DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed February 9, 2024. Currently, claims 22, 26 are pending. All arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are deemed non-persuasive for the reasons which follow.
Priority
This application is a divisional application of 16/093,545, now patent 12,110,561 filed October 12, 2018 which is a 371 of PCT/CN2017/080102, filed April 11, 2017 and claims foreign priority to CHINA 201610225668, filed April 12, 2016.
It is noted that a translation of the foreign document has been received.
Drawings
The drawings are acceptable.
New Matter
Claims 18, 28, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In the amended claims, reference to “a mosaicism ration that is less than 40% is selected” is included. The amendment does not provide support for the new claim language. However, the specification does not describe or discuss “a mosaicism ration that is less than 40% is selected”. The specification does not discuss ratios, mosaicism or that the ratio is less than 40%. The concept of a mosaicism ration that is less than 40% is selected” does not appear to be part of the originally filed invention. Therefore, “a mosaicism ration that is less than 40% is selected” constitutes new matter.
The claims are also directed to “global DNA methylation level”. The specification does not provide any discussion of the global DNA methylation level or that the level is a ratio of methylated CpGs to all CpGs. Therefore, “global DNA methylation level” constitutes new matter.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are indefinite. It is not clear how the recited preamble is intended to breathe life and meaning into the claim. The preamble of Claim 11 and 20 are directed to a method for screening blastocysts. However, the claim concludes with implanting a selected blastocyst into a human subject. Thus, it is not clear if applicant intends to cover any method for screening blastocysts, or if the method is intended to require more, namely implanting the blastocyst. The metes and bounds of the claims are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-17, 19-, 23, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porreca et al. (US 2016/0108475, April 21, 2016) in view of Guo et al. (Genome Research, Vol. 23, pages 2126-2135, 2013).
Porreca teaches a method of pre-implantation genetic screening and aneuploidy detection. Porreca teaches performing trophectoderm biopsy (see Figure 4) to obtain biopsied cells. Porreca teaches trophectoderm biopsies allow the embryo to stay largely intact and without loss of inner cell mass (para 40). Porreca teaches the performing screening of the genetic makeup of candidate embryos for IVF prior to implantation particularly to detect aneuploidy (para 6). Porreca teaches isolating and removal of 3-10 cells from an embryo (see Figure 4). Porreca teaches after the sample is obtained, nucleic acid is isolated and adapters may be added (para 41-48). Porreca teaches after processing steps, namely obtaining, isolating, fragmenting and amplification, the nucleic acid may be sequenced (limitations of Claim 15). The sequencing may be performed using SOLiD sequencing where DNA is sheared into fragments, and adaptors are attached to the 5’ and 3’ ends to generate a fragment library (para 58)(limitations of Claims 13). The preimplantation genetic screening (PGS) can be used to assess the karyotype or chromosome copy number of embryos, allowing for the determination of an euploidy or aneuploidy state of the embryo (para 6). Figure 6 illustrates euploid genomic DNA and Figure 7 illustrates aneuploidy genomic DNA. Porreca teaches that by conducting PGS, the potential of transferring an embryo with the correct number of chromosomes increases as does the potential for increased pregnancy rates (para 31). Thus, Porreca teaches obtaining biopsied trophectoderm cells, determining the copy number of the chromosomes, selecting an embryo with euploid chromosomes for implantation and implanting the embryo.
Porreca does not teach constructing a DNA methylome library and sequencing the DNA methylome library.
Guo teaches single cell methylome landscapes of mouse embryonic stem cells and early embryos analyzed using reduced representation bisulfite sequencing. Guo illustrates screening cells by obtaining genomic DNA from a single cell, constructing a library after adding adaptors, bisulfite conversion, PCR enrichment and high-throughput sequencing.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pre-implantation genetic screening for aneuploidy detection taught by Porreca to use methylome data as taught by Guo. Guo teaches single cells may be analyzed and identify the imprinting status of loci within the individual cells. Porreca teaches different cells may be selected based upon their characteristics. Thus, it would have been obvious to select desirable cells for implantation.
Claim(s) 11-17, 19-27, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porreca et al. (US 2016/0108475, April 21, 2016) in view of Liao et al (BMC Genomics, Vol. 16 (Suppl 12): 511, September 2015) and further in view of Farlik et al. (Cell Reports, Vol. 10, pages 1386-1397, 2015).
Porreca teaches a method of pre-implantation genetic screening and aneuploidy detection. Porreca teaches performing trophectoderm biopsy (see Figure 4) to obtain biopsied cells. Porreca teaches trophectoderm biopsies allow the embryo to stay largely intact and without loss of inner cell mass (para 40). Porreca teaches the performing screening of the genetic makeup of candidate embryos for IVF prior to implantation particularly to detect aneuploidy (para 6). Porreca teaches isolating and removal of 3-10 cells from an embryo (see Figure 4). Porreca teaches after the sample is obtained, nucleic acid is isolated and adapters may be added (para 41-48). Porreca teaches after processing steps, namely obtaining, isolating, fragmenting and amplification, the nucleic acid may be sequenced (limitations of Claim 15). The sequencing may be performed using SOLiD sequencing where DNA is sheared into fragments, and adaptors are attached to the 5’ and 3’ ends to generate a fragment library (para 58)(limitations of Claims 13). The preimplantation genetic screening (PGS) can be used to assess the karyotype or chromosome copy number of embryos, allowing for the determination of an euploidy or aneuploidy state of the embryo (para 6). Figure 6 illustrates euploid genomic DNA and Figure 7 illustrates aneuploidy genomic DNA. Porreca teaches that by conducting PGS, the potential of transferring an embryo with the correct number of chromosomes increases as does the potential for increased pregnancy rates (para 31). Thus, Porreca teaches obtaining biopsied trophectoderm cells, determining the copy number of the chromosomes, selecting an embryo with euploid chromosomes for implantation and implanting the embryo.
Porreca does not teach constructing a DNA methylome library and sequencing the DNA methylome library.
However, Liao teaches bisulfite sequencing (BS-Seq) that couples bisulfite conversion of DNA with next generation sequencing to profile genome-wide DNA methylation at single base resolution. Liao teaches MethGo, is a software designed for the analysis of the data from whole genome bisulfite sequencing and reduced representation bisulfite sequencing (abstract). The MethGo software provision both genomic and epigenomic analysis to determine global methylation levels as well as copy number variation (CNV) calling (abstract). Liao teaches that CNV calling is able to detect genome abnormality such as aneuploidy.
Further, Farlik teaches single-cell nucleic acid methylome sequencing and bioinformatic inference of epigenomic cell-state dynamics using one-tube reaction for single-strand library preparation including converting unmethylated cytosine into uracil with bisulfite conversion (see Figure 1)(limitation of Claim 14). Figure 1 illustrates DNA methylation profiles for genomic regions at each CpG site (limitations of Claim 19). Farlik teaches the method may be used on differentiating cells including biological systems such as embryonic development (abstract). Farlik further teaches comparing cell-type specific signatures of copy-number variation (see Figure 2A). Figure 2A illustrates evaluation of single-cell methylome sequencing and concordance with haploid, diploid and polyploid copy number aberrations.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pre-implantation genetic screening for aneuploidy detection taught by Porreca to use the CNV calling method that relies upon methylome data for detecting aneuploidy as taught by Liao and Farlik. Liao teaches a software tool for analysis of bisulfite sequencing (BS-Seq) that is a simple and effective tool. Farlik also teaches single-cell methylome sequencing and concordance with copy-number aberrations (page 1389, Figure 2A). One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the known BS-seq method for determining aneuploidy for the aneuploidy detection method of Porreca or the single-cell methylome sequencing method for determining haploid, diploid and polyploidy of Farlik. The results of the substitution would have been predictable. Even more, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to have used the BS-Seq method for determining copy number variations, including aneuploidy because Liao teaches the method is a simple and effective tool. Liao also teaches the MethGo software allows the streamlined analysis of 9 separate functions including global methylation levels and aneuploidy detection to generate high resolution in a user-friendly manner (see page 7, col. 1).
With respect to constructing an entire DNA methylome library from cell lysate from each sample, Farlik teaches single strand library preparation may be performed in one-tube reactions followed by single cell DNA methylation analysis (see Figure 1). The method of Farlik allows methylation sequencing in very small cell populations and single cells (scWGBS). The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to have analyzed trophectoderm biopsy cells taught by Porreca using the method of Farlik that was ideal for single cells. Porreca teaches trophectoderm biopsy allow excision of single cells that leave the embryo largely intact and without loss of inner cell mass (para 40). Farlik also teaches the integrated approach for single-cell methylome sequence and bioinformation inference of epigenomic cell-state is available (page 1393). Farlik teaches the advantages of the method include lower reagent cost, less hands-on time, and reduced amplification bias. Thus, performing the construction of a single-strand library in a single one-tube reaction would have been obvious to the skilled artisan for the expected benefits.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-17, 19-27, 29-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,110,561 in view of Porreca et al. (US 2016/0108475, April 21, 2016). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of ‘561 is similarly directed to a method of screening blastocytes and implanting selected blastocyts into a human subject.
1. A method of selecting, and then implanting, a selected human blastocyst into a human subject which comprises: (a) obtaining samples of biopsied human trophectoderm cells from each of multiple human blastocysts from a single donor; (b) constructing a DNA methylome library from, and sequencing the DNA methylome of, each of the samples of biopsied trophectoderm cells, (c) calculating the global DNA methylation level for each of the samples of the biopsied trophectoderm cells based on the sequences of the DNA methylome obtained in step (b) by counting (i) the number of methylated CpGs and (ii) the number of all CpGs and determining the ratio of (i) to (ii) for each of the samples and thereby the global methylation level of each of the blastocysts from which each sample of trophectoderm cells was obtained; (d) selecting the human blastocyst for use in implantation which has the global DNA methylation level which is closest to 0.30; and (e) implanting the human blastocyst selected in step (d) into the human subject.
Claim 1 of ‘561 does not teach ligating an adapter to the DNA sample, however, Porreca teaches isolating and removal of 3-10 cells from an embryo (see Figure 4). Porreca teaches after the sample is obtained, nucleic acid is isolated and adapters may be added (para 41-48). Porreca teaches after processing steps, namely obtaining, isolating, fragmenting and amplification, the nucleic acid may be sequenced. Porreca teaches libraries are designed by ligating adapters to DNA samples to allow further processing. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made to have constructed the DNA methylome library using adapters, as taught by Porreca to allow analysis by sequencing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. (J. of Genetics and Genomics, Vol. 44, pages 475-481, 2017) is applicant’s own postfiling date work for genome wide abnormal DNA methylome of human blastocyst in assisted reproductive technology.
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1634 October 28, 2026