DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 8, line 2, the limitation recites: “...the nosepiece...,” which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims, as no nosepiece has been previously introduced. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation as follows: --...a nosepiece...--. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 10, and 13-15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lutz et al. (US 2008/0074865 A1, herein referred to as: Lutz), in view of Hozumi et al. (US 2010/0163265 A1, herein referred to as: Hozumi).
Regarding claim 1, Lutz teaches or suggests an electric grinding tool (Figs. 1-9) comprising: a motor housing (11) extending along a motor axis (along a motor axis through 17 in the direction of the center of 15, as shown in Fig. 4) and having a rear end portion coupleable to an electrical power source (as noted in paragraph [0031] and as suggested by the arrangement of elements shown in Fig. 4, the connections to electrical components such as the motor and lighting element are at a rear thereof adjacent to the power source within 13, in either of the case of battery operation or mains operation); a motor (17) disposed in the motor housing (as shown in Fig. 4) and configured to receive power from the electrical power source (as noted in paragraph [0031]), the motor including an output shaft extending along the motor axis in a direction opposite the rear end portion of the motor housing (the motor 17 must comprise an output shaft coupled with 15 in order for the device to operate as a screwdriver, e.g., paragraphs [0031] and [0046]); a handgrip (13) coupled to the motor housing (as shown in Figs. 1-9); a tool holder (15, or the recess therein which receives a tool bit or tool bit shaft) rotatably driven upon rotation of the motor (as noted above, in order for the device to operate as a screwdriver, e.g., paragraphs [0031] and [0046]), the tool holder (15) configured to receive a shaft of an accessory (e.g., at least a bit, so as to function as a screwdriver, e.g., paragraphs [0031] and [0046]); a light unit (21-24) coupled to and at least partially recessed in a front end portion of the electric grinding tool (as shown in Fig. 2, e.g., recessed below the front end portion of the electric tool adjacent 25), the light unit including a plurality of lights (22) mounted to an at least partially ring shaped printed circuit board (21) that is received in a support ring (i.e., one of the ring shaped elements of the housings which surrounds and positions the lighting unit constitutes a support ring at a nose end thereof), and a cover ring (25) received over the lights (as shown in Fig. 2).
Lutz does not explicitly teach that said handgrip is coaxial with the motor housing; said tool holder configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory.
Hozumi teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-4) said handgrip (4) is coaxial with the motor housing (3); said tool holder (2) configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory (as described in paragraphs [0056]-[0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of said handgrip is coaxial with the motor housing; said tool holder configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory, such as taught or suggested by Hozumi, in order to increase or otherwise improve the utility and/or marketability of the device (e.g., by providing the device with alternate handgrip positioning configurations, and/or with additional tool applications).
Regarding claim 2, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the cover ring (25) includes one or more clear covers or lenses (24 and/or 25) over the lights (22; as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the printed circuit board (21) is ring shaped (as shown in Figs. 2-3, and as described in paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 6, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the light unit (21-24) is coupled to the handgrip (via the body of the electric tool).
Regarding claim 10, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the tool holder (15) comprises a collet (e.g., 15 forms a collet or a casing or socket for holding a tool bit, as noted in paragraph [0042], and thus constitutes a collet).
Regarding claim 13, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the electrical power source includes an AC power cord (as suggested by paragraph [0031], one skilled in the art would recognize a main-operated configuration to be one in which the device must be plugged into a mains outlet to receive power via an AC power cord).
Regarding claim 14, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the electrical power source includes a battery (as described in paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) a power switch (14) coupled to at least one of the motor housing and the handgrip (as shown in Figs. 1-9) and configured to be actuated to control power delivery to the motor (as noted in paragraph [0046]). The Examiner notes this feature is also taught or suggested by the power switch (7) of the Hozumi reference.
Claims 3, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lutz, in view of Hozumi, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Hara et al. (US 6,886,961 B2, herein referred to as: Hara).
Regarding claims 3, 5, and 7-9, neither Lutz nor Hozumi explicitly teach the circuit board is coupled to the support ring by at least one a snap-fit connection, threaded connectors, a bayonet connection, or heat staking (as recited in claim 3); wherein the printed circuit board is received in a groove in the front end portion (as recited in claim 5); wherein a wire assembly having a first end coupled to the circuit board and a second end received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source (as recited in claim 7); further comprising a shroud extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of a nosepiece to providing a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly that extends between the holder body and the housing (as recited in claim 8); wherein the wire assembly includes one or more wires coupled to the circuit board and a rigid wire mount with a channel that receives the one or more wires (as recited in claim 9).
Hara teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the circuit board (24) is coupled to the support ring (8) by at least one a snap-fit connection, threaded connectors (29), a bayonet connection, or heat staking (as shown in Fig. 4); wherein the circuit board (24) is received in a groove in the front end portion (as the claim does not define the groove, or which element it is in, 24 is received in a groove of 21, or in a groove of 5 formed by a different diameter cylinder in the lower end of 5, see Fig. 4); wherein a wire assembly (25) having a first end coupled to the circuit board (as shown in Fig. 5) and a second end (27) received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source (as shown in Fig. 2); further comprising a shroud (22) extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of the nosepiece (see Figs. 9-10) to providing a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly (25) that extends between the holder body and the housing (as shown in Figs. 1-10); wherein the wire assembly includes one or more wires coupled to the circuit board (as shown in Figs. 4-6) and a rigid wire mount (an end portion of 22, coupled to 21) with a channel that receive the one or more wires (as shown in Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of the circuit board is coupled to the support ring by at least one a snap-fit connection, threaded connectors, a bayonet connection, or heat staking (as recited in claim 3); wherein the printed circuit board is received in a groove in the front end portion (as recited in claim 5); a wire assembly having a first end coupled to the circuit board and a second end received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source (as recited in claim 7); further comprising a shroud extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of a nosepiece to providing a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly that extends between the holder body and the housing (as recited in claim 8); wherein the wire assembly includes one or more wires coupled to the circuit board and a rigid wire mount with a channel that receives the one or more wires (as recited in claim 9), such as taught or suggested by Hara, in order to improve the marketability of the device, and/or reduce the complexity of assembling and/or maintaining the device (e.g., by providing a feature by which the light source can be coupled with a holder and the wire extending therefrom protected).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lutz, in view of Hozumi, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Numata et al. (US 2005/0153636 A1, herein referred to as: Numata).
Regarding claims 11-12, neither Lutz nor Hozumi explicitly teach a fan rotatably driven by the motor and configured to cool the motor (as recited in claim 11); wherein the housing includes a rear vent rearward of the motor and the fan and a front vent frontward of the motor and the fan (as recited in claim 12).
Numata teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-3) a fan (217) rotatably driven by the motor (201, e.g., as recited in paragraph [0017]) and configured to cool the motor (as recited in paragraph [0017]); wherein the housing includes a rear vent (e.g. an inlet, paragraph [0020]) rearward of the motor (toward the top end of 105 and 201, in Fig. 1) and the fan (above 217 in Fig. 1) and a front vent (227) frontward of the motor and the fan (as shown in Fig. 1, e.g., at a lower end of Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of a fan rotatably driven by the motor and configured to cool the motor (as recited in claim 11); wherein the housing includes a rear vent rearward of the motor and the fan and a front vent frontward of the motor and the fan (as recited in claim 12), such as taught or suggested by Numata, in order to improve the performance and/or the efficiency of the device (e.g., by providing a feature driven by the motor to cool the motor).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lutz, in view of Hozumi and Hara.
Regarding claim 16, Lutz teaches or suggests an electric grinding tool (Figs. 1-9) comprising: a housing (10) extending along an axis and having a rear end portion (a rear end having 13) coupleable to an electrical power source (as shown in Fig. 4), the housing including a handgrip portion (13) and a nosepiece (12); a motor (17) disposed in the housing (as shown in Fig. 4) and configured to receive power from the electrical power source (e.g., as recited in paragraph [0031]), the motor (17) including an output shaft extending along the axis (toward 15, i.e., there must be an output shaft from 17 which couples to and rotates 15, as that the device may function as a screwdriver, e.g., paragraphs [0031] and [0046]); a power switch (14) coupled to the housing (10) adjacent the handgrip portion (as shown in Figs. 1-9); a tool holder (15) rotatably driven upon rotation of the motor (e.g., paragraphs [0031] and [0046]), the tool holder (15) configured to receive a shaft of an accessory (e.g. as described in paragraph [0042]); a light unit (21-24) coupled to and at least partially recessed in a front end portion of the electric grinding tool (as shown in Fig. 2), the light unit including a plurality of lights (22) mounted to an at least partially ring shaped printed circuit board (21).
Lutz does not explicitly teach that said tool holder configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory.
Hozumi teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-4) said tool holder (2) configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory (as described in paragraphs [0056]-[0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of said tool holder configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory, such as taught or suggested by Hozumi, in order to increase or otherwise improve the utility and/or marketability of the device (e.g., by providing the device with alternate or additional tool applications).
The combined teachings of Lutz and Hozumi teach or suggest all of the elements of the claimed invention, except for a wire assembly having a first end coupled to the circuit board and a second end received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source; and a shroud extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of the nosepiece to providing a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly that extends between the holder body and the housing.
Hara teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) a wire assembly (25) having a first end coupled to the circuit board (as shown in Fig. 5) and a second end (27) received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source (as shown in Fig. 2); further comprising a shroud (22) extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of the nosepiece (see Figs. 9-10) to providing a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly (25) that extends between the holder body and the housing (as shown in Figs. 1-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of a wire assembly having a first end coupled to the circuit board and a second end received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source; a shroud extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of a nosepiece to providing a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly that extends between the holder body and the housing, such as taught or suggested by Hara, in order to improve the marketability of the device, and/or reduce the complexity of assembling and/or maintaining the device (e.g., by providing a feature by which the light source can be coupled with a holder and the wire extending therefrom protected).
Regarding claim 17, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the light unit includes an annular cover (23) including one or more transparent portions (24, 25) over the lights (22).
Regarding claims 18-20, neither Lutz nor Kozumi explicitly teach that the printed circuit board is coupled to a groove in the annular cover (as recited in claim 18); wherein the printed circuit board is coupled to a support ring that is received in the annular cover (as recited in claim 19); wherein the circuit board is coupled to the support ring by at least one a snap-fit connection, threaded connectors, a bayonet connection, or heat staking (as recited in claim 20).
Hara teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the circuit board (24) is coupled to a groove in the annular cover (e.g., a groove in 21, a groove in 8 via 29, as there is no mention as to the specifics of how the elements are coupled, or coupled to a groove at the bottom of 5 formed by the reduced diameter portion in the bottom of 5, as shown in Fig. 4); wherein the circuit board (24) is coupled to a support ring (8) that is received in the annular cover (at a lower end of 5, as shown in Fig. 4); wherein the circuit board (24) is coupled to the support ring (8) by at least one a snap-fit connection, threaded connectors (29), a bayonet connection, or heat staking (as shown in Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of the printed circuit board is coupled to a groove in the annular cover (as recited in claim 18); wherein the printed circuit board is coupled to a support ring that is received in the annular cover (as recited in claim 19); wherein the circuit board is coupled to the support ring by at least one a snap-fit connection, threaded connectors, a bayonet connection, or heat staking (as recited in claim 20), such as taught or suggested by Hara, in order to improve the marketability of the device, and/or reduce the complexity of assembling and/or maintaining the device (e.g., by providing a feature by which the light source can be coupled with a holder and the wire extending therefrom protected).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: please see US-20100149790-A1 to Leong, US-20050047878-A1 to Riley, US-6663260-B1 to Tieszen, US-6033087-A to Shozo, and US-20060157260-A1 to Greese, pertinent to various features of claims 1-20 (e.g., such as the A/C electrical connection and arrangement of the light ring on the tool).
/COLIN J CATTANACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875