DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites: “The organic electroluminescent display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first cathode and the second cathode each comprise Yb, Mg, Ag, MoOx, Yb, Ca, ITO, IZO, or a combination thereof…” The element Yb is recited twice within the material list. The objection can be overcome by correcting the material list.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12-15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, (United States Patent 9997735 B2), hereinafter referred to as “Park”, in view of Ha, J.M., Hur, S.H., Pathak, A., Jeong, J.E., Woo, H.J. “Recent advances in organic luminescent materials with narrowband emission,” hereinafter referred to as “Ha”.
Regarding Claim 1, Park teaches (Figure 1) an organic electroluminescent display panel (Element 1000), comprising a base substrate (Element 100) on which at least two organic electroluminescent devices are disposed; a first organic electroluminescent device (G_ED) comprising a first anode (Element 400G) and a first cathode (Element 600), and a first light-emitting layer (500G) disposed between the first anode and the first cathode; and a second organic electroluminescent device (R_ED) comprising a second anode (400R), a second cathode (600), and a second light-emitting layer (500R) disposed between the second anode and the second cathode.
Park is silent as to explicitly teaching that the first and second light-emitting layers comprise first and second light-emitting doped materials.
Ha teaches a doping compound (Page 23, Table 3, Entry 5-36) that, when incorporated into the first light-emitting layer of Park, discloses the first light-emitting doped material (500G). Ha further teaches a doping compound (Page 24, Table 3, Entry 5-38) that, when incorporated into the second light-emitting layer of Park, discloses the second light-emitting doped material (500G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, absent unexpected results, to use the light emitting dopant material of Ha in the first and second light emitting layers to achieve both high-performance and narrowband emission in OLEDs (Ha, Page 21).
Park teaches a first light-emitting layer (500G) having a wavelength of 520 nm ≤ G_Peak ≤ 560 nm, (Column 9, Lines 65-66, and Figure 5B), equivalent to 500 nm ≤ λ1< 600 nm, and a FWHM bandwidth of G_FWHM = 27.2 nm (Column 12, Lines 50-55, and Figure 5B), equivalent to FWHM1 ≤ 40 nm.
Park further teaches a second light-emitting layer (500R) having a wavelength of 600 nm ≤ R_Peak ≤ 650 nm, (Column 9, Lines 61-63, and Figure 5A), equivalent to λ2 ≥ 600 nm, and a FWHM bandwidth of R_FWHM = 28.7 nm (Column 12, Lines 44-49, and Figure 5A), equivalent to FWHM2 ≤ 40 nm.
Park implicitly teaches a FWHM difference of R_FWHM - G_FWHM = 28.7 – 27.2 = 1.5 nm, equivalent to FWHM2 – FWHM1 ≥ -15 nm.
Regarding Claim 2, Park in view of Ha teaches everything claimed, as applied above in Claim 1.
Claim 2 recites a FWHM2 – FWHM1 bandwidth difference of 5 nm ≥ FWHM2 − FWHM1 ≥ −15 nm, (as noted above in Claim 1, Park teaches an implicitly derived bandwidth differential of 1.5 nm); preferably, 8 nm ≥ FWHM2 − FWHM1 ≥ −8 nm; more preferably, 5 nm ≥ FWHM2 − FWHM1 ≥ −5 nm; most preferably, 3 nm ≥ FWHM2 − FWHM1 ≥ −3 nm.
As to Claim 3, Park in view of Ha teaches everything claimed, as applied above in Claim 1.
As noted above in Claim 1, Park teaches an implicitly derived bandwidth differential of 1.5 nm.
Regarding Claim 4, Park in view of Ha teaches everything claimed, as applied above in Claim 1.
Claim 4 recites at least one of FWHM1 and FWHM2 is less than or equal to 35 nm (as noted above in Claim 1, Park teaches a G_FWHM of 27.2 nm and a R_FWHM of 28.7 nm); preferably, at least one of FWHM1 and FWHM2 is less than or equal to 30 nm; more preferably, 20 nm ≤ FWHM1 ≤ 30 nm and 20 nm ≤ FWHM2 ≤ 30 nm.
Regarding Claim 5, Park in view of Ha teaches everything claimed, as applied above in Claim 1.
Claim 5 recites a wavelength of 500 nm ≤ λ1 < 560 nm (as noted above in Claim 1, Park teaches G-peak of 520 nm ≤ G_Peak ≤ 560, equivalent to λ1); preferably, 500 nm ≤ λ1 < 535 nm; more preferably, 515 nm ≤ λ1 < 535 nm.
Regarding Claim 6, Park in view of Ha teaches everything claimed, as applied above in Claim 1.
Claim 6 recites a wavelength of 600 nm≤ λ2 <650 nm (as noted above in Claim 1, Park teaches a R-Peak of 600 nm ≤ R_Peak ≤ 650 nm, equivalent to λ2); preferably, 610 nm ≤ λ2 < 640 nm; more preferably, 615 nm ≤ λ2 < 640 nm.
Regarding Claim 7, Park in view of Ha teaches everything claimed as applied to Claim 1, supra.
Park explicitly teaches a top emission device architecture (Column 5, Lines 56-63 and Figure 1, Element 1000).
Regarding Claim 12, Park in view of Ha teaches everything claimed, as applied above in Claim 1.
Park is silent on the use of phosphorescent dopant materials.
Ha teaches a doping compound (Page 13, Table 2, Entries 3-1 through 3-23) that, when incorporated into the first light-emitting layer of Park, discloses a first light-emitting phosphorescent doped material (500G). Ha further teaches a doping compound (Page 13, Table 2, Entries 3-1 through 3-23) that, when incorporated into the second light-emitting layer of Park, discloses a second light-emitting phosphorescent doped material (500G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, absent unexpected results, to use the light emitting phosphorescent dopant material of Ha in the first and second light emitting layers to achieve both high-performance and intense phosphorescence at room temperature (Ha Page 10, Section Heading "Cyclometalated complex-based phosphorescent materials with narrow emission.")
Regarding Claim 13, Park in view of Ha teaches everything claimed, as applied above in Claim 12
Park is silent on utilizing phosphorescent metal complex doped material.
The dopants taught by Ha, and noted in Claim 12 above, are metal complex dopants and are referenced as in Claim 12.
As to Claim 14, Park in View of Ha teaches everything claimed as applied to Claim 1, supra.
Park teaches (Figure 1) an organic electroluminescent display panel (Element 1000), comprising a base substrate (Element 100) on which a third organic electroluminescent device (B_ED) comprises a third anode (Element 400B) and a third cathode (Element 600), and a third light-emitting layer (500B) disposed between the third anode and the third cathode. (Column 6, Lines 16-18, and Figure 1.).
Park is silent as to explicitly teaching that the third light-emitting layer comprises a third light-emitting doped material.
Ha teaches a doping compound (Page 23, Table 3, Entry 5-35) that, when incorporated into the third light-emitting layer of Park, discloses a third light-emitting doped material (500B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, absent unexpected results, to use the light emitting dopant material of Ha in the third light emitting layer to achieve both high-performance and narrowband emission in OLEDs (Ha, Page 21).
Claim 14 recites a wavelength 400 nm ≤ λ3 < 500 nm (Park teaches a 430 nm ≤ B_Peak ≤ 480 nm, equivalent to λ3, Column 9, Line 67 – Column 10, Lines 1-3, and Figure 5C), and a Full Width at Half Maximum bandwidth of FWHM3 < 35 nm, (Park teaches a Full Width at Half Maximum bandwidth (B_FWHM) of 23.9 nm, equivalent to FWHM3, Column 12, Lines 56-61 and Figure 5C).
Claim 14 further recites a green – blue bandwidth difference of FWHM1 – FWHM3 ≥ -15 nm (Park implicitly teaches a G_FWHM - B_FWHM = 27.2 – 23.9 = 3.3 nm, equivalent to FWHM1 – FWHM3, as cited in Claim 1 above and Claim 14 herein); preferably, 15 nm ≥ FWHM1−FWHM3 ≥ −15 nm; more preferably, 3 nm ≥ FWHM1−FWHM3 ≥ −3 nm; most preferably, FWHM1−FWHM3 ≥ 0 nm.
Regarding Claim 15, Park in View of Ha teaches everything claimed as applied to Claim 14, supra.
Claim 15 recites a Full Width at Half Maximum value of FWHM3 ≤ 30 nm (Park teaches a Full Width at Half Maximum value of B_FWHM = 23.9 nm, equivalent to FWHM3, Column 12, Lines 56-61 and Figure 5C); preferable, FWHM3 ≤ 28 nm; more preferably, FWHM3 ≤ 25 nm.
As to Claim 18, Park in view of Ha teaches everything claimed, as applied above in Claim 1.
Claim 18 depends from independent Claim 1 and introduces a viewing field metric, “…wherein a luminance decay value of the first organic electroluminescent device at a viewing angle of 30° is D1 and a luminance decay value of the second organic electroluminescent device at a viewing angle of 30° is D2; wherein -15% ≤ D1 – D2 ≤ 15%; -10% ≤ D1 – D2 ≤ 10%.”
Under MPEP § 2112.01, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.”
In the instant case, Park optimizes the green, red, and blue device Full Width Half Maximum bandwidths to achieve an improvement in the viewing angle of the organic electroluminescent display panel. This is in direct correlation with the applicant’s specification, reciting that “…a match of red and green light-emitting materials whose full widths at half maximum of photoluminescence (PL) spectra have a difference within a particular range is selected to be applied to the red and green light devices of the display panel, ensuring that the luminance decay degrees of red light and green light of the display panel are basically the same at a different viewing angle,” (Application 18/784208, Specification Paragraphs [0017].)
Therefore, under MPEP § 2112.01, Park’s native structure inherently possesses the low viewing angle luminance decay boundaries (−15%≤D1−D2≤15%...”) recited by Claim 18.
Regarding Claim 19, Park in View of Ha teaches everything claimed as applied to Claim 1, supra.
As to claim 19, Park teaches an electronic assembly (Abstract “The OLED apparatus may include a plurality of light emitting devices…”.)
Claims 9, 11, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Ha as applied to Claims 1-7, 12-15, 18, and 19 above, and further in view of Shin, In-Ae; MIN, Hye-Li; et al.; US 20230200235 A1, “Organic Light Emitting Diode and Organic Light Emitting Display Device Including the Same”, hereinafter referred to as “Shin.”
As to Claim 9, Park in View of Ha teaches everything claimed as applied to Claim 1, supra.
Park does not explicitly teach the first cathode and the second cathode having the same thickness and/or material.
Shin teaches a common cathode design (Paragraph [0071] and Figure 1, Element 230).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time the invention was made to modify the architecture taught by Park by incorporating a single, continuous second electrode layer taught by Shin. A PHOSITA would be motivated to employ Shin’s common cathode structure over Park’s design because it ensures consistent manufacturing, optical, and electrical performance across the pixels. Implementing these structures represents standard fabrication techniques with a highly reasonable expectation of success.
As to Claim 11, Park in View of Ha teaches everything claimed as applied to Claim 1, supra.
Park is silent on the specific metal materials used for the first and second anodes.
Shin discloses utilizing pure Silver (Ag) base metal films to serve as the bottom light-reflection layers (Paragraph [0066]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time the invention was made to select a silver, or other metal, for the anodes as this would represent a routine selection to realize the desired effect. It is an inherent physical property known to a PHOSITA that pure films of Ag exhibit a visible light reflectivity significantly greater than 50% (natively exceeding 90%.)
As to Claim 16, Park in View of Ha teaches everything claimed as applied to Claim 14, supra.
Park is silent on a fourth light-emitting layer with a phosphorescent doped material.
Shin teaches a fourth light-emitting layer with a phosphorescent doped material (Paragraph [0082], and Figure 3.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time the invention was made to incorporate Shin’s fourth light-emitting layer doped with a phosphorescent material. A practitioner in the art would be motivated to utilize Shin’s fourth light-emitting layout over Park's design to improve efficiency and color performance, and to extend the device’s life expectancy.
As to Claim 17, Park in View of Ha teaches everything claimed as applied to Claim 1, supra.
Park is silent on a specific base substrate material.
Shin instructs that the underlying display substrate can be selectively formed of a rigid material or a flexible film substrate, explicitly listing glass or a flexible polyimide (Paragraph [0047], and Figure 2, element 110.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time the invention was made to select glass or polyimide as the support substrate depending on whether the desired outcome was a rigid base or a flexible substrate.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Ha as applied to Claims 1-7, 12-15, 18, and 19 above, and further in view of Choi, Hyewon; Seo, Sangwon; et al.: US 20230200100 A1, “Light-Emitting Device and Electronic Apparatus Including the Same”, hereinafter referred to as “Choi.”
As to Claim 8, Park in view of Ha teaches everything claimed, as applied to Independent Claim 1, supra.
Park is silent in regard to a first capping layer, and a second capping layer, preferably both being of the same material and/or thickness.
Choi teaches a first capping layer (Paragraph [0103] and Figure 2, Element 170), and a second capping layer (Paragraph [0104] and Figure 2, Element 170.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time the invention was made to expand the co-planar layout of Park by incorporating Choi’s common capping layer architecture. A practitioner in the art would be motivated to adopt Choi’s common capping layer layout to improve light extraction, color stability, and efficiency, while also simplifying the design and manufacturing. This configuration represents a routine application of known elements to yield entirely predictable display outcomes.
As to Claim 10, Park in view of Ha teaches everything claimed, as applied to Independent Claim 1, supra.
Park is silent on the first cathode and second cathode composition of Mg and Ag with a mass ratio of Mg to Ag ranging from 0.5:9.5 to 2:8.
Choi teaches a cathode layer formed by co-depositing silver (Ag) and magnesium (Mg) at a weight ratio of 95:5 (Paragraph [0383].)
Converting this representation into a magnesium-to-silver mass ratio yields a value of 5:95 (or 0.5:9.5.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time the invention was made to construct the layout of Park by using the cathode architectures taught by Choi to optimize electrical and optical properties affecting display performance.
Selecting this explicit, high-performance Mg:Ag formulation from Choi to operate inside the foundational matrix of Park represents a routine selection of an existing alloy ratio to achieve a desired performance with entirely predictable outcomes.
Conclusion
/Steven F Nagy/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898