DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 and 13 objected to because of the following informalities: There should be a colon before the list comprising “image, video, audio, diagram, or specification.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1:
Step 1: is the claim directed to one of the four statutory categories?
Yes. The claim is directed to a machine.
Step 2A, prong 1: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract
idea?
Yes. The limitation: “querying, by the generic language model, a domain-specific knowledge model for an answer to the question; providing the answer to the user;” is directed to a mental process of judgment merely implemented on a computer under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A, prong 2: Do the additional elements integrate into a practical application?
No. The limitations: “receiving, by a generic language model, a question from a user” and “and providing documentation associated with the answer to the user” are directed to mere data gathering under MPEP 2106.05(g).
Further, the limitation: “and a processor configured to execute the computer program instructions to cause operations comprising:” is directed to mere instructions to apply an exception under MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the
judicial exception?
No. The limitations: “receiving, by a generic language model, a question from a user” and “and providing documentation associated with the answer to the user” are directed to the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of “Receiving and transmitting data over a network” under MPEP 2106.05(d).
Regarding claim 2:
Step 2A, prong 1: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract
idea?
Yes. The claim is dependent on claim 1.
Step 2A, prong 2: Do the additional elements integrate into a practical application?
No. The limitation: “the domain-specific knowledge model comprising a knowledge model associated with an HVAC system” is directed to field of use under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the
judicial exception?
No. The limitation: “the domain-specific knowledge model comprising a knowledge model associated with an HVAC system” is directed to field of use under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding claim 3:
Step 2A, prong 1: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract
idea?
Yes. The claim is dependent on claim 1.
Step 2A, prong 2: Do the additional elements integrate into a practical application?
No. The limitation: “the documentation comprising at least one of image, video, audio, diagram, or specification” is directed to field of use under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the
judicial exception?
No. The limitation: “the documentation comprising at least one of image, video, audio, diagram, or specification” is directed to field of use under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding claim 3:
Step 2A, prong 1: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract
idea?
Yes. The limitation: “the operations further comprising: providing the user with live expert support responsive to determining that the answer is unsatisfactory to the user” is directed to methods of organizing human activity under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II).
Regarding claim 5:
Step 2A, prong 1: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract
idea?
Yes. The claim is dependent on claim 1.
Step 2A, prong 2: Do the additional elements integrate into a practical application?
No. The limitation: “at least a portion of the computer program instructions being executed on a computer, smartphone, or a tablet” is directed to mere instructions to apply an exception under MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the
judicial exception?
No. The limitation: “at least a portion of the computer program instructions being executed on a computer, smartphone, or a tablet” is directed to mere instructions to apply an exception under MPEP 2106.05(f).
Regarding claim 6:
Step 2A, prong 1: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract
idea?
Yes. The claim is dependent on claim 1.
Step 2A, prong 2: Do the additional elements integrate into a practical application?
No. The limitations: “receiving the question in a speech to text format” is directed to field of use under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the
judicial exception?
No. The limitations: “receiving the question in a speech to text format” is directed to field of use under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding claim 7:
Step 2A, prong 1: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract
idea?
Yes. The claim is dependent on claim 1.
Step 2A, prong 2: Do the additional elements integrate into a practical application?
No. The limitations: “providing the answer in a text to speech format” is directed to field of use under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the
judicial exception?
No. The limitations: “providing the answer in a text to speech format” is directed to field of use under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding claim 8:
Step 2A, prong 1: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract
idea?
Yes. The claim is dependent on claim 1.
Step 2A, prong 2: Do the additional elements integrate into a practical application?
No. The limitation: “storing the answer in a long term memory in response to determining that the answer was satisfactory to the user” is directed to selecting and manipulating a particular type of data under MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the
judicial exception?
No. The limitation: “storing the answer in a long term memory in response to determining that the answer was satisfactory to the user” is directed to the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of “Storing and retrieving information in memory” under MPEP 2106.05(d).
Regarding claim 9:
Step 2A, prong 1: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract
idea?
Yes. The claim is dependent on claim 1.
Step 2A, prong 2: Do the additional elements integrate into a practical application?
No. The limitation: “enriching the domain-specific knowledge model using the answer in response to determining that the answer was satisfactory to the user” is directed to mere instructions to apply an exception under MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the
judicial exception?
No. The limitation: “enriching the domain-specific knowledge model using the answer in response to determining that the answer was satisfactory to the user” is directed to mere instructions to apply an exception under MPEP 2106.05(f).
Regarding claim 10:
Step 2A, prong 1: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract
idea?
Yes. The claim is dependent on claim 1.
Step 2A, prong 2: Do the additional elements integrate into a practical application?
No. The limitation: “the generic language model comprising a multi-modal large language model” is directed to field of use under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the
judicial exception?
No. The limitation: “the generic language model comprising a multi-modal large language model” is directed to field of use under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 11 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 12 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 2.
Claim 13 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 3.
Claim 14 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 4.
Claim 15 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 5.
Claim 16 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 6.
Claim 17 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 7.
Claim 18 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 8.
Claim 19 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 9.
Claim 20 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pre-Grant Patent 2018/0124245 (Klein et al; Klein) in view of US Pre-Grant Patent 2022/0318518 (Mars).
Regarding claim 1 and analogous claim 11:
Klein teaches:
1. A system comprising: a non-transitory storage medium storing computer program instructions;
(Klein, ¶0202)
“The disk drive unit 1416 may include a tangible computer-readable storage medium 1422 on which is stored one or more sets of instructions, e.g., software 1424, embodying any one or more of the methods or functions described herein, including those methods illustrated above. The instructions 1424 may also reside, completely or at least partially, within the main memory 1404, the static memory 1406, and/or within the processor 1402 during execution thereof by the computer system 1400. The main memory 1404 and the processor 1402 also may constitute tangible computer-readable storage media [i.e. A system comprising: a non-transitory storage medium storing computer program instructions;].”
2. and a processor configured to execute the computer program instructions to cause operations comprising:
(Klein, ¶0023)
“One or more aspects of the subject disclosure include a system including a processing system having a processor and a memory that stores executable instructions. The executable instructions, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations that include associating a live service agent to a first service session, wherein the first service session facilitates a communication exchange between user equipment and a first service resource associated with a user inquiry [i.e. and a processor configured to execute the computer program instructions to cause operations comprising:].”
3. and providing documentation associated with the answer to the user.
(Klein, ¶0048)
“To this end, the bot can assist by finding and suggesting tutorials, videos and other content that may help the customer resolve the problem [i.e. and providing documentation associated with the answer to the user].”
Mars teaches:
1. receiving, by a generic language model, a question from a user;
(Mars, ¶0087)
“For example, one or more pre-trained language processing models may be pre-developed and/or pre-trained on a training dataset that may be a comprehensive (or wide-spread) dataset that may not require the plurality of pre-trained language processing models to be modified, readjusted, and/or fine-tuned for making predictions or inferences based on inputs that were not previously seen during a training phase [i.e. receiving, by a generic language model,].”
(Mars, ¶0101)
“As a result, each of the distinct language processing models that may process the user stimulus or the user utterance differently and may use distinct embedding models to generate a distinct embedded query representation and may compute a predicted response inference that may vary from other language processing models [i.e. a question from a user;].”
2. querying, by the generic language model, a domain-specific knowledge model for an answer to the question;
(Mars, ¶0103)
“In one or more preferred embodiments, S330 may function to evaluate each embedded response representation or a subset of the embedded response representations of the response corpus with reference to each response inference computed by the plurality of pre-trained language processing models based on the user stimulus [i.e. querying, by the generic language model, a domain-specific knowledge model for an answer to the question;].”
3. providing the answer to the user;
(Mars, ¶0061)
“As mentioned above, a (display) response output layer or the like may be overlayed and mapped to a predicted (anchor) response output layer, such that a prediction of a given anchor response causes an output to a user system (client device or interface) of an associated or corresponding display response [i.e. providing the answer to the user;].”
One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, would have been motivated to modify Klein with Mars. The motivation is to modify Klein’s automated customer-support system to use Mars’s pretrained language models and embeddings-based retrieval to interpret user inquiries and select answers from Klein’s knowledge base. Klein identifies the difficulty of programming an automated agent to address changing customer questions and the development burden of custom software (¶ [0028]). Mars teaches using pretrained language models to identify responsive answers from a domain-specific corpus without developing and training new language models for the application (¶¶ [0087]–[0090], [0102]–[0106]). The combination would reduce the training and development needed to configure Klein’s automated agent while enabling it to match user inquiries with relevant stored solutions.
Regarding claim 3 and analogous claim 13:
Klein and Mars teach the system of claim 1.
Klein teaches:
1. the documentation comprising at least one of image, video, audio, diagram, or specification.
(Klein, ¶0031)
“If there is a suitable response in the knowledge base, the expert system can send the response to equipment of the user as a text document, a hypertext link, a voice message, a video or any combination thereof [i.e. the documentation comprising at least one of image, video, audio, diagram, or specification].”
One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, would have been motivated to modify Klein with Mars. The motivation is the same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 4 and analogous claim 14:
Klein and Mars teach the system of claim 1.
Klein teaches:
1. providing the user with live expert support responsive to determining that the answer is unsatisfactory to the user.
(Klein, ¶0097)
“In some embodiments, suitability is subjectively determined by the customer. They can indicate that they are not satisfied with a particular response, with the response process, with processing delay, and the like. A customer might say or text, “I'm not satisfied,” or “that won't work” or “I want to speak to a live agent” or the like [i.e. providing the user with live expert support responsive to determining that the answer is unsatisfactory to the user].”
One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, would have been motivated to modify Klein with Mars. The motivation is the same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 5 and analogous claim 15:
Klein and Mars teach the system of claim 1.
Klein teaches:
1. at least a portion of the computer program instructions being executed on a computer, smartphone, or a tablet.
(Klein, ¶0034)
“The customer equipment 104 can include, without limitation, a workstation, a mobile device, e.g., a smart phone, a tablet or a laptop, and/or another device such as a media processor or set-top box, an Internet Protocol (IP) or smart TV [i.e. at least a portion of the computer program instructions being executed on a computer, smartphone, or a tablet].”
One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, would have been motivated to modify Klein with Mars. The motivation is the same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 6 and analogous claim 16:
Klein and Mars teach the system of claim 1.
Klein teaches:
1. receiving the question in a speech to text format.
(Klein, ¶0183)
“Voice search allowing agent and/or user utterances to be converted to text, e.g., to a web search, while engaged in a session;”
One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, would have been motivated to modify Klein with Mars. The motivation is the same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7 and analogous claim 17:
Klein and Mars teach the system of claim 1.
Mars teaches:
1. providing the answer in a text to speech format.
(Mars, ¶0064)
“Rather, a system-displayed response may be communicated in any suitable form including, but not limited to, audibly, haptically, through visual or non-visual signals, and/or the like [i.e. providing the answer in a text to speech format].”
One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, would have been motivated to modify Klein with Mars. The motivation is the same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 8 and analogous claim 18:
Klein and Mars teach the system of claim 1.
Klein teaches:
1. storing the answer in a long term memory in response to determining that the answer was satisfactory to the user.
(Klein, ¶0022)
“A number of keywords are identified within the verbal exchange, and a determination is made that the verbal exchange yields a satisfactory response to the customer inquiry. A determination is made that the recording is dissimilar to other recordings of a solution database comprising a number of recordings of other verbal exchanges. The recording is stored in the solution database responsive to the determining that the verbal exchange yielded a satisfactory response and the determining that the recording is dissimilar to other recordings of the solution database [i.e. storing the answer in a long term memory in response to determining that the answer was satisfactory to the user].”
One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, would have been motivated to modify Klein with Mars. The motivation is the same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 9 and analogous claim 19:
Klein and Mars teach the system of claim 1.
Klein teaches:
1. enriching the domain-specific knowledge model using the answer in response to determining that the answer was satisfactory to the user.
(Klein, ¶0106)
“To the extent that the customer is satisfied, a knowledge base is updated at 630 based on a satisfactory resolution of the customer inquiry. To the extent that the customer is not satisfied, the interaction can be escalated at 632 using the interactive session [i.e. enriching the domain-specific knowledge model using the answer in response to determining that the answer was satisfactory to the user].”
One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, would have been motivated to modify Klein with Mars. The motivation is the same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 10 and analogous claim 20:
Klein and Mars teach the system of claim 1.
Mars teaches:
1. the generic language model comprising a multi-modal large language model.
(Mars, ¶0044)
“Each module of the plurality can implement any one or more of: … a bidirectional encoder representation form transformers (BERT) for masked language model tasks and next sentence prediction tasks and the like, variations of BERT (i.e., ULMFiT, XLM UDify, MT-DNN, SpanBERT, RoBERTa, XLNet, ERNIE, KnowBERT, VideoBERT, ERNIE BERT-wwm, MobileBERT, TinyBERT, GPT, GPT-2, GPT-3, GPT-4 (and all subsequent iterations), ELMo, content2Vec, and the like) [i.e. the generic language model comprising a multi-modal large language model].”
One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, would have been motivated to modify Klein with Mars. The motivation is the same as claim 1.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pre-Grant Patent 2018/0124245 (Klein et al; Klein) in view of US Pre-Grant Patent 2022/0318518 (Mars), further in view of US Pre-Grant Patent 2022/0373995 (Hoelgaard et al; Hoelgaard).
Regarding claims 2 and analogous claim 12:
Klein and Mars teach the system of claim 1.
Hoelgaard teaches:
1. the domain-specific knowledge model comprising a knowledge model associated with an HVAC system.
(Hoelgaard, ¶0059)
“A pump system is preferable meant a system comprising at least one pump and at least one or more sub-systems connected to the pump, such as a HVAC system [i.e. associated with an HVAC system].”
(Hoelgaard, ¶0108)
“The knowledge base module 15 comprises in an embodiment, as depicted in FIG. 5, a database 24. The database 24 storing generic 17 and specific data 18 pertaining to a number of different pumps. The generic data 17 contains generic information relating a specific pump model and operational states of the pump 20. The specific data containing information pertaining to a specific pump 20, such as a location, age and usage of the pump 20. The knowledge base module 15 is configured for providing to the chatbot agent 3 generic and/or specific data by extracting data from or storing data in the database of the knowledge base module 15 upon receiving a request from the chatbot agent 3 [i.e. the domain-specific knowledge model comprising a knowledge model].”
One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, would have been motivated to modify Klein and Mars with Hoelgaard. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure Klein’s customer-support system, modified with Mars’s pretrained language models and domain-specific retrieval, to answer HVAC-related inquiries using Hoelgaard’s equipment-specific knowledge base. Hoelgaard expressly includes HVAC systems and teaches supplying a chatbot with knowledge concerning equipment operation, problems and corresponding solutions (Hoelgaard, ¶¶[0059], [0108]–[0109]). Applying that knowledge to the combined system would allow it to interpret HVAC inquiries and retrieve relevant troubleshooting answers and instructional materials. This modification would populate the existing domain-specific retrieval architecture with knowledge suited to HVAC equipment, predictably extending its automated support functions to HVAC operation and maintenance.
Conclusion
interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-
based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO
Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael J Huntley can be reached on 303-297-4307. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/P.J.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2129
/MICHAEL J HUNTLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2129