CTNF 18/784,178 CTNF 82476 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1-9 are pending. Information Disclosure Statement The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 07/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imine, US 2024/0303016 in view of Kawasaki, US 2014/0240750 . Regarding claim 1, Imine discloses an image processing system ( data processing system 1 as shown in fig. 1, paragraph 41 ) comprising: an image processing device ( image forming apparatuses 104, fig. 1, paragraph 42 ); and a computer ( mobile terminal 101, fig. 1, paragraph 42 ), the image processing device and the computer being connectable to a network ( LAN 103 or LAN 102 connects between, for example, the mobile terminal 101 and the image forming apparatuses (printer) 104, paragraphs 44-46 ), the computer having capability of performing data communication in accordance with a first communication and in accordance with a second communication that is different from the first communication ( mobile terminal can perform data communication with the printer 104 via Bluetooth or UWB communication, Bluetooth and UWB are different communication standards, paragraphs 43-46 ), the image processing device being configured to perform data communication in accordance with at least the first communication ( printer and mobile can communicate via both Bluetooth and UWB, paragraphs 46-47 ), wherein the image processing device comprises: an image processing engine configured to perform image processing ( image forming apparatus 104 includes a console section 140 used by a user to perform a variety of operations and a printer section 20 that prints image data on a sheet, paragraph 68 ); and a capability information repository ( HDD 1204, paragraph 85 ) configured to store capability information indicating capabilities of the image processing device ( each of the image forming apparatus 104 processes and stores the communication capability message 910 which is communicated with mobile terminal, paragraphs 161, 149 ), and wherein the computer ( mobile terminal 101, fig. 2 ) comprises a controller ( CPU 202, fig. 2 ) configured to perform: retrieving the capability information stored in the capability information repository of the image processing device ( communication capability message 910 is exchanged between the mobile terminal 101 and image forming apparatuses 104, paragraphs 149, 172 ); determining whether the capability information includes second communication implementation information indicating that the image processing device is capable of performing the second communication ( when printer search as shown in fig. 8D is performed by mobile terminal, capability message is exchanged with each of the image forming apparatus and it is determined which of the image forming apparatuses are capable of communication standards including performing second communications as clearly shown with dedicated icons in fig. 8D, paragraphs 146-149 ); when the capability information includes the second communication implementation information, designating a port to perform the second communication and performing data communication for the image processing in accordance with the second communication ( advertising packet includes the communication capability message 910 of the image forming apparatuses 104, paragraph 149 and when BLE advertising packet is transmitted from image forming apparatuses 104 such as Apple's AirPrint Bluetooth Beacon which includes connection Information indicating port information designating a port number for performing BLE communication between printer and mobile, paragraphs 155-156 and 158 ); and when the capability information does not include the second communication implementation information, not performing the second communication ( when printer search as shown in fig. 8D is performed by mobile terminal, capability message is exchanged with each of the image forming apparatuses and it is determined which of the image forming apparatuses are not capable of second communications and thereby not performing second communications as clearly shown with dedicated icons in fig. 8D, paragraphs 146-149 ). Imine fails to explicitly disclose when information does not include second communication implementation information, not designating a port to perform the second communication. However, Kawasaki teaches when information does not include second communication implementation information ( when a specific condition (i.e., information) is not satisfied indicating that wireless communication using Wi-Fi Direct (i.e., second communication) performed between printing device 200 and a mobile terminal 210 is not implemented, paragraphs 13, 26, 49 ), not designating a port to perform the second communication ( thereby without designating any permitted or non-permitted ports since Wi-Fi direct communication is not performed, paragraph 49 ). Imine and Kawasaki are combinable as both are in the same art of endeavor as both are dealing with wireless communications between devices. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Imine to incorporate the teachings of Kawasaki to not designate a port when communication is not performed for the benefit of permitting the processing of data received from an external apparatus if a specific condition is satisfied, even when a port designated by the external apparatus for communications is not a permitted port as taught by Kawasaki at paragraph 12. Regarding claim 3, Combination of Imine with Kawasaki further teaches wherein the capability information repository is a management information base (Imine, UWB tag information and the communication capability message 910 of each of the image forming apparatuses 104, 105, and 107 can be added to the advertising packet, which is managed by mobile terminal which manages which printer to use as per fig. 8, paragraphs 149-150 ), and wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the capability information includes the second communication implementation information retrieved from the capability information repository (Imine, when printer search as shown in fig. 8D is performed by mobile terminal, capability message is exchanged with each of the image forming apparatus and it is determined which of the image forming apparatuses are capable of communication standards including performing second communications as clearly shown with dedicated icons in fig. 8D, paragraphs 146-149 ) in accordance with a simple network management protocol (Imine, communication control between the mobile terminal 101 and the image forming apparatus 104 is performed, here, according to the communication protocol based on the CSML of the FiRa consortium defined in the specification of IEEE 802.15.4 or can be performed based on the Apple's Nearby Interaction Protocol for identifying a communication partner for the UWB communication in the specifications of these communication protocols for the protocol control using BLE communication and UWB communication, an API conforming to the CSML specifications, paragraphs 153, 105 ). Regarding claim 4, Combination of Imine with Kawasaki further teaches wherein, when determining that the capability information does not include the second communication implementation information, the controller designates another port for the first communication to perform the data communication for the image processing in accordance with the first communication (Imine, when printer search as shown in fig. 8D is performed by mobile terminal, capability message is exchanged with each of the image forming apparatuses and it is determined which of the image forming apparatuses are not capable of second communications and thereby not performing second communications instead opting to perform other data communications standard (i.e., in accordance with first communication) using its designated port as clearly shown with dedicated icons in fig. 8D, paragraphs 146-149 ). Regarding claim 5, Combination of Imine with Kawasaki further teaches wherein the image processing includes a process of transmitting image data from the image processing device to the computer (Imine, advertising packets are transmitted from each of the image forming apparatuses to the mobile terminal, paragraphs 148, 155-156 ). Regarding claim 6, Combination of Imine with Kawasaki further teaches wherein the image processing engine includes a reading engine configured to read an object to be read and generates image data representing the object to be read (Imine, image forming apparatus 104 includes a console section 140 used by a user to perform a variety of operations, a scanner section 10 that reads image information according to an instruction from the console section 140, a printer section 20 that prints image data on a sheet, paragraph 68 and copy section 514 controls the reading section 515 and the print section 504 via the platform 510 to execute copying. The outputs of copying is to be performed by the copy section 514, the reading section 515, the print section 504, paragraph 108 ), and wherein the image processing includes a pull scan process of transmitting the image data generated by the reading engine from the image processing engine to the computer (Imine, transmission section 513 provides a function of transmitting document data acquired from the reading section 515 to the outside (i.e. mobile terminal). The UI section 502 provides a user interface, such as a menu screen, for selecting a function unique to the application (such as copy, print, and transmission) from the console section 140. For example, a home screen 11 shown in FIG. 10A is displayed on the console section 140, paragraph 108 ) in response to an instruction from the computer (Imine, mobile terminal 101 includes the print application 401, paragraph 91, application 401 can be equipped with not only a print instruction function, but also, for example, a function of providing a scan & transmit instruction to the image forming apparatus 104 similar to as shown in fig. 10A, paragraph 97 ). Regarding claim 7, which recites a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium version of claim 1, see rationale as applied above. Note that non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is taught by Imine in paragraph 250. Regarding claim 8, which recites a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium version of claim 4, see rationale as applied above. Note that non-transitory computer-readable recording medium is taught by Imine in paragraph 250 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imine, US 2024/0303016 in view of Kawasaki, US 2014/0240750 as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Torikai, US 2021/0144311 . Regarding claim 2, Combination of Imine with Kawasaki fails to explicitly teach wherein: first communication is an unencrypted communication; and second communication is an encrypted communication. However, Torikai teaches wherein: first communication is an unencrypted communication; and second communication is an encrypted communication ( a first communication unit configured to perform unencrypted communication with an external apparatus according to a first standard for communication, a second communication unit configured to perform encrypted communication with the external apparatus according to a second standard for communication, wherein both the first and second communications standards are different from each other, paragraph 5 ). Imine and Kawasaki are combinable with Torikai as all are in the same art of endeavor dealing with wireless communications between devices. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Imine and Kawasaki to incorporate the teachings of Torikai for the benefit of enabling the user to become aware that a discrepancy is occurring between connection information which is currently recorded in the smartphone and connection information which is currently recorded in the digital camera as taught by Torikai at paragraph 239 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Imine, US 2024/0303016 . Regarding claim 9, Imine discloses an image processing device ( image forming apparatuses 104, fig. 1, paragraph 42 ), comprising: a first communication port ( BLE port 1272, fig. 3 ) for a first communication ( BLE communication ) to be implemented by a first program ( via BLE standards/program or dedicated protocols as described in paragraphs 153, 105 ) such that the image processing device is connectable to a computer through a network; a second communication port ( UWB port 1273, fig. 3 ) for a second communication ( UWB communication ) to be implemented by a second program ( via UWB standards/program or dedicated protocols as described in paragraphs 153, 105 ) such that the image processing device is connectable to the computer through the network, the second program being different from the first program ( mobile terminal can perform data communication with the printer 104 via Bluetooth or UWB communication, Bluetooth and UWB are different communication standards, paragraphs 43-46 ); an image processing engine configured to perform image processing ( image forming apparatus 104 includes a console section 140 used by a user to perform a variety of operations and a printer section 20 that prints image data on a sheet, paragraph 68 ); and a capability information repository ( HDD 1204, paragraph 85 ) configured to store capability information concerning capabilities the image processing device has ( each of the image forming apparatus 104 processes and stores the communication capability message 910 which is communicated with mobile terminal, paragraphs 161, 149 ), wherein the capability information contains second communication implementation information indicating that the image processing device has a capability of the second communication ( advertising packet includes the communication capability message 910 of the image forming apparatuses 104, paragraph 149 and when BLE advertising packet is transmitted from image forming apparatuses 104 such as Apple's AirPrint Bluetooth Beacon which includes connection Information indicating port information designating a port number for performing BLE communication between printer and mobile, paragraphs 155-156 and 158 ) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fukui, US 2024/0303006 Hosoda et al., US 2022/0060601 Benson et al., US 2018/0276367 Shima, US 2003/0002077 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAWANDEEP DHINGRA whose telephone number is (571) 270-1231. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abderrahim Merouan can be reached at (571) 270-5254. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683 /ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/784,178 Page 2 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/784,178 Page 3 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/784,178 Page 4 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/784,178 Page 5 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/784,178 Page 6 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/784,178 Page 7 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/784,178 Page 8 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/784,178 Page 9 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/784,178 Page 10 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/784,178 Page 11 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/784,178 Page 12 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/784,178 Page 13 Art Unit: 2683