DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Spelling error in claim 2, "frequences" should be "frequencies". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-11 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “certain satellites” in claims 1-7, 9-11 and 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “certain satellites” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitations where
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bali et al. (US 2019/0349848) in view of Chen et al. (US 2025/0047369) and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2017/0332357).
Regarding claim 1, Bali discloses a method in a wireless telecommunication system, the method comprising: determining protection frequencies within an uplink (UL) carrier bandwidth (BW) allocated to a wireless carrier within a Fifth Generation (5G) New Radio (NR) UL frequency band ([0265], “As shown, 5G NR uses a wideband approach, with its maximum bandwidth being on the order of 98 MHz. Such use of the wideband 5G carrier is more efficient than multicarrier LTE/LTE-A. It provides a number of benefits, including faster load balancing, less common channel overhead, and reduced guard bands between carriers (LTE uses for example 10% allocated to its guard bands).”), … performing NB-IoT UL operations only within the at least one portion of the UL carrier BW partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations ([0369], “FIG. 18 depicts another frequency domain representation that may be used consistent with the present disclosure, wherein the IoT channel 1808 occupies an otherwise unused portion of the RF distribution network (here, for example, below the US frequency band 1802), and is then frequency translated (upconverted or downconverted; in this example upconverted) to a band 1810 at the desired carrier frequency by the CPEe 513/IoTG 519 at the customer premises.”); performing, simultaneously in coexistence with NB-IoT UL operations, 5G NR UL operations other than the NB-IoT UL operations only within a portion of the UL carrier BW not partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations ([0368], “In the implementation of FIG. 17, the IoT channel bandwidth 1708 is centered at the intended carrier frequency and coexists with upstream (US) 1702 and downstream (DS) 1704, 1706 spectrum used to service the CPEe on the network. In this approach, the IoT channel 1708 can be simply radiated and received by the CPEe 513/IoTG 519 without any further processing or manipulation such as frequency upconversion/downconversion, since it is already at the target carrier frequency. The coaxial RF distribution network acts as an antenna distribution system for the IoT channel, and the CPEe as a pass-through device, as previously described.”). Bali does not explicitly disclose the protection frequencies when satellites are overhead. Chen discloses wherein the protection frequencies are frequencies to be protected from UL transmissions by the carrier in the 5G NR UL frequency band ([0149], “Before accessing a corresponding satellite frequency band (for example, n256 or n256), a satellite terminal searches for a downlink signal in special protection frequency bands (for example, n2, n25, n34, and n70) nearby.”) at times when certain satellites are overhead ([0154], “In other words, before accessing a corresponding satellite frequency band, the satellite terminal needs to search for whether there are the special protection frequency bands nearby.”; [0156], “Optionally, after accessing the corresponding satellite frequency band, the satellite terminal may search for, when a geographical location of the satellite terminal changes, whether there is the downlink signal in the special protection frequency bands nearby.”); partitioning, for narrowband-Internet of Things (NB-IoT) UL operations by the carrier, at least one portion of the UL carrier BW that is outside the determined protection frequencies ([0161], “It can be learned from FIG. 3 that some frequency bands on a terrestrial network side are adjacent to the satellite frequency band, and some frequency bands overlap. For the overlapping frequency bands, an interference status may be more severe. Therefore, in this embodiment of this application, frequency bands (for example, the special protection frequency bands in the foregoing example) that need to be protected in the terrestrial network are grouped, and interference thresholds between different groups are different. For example, the frequency bands that need to be protected are divided into partial overlapping frequency bands (frequency bands with a priority of 1 shown in Table 1 or frequency bands with the highest priority shown above) and adjacent frequency bands (frequency bands with a priority of 2 shown in Table 2 or frequency bands with the second highest priority described above).”). Bali in view of Chen does not disclose the blanking. Xu discloses and applying blanking of UL transmissions by the carrier on an entirety of the portion of the UL carrier BW not partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations when the certain satellites are overhead ([0093], “When designing 5G systems, signaling of time/frequency resources that are “blank” may be allowed for NB-IoT or eMTC communications. 5G systems can vacant these “blank” resources to allow for other communications. In certain aspects, a priority dependent blanking scheme may be implemented.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bali in view of Chen and further in view of Xu to have improved coexistence between 5G and NB-IoT (e.g., Xu [0111]).
Regarding claim 7, Bali discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the partitioning, for NB-IoT UL operations by the carrier, at least one portion of the UL carrier BW includes: formulating a superset of the protection frequencies by determining a collection of frequencies to be protected for all the certain satellites regardless of time and location; and allocating blanking frequencies outside the superset for applying blanking of 5G NR UL transmissions by the carrier and where the NB-IoT UL operations are allocated to transmit ([0377], “It will also be appreciated that designation of the IoT channel bandwidth with such architectures (and in fact others herein) may also be dynamic in nature. For instance, if no IoT channel bandwidth is required (such as when no IoT devices operable on such frequencies are operational at the served premises), then the IoT bandwidth may be collapsed for at least a period of time and utilized as e.g., LTE bandwidth, or for other purposes.”).
Regarding claim 8, Bali discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the partitioning, for NB-IoT DL operations, at least a portion of the UL carrier BW includes: instructing user equipment (UE) supported by the carrier to perform NB-IoT UL operations only on the at least one portion of the UL carrier BW partitioned for NB-IoT DL operations ([0274], “As shown, a common UL/DL layer 837 is associated with each or the larger carriers 832 (to maintain an uplink and downlink channel), as are a number (L) of additional UL or DL layers 838 (e.g., which can be selectively allocated to UL or DL, the latter being the predominant choice due to service asymmetry on the network where DL consumes much more bandwidth than UL). In one variant, each layer is 98 MHz wide to correspond to a single NR wideband, although this value is merely exemplary.”); and instructing UE supported by the carrier to perform 5G NR UL operations other than the NB-IoT UL operations only within the portion of the UL carrier BW not partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations ([0369], “FIG. 18 depicts another frequency domain representation that may be used consistent with the present disclosure, wherein the IoT channel 1808 occupies an otherwise unused portion of the RF distribution network (here, for example, below the US frequency band 1802), and is then frequency translated (upconverted or downconverted; in this example upconverted) to a band 1810 at the desired carrier frequency by the CPEe 513/IoTG 519 at the customer premises.”).
Regarding claim 9, Bali does not explicitly disclose the satellite overhead. Chen discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the applying blanking of UL transmissions by the carrier includes: detecting when any of the certain satellites are overhead ([0154], “In other words, before accessing a corresponding satellite frequency band, the satellite terminal needs to search for whether there are the special protection frequency bands nearby.”; [0156], “Optionally, after accessing the corresponding satellite frequency band, the satellite terminal may search for, when a geographical location of the satellite terminal changes, whether there is the downlink signal in the special protection frequency bands nearby.”) … detecting when all of the certain satellites are no longer overhead ([0153], “If it is detected that signal strengths of the protection frequency bands do not exceed the first signal threshold, it indicates that coverage of the special protection frequency bands is not included nearby. In this case, the satellite terminal may normally access a satellite network (for example, initiate random access).”); Bali in view of Chen does not disclose the blanking. Xu discloses in response to detecting that any of the certain satellites are overhead, applying blanking of UL transmissions by the carrier on an entirety of the portion of the UL carrier BW not partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations ([0093], “When designing 5G systems, signaling of time/frequency resources that are “blank” may be allowed for NB-IoT or eMTC communications. 5G systems can vacant these “blank” resources to allow for other communications. In certain aspects, a priority dependent blanking scheme may be implemented.”); … and in response to detecting that all of the certain satellites are no longer overhead, ceasing the applying blanking of UL transmissions by the carrier and resuming the performing, simultaneously in coexistence with NB-IoT UL operations, 5G NR UL operations other than the NB-IoT UL operations only within the portion of the UL carrier BW not partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations ([0086], “FIG. 7 illustrates an example deployment 700 of NB-IoT, according to certain aspects of the present disclosure. According to certain aspects, NB-IoT may be deployed in three broad configurations. In certain deployments, NB-IoT may be deployed in-band and coexist with legacy GSM/WCDMA/LTE system(s) deployed in the same frequency band.”).
Regarding claim 10, Bali discloses the method of claim 9 wherein the applying blanking in response to detecting that any of the certain satellites are overhead includes: in response to detecting that any of the certain satellites are overhead, instructing user equipment (UE) supported by the carrier to not perform UL transmissions on an entirety of the portion of the UL carrier BW not partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations ([0369], “FIG. 18 depicts another frequency domain representation that may be used consistent with the present disclosure, wherein the IoT channel 1808 occupies an otherwise unused portion of the RF distribution network (here, for example, below the US frequency band 1802), and is then frequency translated (upconverted or downconverted; in this example upconverted) to a band 1810 at the desired carrier frequency by the CPEe 513/IoTG 519 at the customer premises.”).
Regarding claim 11, Bali discloses a system comprising: at least one computer processor; and at least one non-transitory memory device coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one non-transitory memory device having computer-executable instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the at least one computer processor, cause operations to be performed, the operations including ([0313], “As shown in FIG. 10b, the IoTG 519 includes, inter alia, a processor subsystem with CPU 1032, a memory module 1034, one or more network data interfaces 1038, and a plurality of heterogeneous Rx/Tx RF front ends 1036a-e, antennae elements 1040a-b, and MAC baseband processing modules 1035a-e for respective ones of the different air interfaces supported by the IoTG 519.”): determining protection frequencies within an uplink (UL) carrier bandwidth (BW) allocated to a wireless carrier within a Fifth Generation (5G) New Radio (NR) UL frequency band ([0265], “As shown, 5G NR uses a wideband approach, with its maximum bandwidth being on the order of 98 MHz. Such use of the wideband 5G carrier is more efficient than multicarrier LTE/LTE-A. It provides a number of benefits, including faster load balancing, less common channel overhead, and reduced guard bands between carriers (LTE uses for example 10% allocated to its guard bands).”), … performing NB-IoT UL operations only within the at least one portion of the UL carrier BW partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations ([0369], “FIG. 18 depicts another frequency domain representation that may be used consistent with the present disclosure, wherein the IoT channel 1808 occupies an otherwise unused portion of the RF distribution network (here, for example, below the US frequency band 1802), and is then frequency translated (upconverted or downconverted; in this example upconverted) to a band 1810 at the desired carrier frequency by the CPEe 513/IoTG 519 at the customer premises.”); performing, simultaneously in coexistence with NB-IoT UL operations, 5G NR UL operations other than the NB-IoT UL operations only within a portion of the UL carrier BW not partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations ([0368], “In the implementation of FIG. 17, the IoT channel bandwidth 1708 is centered at the intended carrier frequency and coexists with upstream (US) 1702 and downstream (DS) 1704, 1706 spectrum used to service the CPEe on the network. In this approach, the IoT channel 1708 can be simply radiated and received by the CPEe 513/IoTG 519 without any further processing or manipulation such as frequency upconversion/downconversion, since it is already at the target carrier frequency. The coaxial RF distribution network acts as an antenna distribution system for the IoT channel, and the CPEe as a pass-through device, as previously described.”). Bali does not explicitly disclose the protection frequencies when satellites are overhead. Chen discloses wherein the protection frequencies are frequencies to be protected from UL transmissions by the carrier in the 5G NR UL frequency band ([0149], “Before accessing a corresponding satellite frequency band (for example, n256 or n256), a satellite terminal searches for a downlink signal in special protection frequency bands (for example, n2, n25, n34, and n70) nearby.”) at times when certain satellites are overhead ([0154], “In other words, before accessing a corresponding satellite frequency band, the satellite terminal needs to search for whether there are the special protection frequency bands nearby.”; [0156], “Optionally, after accessing the corresponding satellite frequency band, the satellite terminal may search for, when a geographical location of the satellite terminal changes, whether there is the downlink signal in the special protection frequency bands nearby.”); partitioning, for narrowband-Internet of Things (NB-IoT) UL operations by the carrier, at least one portion of the UL carrier BW that is outside the determined protection frequencies ([0161], “It can be learned from FIG. 3 that some frequency bands on a terrestrial network side are adjacent to the satellite frequency band, and some frequency bands overlap. For the overlapping frequency bands, an interference status may be more severe. Therefore, in this embodiment of this application, frequency bands (for example, the special protection frequency bands in the foregoing example) that need to be protected in the terrestrial network are grouped, and interference thresholds between different groups are different. For example, the frequency bands that need to be protected are divided into partial overlapping frequency bands (frequency bands with a priority of 1 shown in Table 1 or frequency bands with the highest priority shown above) and adjacent frequency bands (frequency bands with a priority of 2 shown in Table 2 or frequency bands with the second highest priority described above).”). Bali in view of Chen does not disclose the blanking. Xu discloses and applying blanking of UL transmissions by the carrier on an entirety of the portion of the UL carrier BW not partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations when the certain satellites are overhead ([0093], “When designing 5G systems, signaling of time/frequency resources that are “blank” may be allowed for NB-IoT or eMTC communications. 5G systems can vacant these “blank” resources to allow for other communications. In certain aspects, a priority dependent blanking scheme may be implemented.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bali in view of Chen and further in view of Xu to have improved coexistence between 5G and NB-IoT (e.g., Xu [0111]).
Regarding claim 16, Bali discloses a computer-readable medium having computer-executable instructions stored thereon which, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations, the operations including ([0313], “As shown in FIG. 10b, the IoTG 519 includes, inter alia, a processor subsystem with CPU 1032, a memory module 1034, one or more network data interfaces 1038, and a plurality of heterogeneous Rx/Tx RF front ends 1036a-e, antennae elements 1040a-b, and MAC baseband processing modules 1035a-e for respective ones of the different air interfaces supported by the IoTG 519.”): determining protection frequencies within an uplink (UL) carrier bandwidth (BW) allocated to a wireless carrier within a Fifth Generation (5G) New Radio (NR) UL frequency band ([0265], “As shown, 5G NR uses a wideband approach, with its maximum bandwidth being on the order of 98 MHz. Such use of the wideband 5G carrier is more efficient than multicarrier LTE/LTE-A. It provides a number of benefits, including faster load balancing, less common channel overhead, and reduced guard bands between carriers (LTE uses for example 10% allocated to its guard bands).”), … performing NB-IoT UL operations only within the at least one portion of the UL carrier BW partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations ([0369], “FIG. 18 depicts another frequency domain representation that may be used consistent with the present disclosure, wherein the IoT channel 1808 occupies an otherwise unused portion of the RF distribution network (here, for example, below the US frequency band 1802), and is then frequency translated (upconverted or downconverted; in this example upconverted) to a band 1810 at the desired carrier frequency by the CPEe 513/IoTG 519 at the customer premises.”); performing, simultaneously in coexistence with NB-IoT UL operations, 5G NR UL operations other than the NB-IoT UL operations only within a portion of the UL carrier BW not partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations ([0368], “In the implementation of FIG. 17, the IoT channel bandwidth 1708 is centered at the intended carrier frequency and coexists with upstream (US) 1702 and downstream (DS) 1704, 1706 spectrum used to service the CPEe on the network. In this approach, the IoT channel 1708 can be simply radiated and received by the CPEe 513/IoTG 519 without any further processing or manipulation such as frequency upconversion/downconversion, since it is already at the target carrier frequency. The coaxial RF distribution network acts as an antenna distribution system for the IoT channel, and the CPEe as a pass-through device, as previously described.”). Bali does not explicitly disclose the protection frequencies when satellites are overhead. Chen discloses wherein the protection frequencies are frequencies to be protected from UL transmissions by the carrier in the 5G NR UL frequency band ([0149], “Before accessing a corresponding satellite frequency band (for example, n256 or n256), a satellite terminal searches for a downlink signal in special protection frequency bands (for example, n2, n25, n34, and n70) nearby.”) at times when certain satellites are overhead ([0154], “In other words, before accessing a corresponding satellite frequency band, the satellite terminal needs to search for whether there are the special protection frequency bands nearby.”; [0156], “Optionally, after accessing the corresponding satellite frequency band, the satellite terminal may search for, when a geographical location of the satellite terminal changes, whether there is the downlink signal in the special protection frequency bands nearby.”); partitioning, for narrowband-Internet of Things (NB-IoT) UL operations by the carrier, at least one portion of the UL carrier BW that is outside the determined protection frequencies ([0161], “It can be learned from FIG. 3 that some frequency bands on a terrestrial network side are adjacent to the satellite frequency band, and some frequency bands overlap. For the overlapping frequency bands, an interference status may be more severe. Therefore, in this embodiment of this application, frequency bands (for example, the special protection frequency bands in the foregoing example) that need to be protected in the terrestrial network are grouped, and interference thresholds between different groups are different. For example, the frequency bands that need to be protected are divided into partial overlapping frequency bands (frequency bands with a priority of 1 shown in Table 1 or frequency bands with the highest priority shown above) and adjacent frequency bands (frequency bands with a priority of 2 shown in Table 2 or frequency bands with the second highest priority described above).”). Bali in view of Chen does not disclose the blanking. Xu discloses and applying blanking of UL transmissions by the carrier on an entirety of the portion of the UL carrier BW not partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations when the certain satellites are overhead ([0093], “When designing 5G systems, signaling of time/frequency resources that are “blank” may be allowed for NB-IoT or eMTC communications. 5G systems can vacant these “blank” resources to allow for other communications. In certain aspects, a priority dependent blanking scheme may be implemented.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bali in view of Chen and further in view of Xu to have improved coexistence between 5G and NB-IoT (e.g., Xu [0111]).
Claims 12-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bali et al. (US 2019/0349848) in view of Chen et al. (US 2025/0047369) and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2017/0332357) and further in view of TS 38.101-1 V17.5.0 (2022-03).
Regarding claim 12, Bali in view of Chen and further in view of Xu does not explicitly disclose the carrier bandwidths. TS discloses the system of claim 11 wherein the UL carrier BW allocated to the wireless carrier is 5 MHz, 10 MHz, or 15 MHz (TS 38.101-1 V17.5.0 (2022-03) Table 5.3.6-1).
Regarding claim 13, Bali in view of Chen and further in view of Xu does not explicitly disclose the frequency range. TS discloses the system of claim 12 wherein the 5G NR UL frequency band has a UL frequency range from 1695-1710 MHz (TS 38.101-1 V17.5.0 (2022-03) Table 5.2-1).
Regarding claim 14, Bali discloses the system of claim 13 wherein the UL carrier BW allocated to the wireless carrier is 5 MHz or 10 MHz and the at least one portion of the UL carrier BW partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations consists of one portion of the UL carrier BW partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations that has a 1080 kHz BW or a 2160 kHz BW ([0370], “Referring now to FIGS. 19a-21, yet another configuration of the frequency spectrum useful with the architecture of FIG. 5 herein is disclosed. In 3GPP LTE (and 5G NR) systems, a separate logical IoT channel can be embedded within an overall LTE (and 5G NR) channel. This is known as the “in-band” deployment scenario.”).
Regarding claim 15, Bali discloses the system of claim 14 wherein the one portion of the UL carrier BW partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations is selected to always be at an upper end of the UL carrier BW allocated to the wireless carrier such that if a default position of the UL carrier BW allocated to the wireless carrier shifts by 5 MHz increments within the 5G NR UL frequency band, the one portion of the UL carrier BW partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations would still be outside the determined protection frequencies ([0270], “Accordingly, the various embodiments of the apparatus disclosed herein (FIGS. 8 and 8a) leverage the parallel MIMO data streams supported by 3GPP 5G NR, which are shifted in frequency in the transceiver node 509 before being injected into the single coaxial feeder so that frequency diversity (instead of spatial diversity; spatial diversity may be utilized at the CPEe and/or supplemental pole-mounted radio access node 506a if desired) is leveraged to achieve the maximum total carrier bandwidth that 3GPP 5G NR chipsets will support with parallel data streams.”).
Regarding claim 17, Bali in view of Chen and further in view of Xu does not explicitly disclose the carrier bandwidths. TS discloses discloses the computer-readable medium of claim 16 wherein the UL carrier BW allocated to the wireless carrier is 5 MHz, 10 MHz, or 15 MHz (TS 38.101-1 V17.5.0 (2022-03) Table 5.3.6-1).
Regarding claim 18, Bali in view of Chen and further in view of Xu does not explicitly disclose the carrier bandwidths. TS discloses discloses the computer-readable medium of claim 16 wherein the UL carrier BW allocated to the wireless carrier is 5 MHz, 10 MHz, or 15 MHz (TS 38.101-1 V17.5.0 (2022-03) Table 5.3.6-1).
Regarding claim 19, Bali discloses the computer-readable medium of claim 18 wherein the UL carrier BW allocated to the wireless carrier is 5 MHz or 10 MHz and the at least one portion of the UL carrier BW partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations consists of one portion of the UL carrier BW partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations that has a 1080 kHz BW or a 2160 kHz BW ([0370], “Referring now to FIGS. 19a-21, yet another configuration of the frequency spectrum useful with the architecture of FIG. 5 herein is disclosed. In 3GPP LTE (and 5G NR) systems, a separate logical IoT channel can be embedded within an overall LTE (and 5G NR) channel. This is known as the “in-band” deployment scenario.”).
Regarding claim 20, Bali discloses the computer-readable medium of claim 19 wherein the one portion of the UL carrier BW partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations is selected to always be at an upper end of the UL carrier BW allocated to the wireless carrier such that if a default position of the UL carrier BW allocated to the wireless carrier shifts by 5 MHz increments within the 5G NR UL frequency band, the one portion of the UL carrier BW partitioned for NB-IoT UL operations would still be outside the determined protection frequencies ([0270], “Accordingly, the various embodiments of the apparatus disclosed herein (FIGS. 8 and 8a) leverage the parallel MIMO data streams supported by 3GPP 5G NR, which are shifted in frequency in the transceiver node 509 before being injected into the single coaxial feeder so that frequency diversity (instead of spatial diversity; spatial diversity may be utilized at the CPEe and/or supplemental pole-mounted radio access node 506a if desired) is leveraged to achieve the maximum total carrier bandwidth that 3GPP 5G NR chipsets will support with parallel data streams.”).
Conclusion
/NICK ANON SUNDARA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479