CTFR 18/784,663 CTFR 101432 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Summary This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 03/13/2026. Claims 1-5, 7-17, and 19-20 are pending. Claims 6 and 18 are cancelled. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 03/13/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-5, 7-17, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant’s argument (see page 6) states: Applicant respectfully disagrees and submits that Shanks fails to describe, at least, "determin[ing] a frequency offset for transmitting a signal to a second device, the frequency offset being based on a symbol duration of the signal, wherein the symbol duration is a duration in time for transmitting a sequence of symbols of the signal," as recited in claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees since Shanks teaches “flowchart 1000 illustrat[es] an example operation of frequency modulation within the transmit channel from the perspective of reader 104,” [Col. 7, lines 47-49]. First, Shanks teaches “prior to operation of flowchart 1000, a frequency shifting rate is determined,” [Col. 8, lines 27-30]. Second, Shanks teaches the frequency shifting rate is a “rate at which the reader shifts the frequencies during a symbol exchange period, … shift[ing] frequencies once or multiple times during a symbol exchange period” [Col. 8, lines 28-32]. Third, Shanks teaches “reader 104 conveys information in the form of one or more symbols that are each selected from a symbol set” [Col. 4, lines 36-38], teaching a signal (information) including a sequence (set) of symbols. Further, Shanks teaches that the variation in amplitude associated with transmission of these symbols “occurs over an amount of time that is referred to herein as a symbol exchange period, T S ” [Col. 4, lines 48-54]. For example, Shanks teaches “embodiments of the present invention may employ other values of T s , which may be provided either statically or dynamically” [Col. 4, lines 54-56] Also, Shank teaches “in an embodiment, the symbol exchange period, T S , is 12.5 microseconds” [Col. 4, lines 48-54]. Hence, Shanks expressly defines and utilizes the symbol exchange period T S in performing the frequency shifting operation. Also, the Applicant’s claimed “symbol duration” reads on Shanks’ symbol exchange period T S because T S represents a duration in time during which symbols of the transmitted symbol sequence are transmitted, even if T s is does not encompass the entirety of the sequence itself. Also, Applicant’s assertion that Shanks fails to teach “the symbol duration is a duration in time for transmitting a sequence of symbols of the signal,” as Shanks teaches that the symbol exchange period T S is a duration in time used for transmitting the sequence of symbols of the signal. For the above reasons, the prior art by Shanks clearly teaches all the elements as described in claims 1 and 13 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 9, 11, 12, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shanks (US 7,321,289 B2) . Regarding claim 1, Shanks teaches a first device for wireless communications, the first device (FIG. 1,104) comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (The RFID reader 104 shown in FIG. 1 inherently includes one or more memory and one or more processors) and configured to: determine a frequency offset for transmitting a signal to a second device (FIG. 1, 102) (the reader modulates the frequency of the carrier signal by carrier frequency shift. The reader 104 transmitting to one or more tags 102 as shown in FIG. 1, representing signals being transmitted to a second device [Col. 8, lines 17-18 and 53-54]) , the frequency offset being based on a symbol duration of the signal (the carrier frequency shifting occurs during the symbol exchange period. Shanks further teaches “prior to operation of flowchart 1000, a frequency shifting rate is determined,” where “flowchart 1000 illustrat[es] an example operation of frequency modulation within the transmit channel from the perspective of reader 104.” This frequency shifting rate is a “rate at which the reader shifts the frequencies during a symbol exchange period, … shift[ing] frequencies once or multiple times during a symbol exchange period.” Shanks additionally teaches “in an embodiment, the symbol exchange period, T S , is 12.5 microseconds” and that “embodiments of the present invention may employ other values of T s , which may be provided either statically or dynamically” [Col. 4, lines 48-56; Col. 7, lines 47-49; Col. 8, lines 27-67]) , wherein the symbol duration is a duration in time for transmitting a sequence of symbols of the signal (Figure 11 illustrates a transmission during a symbol exchange period from the reader, showing the complete transmission of a symbol during this time period. Furthermore, Shanks also demonstrates in FIG. 10 the symbol exchange period, during which a carrier frequency shift occurs. Shanks additionally teaches that reader 104 conveys information in the form of one or more symbols selected from a symbol set and that transmission occurs over a symbol exchange period T S . thus, the symbol exchange period T S represents a duration in time used for transmitting the sequence of symbols of the signal [Col. 4, lines 36-39 and 48-56; Col. 9, lines 11-17]) ; and transmit the signal to the second device (tag) using the frequency offset for the signal (A reader performs a carrier frequency shift on the transmission channel between a reader and tags, where the transmitted signal travels from the reader to the tag(s), as shown in FIG. 1 [Col. 6, lines 51-55]) . Regarding claim 9, Shanks teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine whether to use the frequency offset for transmission of the signal based on a frequency synchronization error (If the reader determines there is an external frequency which may cause interference, it can determine modulation is needed [Col 7, lines 62-67; Col. 8, line 1]) . Regarding claim 11, Shanks teaches wherein the first device is a reader device (Figure 1 is an illustration of a tag reader environment, where the transmitted signals (110) are sent from a reader to the tags [Col. 2, lines 17-26 & 41-44]). Regarding claim 12, Shanks teaches wherein the second device is a passive device or an energy harvesting device (Tags transmit response signals by reflecting and absorbing portions of portions of the signal from the reader, also known as backscatter modulation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the backscatter tags disclosed in the reference are implemented as passive or energy harvesting devices, as claimed [Col. 4, lines 1-13]) . Regarding claim 13, Shanks teaches a method of wireless communications at a first device, the method comprising: determining, by the first device (FIG. 1,104), a frequency offset for transmitting a signal to a second device (FIG. 1, tag 102) (the reader modulates the frequency of the carrier signal by carrier frequency shift. The reader 104 transmitting to one or more tags 102 as shown in FIG. 1, representing signals being transmitted to a second device [Col. 8, lines 17-18 and 53-54]) , the frequency offset being based on a symbol duration of the signal (the carrier frequency shifting occurs during the symbol exchange period. Shanks further teaches “prior to operation of flowchart 1000, a frequency shifting rate is determined,” where “flowchart 1000 illustrat[es] an example operation of frequency modulation within the transmit channel from the perspective of reader 104.” This frequency shifting rate is a “rate at which the reader shifts the frequencies during a symbol exchange period, … shift[ing] frequencies once or multiple times during a symbol exchange period.” Shanks additionally teaches “in an embodiment, the symbol exchange period, T S , is 12.5 microseconds” and that “embodiments of the present invention may employ other values of T s , which may be provided either statically or dynamically” [Col. 4, lines 48-56; Col. 7, lines 47-49; Col. 8, lines 27-67]) , wherein the symbol duration is a duration in time for transmitting a sequence of symbols of the signal (Figure 11 illustrates a transmission during a symbol exchange period from the reader, showing the complete transmission of a symbol during this time period. Furthermore, Shanks also demonstrates in FIG. 10 the symbol exchange period, during which a carrier frequency shift occurs. Shanks additionally teaches that reader 104 conveys information in the form of one or more symbols selected from a symbol set and that transmission occurs over a symbol exchange period T S . thus, the symbol exchange period T S represents a duration in time used for transmitting the sequence of symbols of the signal [Col. 4, lines 36-39 and 48-56; Col. 9, lines 11-17]) ; and transmitting, by the first device, the signal to the second device (FIG. 1, 102) using the frequency offset for the signal (A reader performs a carrier frequency shift on the transmission channel between a reader and tags, where the transmitted signal travels from the reader to the tag(s), as shown in FIG. 1 [Col. 6, lines 51-55]) . Regarding claim 20, Shanks teaches determining, by the first device, whether to use the frequency offset for transmission of the signal based on a frequency synchronization error (If the reader determines there is an external frequency which may cause interference, it can determine modulation is needed [Col 7, lines 62-67; Col. 8, line 1]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 3, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanks, in view of Wild (US 2011/0032081 A1) . Regarding claim 2, Shanks does not teach wherein the frequency offset is further based on a sequence length of the signal. In analogous art, Wild teaches wherein the frequency offset is further based on a sequence length of the signal (A frequency offset limits the length of a sequence (by restricting time duration) after being received, demonstrating that in order for a sequence to be fully received, a frequency offset must account for the sequence length [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wild into the device taught by Shanks in order to efficiently minimize interference in a wireless RFID system [Wild, 004] . Regarding claim 3, Shanks does not teach wherein the sequence length is a total number of symbols within a sequence of symbols of the signal. In analogous art, Wild teaches wherein the sequence length is a total number of symbols within a sequence of symbols of the signal (A sequence is made up of 1000 samples (or symbols) [0003, 0026]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wild into the device taught by Shanks in order to efficiently minimize interference in a wireless RFID system [Wild, 004] . Regarding claim 14, Shanks does not teach wherein the frequency offset is further based on a sequence length of the signal. In analogous art, Wild teaches wherein the frequency offset is further based on a sequence length of the signal (A frequency offset limits the length of a sequence (by restricting time duration) after being received, demonstrating that in order for a sequence to be fully received, a frequency offset must account for the sequence length [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wild into the device taught by Shanks in order to efficiently minimize interference in a wireless RFID system [Wild, 004] . Regarding claim 15, Shanks does not teach wherein the sequence length is a total number of symbols within a sequence of symbols of the signal. In analogous art, Wild teaches wherein the sequence length is a total number of symbols within a sequence of symbols of the signal (A sequence is made up of 1000 samples (or symbols) [0003, 0026]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wild into the device taught by Shanks in order to efficiently minimize interference in a wireless RFID system [Wild, 004] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanks, in view of Wild, and in further view of Yang (US 6512720 B1) . Regarding claim 4, Shanks and Wild do not teach wherein the sequence length is a total number of symbols multiplied by the symbol duration. In analogous art, Yang teaches wherein the sequence length is a total number of symbols multiplied by the symbol duration (duration of data is the total number of symbols multiplied by the symbol duration [Col. 2, lines 57-67]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yang into the device taught by the combination of Shanks and Wild in order to improve accuracy and efficiency in synchronization and frequency resolution [Yang, Col. 7, lines 63-67] . Regarding claim 16, Shanks and Wild do not teach wherein the sequence length is a total number of symbols multiplied by the symbol duration. In analogous art, Yang teaches wherein the sequence length is a total number of symbols multiplied by the symbol duration (duration of data is the total number of symbols multiplied by the symbol duration [Col. 2, lines 57-67]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yang into the device taught by the combination of Shanks and Wild in order to improve accuracy and efficiency in synchronization and frequency resolution [Yang, Col. 7, lines 63-67] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanks, in view of Wu et al. (US 8,731,029 B1, hereinafter "Wu") . Regarding claim 5, Shanks does not teach wherein the frequency offset is greater than a multiple of one divided by the symbol duration. In analogous art, Wu teaches wherein the frequency offset is greater than a multiple of one divided by the symbol duration (a technique that can be used to compensate for large frequency offsets, such as a frequency offset that is 3 times or more than a symbol rate (which is 1 divided by the symbol duration) [Col. 7, lines 41-44]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the features taught by Wu into the first device as taught by Shanks in order to improve performance over conventional techniques, drastically reduce loss, and lower signal to noise ratios [Wu, Col. 3, lines 18-20; Col. 11, lines 28-32] . Regarding claim 17, Shanks does not teach wherein the frequency offset is greater than a multiple of one divided by the symbol duration. In analogous art, Wu teaches wherein the frequency offset is greater than a multiple of one divided by the symbol duration (a technique that can be used to compensate for large frequency offsets, such as a frequency offset that is 3 times or more than a symbol rate (which is 1 divided by the symbol duration) [Col. 7, lines 41-44]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the features taught by Wu into the first device as taught by Shanks in order to improve performance over conventional techniques, drastically reduce loss, and lower signal to noise ratios [Wu, Col. 3, lines 18-20; Col. 11, lines 28-32] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanks, in view of Fischer et al. (US 2006/0022815 A1, hereinafter "Fischer") . Regarding claim 7, Shanks does not teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive, from a network entity, configuration information including an indication of the frequency offset. In analogous art, Fischer teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive, from a network entity, configuration information including an indication of the frequency offset (the system architecture includes mid-level processors connecting RFID readers to at least one host computer (see FIG. 1). Compensation of the transmit carrier frequency can be determined in the mid- level processor(s), which can provide compensation needed to correct carrier frequencies of readers to one or more readers [0088, 0408]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the network entity frequency offset taught by Fischer into the first device as taught by Shanks in order to reduce reader-to-reader interference and improve overall system performance [Fischer, 408] . Regarding claim 19, Shanks does not teach receiving, from a network entity, configuration information including an indication of the frequency offset. In analogous art, Fischer teaches receiving, from a network entity, configuration information including an indication of the frequency offset (the system architecture includes mid-level processors connecting RFID readers to at least one host computer (see FIG. 1). Compensation of the transmit carrier frequency can be determined in the mid-level processor(s), which can provide compensation needed to correct carrier frequencies of readers to one or more readers [0088, 0408]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the network entity frequency offset taught by Fischer the first device as taught by Shanks in order to reduce reader-to-reader interference and improve overall system performance [Fischer, 408] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanks, in view of Bajic et al (US 2012/0256728 A1, hereinafter "Bajic") . Regarding claim 8, Shanks does not teach wherein the signal is a wakeup signal (WUS). In analogous art, Bajic teaches wherein the signal is a wakeup signal (WUS) (A first interrogator device which includes the function of transmitting a wake-up signal to one or more RFID tags [0007]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the wake-up signal taught by Bajic into the first device taught by Shanks in order to reduce collisions and retransmissions and to increase efficiency [Bajic, 0006 & 0047] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanks, in view of Manolakis et al. (US 2025/0240825 A1, hereinafter "Manolakis") . Regarding claim 10, Shanks does not teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine not to use the frequency offset for transmission based on the frequency synchronization error being less than a frequency error threshold. In analogous art, Manolakis teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine not to use the frequency offset for transmission based on the frequency synchronization error being less than a frequency error threshold (No additional compensation/correction is needed when the frequency synchronization offset/error is less than a threshold [0041) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the frequency error threshold into the first device as taught by Shanks in order to improve performance, time synchronization, and frequency synchronization within an RFID based system within a wireless network [Manolakis, 0042] . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Frederick (US 20160344452 A1) discloses an RF system using pr-ask with orthogonal offset. Hong et al (US 11526683 B2) discloses a method and device for reader to transmit signal in wireless communication system. Park et al (US 20080137768 A1) discloses an apparatus and method of compensating for frequency offset in an OFDMA system. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. /A.R.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2413 /UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 2 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 3 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 4 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 5 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 6 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 7 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 8 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 9 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 10 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 11 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 12 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 13 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 14 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 15 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/784,663 Page 16 Art Unit: 2413