DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 06 July 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, and 16 have been amended. Claim 13 has been cancelled. Claim 21 has been added. Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 16, and 21 being independent. The 112 rejections set forth in the previous non-final office action mailed 07 April 2026 are overcome by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation recites “...a free end...” which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, there is no mention of “a free end” of the wire in the instant disclosure. Additionally, there are no figures that depict a free end used in conjunction with a shroud that is not provided with a connector. Figs. 111-114 do not appear to depict or describe a shroud in the context of the cited claim language, nor is there a description of the connection feature of the second end of the wires. Figs. 137-144 appear to show a shroud with long wires that can reasonably form free ends past the shroud, but said wires are coupled to a connector, and the device is not an electric grinding tool. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Claims 17-20 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-10, and 14-15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lutz et al. (US 2008/0074865 A1, herein referred to as: Lutz), in view of Hozumi et al. (US 2010/0163265 A1, herein referred to as: Hozumi) and Hara et al. (US 6,886,961 B2, herein referred to as: Hara).
Regarding claim 1, Lutz teaches or suggests an electric grinding tool (Figs. 1-9) comprising: a tool housing (10) including a motor housing portion (11) extending along a motor axis (along a motor axis through 17 in the direction of the center of 15, as shown in Fig. 4) and having a rear end portion coupleable to an electrical power source (as noted in paragraph [0031] and as suggested by the arrangement of elements shown in Fig. 4, the connections to electrical components such as the motor and lighting element are at a rear thereof adjacent to the power source within 13, in either of the case of battery operation or mains operation); a motor (17) disposed in the motor housing portion (as shown in Fig. 4) and configured to receive power from the electrical power source (as noted in paragraph [0031]), the motor including an output shaft extending along the motor axis in a direction opposite the rear end portion of the motor housing (the motor 17 must comprise an output shaft coupled with 15 in order for the device to operate as a screwdriver, e.g., paragraphs [0031] and [0046]); a handgrip (13) coupled to the motor housing portion (as shown in Figs. 1-9); a tool holder (15, or the recess therein which receives a tool bit or tool bit shaft) rotatably driven upon rotation of the motor (as noted above, in order for the device to operate as a screwdriver, e.g., paragraphs [0031] and [0046]), the tool holder (15) configured to receive a shaft of an accessory (e.g., at least a bit, so as to function as a screwdriver, e.g., paragraphs [0031] and [0046]); a light unit (21-24) coupled to a front end portion of the tool housing (as shown in Fig. 2, e.g., light unit 21-24 is coupled to an inner surface of the front end of the tool housing adjacent the motor portion), the light unit including a plurality of lights (22) mounted to an at least partially ring shaped printed circuit board (21) that is received in a support ring (i.e., one of the ring shaped elements of the housings which surrounds and positions the lighting unit constitutes a support ring at a nose end thereof), and a cover ring (25) received over the lights (as shown in Fig. 2); the cover ring (25) is separate from the tool housing (as shown in Figs. 2-3, 25 forms a separate component from the tool housing).
Lutz does not explicitly teach that said handgrip is coaxial with the motor housing; said tool holder configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory.
Hozumi teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-4) said handgrip (4) is coaxial with the motor housing (3); said tool holder (2) configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory (as described in paragraphs [0056]-[0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of said handgrip is coaxial with the motor housing; said tool holder configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory, such as taught or suggested by Hozumi, in order to increase or otherwise improve the utility and/or marketability of the device (e.g., by providing the device with alternate handgrip positioning configurations, and/or with additional tool applications).
The combined teachings of Lutz and Koizumi teach or suggest all of the elements of the claimed invention, except for said support ring and the cover ring are separate from the tool housing.
Hara teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) said support ring (the bottom of 21, and/or the flange portions thereof which provide openings for fasteners, as shown in Figs. 1-10) and the cover ring (the surrounding/peripheral wall of 21, and 23a, collectively) are separate from the tool housing (5, 6, as shown in Figs. 1-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of said support ring and the cover ring are separate from the tool housing, such as taught or suggested by Hara, in order to reduce the complexity in assembling the device (e.g., by providing a feature to retain and simplify assembly of the lighting unit).
Regarding claim 2, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the cover ring (25) includes one or more clear covers or lenses (24 and/or 25) over the lights (22; as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the printed circuit board (21) is ring shaped (as shown in Figs. 2-3, and as described in paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claims 3, 5, and 7-9, neither Lutz nor Hozumi explicitly teach the circuit board is coupled to the support ring by at least one a snap-fit connection, threaded connectors, a bayonet connection, or heat staking (as recited in claim 3); wherein the printed circuit board is received in a groove in the front end portion (as recited in claim 5); wherein a wire assembly having a first end coupled to the circuit board and a second end received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source (as recited in claim 7); further comprising a shroud extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of the tool housing to providing a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly that extends between the holder body and the housing (as recited in claim 8); wherein the wire assembly includes one or more wires coupled to the circuit board and a rigid wire mount with a channel that receives the one or more wires (as recited in claim 9).
Hara teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the circuit board (24) is coupled to the support ring (8) by at least one a snap-fit connection, threaded connectors (29), a bayonet connection, or heat staking (as shown in Fig. 4); wherein the circuit board (24) is received in a groove in the front end portion (as the claim does not define the groove, or which element it is in, 24 is received in a groove of 21, or in a groove of 5 formed by a different diameter cylinder in the lower end of 5, see Fig. 4); wherein a wire assembly (25) having a first end coupled to the circuit board (as shown in Fig. 5) and a second end (27) received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source (as shown in Fig. 2); further comprising a shroud (22) extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of the tool housing (see Figs. 9-10) to providing a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly (25) that extends between the holder body and the housing (as shown in Figs. 1-10); wherein the wire assembly includes one or more wires coupled to the circuit board (as shown in Figs. 4-6) and a rigid wire mount (an end portion of 22, coupled to 21) with a channel that receive the one or more wires (as shown in Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of the circuit board is coupled to the support ring by at least one a snap-fit connection, threaded connectors, a bayonet connection, or heat staking (as recited in claim 3); wherein the printed circuit board is received in a groove in the front end portion (as recited in claim 5); a wire assembly having a first end coupled to the circuit board and a second end received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source (as recited in claim 7); further comprising a shroud extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of a nosepiece to providing a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly that extends between the holder body and the housing (as recited in claim 8); wherein the wire assembly includes one or more wires coupled to the circuit board and a rigid wire mount with a channel that receives the one or more wires (as recited in claim 9), such as taught or suggested by Hara, in order to improve the marketability of the device, and/or reduce the complexity of assembling and/or maintaining the device (e.g., by providing a feature by which the light source can be coupled with a holder and the wire extending therefrom protected).
Regarding claim 6, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the light unit (21-24) is coupled to the handgrip (via the body of the electric tool).
Regarding claim 10, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the tool holder (15) comprises a collet (e.g., 15 forms a collet or a casing or socket for holding a tool bit, as noted in paragraph [0042], and thus constitutes a collet).
Regarding claim 14, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the electrical power source includes a battery (as described in paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) a power switch (14) coupled to at least one of the motor housing and the handgrip (as shown in Figs. 1-9) and configured to be actuated to control power delivery to the motor (as noted in paragraph [0046]). The Examiner notes this feature is also taught or suggested by the power switch (7) of the Hozumi reference.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lutz, in view of Hozumi and Hara, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Numata et al. (US 2005/0153636 A1, herein referred to as: Numata).
Regarding claims 11-12, neither Lutz nor Hozumi explicitly teach a fan rotatably driven by the motor and configured to cool the motor (as recited in claim 11); wherein the housing includes a rear vent rearward of the motor and the fan and a front vent frontward of the motor and the fan (as recited in claim 12).
Numata teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-3) a fan (217) rotatably driven by the motor (201, e.g., as recited in paragraph [0017]) and configured to cool the motor (as recited in paragraph [0017]); wherein the housing includes a rear vent (e.g. an inlet, paragraph [0020]) rearward of the motor (toward the top end of 105 and 201, in Fig. 1) and the fan (above 217 in Fig. 1) and a front vent (227) frontward of the motor and the fan (as shown in Fig. 1, e.g., at a lower end of Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of a fan rotatably driven by the motor and configured to cool the motor (as recited in claim 11); wherein the housing includes a rear vent rearward of the motor and the fan and a front vent frontward of the motor and the fan (as recited in claim 12), such as taught or suggested by Numata, in order to improve the performance and/or the efficiency of the device (e.g., by providing a feature driven by the motor to cool the motor).
Claims 16-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lutz, in view of Hozumi, Hara, and Wall et al. (US 2009/0141482 A1, herein referred to as: Wall).
Regarding claim 16, Lutz teaches or suggests an electric grinding tool (Figs. 1-9) comprising: a housing (10) extending along an axis and having a rear end portion (a rear end having 13) coupleable to an electrical power source (as shown in Fig. 4), the housing including a handgrip portion (13) and a nosepiece (12); a motor (17) disposed in the housing (as shown in Fig. 4) and configured to receive power from the electrical power source (e.g., as recited in paragraph [0031]), the motor (17) including an output shaft extending along the axis (toward 15, i.e., there must be an output shaft from 17 which couples to and rotates 15, as that the device may function as a screwdriver, e.g., paragraphs [0031] and [0046]); a power switch (14) coupled to the housing (10) adjacent the handgrip portion (as shown in Figs. 1-9); a tool holder (15) rotatably driven upon rotation of the motor (e.g., paragraphs [0031] and [0046]), the tool holder (15) configured to receive a shaft of an accessory (e.g. as described in paragraph [0042]); a light unit (21-24) coupled to a front end portion of the housing (as shown in Fig. 2), the light unit including a plurality of lights (22) mounted to an at least partially ring shaped printed circuit board (21).
Lutz does not explicitly teach that said tool holder configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory.
Hozumi teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-4) said tool holder (2) configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory (as described in paragraphs [0056]-[0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of said tool holder configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory, such as taught or suggested by Hozumi, in order to increase or otherwise improve the utility and/or marketability of the device (e.g., by providing the device with alternate or additional tool applications).
The combined teachings of Lutz and Hozumi teach or suggest all of the elements of the claimed invention, except for a wire assembly having a first end coupled to the circuit board and a second end received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source; and a shroud extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of the nosepiece to provide a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly that extends between the holder body and the housing; wherein the wire assembly includes one or more wires each having a free end.
Hara teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) a wire assembly (25) having a first end coupled to the circuit board (as shown in Fig. 5) and a second end (27) received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source (as shown in Fig. 2); further comprising a shroud (22) extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of the nosepiece (see Figs. 9-10) to provide a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly (25) that extends between the holder body and the housing (as shown in Figs. 1-10); wherein the wire assembly includes one or more wires each having a free end (the wires each have free ends coupled to a connector, as shown in Figs. 1-10. Additionally, the Examiner notes there is no description provided for the “free end” in the instant disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of a wire assembly having a first end coupled to the circuit board and a second end received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source; a shroud extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of a nosepiece to provide a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly that extends between the holder body and the housing, the wire assembly including one or more wires each having a free end, such as taught or suggested by Hara, in order to improve the marketability of the device, and/or reduce the complexity of assembling and/or maintaining the device (e.g., by providing a feature by which the light source can be coupled with a holder and the wire extending therefrom protected).
The combined teachings of Lutz, Hozumi, and Hara teach or suggest all of the elements of the claimed invention, except for said free ends extend past a rear end of the shroud and into the housing.
Wall teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-7) free ends (69) extend past a rear end of the shroud (76) and into the housing (via 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of free ends extend past a rear end of the shroud and into the housing, such as taught or suggested by Wall, in order to improve the performance and/or longevity of the device (e.g., by proving a long wire to couple to the power source within the housing, protected from environmental hazards).
Regarding claim 17, Lutz teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the light unit includes an annular cover (23) including one or more transparent portions (24, 25) over the lights (22).
Regarding claims 18-20, neither Lutz nor Kozumi explicitly teach that the printed circuit board is coupled to a groove in the annular cover (as recited in claim 18); wherein the printed circuit board is coupled to a support ring that is received in the annular cover (as recited in claim 19); wherein the circuit board is coupled to the support ring by at least one a snap-fit connection, threaded connectors, a bayonet connection, or heat staking (as recited in claim 20).
Hara teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the circuit board (24) is coupled to a groove in the annular cover (e.g., a groove in 21, a groove in 8 via 29, as there is no mention as to the specifics of how the elements are coupled, or coupled to a groove at the bottom of 5 formed by the reduced diameter portion in the bottom of 5, as shown in Fig. 4); wherein the circuit board (24) is coupled to a support ring (8) that is received in the annular cover (at a lower end of 5, as shown in Fig. 4); wherein the circuit board (24) is coupled to the support ring (8) by at least one a snap-fit connection, threaded connectors (29), a bayonet connection, or heat staking (as shown in Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of the printed circuit board is coupled to a groove in the annular cover (as recited in claim 18); wherein the printed circuit board is coupled to a support ring that is received in the annular cover (as recited in claim 19); wherein the circuit board is coupled to the support ring by at least one a snap-fit connection, threaded connectors, a bayonet connection, or heat staking (as recited in claim 20), such as taught or suggested by Hara, in order to improve the marketability of the device, and/or reduce the complexity of assembling and/or maintaining the device (e.g., by providing a feature by which the light source can be coupled with a holder and the wire extending therefrom protected).
Regarding claim 21, Lutz teaches or suggests an electric grinding tool (Figs. 1-9) comprising: a housing (10) extending along an axis and having a rear end portion (a rear end having 13) coupleable to an electrical power source (as shown in Fig. 4), the housing including a handgrip portion (13) and a nosepiece (12); a motor (17) disposed in the housing (as shown in Fig. 4) and configured to receive power from the electrical power source (e.g., as recited in paragraph [0031]), the motor (17) including an output shaft extending along the axis (toward 15, i.e., there must be an output shaft from 17 which couples to and rotates 15, as that the device may function as a screwdriver, e.g., paragraphs [0031] and [0046]); a power switch (14) coupled to the housing (10) adjacent the handgrip portion (as shown in Figs. 1-9); a tool holder (15) rotatably driven upon rotation of the motor (e.g., paragraphs [0031] and [0046]), the tool holder (15) configured to receive a shaft of an accessory (e.g. as described in paragraph [0042]); a light unit (21-24) coupled to a front end portion of the housing (as shown in Fig. 2), the light unit including a plurality of lights (22) mounted to an at least partially ring shaped printed circuit board (21).
Lutz does not explicitly teach that said tool holder configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory.
Hozumi teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-4) said tool holder (2) configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory (as described in paragraphs [0056]-[0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of said tool holder configured to receive a shaft of a grinding accessory, such as taught or suggested by Hozumi, in order to increase or otherwise improve the utility and/or marketability of the device (e.g., by providing the device with alternate or additional tool applications).
The combined teachings of Lutz and Hozumi teach or suggest all of the elements of the claimed invention, except for a wire assembly having a first end coupled to the circuit board and a second end received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source; and a shroud extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of the nosepiece to provide a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly that extends between the holder body and the housing; wherein the wire assembly includes one or more wires each having a free end.
Hara teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) a wire assembly (25) having a first end coupled to the circuit board (as shown in Fig. 5) and a second end (27) received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source (as shown in Fig. 2); further comprising a shroud (22) extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of the nosepiece (see Figs. 9-10) to provide a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly (25) that extends between the holder body and the housing (as shown in Figs. 1-10); wherein the wire assembly includes one or more wires each having a free end (the wires each have free ends coupled to a connector, as shown in Figs. 1-10. Additionally, the Examiner notes there is no description provided for the “free end” in the instant disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of a wire assembly having a first end coupled to the circuit board and a second end received in the housing to deliver electrical power to the light source; a shroud extending axially rearward from the holder body and over an exterior wall of a nosepiece to provide a protective enclosure for a portion the wire assembly that extends between the holder body and the housing, the wire assembly including one or more wires each having a free end, such as taught or suggested by Hara, in order to improve the marketability of the device, and/or reduce the complexity of assembling and/or maintaining the device (e.g., by providing a feature by which the light source can be coupled with a holder and the wire extending therefrom protected).
The combined teachings of Lutz, Hozumi, and Hara, teach or suggest all of the elements of the claimed invention, except for the shroud includes a first portion coupled to the light unit extending generally parallel to the axis, a second portion rearward of the first portion and extending at an angle transverse to the axis, and a third portion rearward of the second portion generally parallel to the axis.
Wall teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-7) the wire assembly includes one or more wires (68a) each having a free end (69); wherein the shroud includes a first portion (192 in front of 176 in Fig. 6) coupled to the light unit (integrally coupled via the light source holder) extending generally parallel to the axis (as shown in Fig. 6), a second portion (a portion of the rim behind said first portion along which 168a are run and which extends between saif first portion and 176, as shown in Fig. 6) rearward of the first portion (as shown in Fig. 6) and extending at an angle transverse to the axis (as shown in Fig. 6, said second portion is approximately perpendicular to said axis), and a third portion (176) rearward of the second portion (as shown in Fig. 6, note the first portion is a head of the second and the second is ahead of the third in a radial direction of Fig. 6 forming a front to rear or rear to front direction) generally parallel to the axis (as shown in Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time that the claimed invention was made, to have modified the device of Lutz and incorporated the teachings of the shroud includes a first portion coupled to the light unit extending generally parallel to the axis, a second portion rearward of the first portion and extending at an angle transverse to the axis, and a third portion rearward of the second portion generally parallel to the axis, such as taught or suggested by Wall, in order to improve the performance and/or longevity of the device (e.g., by proving a feature to protect a long wire for coupling to the power source within the housing, protected from environmental hazards)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 and 14-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COLIN J CATTANACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875