DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claims 1-9 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a flip frame,” “backrest flipping” and “seat cushion flipping.” It is unclear what limitations are associated with the term “flip” or “flipping” as none of the elements appear to be able to be turned over or opposite to an original position. For purposes of examination, flip or flipping will be understood to be related to angle adjustment based on the figures and context of the claims.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the armrest plate consists of […] an armrest plate.” It is unclear how the armrest plate may consist of an armrest plate as well as other support rods.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathan (US 2021/0205157) in view of ten Cate (US 2025/0072566). Nathan discloses a fully support electric chair, comprising a chassis (fig. 3: 26), a lifting fixed frame (fig. 3: 24a-c), a flip frame (fig. 5: 62), seat moving frame (fig. 6: 60), backrest frame (figs. 1, 7: 20), an armrest part (fig. 12: 314, 312, 318) and a legrest system (fig. 1:18); wherein the lifting fixed frame is fixed on the chassis (shown in fig. 3); the backrest frame and the flip frame are connected through an axis (fig. 3: 58a-c), and are rotated around the axis at a certain angle under the push of an electric push rod (fig. 2: 19); the seat moving frame is mounted on the flip frame and can slide forward and backward along the seat moving frame (paragraphs 0073-0075); the armrest part could be lowered or raised following the rotation of the backrest frame (shown in fig. 12); the legrest system is connected to the seat moving frame through an axis (fig. 2: 114); it can rotate to a certain angle under the action of the electric push rod and move forward and backward with the seat moving frame (the legrest is attached to the seat moving frame by bracket 72; actuator 106 connects at 74 and legrest is connected at 78 and 114 as shown in figs. 1 and 2); the chair’s entire structure allows for height adjustment, backrest flipping, seat cushion flipping, seat cushion moving forward and backward, and leg rest rotation (as discussed above); this enables the chair to accommodate different postures and meet the needs of various users.
Nathan does not teach a lifting and moving frame mounted on the lifting fixed frame and could be moved up and down. However, ten Cate teaches a lifting and moving frame (fig. 2: 23) mounted on a fixed frame/tubular base frame (fig. 2: 13). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the legs/base frame of Nathan to include a telescoping lift frame in order to provide height adjustment to the entire chair/seat frame to provide the desired height for the user.
As concerns claim 5, Nathan, as modified, teaches wherein the flip frame consists of several components including a flip frame main beam (fig. 5: 86), a seat moving push rod fixed support beam (fig. 5: 82b), a seat flip push rod ear plate (fig. 4: 104), an ear plate support beam (fig. 4: 84a), and a seat moving push rod (rod extending from actuator 106 to 104); wherein the components are assembled in the following way: the flip frame main beam, the seat moving push rod fixed support beam, the seat flip push rod ear plate, and the seat moving push rod are welded together to form a frame; wherein the ear plate support beam is welded to the seat moving push rod.
As concerns claim 8, Nathan, as modified, teaches wherein the armrest plate consists of a vertical armrest support rod (fig. 12: 312), a horizontal armrest support rod (fig. 12: 318), and an armrest plate (fig. 12: 314), but does not teach wherein the two armrest rods are hinged. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try hinging the two rods together on the plate instead of spaced apart, as a mere rearrangement of parts, in order to provide the desired movement or height of the armrest. In general, a mere rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent production of a new or unexpected result. (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553.).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathan (US 2021/0205157) in view of ten Cate (US 2025/0072566) and further in view of Tierney (GB 2588447). Nathan, as modified, teaches an electric control box (fig. 2: 202) mounted on the chassis frame and front wheels, but does not teach castors on the chassis frame. However, Tierney teaches a similar adjustable chair having castors on the chassis frame (fig. 1: 4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide castors on the bottom of the frame in place of the wheels in order to provide easier, manual translation of the chair.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7 and 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art references of Nathan, ten Cate and Tierney fail to teach:
wherein the lifting fixing frame consists of several components: a support beam, a supporting sub-frame, a lifting fixed column, a front extension beam, a rear extension beam, a lateral support beam, a nut, and a lifting column connection block; wherein the components are assembled as follows: the support beam, the supporting sub-beam, the front extension beam, the rear extension beam, and the lateral support beam are welded together to create a supporting frame; wherein the nut is placed on the top of the lifting fixed column, and the lifting column connection block is welded to the bottom of the lifting and fixed column, and then connected to the support beam; the front extension beam, and the rear extension beam using bolts, forming a bottom fixed supporting frame;
wherein the lifting and moving frame consists of various components such as a top longitudinal beam, a top longitudinal sub-beam, a lifting column, a lateral support sub-frame, a longitudinal bottom support beam, a backrest push rod motor end support plate, a built-in connection block, a motor base, a lifting motor, a lead screw with a gearbox, a seat flip push rod support shaft, left and right power transmission shafts, front and rear screw drive shafts, armrest support shaft, reinforcement rod, seat flip push rod, and backrest flip push rod; wherein the components are assembled in the following manner: the lifting column, the lateral support sub-frame, the longitudinal bottom support beam, and the reinforcement rod are welded into an integral support frame; wherein the built-in connection block is then installed on both sides of the upper end of the liftin column using bolts; wherein the top longitudinal beam and the top longitudinal sub-beam are connected to the inner seat; wherein the backrest push rod motor end support plate is welded to the lateral support sub-frame, and the motor base is installed on the lifting column; wherein the lifting motor is installed on the motor base, and the lead screw with gearbox is fixed to the top longitudinal beam and the top longitudinal sub-beam using bolts and then inserted into the lifting column; wherein the seat flip push rod support shaft passes through the seat flip push rod, and the motor end of the seat flip push rod is installed on the longitudinal bottom support beam; wherein the left and right power transmission shafts are connected to the front and rear screw drive shafts through the gearbox; wherein the front and rear screw drive shafts simultaneously pass through the lifting motor and the lead screw with the gearbox; wherein the armrest support shaft is respectively welded to the top longitudinal beam and the top longitudinal sub-beam, and one end of the backrest flip push rod is connected to the backrest push rod motor end support plate through the shaft;
wherein the seat moving frame comprises several key components: a moving frame main beam, a seat support beam; a leg support beam; a moving ear plate support beam; a friction plate; a secondary friction plate; a remove transition plate; a front reinforcement beam; a rear reinforcement beam; a moving lug plate; a leg support push rod fixing lug plate; a push rod shaft; a leg support connecting shaft; a seat cushion; leg support flip push rod; wherein the moving lug plate, the front reinforcement beam, and the rear reinforcement beam are welded into a support frame; wherein the seat support beam and the moving ear plate support beam are bolted through the friction plate installed on the moving frame main beam; wherein the remove transition plate is disassembled and welded to the leg support beam to form a detachable frame, and then connected to the moving frame main beam of the movable frame by bolts; wherein the secondary friction plate is installed on the leg support beam; wherein the moving lug plate is welded to the moving ear plate support beam; wherein the leg support push rod fixing lug plate is welded to the leg support beam; wherein the leg support connecting shaft passes through the front opening of the moving frame main beam; wherein the push rod shaft is installed in the middle of the leg support push rod fixing lug plate; wherein the seat cushion is installed on the seat support beam and the moving ear plate support beam; wherein the leg support flip push rod is installed on the push rod shaft;
wherein the backrest frame consists of several components: a lower backrest airbag cushion, an upper backrest cushion, an airbag headrest, a vertical backrest support beam, a backrest rotation axis, an armrest support rod, a horizontal reinforcement beam, and a push rod ear plate at the flip end of the backrest; wherein the vertical backrest support beam and the horizontal reinforcement beam are welded together to form a support frame; wherein the armrest support rod is welded to the vertical backrest support beam; wherein the lower backrest airbag cushion and the upper backrest cushion are installed on the support frame; wherein the airbag headrest is pressed onto the upper backrest cushion; wherein the backrest rotation axis is installed on the vertical backrest support beam, and the push rod ear plate at the flip end the backrest is welded to the lower backrest horizontal reinforcement beam; or
wherein the legrest system consists of various components including a motor push rod fixing plate, a legrest main frame support beam, a legrest main frame reinforcement plate, a rotation support beam, a leg support end push rod ear plate, a main cross brace of leg support main frame, a secondary cross brace of leg support main frame, an anti-snap plate, a main beam of leg support moving frame, a leg support moving frame transverse reinforcement beam, a push rod moving end fixing plate, a push rod moving end fixing plate, a foot support plate, a transverse reinforcement beam of foot support, an intermediate reinforcement beam of foot support, a leg support pad, a push rod motor, and a push rod; wherein the legrest main frame reinforcement plate, the legrest main frame support beam, the main cross brace of leg support main frame, and the secondary cross brace of leg support main frame are welded to form a fixed frame; wherein the motor push rod fixing plate is installed on the fixed frame, and the push rod motor and the push rod head are installed on the motor push rod fixing plate; wherein the rotation support beam is welded to the main cross brace of leg support main frame, and the leg support end push rod ear plate is welded to the leg support main frame secondary cross bracing beam; wherein the anti-splint plate is welded to the legrest main frame support beam, and the main beam of leg support moving frame and the transverse reinforcement beam of leg support moving frame are welded together to form a mobile frame; wherein the push rod moving end fixing plate is welded to the head of the push rod moving end fixing sleeve; wherein the foot support plate, the transverse reinforcement beam of foot support, and the intermediate reinforcement beam of foot support are welded to form a foot frame, and the leg support pad is installed on the secondary cross brace of leg support main frame.
Further, there is no teaching, suggestion or motivation to modify the prior art absent hindsight.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J BRINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636