DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sampath et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0030099 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Sampath et al. discloses a lucent burr hole plug 1A-1C, 2A-3, comprising: a support frame 4 includes a central frame assembly defining a central opening, the central frame assembly includes an upper surface 4A and a lower surface 4B (paragraphs [0034], [0040], [0042]), the upper and lower surfaces are connected by an interior side wall and an exterior side wall, and a plurality of coupling arms 9 radially extending outwardly from the exterior side wall (as seen in Figure 4A-4B); and a lucent disk 7 (applicant discloses in the specification paragraph 0049, the lucent disc is made from polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA)) mounted upon the support frame (paragraph [0044]), wherein the central opening is shaped and dimensioned for positioning of the lucent disk 7 thereon in alignment with the central opening (as seen in Figures 4A-6A).
Regarding Claim 2, Sampath et al. discloses wherein the support frame 4 is a titanium support frame (paragraphs [0039], [0043]).
Regarding Claim 3, Sampath et al. discloses wherein each of the plurality of coupling arms includes a first end coupled to the central frame assembly and a second end positioned beyond a circumference define by the central frame assembly (as seen in Figures 4A-4B and 5A-5C and paragraph [0036]).
Regarding Claim 4, Sampath et al. discloses wherein the second end of each of the plurality of coupling arms includes at least one aperture (e.g. screw holes, see paragraph [0036] and as seen in Figures 4A-5C).
Regarding Claim 5, Sampath et al. discloses wherein the lucent disk 7 is optically transparent (applicant discloses in the specification paragraph 0049, Sampath discloses the lucent disc 7 is made from polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), see Sampath paragraph [0044]).
Regarding Claim 10, Sampath et al. discloses wherein the lucent disk 7 includes an upper surface 4A, a lower surface 4B, and a sidewall extending between the upper surface and the lower surface, the lower surface of the lucent disk is formed with an outer perimeter that conforms with the upper surface of the central frame assembly and a central portion that conforms with the central opening defined by the central frame assembly (as seen in Figures 3 and 6A and paragraph [0042]).
Regarding Claim 11, Sampath et al. discloses wherein the central portion of the lucent disk 7 extends downwardly slightly more than the outer perimeter such that the central portion of the lucent disk sits within the space defined by the central opening of the circular central frame assembly such that at least a portion of the lower surface of the of lucent disk connecting the outer perimeter to the central portion of the lucent disk faces interior side wall of the circular central frame assembly (as seen in Figures 3 and 6A and paragraph [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sampath et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0030099 A1 in view of Gordon et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0325672 A1.
Regarding Claim 6, 7, 8, 9, Sampath et al. discloses wherein the lucent disk is translucent (applicant discloses in the specification paragraph 0049, Sampath discloses the lucent disc 7 is made from polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), see Sampath paragraph [0044]). However, Sampath does not expressly disclose wherein the lucent disk is optically transparent, optically translucent to all light waves, is sonolucent, and is radiolucent. Gordon et al. teaches a burr hole plug implant (paragraphs [0005-0007] and [0013]) formed from PMMA to create a cranioplasty implant that is translucent, sonolucent, radiolucent (paragraphs [0014-0015] and [0053]) to allow real-time transmission of light and waves such as ultrasonic waves without producing echoes to allow the imaging of the brain (paragraph [0053-0054]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sampath’s lucent disk to be optically transparent, translucent to all light waves and is sonolucent and radiolucent as taught by Gordon et al. for the purpose of allowing real-time transmission of light and waves such as ultrasonic waves without producing echoes to allow imaging of the brain.
Conclusion
/SEEMA MATHEW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774