DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment was received on 10/20/26 and has been entered and made of record. Currently, claims 1-19 are pending.
Specification
Applicant’s amendment to the specification has overcome the objection set forth in the previous Office Action and has therefore been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts Takahashi (US 2022/0394147) fails to disclose "in a case in which the medium detector determines that information about the first recording medium detected when the first recording medium is conveyed at the first speed is different from information about the second recording medium detected when the second recording medium is conveyed at the second speed, causes a recording medium of a first page of a subsequent job to be conveyed at the first speed" as claimed. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as Takahashi discloses the above mentioned features. Particularly, Takahashi discloses a printer controller 103 that detects the size and type of print medium being fed through the conveying rollers (para 68-69). Fig. 8 shows the speed associated with each type of print medium. Based on the type of print medium being conveyed the print controller 103 changes the conveying speed accordingly (paras 74, 79-84). As such, if a print job having plain paper is the first recording medium being conveyed at a first speed and a print job having thick paper is the second recording medium being conveyed at a second speed higher than the first speed, the system of Takahashi would function the same as that set forth in the current claim language, specifically of claims 1, 10, and 19. The information detected about the first recording medium would be the type, such as plain paper and a first speed is associated with plain paper. The information about the first recording medium is different than that of the second recording medium, thick paper in this example and the speed is higher/faster of the thick paper compared to the plain paper. The first page of a subsequent would be set to a first speed when plain paper is the type of paper used. The current claim language does not distinguish itself from this interpretation. The current claim language is too broad to specifically limit the claim to one interpretation, such as that set forth in the remarks. Therefore, Takahashi discloses "in a case in which the medium detector determines that information about the first recording medium detected when the first recording medium is conveyed at the first speed is different from information about the second recording medium detected when the second recording medium is conveyed at the second speed, causes a recording medium of a first page of a subsequent job to be conveyed at the first speed" as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (US 2022/0394147).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 19, Takahashi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium encoded with a conveyance control program executed in a computer controlling an image forming apparatus, a conveyance control method performed in an image forming apparatus, and an image forming apparatus that executes a job of forming an image on a recording medium under an image forming condition determined based on information regarding the recording medium, the image forming apparatus comprising:
a sheet feed section that feeds a recording medium stored in a paper feed tray (see Fig. 1 and paras 24 and 30-31, the feeding mechanism includes a sheet feeding cassette 113 which stores the sheet 110, a conveyance path through which the sheet 110 is to be fed, and various rollers for conveying the sheet 110 through the conveyance path, the sheet 110 is fed from the sheet feeding cassette 113),
a conveyor that conveys the recording medium fed from the sheet feed section (see Fig. 1 and paras 24 and 30-31, the feeding mechanism includes a sheet feeding cassette 113 which stores the sheet 110, a conveyance path through which the sheet 110 is to be fed, and various rollers for conveying the sheet 110 through the conveyance path, the sheet 110 is fed from the sheet feeding cassette 113);
a medium detector that detects information about the recording medium conveyed by the conveyor (see paras 68 and 74, conveying speed is calculated by dividing the length of the sheet 110 in the conveying direction by a time period required for the sheet 110 to pass through the reading position of the color measurement sensor 200); and
a conveyance controller that controls a conveyance speed of the conveyor (see paras 68-69 printer controller 103 and engine control unit 312 controls the speed of conveyance),
wherein the conveyance controller
carries out control such that a first recording medium being a recording medium of a first page of a first job is conveyed at a first speed, and a second recording medium conveyed after the first recording medium is conveyed at a second speed higher than the first speed (see Fig. 8 and paras 74, 79-84, 87-88, and 96-98, conveying speed is adjusted based on the type of print media, such as whether the print media is plain paper, thick paper, coated paper, etc., plain paper would have a first speed and thick paper would have a different, higher, second speed), and
in a case in which the medium detector determines that information about the first recording medium detected when the first recording medium is conveyed at the first speed is different from information about the second recording medium detected when the second recording medium is conveyed at the second speed, causes a recording medium of a first page of a subsequent job to be conveyed at the first speed (see paras 74, 79-84, 87-88, and 96-98, conveying speed is adjusted based on the type of print media, such as whether the print media is plain paper, thick paper, coated paper, etc., plain paper would have a first speed and thick paper would have a different second speed, a subsequent job having plain paper would then convey at the first speed).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Takahashi further discloses wherein the conveyance controller determines a conveyance speed of the conveyor based on the information about the first recording medium as the second speed (see paras 79-84, 87-88, and 96-98, conveying speed is adjusted based on the type of print media, such as whether the print media is plain paper, thick paper, coated paper, etc., plain paper would have a first speed and thick paper would have a different second speed).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Takahashi further discloses wherein the conveyance controller determines a conveyance speed of the conveyor based on the information about the first recording medium, and in a case in which the conveyance speed of the conveyor determined based on the information about the first recording medium is different from the first speed, determines the second speed that is higher than the first speed as a conveyance speed of the conveyor for recording media including the second recording medium, the recording media being conveyed secondly and subsequently (see Fig. 8 and paras 79-82, a second speed for thick paper is higher than that of a plain paper speed).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Takahashi further discloses wherein the conveyance controller determines a conveyance speed of the conveyor based on the information about the first recording medium, and in a period during which a plurality of successive recording media are conveyed by the conveyor, in a case in which the conveyance speed of the conveyor determined based on the information about the first recording medium is a third speed different from the second speed, conveys rest of the plurality of successive recording media at the second speed and conveys the recording medium being subsequently conveyed after the plurality of successive recording media at the first speed (see Fig. 8 and para 83, a third speed for coated paper is lower than the speed for thick and plain paper).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Takahashi further discloses wherein the conveyance controller, in a period during which the plurality of successive recording media are conveyed by the conveyor, in a case in which the third speed is not determined as a conveyance speed of the recording medium based on the information, conveys, at the second speed, the next recording medium being conveyed subsequently after the plurality of successive recording media (see paras 79-84, conveying speed is adjusted based on the type of print media, such as whether the print media is plain paper, thick paper, coated paper, etc., plain paper would have a first speed, thick paper would have a different second speed, coated paper would have a different third speed).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Takahashi further discloses wherein the conveyance controller determines a type of the recording medium based on the information about the recording medium detected by the medium detector (see para 74, conveying speed is calculated by dividing the length of the sheet 110 in the conveying direction by a time period required for the sheet 110 to pass through the reading position of the color measurement sensor 200),
determines a conveyance speed defined for the determined type of the recording medium (see Fig. 8 and para 79, each paper type has a different conveying speed), and
after a conveyance speed different from the first speed is output as a conveyance speed of the recording medium determined based on the information, determines the type of at least one of the one or more recording media being conveyed secondly and subsequently (see Fig. 8 and paras 79-84, conveying speed is adjusted based on the type of print media, such as whether the print media is plain paper, thick paper, coated paper, etc., plain paper would have a first speed, thick paper would have a different second speed, coated paper would have a different third speed).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Takahashi further discloses wherein the conveyance controller determines a conveyance speed of the conveyor based on the information about the first recording medium, and the second speed is determined based on the information about the first recording medium, and after the second speed is determined based on the information about the first recording medium as a conveyance speed of the conveyor for the second recording medium, does not change a conveyance speed until a plurality of successive recording media are conveyed by the conveyor (see paras 79-84, conveying speed is adjusted based on the type of print media, such as whether the print media is plain paper, thick paper, coated paper, etc., plain paper would have a first speed, thick paper would have a different second speed, coated paper would have a different third speed, conveying speed is not changed unless the type of media changes).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK R MILIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681