DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6 and 10) and species liver in the reply filed on 08/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Claims 7-9 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/17/2026.
Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected specie, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/17/2026.
Claims 1-4, 6, and 10 have been examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Enomoto et al (ACS Applied Bio Materials, 2021-from IDS filed 07/25/2024).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, Enomoto disclose a cell cluster of liver cells (endodermal cells) and an amphiphilic block polymer present with the cell cluster wherein the polymer has a hydrophilic block chain having a sarcosine unit and a hydrophobic block chain having a lactic acid unit (HYDROX) (pages A-B). Aggregates (cell clusters) of human-induced pluripotent stem cell derived hepatocyte-like cells (HLCs) cultured with HYDROX effectively as well as primary human hepatocytes (PHHs) (page B).
Applicant has identified an example of the claimed polymer that has a hydrophilic block chain having a sarcosine unit and a hydrophobic block chain having a lactic acid unit as HYDROX (pages 16-17 para 23). Applicant has also defined an organoid composition as referring to a composition further including a polymer component or the like in a cell cluster for forming an organoid (page 16 para 23) and an organoid as referring to a cell cluster that the cells form a cluster in a culture container (page 8 para 14). Thus, the cell cluster HYDROX cultures of Enomoto meet the claim limitations for an organoid composition.
Regarding claim 2, Enomoto disclose wherein the amphiphilic block polymer has the hydrophilic block chain having the 20 or more sarcosine units (109 sarcosine units) and the hydrophobic block chain as having the 10 or more lactic acid units (33 lactic acid units) (page H, Dried Gel preparations).
Regarding claim 6, Enomoto disclose wherein the HYDROX cell cluster cultures might be more useful for the evaluation of pharmaceutical products (suitable for the intended use of evaluating pharmacokinetics and/or evaluating drug toxicity) than collagen cultures (page G, column 2).
Regarding claim 10, Enomoto disclose the HYDROX cell cluster cultures are formed in a culture plate (device that can be used for evaluating pharmacokinetics or drug toxicity) (page B, Figure 1).
Therefore, the teachings of Enomoto anticipate Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,905,527 in view of Enomoto et al (ACS Applied Bio Materials, 2021-from IDS filed 07/25/2024).
The claims of the patent ‘527 are drawn to methods of producing a gel composition for cell culture comprising mixing an amphiphilic block polymer having a hydrophilic block chain and a hydrophobic block chain to form a gel, wherein the amphiphilic block polymer has 20 or more sarcosine units in the hydrophilic block and 10 or more lactic acid units in the hydrophobic block chain.
However, the ‘527 patent claims do not include wherein the gel composition is combined with endodermal cells, such as liver cells, to form a cell cluster and organoid composition.
Enomoto disclose a cell cluster of liver cells (endodermal cells) and an amphiphilic block polymer present with the cell cluster wherein the polymer has a hydrophilic block chain having a sarcosine unit and a hydrophobic block chain having a lactic acid unit (HYDROX) (pages A-B). Aggregates (cell clusters) of human-induced pluripotent stem cell derived hepatocyte-like cells (HLCs) cultured with HYDROX effectively as well as primary human hepatocytes (PHHs) (page B).
Applicant has identified an example of the claimed polymer that has a hydrophilic block chain having a sarcosine unit and a hydrophobic block chain having a lactic acid unit as HYDROX (pages 16-17 para 23). Applicant has also defined an organoid composition as referring to a composition further including a polymer component or the like in a cell cluster for forming an organoid (page 16 para 23) and an organoid as referring to a cell cluster that the cells form a cluster in a culture container (page 8 para 14). Thus, the cell cluster HYDROX cultures of Enomoto meet the claim limitations for an organoid composition.
Regarding claim 2, Enomoto disclose wherein the amphiphilic block polymer has the hydrophilic block chain having the 20 or more sarcosine units (109 sarcosine units) and the hydrophobic block chain as having the 10 or more lactic acid units (33 lactic acid units) (page H, Dried Gel preparations).
Regarding claim 6, Enomoto disclose wherein the HYDROX cell cluster cultures might be more useful for the evaluation of pharmaceutical products (suitable for the intended use of evaluating pharmacokinetics and/or evaluating drug toxicity) than collagen cultures (page G, column 2).
Regarding claim 10, Enomoto disclose the HYDROX cell cluster cultures are formed in a culture plate (device that can be used for evaluating pharmacokinetics or drug toxicity) (page B, Figure 1).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include endodermal cells, such as liver cells, as the cells for culturing with the gel composition of the ‘527 patent in order to create an organoid endodermal cell cluster culture because Enomoto teach and suggest that this type of gel composition when used for culturing endodermal cells can be useful for the evaluation of pharmaceutical products. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both patent ‘527 and Enomoto are using a gel composition for cell culture comprising an amphiphilic block polymer having a hydrophilic block chain and a hydrophobic block chain as a gel, wherein the amphiphilic block polymer has 20 or more sarcosine units in the hydrophilic block and 10 or more lactic acid units in the hydrophobic block chain.
Therefore, the combined teachings of the patent ‘527 and Enomoto render obvious Applicant’s claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Makino et al., “Preparation of Novel Polymer Assemblies, ‘‘Lactosome’’, Composed of Poly(L-lactic acid) and Poly(sarcosine)”, Chemistry Letters, 2007, Vol.36, No.10, pp. 1220-1221.
Makino disclose amphiphilic block polymers composed of poly(L lactic acid) (PLLA) and poly(sarcosine) (PS) were synthesized by successive polymerizations of lactide and sarcosine N-car boxy anhydride (NCA) suitable for drug delivery.
LAURA J. SCHUBERG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631