DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, and 8-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-9, and 11-14 are of U.S. Patent No. 12079608 in view of Davis and Cambron. See table and rejections below.
Instant Application
12079608 Patent
8. A method comprising:
instantiating, on a target platform comprising one or more processing devices, a machine learning model (MLM) using a plurality of instructions generated in view of a hardware configuration of the target platform; and
processing inference data, using the instantiated MLM, to obtain an inference output, wherein processing the inference data comprises: loading a first portion of the MLM, the first portion comprising a first plurality of parameters of the MLM, to a memory device of the target platform,
performing a first plurality of operations of the MLM using the first plurality of parameters of the MLM, and
loading a second portion of the MLM, the second portion comprising a second plurality of parameters of the MLM, to the memory device of the target platform, wherein loading the second portion of the MLM comprises replacing, in the memory device of the target platform, at least a subset of the first plurality of parameters of the MLM with a subset of the second plurality of parameters of the MLM.
8. A method to deploy a machine learning model (MLM), the method comprising:
instantiating, on an edge computing device (ECD), a MLM using an execution package generated in view of a hardware configuration of the ECD, … and
processing inference data, using the instantiated MLM, to obtain an inference output, wherein processing the inference data comprises: loading a first portion of the MLM, the first portion comprising a first plurality of parameters of the MLM, to the first memory device of the ECD…
performing a first plurality of operations of the MLM using the first plurality of parameters of the MLM, and
loading a second portion of the MLM, the second portion comprising a second plurality of parameters of the MLM, to the first memory device of the ECD, wherein loading the second portion of the MLM comprises replacing, in the second memory device of the ECD, at least a subset of the first plurality of parameters of the MLM with a subset of the second plurality of parameters of the MLM.
9. The method of claim 8 further comprising: performing a second plurality of operations of the MLM using the second plurality of parameters of the MLM; and obtaining the inference output using a first output of the first plurality of operations of the MLM and a second output of the second plurality of operations of the MLM.
9. The method of claim 8 further comprising: performing a second plurality of operations of the MLM using the second plurality of parameters of the MLM; and obtaining the inference output using a first output of the first plurality of operations of the MLM and a second output of the second plurality of operations of the MLM.
11. The method of claim 8, wherein processing the inference data further comprises: applying a first kernel to a first portion of the inference data; applying a second kernel to a second portion of the inference data, wherein the second kernel is obtained by truncating the first kernel to a size of the second portion of the inference data.
11. The method of claim 8, wherein processing the inference data further comprises: applying a first kernel to a first portion of the inference data; applying a second kernel to a second portion of the inference data, wherein the second kernel is obtained by truncating the first kernel to a size of the second portion of the inference data.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the second portion of the inference data is abutting a boundary of the inference data.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the second portion of the inference data is abutting a boundary of the inference data.
13. The method of claim 8, wherein processing the inference data further comprises: applying one or more kernels of the MLM, a dimension of each of the one or more kernels being aligned with a dimension of an instruction set of one or more processing devices of the target platform.
13. The method of claim 8, wherein processing the inference data further comprises: applying one or more kernels of the MLM, a dimension of each of the one or more kernels being aligned with a dimension of vectorized instructions of a processor of the ECD.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein a first kernel of the one or more kernels comprises a padding, a number of bits of the padding determined to align a dimension of the first padding with the dimension of the instruction set
14. The method of claim 13, wherein a first kernel of the one or more kernels comprises a padding, a number of bits of the padding determined to align a dimension of the first padding with the dimension of the vectorized instructions.
As per claim 1, 608 Patent teaches:
A method comprising:
obtaining configuration settings of a machine learning model (MLM) (608 Patent, claim 1);
obtaining a hardware configuration of a target platform that comprises one or more processing devices (608 Patent, claim 1);
608 Patent does not expressly teach:
identifying an instruction set of the one or more processing devices of the target platform; and
generating, in view of the configuration settings of the MLM and the hardware configuration of the target platform, a plurality of instructions configured to execute the MLM using the instruction set of the one or more processing devices of the target platform.
However, Davis, discloses:
identifying an instruction set of the one or more processing devices of the target platform (Davis, RESULTS , Silicon Realization—under BRI, an instruction set can be x86 architecture);
and generating, in view of the configuration settings of the MLM and the hardware configuration of the target platform, a plurality of instructions configured to execute the MLM using the instruction set of the one or more processing devices of the target platform (Davis, Figure 3. Neuron-to-neuron mesh routing model--under BRI, a plurality of instructions can be how neurons are mapped to the cores).
Both 608 Patent and Davis pertain to the art of MLM.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Davis’s method to identifying an instruction set and generating a plurality of instructions configured to execute the MLM because identifying an instruction set and generating tailored instructions to execute a machine learning model (MLM) automates workflow synthesis, optimizes hardware-software co-design, and adapts pre-trained intelligence to specialized domain tasks with minimal human intervention
As per claim 2, 608 Patent teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1).
608 Patent does not expressly teach:
wherein the configuration settings comprise one or more of: one or more parameters of computational operations associated with the MLM, a size of data operands associated with one or more neural nodes of the MLM, or identification of one or more connections between the one or more neural nodes of the MLM.
However, Davis discloses:
wherein the configuration settings comprise one or more of:
one or more parameters of computational operations associated with the MLM (Davis, Network Connectivity Architecture—under BRI, one or more parameters of computational operations associated with the MLM can be neuron’s synaptic fan-in state), a size of data operands associated with one or more neural nodes of the MLM, or identification of one or more connections between the one or more neural nodes of the MLM.
Both 608 Patent and Davis pertain to the art of MLM.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Davis’s method to use one or more parameters of computational operations associated with the MLM because using parameters from Machine Learning Models (MLMs) as configuration settings allows systems to adapt dynamically to data patterns, reduce hardcoded rules, and optimize runtime performance based on real-time statistical insights.
As per claim 3, 608 Patent teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1)
608 Patent does not expressly teach:
further comprising: communicating the plurality of instructions to the target platform.
However, Davis discloses:
communicating the plurality of instructions to the target platform (Davis, Figure 3. Neuron-to-neuron mesh routing model).
Both 608 Patent and Davis pertain to the art of MLM.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Davis’s method to communicate instructions to target platforms because communicating machine learning instructions to target platforms standardizes how models run. It allows different hardware and software to execute AI tasks smoothly without rewriting code for every new system.
As per claim 4, 608 Patent teaches:
The method of claim 1 (See rejection on claim 1).
608 Patent does not expressly teach:
further comprising: providing, to a user, at least a portion of the plurality of instructions; and receiving, from the user, updated configuration settings of the MLM.
However, Cambron discloses:
further comprising:
providing, to a user, at least a portion of the plurality of instructions (Cambron ,col 4, ll 7-10); and
receiving, from the user, updated configuration settings of the MLM (Cambron, col 4, ll 7-10).
Both Cambron and 608 Patent pertain to the art of configuration management.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Cambron’s method to provide and receive user updates because receiving configuration updates from users allows systems to adapt to real-world preferences, catches bugs early through crowd-sourced feedback, improves personalization, and reduces the administrative burden on central IT teams by distributing setup tasks.
As per claim 5, 608 Patent teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1).
608 Patent does not expressly teach:
wherein the hardware configuration comprises at least one of: characteristics of the one or more processing devices of the target platform, or characteristics of one or more memory devices of the target platform.
However, Davis discloses:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1), wherein the hardware configuration comprises at least one of:
characteristics of the one or more processing devices of the target platform (Davis, Silicon Realization—under BRI, characteristics can be 14-nm FinFET process), or characteristics of one or more memory devices of the target platform.
Both 608 Patent and Davis pertain to the art of MLM.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Davis’s method to use characteristics of the one or more processing devices of the target platform as hardware configuration because using target hardware characteristics as your configuration optimizes software performance by matching code directly to the host CPU, memory, and instruction sets. This eliminates generic overhead and unlocks full processing power.
As per claim 10, 608 Patent teaches:
The method of claim 8 (see rejection on claim 8).
608 Patent does not expressly teach:
wherein he hardware configuration comprises at least one of: characteristics of the one or more processing devices of the target platform, or characteristics of the memory device of the target platform.
However, Davis discloses:
wherein he hardware configuration comprises at least one of: characteristics of the one or more processing devices of the target platform, or characteristics of the memory device of the target platform (see rejection on claim 5).
Both 608 Patent and Davis pertain to the art of MLM.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Davis’s method to use characteristics of the one or more processing devices of the target platform as hardware configuration because using target hardware characteristics as your configuration optimizes software performance by matching code directly to the host CPU, memory, and instruction sets. This eliminates generic overhead and unlocks full processing power.
As per claim 15, see rejection on claim 1.
As per claim 16, see rejection on claim 2.
As per claim 17, see rejection on claim 4.
As per claim 18, see rejection on claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claims 1-5, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
As per claim 1, the claim recites a method, therefore is a process.
“ . . . identifying an instruction set of the one or more processing … generating, in view of the configuration settings of the MLM and the hardware configuration of the target platform, a plurality of instructions … “ These limitations, as drafted, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
The elements of “obtaining . . . ” amounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g); this limitation is also a mere generic transmission and presentation of collected and analyzed data which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g).
As discussed above, “obtaining . . . ” amounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g); this limitation is also a mere generic transmission and presentation of collected and analyzed data which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g). The claim is ineligible.
As per claim 2, see rejection on claim 1. “… configuration settings comprise one or more of: one or more parameters of computational operations associated with the MLM, a size of data operands associated with one or more neural nodes of the MLM, or identification of one or more connections between the one or more neural nodes of the MLM.… ” is simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(d) and Berkheimer Memo. See Davis. The claim is ineligible.
As per claim 3, see rejection on claim 1. “… communicating the plurality of instructions to the target platform .… ” is simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(d) and Berkheimer Memo. See Davis. The claim is ineligible.
As per claim 4, see rejection on claim 1. “… providing, to a user, at least a portion of the plurality of instructions; and receiving, from the user, updated configuration settings of the MLM … ” amounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g); this limitation is also a mere generic transmission and presentation of collected and analyzed data which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g).
As per claim 5, see rejection on claim 1. “… wherein the hardware configuration comprises at least one of: characteristics of the one or more processing devices of the target platform, or characteristics of one or more memory devices of the target platform … ” is simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(d) and Berkheimer Memo. See Davis. The claim is ineligible.
As per claim 15, see rejection on claim 1.
As per claim 16, see rejection on claim 2.
As per claim 17, see rejection on claim 4.
As per claim 18, see rejection on claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 15, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis et al (Davies, Mike, et al. "Loihi: A neuromorphic manycore processor with on-chip learning." Ieee micro 38.1 (2018): 82-99) (hereinafter Davis).
As per claim 1, Davis teaches:
1. A method comprising:
obtaining configuration settings of a machine learning model (MLM) (Davis, ARCHITECTURE, Network Connectivity Architecture--under BRI, configuration settings of a machine learning model (MLM) can be seven-neuron);
obtaining a hardware configuration of a target platform that comprises one or more processing devices (Davis, ARCHITECTURE, Network Connectivity Architecture--under BRI, a hardware configuration of a target platform that comprises one or more processing devices can be three cores; one or more processing devices can be cores);
identifying an instruction set of the one or more processing devices of the target platform (Davis, RESULTS , Silicon Realization—under BRI, an instruction set can be x86 architecture);
and generating, in view of the configuration settings of the MLM and the hardware configuration of the target platform, a plurality of instructions configured to execute the MLM using the instruction set of the one or more processing devices of the target platform (Davis, Figure 3. Neuron-to-neuron mesh routing model--under BRI, a plurality of instructions can be how neurons are mapped to the cores).
As per claim 2, Davis teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1), wherein the configuration settings comprise one or more of:
one or more parameters of computational operations associated with the MLM (Davis, Network Connectivity Architecture—under BRI, one or more parameters of computational operations associated with the MLM can be neuron’s synaptic fan-in state), a size of data operands associated with one or more neural nodes of the MLM, or identification of one or more connections between the one or more neural nodes of the MLM.
As per claim 3, Davis teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1), further comprising: communicating the plurality of instructions to the target platform (Davis, Figure 3. Neuron-to-neuron mesh routing model).
As per claim 5, Davis teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1), wherein the hardware configuration comprises at least one of:
characteristics of the one or more processing devices of the target platform (Davis, Silicon Realization—under BRI, characteristics can be 14-nm FinFET process), or characteristics of one or more memory devices of the target platform.
As per claim 15, see rejection on claim 1.
As per claim 16, see rejection on claim 2.
As per claim 18, see rejection on claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis in view of Cambron et al (US 7180854 ) (hereinafter Cambron).
As per claim 4, Davis teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1).
Davis does not expressly teach:
further comprising:
providing, to a user, at least a portion of the plurality of instructions; and
receiving, from the user, updated configuration settings of the MLM.
However, Cambron discloses:
further comprising:
providing, to a user, at least a portion of the plurality of instructions (Cambron ,col 4, ll 7-10); and
receiving, from the user, updated configuration settings of the MLM (Cambron, col 4, ll 7-10).
Both Cambron and Davis pertain to the art of configuration management.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Cambron’s method to provide and receive user updates because receiving configuration updates from users allows systems to adapt to real-world preferences, catches bugs early through crowd-sourced feedback, improves personalization, and reduces the administrative burden on central IT teams by distributing setup tasks.
As per claim 17, see rejection on claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10860760 teaches a method of implementing a learned network on programmable circuits.
/CHARLIE SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198