to control a flow of a working fluid between said annular region and said secondary chamber.
Smith disclose Railcar Cushioning Device comprising:
a valve (182, 192, 202, Fig: 2-3 and 9-10) to control a flow of a working fluid between said annular region and said secondary chamber ([0040] and [0041], Fig: 2-3 and 9-10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Adjustable Shock Absorber of the Farr to include the valve to control a flow of a working fluid between said annular region and said secondary chamber as taught by Smith in order to provide the threshold pressure may be adjustable or controllable by adjusting the valve or selecting a valve having a particular threshold pressure release.
As per claim 18, Farr disclose at least two orifices (two 26, upper side and lower side of the piston 24, Fig: 1) selected from a group consisting of:
at least one bearing bypass aperture at said rebound side of said secondary chamber (one of 26, from chamber 22b, Fig: 1), said at least one bearing bypass aperture fluidly coupled with said annular region (16, Fig: 1);
at least one compression-side bypass orifice at said compression side of said secondary chamber (one of 26 from chamber 22a, Fig: 1), said at least one compression-side bypass orifice fluidly coupled with said annular region (16, Fig: 1); and
at least one rebound-side bypass orifice at said rebound side of said secondary chamber (26 at chamber 22b, fig: 1), said at least one rebound-side bypass orifice (26 at chamber 22a, Fig: 1) fluidly coupled with said annular region (16, Fig: 1).
As per claim 19, Farr discloses Adjustable Shock Absorber comprising:
a damper chamber (Fig: 1) comprising:
an outer wall (18, Fig: 1) with a first inner diameter (Attached figure and Fig: 1);
a tubular body (22, Fig: 1) within said damper chamber, said tubular body comprising an exterior wall (28, Fig: 1) with an external diameter (Attached figure and Fig: 1) less than said ID of said outer wall to form an annular region therebetween (16, Attached figure and Fig: 1); and
a fluid bypass within a portion of said annular region (via ports 26, Fig: 1);
a damping piston (24, Fig: 1) coupled to a piston rod (Attached figure and Fig: 1), said damping piston disposed in said tubular body and axially movable relative to said tubular body (Fig: 1), said damping piston to bifurcate said tubular body into a compression side (22a, Fig: 1) and a rebound side (22b, Fig: 1).
Farr also disclose “fluid flow can be bi-directional between the rebound 22b and compression 22a sides or check valves can be used to allow fluid to flow in one direction while preventing fluid flow in an opposite direction”, [0023], but fails to explicitly disclose a valve to control a flow of a working fluid between said fluid bypass and said tubular body.
Smith disclose Railcar Cushioning Device comprising:
a valve (182, 192, 202, Fig: 2-3 and 9-10) a valve to control a flow of a working fluid between said fluid bypass and said tubular body ([0040] and [0041], Fig: 2-3 and 9-10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Adjustable Shock Absorber of the Farr to include the a valve to control a flow of a working fluid between said fluid bypass and said tubular body as taught by Smith in order to provide the threshold pressure may be adjustable or controllable by adjusting the valve or selecting a valve having a particular threshold pressure release.
As per claim 20, Farr discloses at least one compression-side bypass orifice disposed at said compression side of said tubular body (one of 26 from chamber 22a, Fig: 1), said at least one compression-side bypass orifice fluidly coupled with said annular region (Fig: 1) and
at least one rebound-side bypass orifice disposed at said rebound side of said tubular body (one of 26 from chamber 22b, Fig: 1), said at least one rebound-side bypass orifice fluidly coupled with said annular region (Fig: 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,168,379. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 17 and 18 of instant application are encompassed with claims 1 and 2 of US Patent 12,168,379 and are obvious variations of breadth and scope.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art and teaching reference fail to disclose a refill hole located within a ride zone portion of said damper chamber.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A: COAPLEN et al. (US – 2019/0154100 A1),
B: van Wonderen et al. (US – 2004/0094376 A1),
C: FROESE M (DE – 102020210538 A1), and
D: DAI M (CN – 108518443 A).
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616