DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a reply to the application filed on 4/29/2026, in which, claim(s) 13-29 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are cancelled.
Claim(s) 21-29 is/are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-16, 18-25 and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20060048132 A1; hereinafter Chen) in view of Singh et al. (US 20130254113 A1; hereinafter Singh) further in view of Motukuru et al. (US 20150088978 A1; hereinafter Motukuru).
Regarding claims 13 and 22, Chen discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a request by a user to use a requested service using a first software (the user requests digital content from the content provider, the digital content is sent to the user as an encrypted file. The digital content in the file can be accessed after the file has been decrypted using the decryption means [Chen; ¶4]);
in response to receiving the request, initiating authentication protocols of the first software that cause generation of a unique identifier and to present a prompt to the user to request an unlock code using the generated unique identifier, wherein the generated unique identifier comprises licensing information that includes at least one of data regarding the requested service using the first software, session data for session use of the requested service, data regarding type of system for providing the requested service, or information regarding type of license associated with at least one of the requested service or the first software, wherein the generated unique identifier is sent to and verified by a license server (character code generator creates a code for use on the computing device that allows the particular software program to be used on the computing device. The character code generator receives the unique device identification of the computing device, determined the corresponding machine key and compute hashes based on the unique identifier, generates and provide a sign/activation code for use on the computing device [Chen; ¶21, 38-51, 76-78; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts]);
in response to sending the generated unique identifier to the license server, receiving, the unlock code from the license server, [wherein the unlock code is a per-session code for unlocking a single session use of the requested service using the first software] (obtaining the sign/activation code to run the program, the sign/activation code may be checked each time the program is launched. The program will properly operate only if the sign/activation code, or other indicator that the software program has been properly licensed, is provided [Chen; ¶38-51; Figs. 3-4, 6 and associated texts]). Chen discloses software is licensed for use on a particular computing device. An unlocking code is provided from a distribution service to the computing device (either directly or via a user), which in turn, unlocks the appropriate software or portion of software for use with the associated computing device. Chen does not explicilty discloses wherein the unlock code is a per-session code for unlocking a single session use of the requested service using the first software; however, in a related and analogous art, Singh teaches this feature.
In particular, singh teaches pay-per-use (PPU) software licensing in which license file are created to allow user’s access based on PPU. In a PPU licensing mechanism, users pay as per their usage of the software applications, rendering them to pay a very nominal amount for the usage of software applications as against paying a lump sum as a one time payment [Singh; ¶12, 37-47]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with PPU licensing of Singh with the motivation to gain customer of diverse usage needs as PPU licenses for software applications are getting popular day by day [Singh; ¶12];
in response to receiving the unlock code, verifying the unlock code (after obtained the identifiers/activation code, verified the code [Chen; ¶38-51; Figs. 3-4 and associated texts]); and
in response to the unlock code being verified, unlocking the single session use of the requested service using the first software to allow the user to access the single session use of the requested service using the first software (after verified, run the product [Chen; ¶38-51; Figs. 3-4 and associated texts], if the program is trail software, can unlock/upgrade [Chen; Figs. 6 and associated texts], and it can been PPU based on the licenses [Singh; ¶12, 37-47]).
Chen-Singh combination discloses software licensing using both hardware identifier and software identifier, including paid-per-usage. Chen-Singh combination does not explicilty discloses the generating of a unique identifier associated with the request service; however, in a related and analogous art, Motukuru teaches this feature.
In particular, Motukuru teaches generate unique session identifiers for servicing the user request. The unique session identifier contained information such as user ID and other subject that is relevant to validates the users [Motukuru; ¶37-40, 47]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen-Singh combination in view of Motukuru unique identifier with the motivation to better managed software usage session for PPU.
Regarding claims 14 and 23, Chen-Singh-Motukuru combination discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the licensing information further comprises one or more of information regarding time that the generated unique identifier was generated, information regarding session information validation, information regarding cost corresponding to the license associated with the at least one of the requested service or the first software, information regarding conditions associated with the license, information regarding limitations associated with the license, information regarding type of hardware associated with the first software, information regarding type of hardware associated with the requested service, or information regarding a session use of the requested service, wherein the type of license comprises one of a pay per use license, a period subscription license, a right to use license, or a free to use license (computing device preferably has a unique identifier. This identifier is used in the creation of a "license" for use of software on that particular computing device [Chen; ¶41], a PPU licensing mechanism, users pay as per their usage of the software applications, rendering them to pay a very nominal amount for the usage of software applications as against paying a lump sum as a one time payment [Singh; ¶12, 37-47]). The motivation to gain customer of diverse usage needs as PPU licenses for software applications are getting popular day by day [Singh; ¶12].
Regarding claims 15 and 24, Chen-Singh-Motukuru combination discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: encoding the generated unique identifier (signed the unique identifier with a private key [Chen; ¶47]). 330
Regarding claims 16 and 25, Chen-Singh-Motukuru combination discloses the method of claim 13, wherein presenting the prompt to the user to request an unlock code using the generated unique identifier comprises presenting two or more options that comprise: displaying the generated unique identifier and a communication device for the user to use or contact and to provide the generated unique identifier; displaying a connection mechanism to a collection of information, the connection mechanism comprising the generated unique identifier; or displaying a visual code and a prompt for the user to scan the visual code, the visual code containing data associated with the generated unique identifier (if the persistent memory does not contain previously stored information pertaining to the product sought to be run, then a user interface, for example, may be provided to the user with instructions on how to buy a license for the software product for the computing device, such as collecting information and payment and other steps to active the product [Chen; ¶45; Figs. 3-4 and associated texts]).
Regarding claims 18 and 27, Chen-Singh-Motukuru combination discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: prior to presenting the prompt to the user to request an unlock code using the generated unique identifier, determining whether the client device is connected to a communication network; and based on a determination that the client device is not connected to a communication network or has limited access to the communication network, graying out, the option to display the connection mechanism to the collection of information (If the computing device is connected via a network, for example, to the activation control system, the activation control system may provide the signed data to the computing device transparently. The computing device uses the corresponding public key to retrieve and verify the unique identifier of the computing device and the product identifier. Optionally with an error message or other indicator being displayed or otherwise provided to the user. Moreover, the software program may be disabled or aborted. The computing device may also be disabled, if desired [Chen; ¶49-50, 56-57]).
Regarding claims 19 and 28, Chen-Singh-Motukuru combination discloses the method of claim 13, wherein sending the generated unique identifier to the license server for verification comprises one of: sending the generated unique identifier that is spoken by the user over a telephone; sending the generated unique identifier that is manually entered by the user or another user via a user interface; sending the generated unique identifier that is copied and pasted by the user via the user interface; sending the generated unique identifier as a visual code, an image of which is captured by the user using a camera of a user device; or sending the generated unique identifier from the client device via network communication when the client device is connected to a communication network (The user may provide the unique identifier and the product identifier to the activation control system either manually or via a telephone, kiosk, website, or other manual or electronic means. The computing device is connected via a network, the activation control system and provide the unique ID to the activation control to process requests for software licenses and unlock authorization for use on computing devices [Chen; ¶38-39, 56-57]).
Regarding claim 20, Chen-Singh-Motukuru combination discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the image of the visual code, when captured, triggers one of sending the generated unique identifier over a network or accessing a collection of information that allows the user to manually enter the generated unique identifier (a user manually entering the device identification into the activation control system [Chen; ¶40]).
Regarding claim 21, Chen-Singh-Motukuru combination discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the unlock code is usable until an end of the single session (pay-per-use (PPU) software licensing in which license file are created to allow user’s access based on PPU, such usage is only valid on each use and ended afterward [Singh; ¶12, 37-47]. The motivation to gain customer of diverse usage needs as PPU licenses for software applications are getting popular day by day [Singh; ¶12].
Claim(s) 17 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-Singh-Motukuru combination in view of Ciavatta (US 20160196484 A1).
Regarding claims 17 and 26, Chen-Singh-Motukuru combination does not explicilty discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the visual code comprises one of a bar code or a quick response ("QR") code; however, in a related and analogous art, Ciavatta teaches this feature.
In particular, Ciavatta teaches scanning of a QR code, allowing the user to access an URL to register and authenticate [Ciavatta; ¶96-99]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen-Singh-Motukuru combination with the QR code and URL user’s registration and authentication of Ciavatta, with the motivation for secured user’s register/authentication and avoiding any compromise of the confidentiality of the data [Ciavatta; ¶15, 25].
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAO Q HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432