DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3-5, 19-35 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 3, recites the limitation “the video file" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since claims 4-5 and 19-35 are dependent on claim 3, they inherit the same problem.
Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on July 25, 2025 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 3-5, 19-22, 26, 29, 30 and 32-34 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102b as being anticipated by B. Millner (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0021684).
Regarding claim 3, B. Millner discloses a method comprising:
displaying a video in a display, the video including a hotspot (see paragraphs 0048, 0046, 0049, 0035-0037; the user may then select (by passing a mouse cursor over the object) the glasses 920 worn by the person (e.g., Missy Elliott) in the video stream and be provided with the actor name ("Glasses") and description ("These shades were designed . . . ");
detecting an interaction with the hotspot (see paragraphs 0048, 0065; the user may then select (by passing a mouse cursor over the object) the glasses 920 worn by the person (e.g., Missy Elliott) in the video stream and be provided with the actor name ("Glasses") and description ("These shades were designed . . . ");
accessing a first data storage area, that is separate from the video file and includes hotspot information corresponding associated with the hotspot (see paragraph 0039, 0070, 0035-007 and fig. 6; the studio application saves the actor and hotspot information to actor.txt and hotspot.txt files, respectively. Paragraph 0070 discloses the interactive video streaming experience for the user is independent of the video stream content); and
displaying the hotspot information on the display (see paragraphs 0048, 0049; the user may then select (by passing a mouse cursor over the object) the glasses 920 worn by the person (e.g., Missy Elliott) in the video stream and be provided with the actor name ("Glasses") and description ("These shades were designed . . . ") within the hotbox window 902).
Regarding claim 4, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses wherein the interaction includes at least one of a click or a rollover (see paragraphs 0048, 0065).
Regarding claim 5, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses wherein the hotspot information includes at least one of caption information or click display information (see paragraphs 0048-0049, 0033).
Regarding claim 19, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses wherein the display includes a video viewer, and the hotspot is not visible via the video viewer (see paragraphs 0046, 0048-0049, fig. 6, 9, the hotspot file in fig. 6 defines coordinates and shape, but these are not displayed in the video viewer unless triggered).
Regarding claim 20, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses wherein a shaded representation of the hotspot is visible via the display during the interaction with the hotspot (see paragraphs 0049, fig. 9 (921)).
Regarding claim 21, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses wherein an outline representation of the hotspot is visible via the display during the interaction with the hotspot (see paragraph 0049 and fig. 9 (921); fig. 9 shows the rectangular outline 921 drawn around the glasses when the hotspot is activated).
Regarding claim 22, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses wherein a product depicted in the video is tagged with the hotspot (see paragraphs 0048-0049; glasses 920).
Regarding claim 26, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses wherein the displaying the hotspot information on the display is based on an action script that includes at least one command to retrieve a caption associated with the interaction with the hotspot (see paragraphs 0048, 0065, 0067, 0033).
Regarding claim 29, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses wherein the hotspot information includes at least one of rollover information or click information (see paragraphs 0034-0036, 0008, 0024).
Regarding claim 30, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses wherein at least one of a size or a shape of the hotspot is customizable via a software interface (see paragraphs 0035, 0027).
Regarding claim 32, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses causing display, concurrently with displaying the video, of an interactive list of products appearing in the video and having one or more associated hotspots (see fig. 9, fig. 11).
Regarding claim 33, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses stopping display of the hotspot information in response to detecting that the interaction with the hotspot has stopped (see paragraphs 0008, 0028, fig. 9, fig. 11).
Regarding claim 34, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses stopping display of the hotspot information in response to determining that a cursor is not over the hotspot (see paragraphs 0008, 0028, fig. 9, fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 23-25 and 35 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over B. Millner as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Efrat et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,570,587).
Regarding claim 23, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses wherein a product depicted in the video is tagged with the hotspot (see paragraphs 0035-0037, 0048, fig. 6, fig. 9).
However, B. Millner fails to disclose wherein a product depicted in the video is tagged with multiple hotspots including the hotspot.
In an analogous art, Efrat et al. discloses wherein a product depicted in the video is tagged with multiple hotspots including the hotspot (see col. 3, lines 63-67, col. 1, lines 54-62; multiple targets can be linked to a hotspot, fig. 7a-7c. Fig. 7a shows multiple hotspots (1, 2, 3) associated with the same video object).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the method and system of B. Millner to include multiple hotspots as taught by Efrat et al. for the advantage of providing richer interactivity.
Regarding claim 24, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses wherein the hotspot information is a first hotspot information (see paragraph 0048, 0039).
However, B. Millner is silent as to multiple hotspots.
In an analogous art, Efrat et al. discloses the hotspot is a first hotspot from a plurality of hotspots included in the video (see col. 3, lines 65-67 and fig. 7a), the method further comprising displaying second hotspot information associated with at least one further hotspot from the plurality of hotspots in response to detecting the interaction with the first hotspot (see col. 3, lines 52-67 and fig. 7a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the method and system of B. Millner to include multiple hotspots as taught by Efrat et al. for the advantage of providing richer interactivity.
Regarding claim 25, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses wherein the hotspot information is a first hotspot information (see paragraph 0048, 0039).
However, B. Millner is silent as to multiple hotspots, displaying second hotspot information in response to interaction with a first hotspot and first hotspot the second hotspot having a common associated product category.
In an analogous art, Efrat et al. discloses the hotspot is a first hotspot from a plurality of hotspots included in the video, the method further comprising displaying second hotspot information associated with a second hotspot from the plurality of hotspots in response to detecting the interaction with the first hotspot, the first hotspot and the second hotspot being displayed concurrently for at least a time period and in response to the first hotspot and the second hotspot having a common associated product category (see col. 3, lines 52-67, fig. 7a, 7c, 9a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the method and system of B. Millner to include multiple hotspots as taught by Efrat et al. for the advantage of providing richer interactivity.
Regarding claim 35, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). B. Millner discloses wherein the displaying the hotspot information on the display (see paragraph 0008 and fig. 9 (900, 921).
However, B. Millner is silent as to includes moving the hotspot information from a first location of the display to a second location of the display based on a movement, in the video, of a product depicted in the video and tagged with the hotspot.
Efrat et al. discloses includes moving the hotspot information from a first location of the display to a second location of the display based on a movement, in the video, of a product depicted in the video and tagged with the hotspot (see col. 16, lines 12-47; hotspot tracking).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the method and system of B. Millner to include hotspot tracking as taught by Efrat et al. for the advantage of repositioning the hotspots.
Claim 28 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over B. Millner as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Huber et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2002/0120935).
Regarding claim 28, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). However, B. Millner is silent as to wherein the hotspot information includes a purchase location associated with a product depicted in the video.
In an analogous art, Huber et al. discloses wherein the hotspot information includes a purchase location associated with a product depicted in the video (see paragraphs 0012-0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the method and system of B. Millner to include purchase location as taught by Huber et al. for the advantage of providing more information to the user.
Claim 31 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over B. Millner as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Cardu (U.S. Patent No. 8,042,064).
Regarding claim 31, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). However, B. Millner is silent as to causing display, concurrently with displaying the video, of a user-selectable object configured to activate and deactivate the hotspot in response to interactions with the user-selectable object.
Cardu discloses causing display, concurrently with displaying the video, of a user-selectable object configured to activate and deactivate the hotspot in response to interactions with the user-selectable object (see claim 1; turning the hotspot on/off).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the method and system of B. Millner to include turning the hotspot on/off as taught by Huber et al. for the advantage of interacting or not interacting with the hotspot.
Claim 27 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over B. Millner as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Poupyrev et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0024459).
Regarding claim 27, B. Millner discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). However, B. Millner is silent as to wherein the hotspot information includes a schematic diagram.
Poupyrev et al. discloses wherein the hotspot information includes a schematic diagram (see paragraphs 0099-0107 and fig. 7a-7d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the method and system of B. Millner to include hotspot schematics as taught by Poupyrev et al. for the advantage of providing tactile feedback.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Underdal et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,636,622).
Conclusion
NNENNA EKPO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/NNENNA N EKPO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 April 24, 2026.