DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It is noted that the claim does not recite when the user returns to a group viewing session on a device (i.e. a set top box or returned to an original device). Instead, the claim recites “first user has returned to the group viewing session”. This limitation could be interpreted as user has returned/rejoined or continued to access the content with the group of users using a second device associated with the user. Then, an option is sent to the second device associated with so the user can select an option to view a portion of content corresponding to the difference between the viewing progress (Para. 0139-0140).
Shimy et al teaches when the other device communicates that the user is active at the other device, the original device may unpause the content so that the remaining users at the original device may continue to enjoy the content. For example, the other users do not need to wait for the user who left to return. The two groups of users may continue to watch the content simultaneously on two different devices. Incorporating Busse feature to Shimy would suggest that original device continues to play content item, while user who joined the group session via second device makes a switch to a better device if that better device becomes available.
Shimy et al teaches an option may be provided for these actions as opposed to automatically performing the options (Para. 0140, 0151-152). Wherein, the reference teaches if the device does have user detection capabilities, the device may automatically resume the content, or provide an option to resume the content, when Elaine is detected within that device's detection region (Para. 0152).
With respect to claim 7, applicant argues there was no “determining a seating position” as recited. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The reference teaches while she is driving home and wishes to listen to the song on her car stereo, she uses her cellphone to access the video, and asks for it to be played back over her cellphone, audio only (Para. 0022). The reference suggests driver seating position as individual “is driving home” and requesting only audio suggests determining step of where to include video.
See rejection below for newly added claims 22-23.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,184,672 in view of Shimy et al, further in view of Busse et al.
Claim 1 corresponds to patent claims 1 and 6. The claim differs by limitations of “sending, to a second computing device associated with the first user, an option to view a portion of the content item corresponding to a difference between the viewing progress of the one or more remaining users and a departure point of the first user leaving the group viewing session; and causing the portion of the content item to be presented via the second computing device while the content item continues to be presented to the one or more remaining users from a current viewing progress of the one or more remaining users.”
In similar field of endeavor, Shimy et al teaches an option to view a portion of the content item corresponding to a difference between the viewing progress of the one or more remaining users and a departure point of the first user leaving the group viewing session (Para. 0140 and 0151); and while the content item continues to be presented to the one or more remaining users from a current viewing progress of the one or more remaining users (i.e. current content to continue playing uninterrupted) (Para. 0151, 0187). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention for the purpose of allowing user to get better context of missed portions of video without interrupting others.
The combination is unclear with respect to sending, to a second computing device associated with the first user, causing the portion of the content item to be presented via the second computing device.
In similar field of endeavor, Busse et al teaches concept of sending, to a second computing device associated with the first user, causing the portion of the content item to be presented via the second computing device (Abstract; Figures 6, 9; Para. 0013). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention for the purpose of allowing user to view content on different devices that provide better experience.
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,088,878. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims are broader in every aspect than the patent claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 correspond to claim 1.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 correspond to claim 1.
Claims 3, 10 and 17 correspond to claim 3.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 correspond to claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 11, 15, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimy et al (US PG Pub No. 2011/0069940), in view of Busse et al (US PG Pub No. 2014/0344848).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, a method (Abstract) comprising:
monitoring, by a first computing device and after a first user leaves a group viewing session of a content item, viewing progress, through the content item, of one or more remaining users of the group viewing session (i.e. last several contents accessed by Elaine, at what point within the content she was detected to have left the device, some indicator indicating when Elaine left the device ) (Figure 9; Para. 0144, 0150, 0179 and 0187); and
after determining that the first user has returned to the group viewing session (i.e. when Elaine returns to the device, status 1202 may indicate that Elaine is a returning user )(Para. 0151 and 0187);
an option to view a portion of the content item corresponding to a difference between the viewing progress of the one or more remaining users and a departure point of the first user leaving the group viewing session (i.e. an option may be provided for these actions as opposed to automatically performing the options) (Para. 0140 and 0151); and
while the content item continues to be presented to the one or more remaining users from a current viewing progress of the one or more remaining users (i.e. current content to continue playing uninterrupted) (Para. 0151, 0187). The reference is unclear with respect to sending, to a second computing device associated with the first user, causing the portion of the content item to be presented via the second computing device.
In similar field of endeavor, Busse et al teaches concept of sending, to a second computing device associated with the first user, causing the portion of the content item to be presented via the second computing device (Abstract; Figures 6, 9; Para. 0013). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of allowing user to view content on different devices that provide better experience.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected wherein determining that the first user has left the group viewing session based on determining that the first user has left an area of a display device associated with the group viewing session (Shimy: Figure 9; Para. 0144, 0179 and 0187).
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected wherein advertisements shown when the portion of the content item is shown to the first user are different from advertisements shown when the portion was shown to the one or more remaining users (Shimy: Para. 0136).
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimy et al, Busse et al, further in view of Singh et al (US Patent No. 10,063,927).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Shimy and Busse teach sending, to the second computing device after determining that the first user has returned to the group viewing session, an option corresponding to the current viewing progress of the one or more remaining users; portion that the first user missed after leaving the group viewing session (Shimy: Figure 8; Para. Para. 0139-0140, 0157, 0191). The combination is unclear with respect to provide a split-screen presentation in which: a first portion of the split-screen presentation comprises a portion of the content item and a second portion of the split-screen presentation comprises a portion of the content item.
In similar field of endeavor, Singh et al teaches provide a split-screen presentation in which: a first portion of the split-screen presentation comprises a portion of the content item and a second portion of the split-screen presentation comprises a portion of the content item (Figure 1; Col.6 lines 46-61, Col.8 lines 43-61). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination by specifically a split-screen presentation of the content item, wherein: a first portion of the split-screen presentation comprises a portion of the content item; and a second portion of the split-screen presentation comprises a portion of the content item before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of easily allowing plurality of users to view different content simultaneously to view current status and progress of other user(s).
Claim(s) 5-6, 12-13, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimy et al, Busse et al, further in view of Whitten et al (US PG Pub no. 2012/0079548).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Shimy and Busse, the combination teaches limitations discussed with respect to claim 1. The combination teaches providing a warning to viewer/user (i.e. alert message) (Shimy: Fig. 14). However, the combination is unclear with respect to after a request to delete a recording of the content item, that at least one user of the group viewing session has not completed viewing the content item.
In similar field of endeavor, Whitten et al teaches after a request to delete a recording of the content item, that at least one user of the group viewing session has not completed viewing the content item (Figure 4; Para. 0043-44). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of allowing users to optimize storage space and to view content on different devices that provide better experience.
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Shimy and Busse, the combination teaches limitations discussed with respect to claim 1. The combination is unclear with respect to denying, based on viewing progress of one or more users of the group viewing session, a deletion request.
In similar field of endeavor, Whitten et al teaches denying, based on viewing progress of one or more users of the group viewing session, a deletion request (Figure 4; Para. 0043-44). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of allowing users to optimize storage space and to view content on different devices that provide better experience.
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimy et al (US PG Pub No. 2011/0069940), in view of Busse et al (US PG Pub No. 2014/0344848), further in view of Kalaboukis et al (US PG Pub No. 2009/0138493).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 21, Shimy and Busse, the combination teaches limitations of claim 1. The combination is unclear with respect to the second computing device is in a vehicle, and wherein the method further comprises: based on determining a seating position of the first user in the vehicle, determining whether to include video in the presentation of the portion via the second computing device.
In similar field of endeavor, Kalaboukis et al teaches the second computing device is in a vehicle, and wherein the method further comprises: based on determining a seating position of the first user in the vehicle, determining whether to include video in the presentation of the portion via the second computing device (Para. 0022). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of allowing users to receive content safely in various locations.
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimy et al, Busse et al, further in view of Dodson et al (US PG Pub No. 2014/0373081).
Regarding claim 22, Shimy and Busse, the combination teaches after the first user has returned, as discussed above. The combination is unclear with respect to causing output of a message identifying progress of the first user relative to another user in the group.
In similar field of endeavor, Dodson et al teaches causing output of a message identifying progress of the first user relative to another user in the group (Figures 3A-D; Para. 0034-35, 0045). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of allowing synchronizing media playback between a group of users to who are each receiving a media content at approximately at the same time.
Regarding claim 23, Shimy and Busse, the combination teaches after the first user has returned and the departure point of the first user as discussed above. The combination is unclear with respect to causing output of a message identifying the difference between the viewing progress of the one or more remaining users.
In similar field of endeavor, Dodson et al teaches causing output of a message identifying the difference between the viewing progress of the one or more remaining users (Figures 3A-D; Para. 0034-35, 0045). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of allowing synchronizing media playback between a group of users to who are each receiving a media content at approximately at the same time.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUNAL LANGHNOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425