Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 pending.
Response to Amendments and Remarks
Amendments and remarks filed July 10, 2026 have been fully considered.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112 have been overcome due to amendments and remarks with that amendment.
Regarding rejections of claims 1, 9, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. § 102, Applicant submits that Park does not teach the claims as amended because “Park does not teach or suggest the amended limitations requiring that the first sensing report identify a target group including a plurality of targets and that the second sensing report identify individual targets within that same target group based on respective angles of arrival or respective channel taps” (Remarks pg. 10).
Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
Park teaches the first sensing report identifying a target group including a plurality of targets at, e.g., Figs. 9, 11, and [0109] – “The UE 910 is configured to send a beam and target group information report 954 based on measurements associated with a received DL SSRS… The beam and target group information report 954 may also include multiple target group identification values if multiple target groups are detected… The beam and target group information report 954 may also include multiple target group identification values if multiple target groups are detected.” The claimed “target group including a plurality of targets” corresponds to Park’s target group including the plurality of targets 905-a, 905-b, 906, 908, i.e., the target group comprising Park’s first, second, and third target group. See rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 for detailed mapping and analysis.
Park teaches that the second sensing report identify individual targets within that same target group at Figs. 9, 11, and [0124] – “The STRS is transmitted for each target group included in the tracking signal configuration information and the method 1100 iterates between stages 1110 and 1112 for each target group. For example, referring to FIG. 9B, three target groups including the first, second and third target groups are identified in the tracking signal configuration. The tracking reference signal (e.g., STRS #A) is transmitted three times based on the repetition pattern provided in the tracking signal configuration.” Individual targets within the target group as claimed correspond to, e.g., Park’s individual targets 906, 908 within the target group comprising targets 905-a, 905-b, 906, 908. See rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 for detailed mapping and analysis.
Park teaches the identification of individual targets based on respective angles of arrival or respective channel taps at Fig. 5, [0091-97] – “the UE 432 may report the ToA measurements to the base station 405, or other entity, and the base station 405 may determine the distance and, optionally, the direction to the target object… Under the channel illustrated in FIG. 5, the receiver receives a first cluster of two RF signals on channel taps1, a second cluster of five RF signals on channel taps at time T2, a third cluster of five RF signals on channel taps at time T3, and a fourth cluster of four RF signals on channel taps at time T4.” Park’s channel taps, as shown in Fig. 5, are a function of signal strength. RSRP is then thresholded at [0108] for target identification. Instant application specification [0068] teaches a similar identification of targets by channel taps. 35 U.S.C. § 102 for detailed mapping and analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 9, 13, 15-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220026551 A1 to Park.
Regarding claim 1,
US 20220026551 A1 to Park teaches:
A method (Figs. 8, 11) comprising:
receiving, at a first device in a wireless system, (Figs. 6-8 – UE) a first set of sensing reference signals (RSs) over beams (Figs. 9 – DL SSRS 952, Fig. 11; [0119] – “At stage 1102… In a scanning phase 800, a base station, such as a base station 304 may be configured to transmit sensing-scanning reference signals (SSRS) in a coverage area. The SSRS may be beamformed existing communication reference signals such as SS Blocks, CSI-RS, TRS, PRS, or other existing or future reference signals configured for channel sounding or specifically for RF sensing measurements. The UE 304 may utilize one or more receive beams to receive the scanning reference signal.”) from a second device in the wireless system; (Figs. 6-8 – base station / gNB)
performing first beam measurements, by the first device, based on the first set of sensing RSs; (Figs. 9, 11; [0109] – “measurements associated with a received DL SSRS.” [0120] – “At stage 1104… In the scanning phase 800, the UE 302 may receive the signals with one or more receive beams via LOS and NLOS paths, and may determine signal measurements such as RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR based on the signal received by the receive beams.”)
transmitting, from the first device, to the second device, a first information report based on the first beam measurements, ([0121] – “At stage 1106, the method includes transmitting the signal report. The UE 302 is a means for transmitting the signal report. In an example, the UE 302 may utilize RRC or other UL channels and/or UL messaging to provide the scanning signal report to one or more base stations. The beam and target group information report 954 is an example of the scanning signal report transmitted by the UE 302.”) wherein the first information report comprises a first type of sensing information, the first type of sensing information including target group information identifying a target group including a plurality of targets; (Figs. 9, 11; [0109] – “The UE 910 is configured to send a beam and target group information report 954 based on measurements associated with a received DL SSRS. The beam and target group information report 954 may include, for example, one or more of the RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR values associated with the DL SSRS which exceed a threshold value. The beam and target group information report 954 may also include multiple target group identification values if multiple target groups are detected. For example, the target group identification values may be generated by the UE 910 based on objects detected by different receive beams, such as the first target group including the first and second targets 905a-b as detected by the first receive beam 912, the second target group including the third target 906 detected by the second receive beam 914, and the third target group including the fourth target 908 detected by the third receive beam 916. In an example, the UE 910 may include the receive beam identification information in the beam and target group information report 954.” Claimed “target group including a plurality of targets” corresponds to Park’s target group including the plurality of targets 905-a, 905-b, 906, 908, i.e., the target group comprising Park’s first, second, and third target group.)
receiving, by the first device, from the second device, a second set of sensing RSs; (Figs. 9, 11; [0112] – “The base station 902 is configured to transmit DL sensing-tracking reference signals (STRS) based on the target groups selected at stage 956 and the repetition pattern in the tracking and target group configuration information 958. For example, a first transmission 960a of the DL STRS #A enables the UE 910 to track the first target group at stage 962a, a second transmission 960b of the DL STRS #A enables the UE 910 to track the second target group at stage 962b, and a third transmission 960c enables the UE 910 to track the third target group.” [0123] – “At stage 1110… The UE 302 is a means for receiving the tracking reference signal.”)
performing second beam measurements, by the first device, based on the second set of sensing RSs; (Figs. 9, 11; [0112] – “The STRSs 960a-c may be SS Blocks, CSI-RS, TRS, PRS or other current and future reference signals developed for RF sensing applications. The tracking at stages 962a-c may include obtaining one or more reference signal measurements such as RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR values associated with the DL STRS.” [0124] – “At stage 1112… The UE 302 is configured to determine beam measurement information such as RSRP, RSRQ and SINR for the one or more tracking reference signals.”) and
transmitting, from the first device, to the second device, a second information report based on the second beam measurements, wherein the second information report comprises a second type of sensing information that is different from the first type of sensing information, ([0124] – “In an example, the UE 304 may be configured to provide updated signal measurement values based on the tracking reference signals. The updated measurement values may be included in a signal report which includes beam identification information, target group identification and the measurement values (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, etc.). The signal report may be provided via RRC, MAC-CE, DCI, or other network signaling protocols.” Second type of sensing information may correspond to any of, e.g., RSRP tracking measurements, RSRQ values, SINR values, beam identification information, target group information, refined scanning signal report info, or target group identification information for the receive beams which measure the RSRP of the tracking reference signal above a threshold level.) the second type of sensing information including individual target information identifying individual targets within the target group (Figs. 9 – individual target tracking of each group, Fig. 11 – 1112 track one of the one or more target groups ; [0124] – “The STRS is transmitted for each target group included in the tracking signal configuration information and the method 1100 iterates between stages 1110 and 1112 for each target group. For example, referring to FIG. 9B, three target groups including the first, second and third target groups are identified in the tracking signal configuration. The tracking reference signal (e.g., STRS #A) is transmitted three times based on the repetition pattern provided in the tracking signal configuration.” Individual targets within the target group as claimed correspond to, e.g., Park’s individual targets 906, 908 within the target group comprising targets 905-a, 905-b, 906, 908.) based on:
respective angles of arrival associated with the individual targets; ([0093] – “the UE 432 may report the ToA measurements to the base station 405, or other entity, and the base station 405 may determine the distance and, optionally, the direction to the target object.”) or
respective channel taps associated with the individual targets. (Fig. 5; [0091, 95-97] – “Under the channel illustrated in FIG. 5, the receiver receives a first cluster of two RF signals on channel taps at time T1, a second cluster of five RF signals on channel taps at time T2, a third cluster of five RF signals on channel taps at time T3, and a fourth cluster of four RF signals on channel taps at time T4. In the example of FIG. 5, because the first cluster of RF signals at time T1 arrives first, it is presumed to be the LOS data stream (i.e., the data stream arriving over the LOS or the shortest path), and may correspond to the LOS path illustrated in FIG. 4B (e.g., the RF signal 406). The third cluster at time T3 is comprised of the strongest RF signals, and may correspond to the NLOS path illustrated in FIG. 4B (e.g., the reflected signal 434).” [00108] – “The UE 910 may utilize wider or narrow receive beams and may be configured to distinguish the targets based on different receive beams and the corresponding reference signal measurements. For example, the RSRP for the first reference signal 904 may exceed a threshold when received on the first receive beam 912, the second receive beam 914, and the third receive beam 916. As depicted in FIG. 9A, the first reference signal 904 is not detected (or the RSRP is below a threshold value) on a fourth receive beam 918. The UE 910 may assign the first target 905a and the second target 905b a first target group identification (e.g., target group 1), the target 906 a second target group identification (e.g., target group 2), and the fourth target 908 a third target group identification (e.g., target group 3).”)
Regarding claim 6,
Park teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Park further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first set of sensing RSs comprises synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), positioning RS (PRSs), or channel state information (CSI)-RSs. ([0006] – “The scanning reference signal may include at least one selected from a group consisting of a positioning reference signal (PRS), a tracking reference signal (TRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), and a synchronization signal block (SSB).”)
Regarding claim 8,
Park teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Park further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the second set of sensing RSs comprises:
receiving, at the first device, from the second device, configuration information for a target; ([0122] – “At stage 1108… The UE 302 is a means for receiving tracking signal configuration information. A base station 304 is configured to select sensing tracking reference signals (STRS) based on selected target groups.”) and
receiving, at the first device, from the second device, the second set of sensing RSs associated with the target. ([0123] – “At stage 1110, the method includes receiving the tracking reference signal identified in the tracking signal configuration information. The UE 302 is a means for receiving the tracking reference signal.”)
Regarding claim 9,
Park teaches:
A wireless system comprising:
a first device (Figs. 6-8 – base station / gNB, Fig. 10) configured to:
transmit a first set of sensing reference signals (RSs) over beams (Fig. 11; [0119] – “At stage 1102… In a scanning phase 800, a base station, such as a base station 304 may be configured to transmit sensing-scanning reference signals (SSRS) in a coverage area. The SSRS may be beamformed existing communication reference signals such as SS Blocks, CSI-RS, TRS, PRS, or other existing or future reference signals configured for channel sounding or specifically for RF sensing measurements. The UE 304 may utilize one or more receive beams to receive the scanning reference signal.”) to a second device in the wireless system; (Figs. 6-8 – UE)
receive, from the second device, a first information report ([0115] – “At stage 1004, the method includes receiving a scanning signal report indicating one or more target groups associated with the scanning reference signal. The base station 304 is a means for receiving the scanning signal report.”) comprising a first type of sensing information, the first type of sensing information including target group information identifying a target group including a plurality of targets; (Figs. 9, 11; [0109] – “The UE 910 is configured to send a beam and target group information report 954 based on measurements associated with a received DL SSRS. The beam and target group information report 954 may include, for example, one or more of the RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR values associated with the DL SSRS which exceed a threshold value. The beam and target group information report 954 may also include multiple target group identification values if multiple target groups are detected. For example, the target group identification values may be generated by the UE 910 based on objects detected by different receive beams, such as the first target group including the first and second targets 905a-b as detected by the first receive beam 912, the second target group including the third target 906 detected by the second receive beam 914, and the third target group including the fourth target 908 detected by the third receive beam 916. In an example, the UE 910 may include the receive beam identification information in the beam and target group information report 954.” Claimed “target group including a plurality of targets” corresponds to Park’s target group including the plurality of targets 905-a, 905-b, 906, 908, i.e., the target group comprising Park’s first, second, and third target group.)
select a target for tracking based on the first information report; ([0105] – “At stage 876, the base station 802 is configured to select targets for tracking based at least in part on the beam information report 874 sent by the UE 810.” [0116] – “stage 1006”)
transmit a second set of sensing RSs for tracking the target; (Figs. 9, 11; [0112] – “The base station 902 is configured to transmit DL sensing-tracking reference signals (STRS) based on the target groups selected at stage 956 and the repetition pattern in the tracking and target group configuration information 958. For example, a first transmission 960a of the DL STRS #A enables the UE 910 to track the first target group at stage 962a, a second transmission 960b of the DL STRS #A enables the UE 910 to track the second target group at stage 962b, and a third transmission 960c enables the UE 910 to track the third target group.” [0123] – “At stage 1110… The UE 302 is a means for receiving the tracking reference signal.”) and
receive, from the second device, a second information report comprising a second type of sensing information that is different from the first type of sensing information, ([0124] – “In an example, the UE 304 may be configured to provide updated signal measurement values based on the tracking reference signals. The updated measurement values may be included in a signal report which includes beam identification information, target group identification and the measurement values (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, etc.). The signal report may be provided via RRC, MAC-CE, DCI, or other network signaling protocols.” Second type of sensing information may correspond to any of, e.g., RSRP tracking measurements, RSRQ values, SINR values, beam identification information, target group information, refined scanning signal report info, or target group identification information for the receive beams which measure the RSRP of the tracking reference signal above a threshold level.) the second type of sensing information including individual target information identifying individual targets within the target group (Figs. 9 – individual target tracking of each group, Fig. 11 – 1112 track one of the one or more target groups ; [0124] – “The STRS is transmitted for each target group included in the tracking signal configuration information and the method 1100 iterates between stages 1110 and 1112 for each target group. For example, referring to FIG. 9B, three target groups including the first, second and third target groups are identified in the tracking signal configuration. The tracking reference signal (e.g., STRS #A) is transmitted three times based on the repetition pattern provided in the tracking signal configuration.” Individual targets within the target group as claimed correspond to, e.g., Park’s individual targets 906, 908 within the target group comprising targets 905-a, 905-b, 906, 908.) based on:
respective angles of arrival associated with the individual targets; ([0093] – “the UE 432 may report the ToA measurements to the base station 405, or other entity, and the base station 405 may determine the distance and, optionally, the direction to the target object.”) or
respective channel taps associated with the individual target; (Fig. 5; [0091, 5-97] – “Under the channel illustrated in FIG. 5, the receiver receives a first cluster of two RF signals on channel taps at time T1, a second cluster of five RF signals on channel taps at time T2, a third cluster of five RF signals on channel taps at time T3, and a fourth cluster of four RF signals on channel taps at time T4. In the example of FIG. 5, because the first cluster of RF signals at time T1 arrives first, it is presumed to be the LOS data stream (i.e., the data stream arriving over the LOS or the shortest path), and may correspond to the LOS path illustrated in FIG. 4B (e.g., the RF signal 406). The third cluster at time T3 is comprised of the strongest RF signals, and may correspond to the NLOS path illustrated in FIG. 4B (e.g., the reflected signal 434).” [00108] – “The UE 910 may utilize wider or narrow receive beams and may be configured to distinguish the targets based on different receive beams and the corresponding reference signal measurements. For example, the RSRP for the first reference signal 904 may exceed a threshold when received on the first receive beam 912, the second receive beam 914, and the third receive beam 916. As depicted in FIG. 9A, the first reference signal 904 is not detected (or the RSRP is below a threshold value) on a fourth receive beam 918. The UE 910 may assign the first target 905a and the second target 905b a first target group identification (e.g., target group 1), the target 906 a second target group identification (e.g., target group 2), and the fourth target 908 a third target group identification (e.g., target group 3).”) and
the second device (Figs. 6-8 – UE, Fig. 11) configured to:
receive the first set of sensing RSs; (Fig. 11; [0119] – “At stage 1102… In a scanning phase 800, a base station, such as a base station 304 may be configured to transmit sensing-scanning reference signals (SSRS) in a coverage area. The SSRS may be beamformed existing communication reference signals such as SS Blocks, CSI-RS, TRS, PRS, or other existing or future reference signals configured for channel sounding or specifically for RF sensing measurements. The UE 304 may utilize one or more receive beams to receive the scanning reference signal.”)
perform first beam measurements based on the first set of sensing RSs; ([0120] – “At stage 1104… In the scanning phase 800, the UE 302 may receive the signals with one or more receive beams via LOS and NLOS paths, and may determine signal measurements such as RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR based on the signal received by the receive beams.”)
transmit the first information report based on the first beam measurements; ([0121] – “At stage 1106, the method includes transmitting the signal report. The UE 302 is a means for transmitting the signal report. In an example, the UE 302 may utilize RRC or other UL channels and/or UL messaging to provide the scanning signal report to one or more base stations. The beam and target group information report 954 is an example of the scanning signal report transmitted by the UE 302.”
receive the second set of sensing RSs; ([0123] – “At stage 1110… The UE 302 is a means for receiving the tracking reference signal.”)
perform second beam measurements based on the second set of sensing RSs; ([0124] – “At stage 1112… The UE 302 is configured to determine beam measurement information such as RSRP, RSRQ and SINR for the one or more tracking reference signals.”) and
transmit the second information report based on the second beam measurements. ([0124] – “In an example, the UE 304 may be configured to provide updated signal measurement values based on the tracking reference signals. The updated measurement values may be included in a signal report which includes beam identification information, target group identification and the measurement values (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, etc.). The signal report may be provided via RRC, MAC-CE, DCI, or other network signaling protocols.” Second type of sensing information may correspond to any of, e.g., RSRP tracking measurements, RSRQ values, SINR values, beam identification information, target group information, refined scanning signal report info, or target group identification information for the receive beams which measure the RSRP of the tracking reference signal above a threshold level.)
Regarding claim(s) 13,
Claim(s) 13 is/are system claims corresponding to method claim(s) 6, respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 13 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 6.
Regarding claim 15,
Park teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
The wireless system of claim 9, wherein:
in transmitting the second set of sensing RSs, the first device (Fig. 10) is further configured to:
transmit configuration information for a target; ([0116] – “At stage 1006, the method includes transmitting tracking signal configuration information based on the scanning reference signal and the one or more target groups.”) and
transmit the second set of sensing RSs associated with the target; ([0117] – “At stage 1008, the method includes transmitting a tracking reference signal for each of the one or more target groups. The base station 304 is a means for transmitting the tracking reference signal.”) and
the second device is further configured to:
receive the configuration information and the second set of sensing RSs; ([0122] – “At stage 1108… The UE 302 is a means for receiving tracking signal configuration information. A base station 304 is configured to select sensing tracking reference signals (STRS) based on selected target groups.”) and
perform tracking measurements for the target based on the configuration information and the second set of sensing RSs. ([0124] – “At stage 1112, the method includes tracking one or more target groups associated with the tracking reference signal. The UE 302 is a means for tracking the one or more target groups”)
Regarding claim(s) 16,
Claim(s) 16 is/are system claims corresponding to method claim(s) 1, respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 16 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 1.
Regarding claim(s) 20,
Claim(s) 20 is/are system claims corresponding to method claim(s) 8, respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 20 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220026551 A1 to Park in view of US 20180227848 A1 to Lee.
Regarding claim 2,
Park teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Park does not explicitly teach the additional elements of the claim.
US 20180227848 A1 to Lee teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first set of sensing RSs has a shorter frame or a smaller sensing bandwidth than the second set of sensing RSs. ([0006] – “Generally, the described techniques allow TRSs to be extended in the frequency domain from a synchronization signal block. The TRSs may occupy a subset or all of the symbol periods of the synchronization signal block and may have the same subcarrier spacing as synchronization signals within a synchronization signal blocks.” [0016] – “the tracking reference signal extends across an entirety of the bandwidth of the carrier.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Lee’s known technique to Park’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Park teaches a base method of reference signal sensing in two parts – scanning and then tracking. Park further teaches choosing sensing-tracking reference signals (STRS) after scanning; (2) Lee teaches a specific technique of extending frequency domain / bandwidth and lengthening frame for tracking RS; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in more accurate tracking and a more efficient overall system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim(s) 10 and 17,
Claim(s) 10 and 17 is/are system claims corresponding to method claim(s) 2, respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 10 and 17 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 2.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220026551 A1 to Park in view of US 20220057483 A1 to Feng.
Regarding claim 3,
Park teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Park does not explicitly teach the additional elements of the claim.
US 20220057483 A1 to Feng teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
communicating with the second wireless device using a communication beam. ([0007] – “multiple pairs of radars and each pair of radars having ability to cooperatively transmit detection beams and communication beams”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Feng’s known technique to Park’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Park teaches a base method of reference signal sensing for joint communication and sensing; (2) Feng teaches a specific technique of using a communication beam for joint communication and sensing; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in more efficient joint communication and sensing with reduced interference; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 4-5, 11-12, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220026551 A1 to Park in view of US 20230086144 A1 to Roy and further in view of US 20220066018 A1 to Han.
Regarding claim 4,
Park teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Park does not explicitly teach the additional elements of the claim.
US 20230086144 A1 to Roy teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein:
the beams over which the first set of sensing RSs are received are selected, by the first device, from a set of beams based on a radar sensing category or one more radar sensing characteristics; (Figs. 2-5; [0235-239] – “the WTRU may include any of the following parameters in the request: direction(s) of sensing (in case of multi-directional radar measurements); beam width of each directional transmission (e.g., for multi-directional radar measurements) a number of repetitions or a number of repetitions in each direction; and a minimum transmit power level.” [0248] – “After receiving a response (e.g., from the gNB) indicating and/or including the sensing configuration or grant or activation (e.g., for JCS-RS transmissions), the WTRU may activate (or start using) the resources of the resource configuration for the resolution level(s) indicated as active or enabled.” [0250] – “For each of the active sensing configurations (e.g., to perform sensing measurements), the WTRU may perform sensing signal transmissions (e.g., RSs and/or JCS-RSs) on the allocated resources (e.g., after applying the configured time offset). The WTRU may be configured with REs for sensing signal transmissions (e.g., RSs and/or JCS-RSs), where, for example, those REs may be time/frequency multiplexed with REs including the uplink/downlink control/data for other applications or/and for other WTRUs.”) and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Roy’s known technique to Park’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Park teaches a base method of reference signal sensing; (2) Roy teaches a specific technique of parameter allocation for configuring reference signals to improve joint communication and sensing; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in more efficient joint communication and sensing with reduced interference; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Park in view of Roy does not explicitly teach the additional elements of the claim.
Han teaches:
the set of beams avoid interference with one or more other devices in the wireless system. ([0101] – “It may be understood that, because the first frame is used to configure radar measurement information for the M STAs, any STA in the M STAs may determine, based on radar measurement information of another STA, related information (for example, a transmitting time point and a signal frequency band) about radar measurement performed by the another STA. This helps implement space, time, and phase synchronization between the M STAs, to coordinate the M STAs to jointly perform radar measurement, and reduce mutual interference between radar measurement processes of a plurality of STAs.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Han’s known technique to Park in view of Roy’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Park in view of Roy teaches a base method of reference signal parameter allocation/configuration and reference signal sensing; (2) Han teaches a specific technique of request, capability, and sensing parameter communications between AP and STAs for purposes of object detection with reduced interference; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in more efficient joint communication and sensing with reduced interference; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 5,
Park in view of Roy and further in view of Han teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Park further teaches:
The method of claim 4, wherein the one or more radar sensing characteristics comprise at least one of a field of view, an angular resolution, an accuracy, a number of targets to be tracked, a density of targets to be tracked, and a geographical distribution of targets to be tracked. (In regard to claim 5, the limitation(s) recited is not required to be part of the claimed invention. Parent claim 4 teaches alternative limitations, i.e., " a radar sensing category or one more radar sensing characteristics ". If a parent claim includes alternative limitations, and the reference teaches one of them, further limitations to the other alternative(s) in dependent claims are not required limitations. See Ex parte Werner, Appeal 2019-001448, Application No. 15/109,888, March 23, 2020, 15 pages. Here, Park teaches radar sensing categories (in addition to radar sensing characteristics), as detailed in the rejection of claim 4. Claim 5 is based on another alternative/other alternatives, i.e., radar sensing characteristics. In the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner additionally cites: [0111] – “The tracking and target group configuration information 958 may be specific for the UE 910, or specific for one or more of the selected target groups. In operation, when multiple target groups are associated with a signal STRS (e.g., STRS #A depicted in FIG. 9B), the tracking and target group configuration information 958 indicates that the STRS is repeated a number of times equal to the number of target groups to be tracked. The tracking and target group configuration information 958 may also include the repetition pattern (e.g., period, time offset, interval, etc.) for the repeating STRS and the corresponding target group identifications for the target groups to be tracked.”)
Regarding claim(s) 11, 18,
Claim(s) 11, 18 is/are system claims corresponding to method claim(s) 4, respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 11, 18 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 4.
Regarding claim(s) 12, 19,
Claim(s) 12, 19 is/are system claims corresponding to method claim(s) 5, respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 12, 19 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 5.
Claim(s) 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220026551 A1 to Park in view of US 20200393540 A1 to Bialer.
Regarding claim 7,
Park teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Park further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein:
the first type of sensing information comprises information for a detected target group comprising at least one of a transmit beam identifier (ID), a receive beam ID, a velocity, a range, an angle of arrival, and a reference signal received power (RSRP) or reference signal received quality (RSRQ); ([0120] – “In the scanning phase 800, the UE 302 may receive the signals with one or more receive beams via LOS and NLOS paths, and may determine signal measurements such as RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR based on the signal received by the receive beams. One or more threshold values may be used to determine that a reference signal is reflecting off a target group. The UE 302 may generate the scanning signal report to inform a base station 304 of the signal measurements in the scanning phase. In an example, the UE may report target group identification information for the receive beams which measure the RSRP of the scanning reference signal above a threshold level. The UE may optionally include the receive beam information in the scanning signal report.”) and
Park does not explicitly teach the additional elements of the claim.
Bialer teaches:
sensing information comprises at least one of a time domain channel impulse response for each transmit-receive beam pair, and a range-doppler-azimuth (R-D-A) map. ([0006-07] – “transmit a reference signal, a receiver comprising an antenna array having a plurality of horizontally-spaced antenna elements and configured to receive at least one echo signal related to reflection of the reference signal from an object, and a processor… measure a range, Doppler and azimuth of the object from the at least one echo signal”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Bialer’s known technique to Park’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Park teaches a base method of reference signal sensing; (2) Bialer teaches a specific technique of determining range, doppler, and azimuth based on reference signal sensing; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in more accurate tracking and a more efficient overall system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim(s) 14,
Claim(s) 14 is/are system claims corresponding to method claim(s) 7, respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 14 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JULIANA CROSS/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BRADY W FRAZIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648