DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 was amended to recite “… cause the one or more power nodes switches to switch off operating power for the CBSDs on the suspension list.” The originally filed specification describes that the power node switches “switch off power at the appropriate base station(s)” and that “power to the impacted base stations has been turned off” [0046].
Applicant points to [0046], which discloses switching off “power” at base stations. However, the specification does not describe or otherwise reasonable convey to one of ordinary skill in the art the concept of “operating power” as distinct from power generally. The disclosure does not distinguish between different types of power (e.g. operating power, standby power, auxiliary power), nor does it describe selectively controlling only the operating power of a CBSD.
Accordingly, the limitation “switch off operating power” introduces subject matter that is not supported by the originally filed disclosure.
Claim 14 was amended to recite “… including one or more power nodes switches to switch off operating power for each base station impacted by the shared channel suspension orders.” The originally filed specification describes that the power node switches “switch off power at the appropriate base station(s)” and that “power to the impacted base stations has been turned off” [0046].
Applicant points to [0046], which discloses switching off “power” at base stations. However, the specification does not describe or otherwise reasonable convey to one of ordinary skill in the art the concept of “operating power” as distinct from power generally. The disclosure does not distinguish between different types of power (e.g. operating power, standby power, auxiliary power), nor does it describe selectively controlling only the operating power of a CBSD.
Accordingly, the limitation “switch off operating power” introduces subject matter that is not supported by the originally filed disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 14, 17, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandyopadhyay et al (US 11,115,831 B1, hereinafter "Bandyopadhyay_1") in view of Sevindik (US 20220279440 A1, hereinafter "Sevindik").
Regarding claim 1, Bandyopadhyay_1 teaches method for power savings in a
wireless network using Citizens Broadband Radio Service (CBRS) spectrum, the
method comprising:
receiving, by a power saving engine (Operator Network 322, including the Domain Proxy 309, FIG. 3) from a spectrum access system (SAS),
CBRS spectrum suspension commands (A wireless communications network shown in Fig. 11A includes an SAS which sends a suspension order for one or
more grants to the Operator Network, with the Domain Proxy (DP) receiving this order [col. 19, lines 54-55; col. 20, lines 23-60]);
generating, by the power saving engine (Operator Network 322, including the Domain Proxy 309, FIG. 3, a suspension list of CBRS devices
(CBSDs) impacted by the CBRS spectrum suspension commands (The DP identifies
which base stations (or access points or CBSDs) have been impacted by the
suspension order, generating a Stop TX command directed to those impacted base stations (or access points or CBSDs) [col. 21, lines 16-25]);
Bandyopadhyay_1 does not teach sending, by the power saving engine to service provider components including one or more power node switches, the suspension list to cause the one or more power node switches to switch off operating power for the CBSDs on the suspension list.
In analogous art, Sevindik teaches sending, by the power saving engine (Network 18, connects SAS 40 and Cable Modem Termination System (CMTS) 14 in FIG. 1) to service provider components including one or more power node switches (CMTS 14 and the Power Over Ethernet (POE) switch device 12, FIG. 1), the suspension list to cause the one or more power node switches to switch off operating power for the CBSDs on the suspension list (POE switch device dynamically manages the power distribution among CBSDs based on operation parameters including power requirements, load conditions, and network constraints associated with SAS limitations (sent via network 18, see FIG. 1). The POE switch device further records and utilizes current and/or historical data, to determine which CBSDs should have their power modified. The POE switch device controls power delivery to the plurality of CBSDs and transmits control signals to selected CBSDs to alter their power operation, including transitioning a CBSD to an off power mode [0019, 0026, 0029, 0034-0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CBRS power saving system which utilizes a suspension list corresponding to suspended CBRS spectrums (as taught by Bandyopadhyay_1) to include a PoE switch device (as taught by Sevindik) in order to anticipate loads and power requirements and to mitigate problems and optimize performance (Sevindik, [0033]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik, specifically Bandyopadhyay_1, teaches receiving, by the power saving engine from an operations support system, configuration information for each of the CBSDs (DP obtains RSSI levels, RSRP levels, high interference indications on band sections, utilization rates of the frequency band and/or channels from the CBSDs via REM scans [Col 16, lines 26-35]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik, specifically Bandyopadhyay_1, teaches wherein the generating further comprising:
reviewing, by the power saving engine, the CBRS spectrum suspension commands in view of the configuration information for each of the CBSDs to determine the suspension list (The DP contains REM scan information, which includes utilization rates of the frequency band and/or channels of the CBSDs. After receiving the suspension message (spectrum suspension command), the DP identifies suspended channels and determines BS/APs that are impacted, generating a Stop TX-Command. [Col 16, lines 26-35; Col. 21, lines 14-25]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik, specifically Sevindik, teaches wherein the one or more power node switches comprise one or more software switches (the POE switch device comprises a processor executing instructions stored in memory to control power delivery and operational state transitions of CBSDs, thereby functioning as a software implemented switch that directs power and operation mode change, FIG. 1 [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CBRS power saving system which utilizes a suspension list corresponding to suspended CBRS spectrums (as taught by Bandyopadhyay_1) to include a PoE switch device (as taught by Sevindik) in order to anticipate loads and power requirements and to mitigate problems and optimize performance (Sevindik, [0033]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik, specifically Bandyopadhyay_1, teaches:
receiving, by the power saving engine from the SAS, CBRS spectrum restoration commands (A wireless communications network shown in Fig. 11A includes an SAS which sends a suspension order for one or more grants, with the Domain Proxy (DP) receiving this order [col. 19, lines 54-55]. As shown in FIG. 10, heartbeat requests can either fail or succeed, where failure results in a suspension and success results in an authorized state. Based off the provided prior art, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that the activation/restoration may follow the same procedure as the suspension, with activation commands being received by the DP instead of suspension commands);
generating, by the power saving engine, a restoration list of CBSDs impacted by the CBRS spectrum restoration commands (The DP identifies which base stations (or access points or CBSDs) have been impacted by the suspension order, generating a Stop TX command. The Stop TX command instructs the recipient to stop all transmit functions on the impacted base stations (or access points or CBSDs) [col. 21, lines 16-25]. Based off the provided prior art, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize the existing suspension restoration list generation method to generate a restoration/ activation list of CBSDs impacted by the restoration commands); and
sending, by the power saving engine to the service provider components, the restoration list to turn on power for the CBSDs on the restoration list (The process of re-introducing previously impacted BS/APs into the network is performed by ACS, bringing the BS/APs back up to full power [Col. 22, lines 50-60]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik, specifically Sevindik, teaches wherein sending the restoration list further comprising:
powering up, by the one or more power node switches, each of the CBSDs on the restoration list (POE switch device dynamically manages the power distribution among CBSDs based on operation parameters including power requirements, load conditions, and network constraints associated with SAS limitations (sent via network 18, see FIG. 1). The POE switch device further records and utilizes current and/or historical data, to determine which CBSDs should have their power modified. The POE switch device controls power delivery to the plurality of CBSDs and transmits control signals to selected CBSDs to alter their power operation, including transitioning a CBSD to a CAT-A (low power) mode or a CAT-B (high power) mode [0019-0020, 0026, 0029, 0034-0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CBRS power saving system which utilizes a suspension list corresponding to suspended CBRS spectrums (as taught by Bandyopadhyay_1) to include a PoE switch device (as taught by Sevindik) in order to anticipate loads and power requirements and to mitigate problems and optimize performance (Sevindik, [0033]).
Regarding claim 14, Bandyopadhyay_1 teaches a system, comprising: a power saving controller configured to:
receive, from a spectrum access system (SAS), shared channel suspension orders (A wireless communications network shown in Fig. 11A includes an SAS which sends a suspension order for one or more grants, with the Domain Proxy (DP) receiving this order [col. 19, lines 54-55; col. 20, lines 23-60]);
determine which base stations are impacted by the shared channel suspension orders (The DP identifies which base stations (or access points or CBSDs) have been impacted by the suspension order, generating a Stop TX command [col. 21, lines 16-25]);
Bandyopadhyay_1 does not teach notify service provider components including one or more power node switches to switch off operating power for each base station impacted by the shared channel suspension orders.
In analogous art, Sevindik teaches notify service provider components including one or more power node switches to switch off operating power for each base station impacted by the shared channel suspension orders (POE switch device dynamically manages the power distribution among CBSDs based on operation parameters including power requirements, load conditions, and network constraints associated with SAS limitations (sent via network 18, see FIG. 1). The POE switch device further records and utilizes current and/or historical data, to determine which CBSDs should have their power modified. The POE switch device controls power delivery to the plurality of CBSDs and transmits control signals to selected CBSDs to alter their power operation, including transitioning a CBSD to an off power mode [0019, 0026, 0029, 0034-0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CBRS power saving system which utilizes a suspension list corresponding to suspended CBRS spectrums (as taught by Bandyopadhyay_1) to include a PoE switch device (as taught by Sevindik) in order to anticipate loads and power requirements and to mitigate problems and optimize performance (Sevindik, [0033]).
Regarding claim 17, it is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik, specifically Bandyopadhyay_1, teaches the power saving controller further configured to:
receive, from the SAS, shared channel restoration orders (A wireless communications network shown in Fig. 11A includes an SAS which sends a suspension order for one or more grants, with the Domain Proxy (DP) receiving this order [col. 19, lines 54-55]. As shown in FIG. 10, heartbeat requests can either fail or succeed, where failure results in a suspension and success results in an authorized state. Based off the provided prior art, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that the activation/restoration may follow the same procedure as the suspension, with activation commands being received by the DP instead of suspension commands);
determine which base stations are restorable by the shared channel restoration orders (The DP identifies which base stations (or access points or CBSDs) have been impacted by the suspension order, generating a Stop TX command. The Stop TX command instructs the recipient to stop all transmit functions on the impacted base stations (or access points or CBSDs) [col. 21, lines 16-25]. Based off the provided prior art, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize the existing suspension restoration list generation method to generate a restoration/ activation list of CBSDs impacted by the restoration commands); and
notify the service provider components to turn on power for each restorable base station (The process of re-introducing previously impacted BS/APs into the network is performed by ACS after receiving commands from the DP, bringing the BS/APs back up to full power [Col. 22, lines 50-60; Col. 21, lines 15-30])
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik, specifically Sevindik, teaches wherein the one or more power node switches are configured to: power up each restorable base station (POE switch device dynamically manages the power distribution among CBSDs based on operation parameters including power requirements, load conditions, and network constraints associated with SAS limitations (sent via network 18, see FIG. 1). The POE switch device further records and utilizes current and/or historical data, to determine which CBSDs should have their power modified. The POE switch device controls power delivery to the plurality of CBSDs and transmits control signals to selected CBSDs to alter their power operation, including transitioning a CBSD to a CAT-A (low power) mode or a CAT-B (high power) mode [0019-0020, 0026, 0029, 0034-0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CBRS power saving system which utilizes a suspension list corresponding to suspended CBRS spectrums (as taught by Bandyopadhyay_1) to include a PoE switch device (as taught by Sevindik) in order to anticipate loads and power requirements and to mitigate problems and optimize performance (Sevindik, [0033]).
Claim(s) 2, 9, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandyopadhyay_1, in view of Sevindik, and in further view of Sirotkin et al (US 2023/0337119 A1, hereinafter "Sirotkin").
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik does not teach subscribing, by the power saving engine with an operations support system, to spectrum access system messages including the CBRS spectrum suspension commands.
In analogous art, Sirotkin teaches subscribing, by the power saving engine with an operations support system, to spectrum access system messages including the CBRS spectrum suspension commands (Messages can be sent from the SAS to the BS (and vice versa) via the Underlay Network (UN) on the Nsas interface. The Nsas enables base stations to subscribe to spectrum related events and communication service that supports SAS messages (including heartbeat). The Access & Mobility management Function (AMF) is used in this process to push messages to the base station automatically. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the AMF would subscribe to such spectrum events in order to perform its disclosed function after a base station has subscribed to the event exposure service [0024, 0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik to include both an Nsas interface and underlay network (performing the function of the OSS as stated in the claim) in between the DP, taught by Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik, and the SAS. The Domain Proxy could optionally be connected to the base station via the AMF taught by Sirotkin. The DP can integrate the AMF features as taught by Sirotkin, operating with Nsas and the underlay network in the same manner as the AMF. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase efficiency (by reducing inquiry requests), support harmonization of the CBRS and network architecture, and provide better network optimization (Sirotkin, [0024-0025]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1, Sevindik, and Sirotkin, specifically Sirotkin, teaches wherein spectrum access system messages subscribed to by the power saving engine include the CBRS spectrum restoration commands (Messages can be sent from the SAS to the BS (and vice versa) via the Underlay Network (UN) on the Nsas interface. The Nsas enables base stations to subscribe to spectrum related events and communication service that supports SAS messages (including heartbeat). The Access & Mobility management Function (AMF) is used in this process to push messages to the base station automatically. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the AMF would subscribe to such spectrum events in order to perform its disclosed function after a base station has subscribed to the event exposure service [0024, 0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bandyopad-hyay_1 and Sevindik to include both an Nsas interface and underlay network (performing the function of the OSS as stated in the claim) in between the DP, taught by the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik, and the SAS. The Domain Proxy could optionally be connected to the base station via the AMF taught by Sirotkin. The DP can integrate the AMF features as taught by Sirotkin, operating with Nsas and the underlay network in the same manner as the AMF. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase efficiency (by reducing inquiry requests), support harmonization of the CBRS and network architecture, and provide better network optimization (Sirotkin, [0024-0025]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1, Sevindik, and Sirotkin, particularly Sirotkin, teaches the power saving controller further configured to:
subscribe to spectrum access system messages via an operations support system, wherein the spectrum access system messages include the shared channel suspension orders (Messages can be sent from the SAS to the BS (and vice versa) via the Underlay Network (UN) on the Nsas interface. The Nsas enables base stations to subscribe to spectrum related events and communication service that supports SAS messages (including heartbeat). The Access & Mobility management Function (AMF) is used in this process to push messages to the base station automatically. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the AMF would subscribe to such spectrum events in order to perform its disclosed function after a base station has subscribed to the event exposure service [0024, 0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bandyopad-hyay_1 and Sevindik to include both an Nsas interface and underlay network (performing the function of the OSS as stated in the claim) in between the DP, taught by Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik, and the SAS. The Domain Proxy could optionally be connected to the base station via the AMF taught by Sirotkin. The DP can integrate the AMF features as taught by Sirotkin, operating with Nsas and the underlay network in the same manner as the AMF. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase efficiency (by reducing inquiry requests), support harmonization of the CBRS and network architecture, and provide better network optimization (Sirotkin, [0024-0025]).
Claim(s) 5, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandyopadhyay_1, in view of Sevindik, and in further view of Bandyopadhyay et al. (US 2024/0114352 A1, hereinafter “Bandyopadhyay_2”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik does not teach wherein a CBSD is impacted if all CBRS spectrum granted to the CBSD by the SAS is suspended by the CBRS spectrum suspension commands.
In analogous art, Bandyopadhyay_2 teaches wherein a CBSD is impacted if all CBRS spectrum granted to the CBSD by the SAS is suspended by the CBRS spectrum suspension commands (“If no grant is available, then the system will wait for the suspension to be lifted” [0088]. Grants are checked for availability and are either determined to be suspended or active. In the case that all grants are suspended (e.g. none of the grants are active/available) the system, including any CBSDs, will have to wait until a grant suspension is lifted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bandyopad-hyay_1 and Sevindik to include waiting if no grant is available until a suspension is lifted as taught by Bandyopadhyay_2 in order to create efficiency making more spectrums available even as the density of base stations increases, to present consistent and secure interfaces, and to reduce interference (Bandyopadhyay_2; [0054, 0059, 0060]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik, specifically Bandyopadhyay_1, teaches the power saving controller further configured to:
receive, from an operations support system, channel information for each of the base stations (DP obtains RSSI levels, RSRP levels, high interference indications on band sections, utilization rates of the frequency band and/or channels from the BS/APs via REM scans [Col 16, lines 26-35]); and
review the shared channel suspension orders against the channel information to determine which of the base stations are impacted by the shared channel suspension orders (The DP contains REM scan information, which includes utilization rates of the frequency band and/or channels of the CBSDs. After receiving the suspension message (spectrum suspension command), the DP identifies suspended channels and determines BS/APs that are impacted, generating a Stop TX-Command. [Col 16, lines 26-35; Col. 21, lines 14-25]),
The combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik does not teach wherein a base station is impacted if all shared channels granted to the base station by the SAS are suspended by the shared channel suspension orders.
In analogous art, Bandyopadyay_2 teaches wherein a base station is impacted if all shared channels granted to the base station by the SAS are suspended by the shared channel suspension orders (“If no grant is available, then the system will wait for the suspension to be lifted” [0088]. Grants are checked for availability and are either determined to be suspended or active. In the case that all grants are suspended (e.g. none of the grants are active/available) the system, including any CBSDs, will have to wait until a grant suspension is lifted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination pf Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik to include waiting if no grant is available until a suspension is lifted as taught by Bandyopad-hyay_2 in order to create efficiency making more spectrums available even as the density of base stations increases, to present consistent and secure interfaces, and to reduce interference (Bandyopadhyay_2; [0054, 0059, 0060]).
Claim(s) 7, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandyopadhyay_1, in view of Sevindik, and in further view of Schilling (US 5224120 A, hereinafter "Schilling").
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik does not teach sending, by an operations support system to a user device, a notification that certain CBSDs have been powered down.
In analogous art, Schilling teaches sending, by an operations support system to a user device, a notification that certain CBSDs have been powered down (Controllers send a message signal to user(s) to indicate when the base station(s) are in power-down mode [Col. 7, lines 15-18]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bandyopad-hyay_1 and Sevindik to include user device messages on the power mode of base stations as taught by Schilling in order to reduce interference and avoid noticeable performance degradation (Schilling; [Col. 12, lines 57-65]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Bandyopadhyay and Schilling, specifically Schilling, teaches sending, by an operations support system to a user device, that certain CBSDs have been powered up (Controllers send a message signal to user(s) to indicate when the base station(s) is no longer in power-down mode (additional users may enter the cell) [Col. 7, lines 15-18]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bandyopadhyay_1 to include user device messages on the power mode of base stations in order to reduce interference and avoid noticeable performance degradation (Schilling; [Col. 12, lines 57-65]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandyopadhyay_1, in view of Sevindik, and in further view of Richardson et al. (US 2020/0236557 A1, hereinafter "Richardson").
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik does not teach wherein a second occurrence of the generating further comprising:
reviewing, by the power saving engine, the CBRS spectrum restoration commands in view of configuration information for each of the CBSDs to determine the restoration list.
In analogous art, Richardson teaches wherein a second occurrence of the generating further comprising: reviewing, by the power saving engine, the CBRS spectrum restoration commands in view of configuration information for each of the CBSDs to determine the restoration list (The DP contains REM scan information, which includes utilization rates of the frequency band and/or channels of the CBSDs. After receiving SAS messages, the DP identifies affected channels and determines BS/APs that are impacted, generating a command that will be pushed to the ACS to alter the power levels of the BS/APs [Col 16, lines 26-35; Col. 21, lines 14-25]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bandyopad-hyay_1 and Sevindik to a restoration list of CBSDs as taught by Richardson in order to reduce resource/grant waste and to decrease time for alerts to be sent to network operators (Richardson; [0045, 0054]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandyopadhyay_1, in view of Sevindik, and in view of Richardson as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Bandyopadhyay_2.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Bandyopadhyay_1, Sevindik, and Richardson does not teach wherein a CBSD is restored if at least some of the CBRS spectrum granted to the CBSD and suspended by the SAS is restored by the CBRS spectrum restoration commands.
In analogous art, Bandyopadhyay_2 teaches wherein a CBSD is restored if at least some of the CBRS spectrum granted to the CBSD and suspended by the SAS is restored by the CBRS spectrum restoration commands (After a Dynamic Priority Area (DPA) has been triggered, a CBSD may lose access to previously authorized channels via SAS grant suspension. If the DPA is released, the original channel assigned to the CBSD is used [0062-0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bandyopad-hyay_1 and Sevindik to include waiting if no grant is available until a suspension is lifted as taught by Bandyopadhyay_2 in order to create efficiency making more spectrums available even as the density of base stations increases, to present consistent and secure interfaces, and to reduce interference (Bandyopadhyay_2; [0054, 0059, 0060]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandyopadhyay_1, in view of Sevindik, in view of Richardson, and in further view of Bandyopadhyay_2.
Regarding claim 19, Bandyopadhyay_1 teaches the power saving controller further configured to:
receive, from an operations support system, channel information for each base station (DP obtains RSSI levels, RSRP levels, high interference indications on band sections, utilization rates of the frequency band and/or channels from the BS/APs via REM scans [Col 16, lines 26-35]); and
The combination of Bandyopadhyay_1 and Sevindik does not teach review the shared channel restoration orders against the channel information to determine which of the base stations are restorable, wherein a base station is restorable if at least one shared channel granted to the base station by the SAS and suspended is restored by the shared channel restoration orders.
In analogous art, Richardson teaches:
review the shared channel restoration orders against the channel information to determine which of the base stations are restorable (The DP contains REM scan information, which includes utilization rates of the frequency band and/or channels of the BS/APs. After receiving SAS messages, the DP identifies affected channels and determines BS/APs that are impacted, generating a command that will be pushed to the ACS to alter the power levels of the BS/APs [Col 16, lines 26-35; Col. 21, lines 14-25]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bandyopad-hyay_1 and Sevindik to a restoration list of CBSDs as taught by Richardson in order to reduce resource/grant waste and to decrease time for alerts to be sent to network operators (Richardson; [0045, 0054]).
Bandyopadhyay_1 in combination with Sevindik and Richardson does not teach wherein a base station is restorable if at least one shared channel granted to the base station by the SAS and suspended is restored by the shared channel restoration orders.
In analogous art, Bandyopadhyay_2 teaches wherein a base station is restorable if at least one shared channel granted to the base station by the SAS and suspended is restored by the shared channel restoration orders (After a Dynamic Priority Area (DPA) has been triggered, a BS/AP may lose access to previously authorized channels via SAS grant suspension. If the DPA is released, the original channel assigned to the BS/AP is used [0062-0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bandyopad-hyay_1, Sevindik, and Richardson to include waiting if no grant is available until a suspension is lifted as taught by Bandyopadhyay_2 in order to create efficiency making more spectrums available even as the density of base stations increases, to present consistent and secure interfaces, and to reduce interference (Bandyopadhyay_2; [0054, 0059, 0060]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Chang et al (US 6507273 B1) discloses a network-based remotely-controlled power switch device.
Farmanbar H et al (US 20150119050 A1) discloses a communications system node for network resource management application in cellular radio system, has medium comprising instructions executed by processor that transmits transmissions according to optimized parameters.
Keeni (US 20150207634 A1) discloses a method for building a green network, including the use of L2 switches and stopping power supply and so on.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.R.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413