DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 16 and 20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
On page 7 of Remarks filed February 20, 2026, Applicant asserts “Shen fails to teach or suggest retrieving remote path data associated with a plurality of remote devices wherein the remote path data comprises at least local path data generated by the plurality of remote devices” because the reactive process of Shen is initiated by the reception of an active probe. Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s interpretation of the prior art.
Applicant’s arguments rely on the cause of the generation of path information and generating the path information prior to the claimed discovery request. However, applicant’s claim limitations fail to articulate either of these features. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
While the process of Shen is initiated by the reception a probe, the generation of “remote path data” is performed by the remote devices and thus discloses the claim limitation “wherein the remote path data comprises at least local path data generated by the plurality of remote devices”. For example, Fig. 6a, The acknowledgement message in step S304 is generated by AGG1. The amended claim language is solely direct to the location of the generation of local path data.
Examiner finds applicant’s arguments unpersuasive and previous rejections are maintained.
On page 8 of Remarks filed February 20, 2026, Applicant asserts “Applicant incorporates the arguments and remarks presented regarding Claim 1 and applies them to Claim 20.” Applicant’s arguments are non-responsive because the Remarks of claim 1 do not address Subramanian.
Examiner finds applicant’s arguments unpersuasive. However, in light of the amendments, a new rejection is made regarding claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shen et al. U.S. Patent Application publication 2022/0255836.
Claim 1,
Shen discloses
A device, comprising:
a processor; and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory (para 0232-0234) comprises a topology discovery logic (para 0236) that is configured to:
detect a plurality of adjacent devices (Fig. 3, para 0063-root node performs links discovery to detect child nodes, also see para 0092- The root node device discovers that links corresponding to a plurality of downlink ports of the root node device are connected, and sequentially performs link discovery based on a port sequence number);
retrieve remote path data associated with a plurality of remote devices (para 0136- The root node device discovers a link Root device.1<->AGG1.1<->ACC1.1 based on the identifier of the port ACC 1.1 and a discovered link Root device.1<->AGG1.1.
Also see para 0130-0135)
wherein the remote path data comprises at least local path data generated by the plurality of remote devices(fig. 6A- S304- acknowledgement message is generated by AGG1); and
identify, based on the remote path data, at least one of the plurality of remote devices connected to at least one of the plurality of adjacent devices (para 0136, fig.9- discloses the root device has discover a plurality of paths in the topology. AGG1 and AGG2 are mapped to the adjacent devices, ACC1 and ACC2 are mapped to the remote devices).
Claim 2,
The device of claim 1, wherein the topology discovery logic is further configured to determine at least one adjacent device identifier associated with the at least one of the plurality of adjacent devices. (para 0066- The link discovery acknowledge message includes an identifier of the child node device and an identifier of the second port.)
Claim 3
The device of claim 2, wherein the topology discovery logic is further configured to identify a first set of adjacent device ports of the at least one of the plurality of adjacent devices connected to a set of system ports. (para 0068- The root node device receives the link discovery acknowledge message through the connected link, parses a type of the message, and identifies that the message is a link discovery acknowledge message. The root node device parses out the identifier of the child node device and the identifier of the second port, and determines the first link. The first link is the link between the first port and the second port.)
Claim 4,
The device of claim 3, wherein the topology discovery logic is further configured to determine a set of system port identifiers associated with the set of system ports. (para 0099- The root node device discovers a link: Root device.1<->AGG1.1 based on an identifier of the port 1 of the AGG 1 and an identifier of the port 1 of the root node device.)
Claim 5,
The device of claim 4, wherein the topology discovery logic is further configured to determine a first set of adjacent device port identifiers associated with the first set of adjacent device ports. (para 0099- After receiving the link discovery message, the AGG 1 parses a message type field. If the message is a link discovery message, the AGG 1 constructs the link discovery acknowledge message. The message carries a device identifier of the AGG 1 and an identifier of a receiving port AGG 1.1. The AGG 1 sends the link discovery acknowledge message through the AGG 1.1.)
Claim 6,
The device of claim 5, wherein the topology discovery logic is further configured to generate local path data indicative of at least one of: the at least one adjacent device identifier; the set of system port identifiers; or the first set of adjacent device port identifiers. (para 0099- The root node device discovers a link: Root device.1<->AGG1.1 based on an identifier of the port 1 of the AGG 1 and an identifier of the port 1 of the root node device. )
Claim 7,
The device of claim 6, wherein the topology discovery logic is further configured to retrieve, from the remote path data, at least one remote device identifier associated with the at least one of the plurality of remote devices. (para 0137- After receiving the link discovery acknowledge message, the root node device parses a type of the message, identifies that the message is a link discovery acknowledge message, and parses out the identifier of the ACC 1 and the identifier of the port ACC 1.1 that are carried in the link discovery acknowledge message. Based on the discovered topology (Root device.1<->AGG1.1), the link: Root device.1<->AGG1.1<->ACC1.1 is discovered.)
Claim 8,
The device of claim 7, wherein the topology discovery logic is further configured to identify, based on the remote path data, a second set of adjacent device ports of the at least one of the plurality of adjacent devices connected to the at least one of the plurality of remote devices. (para 0086- After receiving the device discovery message, the child node device parses a type of the message, identifies that the type of the message is a device discovery message type, and constructs the device discovery acknowledge message. The device acknowledge message carries the identifier of the child node device, and device information such as the identifiers, statuses (up/down), and capabilities (for example, link bandwidths) of all ports of the child node device. The child node device sends the device discovery acknowledge message to the root node device through the second port. Para 0132-0136- discloses a method to discovery devices at the end of a port selected by a root node. Upon reception of a discovery confirmation, the root node has determined the egress port of the aggregation switch [mapped to adjacent node] and the ingress node of the access switch mapped to remote node]).
Claim 9,
The device of claim 8, wherein the topology discovery logic is further configured to determine a second set of adjacent device port identifiers associated with the second set of adjacent device ports. (see para 0086)
Claim 10,
The device of claim 9, wherein the topology discovery logic is further configured to generate global network path data based on the local path data and the remote path data. (fig. 6A-B and 7, para 0137-Based on the discovered topology (Root device.1<->AGG1.1), the link: Root device.1<->AGG1.1<->ACC1.1 is discovered )
Claim 11,
The device of claim 10, wherein the global network path data is indicative of a plurality of network paths connecting to the at least one of the plurality of remote devices. (Fig. 10- disclose a topology)
Claim 12,
The device of claim 11, wherein each network path of the plurality of network paths comprises: a first set of sub-paths between the set of system ports and the first set of adjacent device ports, and a second set of sub-paths between the second set of adjacent device ports and the at least one of the plurality of remote devices. (para 0137-Based on the discovered topology (Root device.1<->AGG1.1), the link: Root device.1<->AGG1.1<->ACC1.1 is discovered. The discovery method discloses detecting a complete path form the root device to ACC1. The path includes a subpath between root device to AGG1 and a subpath between AGG1 and ACC1 )
Claim 16,
Shen discloses
A device, comprising:
a processor; and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory (para 0232-0234) comprises a topology discovery logic (para 0236) that is configured to:
detect an adjacent device connected to a system port (Fig. 3, para 0063-root node performs links discovery to detect child nodes, also see para 0092- The root node device discovers that links corresponding to a plurality of downlink ports of the root node device are connected, and sequentially performs link discovery based on a port sequence number);
generate local path data associated with the adjacent device (para 0099- The root node device discovers a link: Root device.1<->AGG1.1 based on an identifier of the port 1 of the AGG 1 and an identifier of the port 1 of the root node device.);
retrieve remote path data associated with a plurality of remote devices (para 0137- After receiving the link discovery acknowledge message, the root node device parses a type of the message, identifies that the message is a link discovery acknowledge message, and parses out the identifier of the ACC 1 and the identifier of the port ACC 1.1 that are carried in the link discovery acknowledge message. Based on the discovered topology (Root device.1<->AGG1.1), the link: Root device.1<->AGG1.1<->ACC1.1 is discovered.)
wherein the remote path data comprises at least local path data generated by the plurality of remote devices(fig. 6A- S304- acknowledgement message is generated by AGG1);
determine, based on the remote path data, at least one of the plurality of remote devices connected to the adjacent device (para 0137); and
generate, based on the local path data and the remote path data, a plurality of network paths connecting to the at least one of the plurality of remote devices (para 0137- After receiving the link discovery acknowledge message, the root node device parses a type of the message, identifies that the message is a link discovery acknowledge message, and parses out the identifier of the ACC 1 and the identifier of the port ACC 1.1 that are carried in the link discovery acknowledge message. Based on the discovered topology (Root device.1<->AGG1.1), the link: Root device.1<->AGG1.1<->ACC1.1 is discovered. The method discloses capture the topology information for each of the child devices of the root node)
Claim 17,
The device of claim 16, wherein the local path data comprises at least one of:
an adjacent device identifier associated with the adjacent device,
a system port identifier associated with the system port, or
an adjacent device port identifier associated with an adjacent device port of the adjacent device connected to the system port. (para 0099- The root node device discovers a link: Root device.1<->AGG1.1 based on an identifier of the port 1 of the AGG 1 and an identifier of the port 1 of the root node device. )
Claim 18,
The device of claim 17, wherein the topology discovery logic is further configured to retrieve, from the remote path data, at least one remote device identifier associated with the at least one of the plurality of remote devices. (para 0137- After receiving the link discovery acknowledge message, the root node device parses a type of the message, identifies that the message is a link discovery acknowledge message, and parses out the identifier of the ACC 1 and the identifier of the port ACC 1.1 that are carried in the link discovery acknowledge message. Based on the discovered topology (Root device.1<->AGG1.1), the link: Root device.1<->AGG1.1<->ACC1.1 is discovered.)
Claim 19,
The device of claim 18, wherein the topology discovery logic is further configured to:
identify a set of adjacent device ports of the adjacent device connected to the at least one of the plurality of remote devices; and determine a set of adjacent device port identifiers associated with the set of adjacent device ports (para 0086- After receiving the device discovery message, the child node device parses a type of the message, identifies that the type of the message is a device discovery message type, and constructs the device discovery acknowledge message. The device acknowledge message carries the identifier of the child node device, and device information such as the identifiers, statuses (up/down), and capabilities (for example, link bandwidths) of all ports of the child node device. The child node device sends the device discovery acknowledge message to the root node device through the second port. Para 0132-0136- discloses a method to discovery devices at the end of a port selected by a root node. Upon reception of a discovery confirmation, the root node has determined the egress port of the aggregation switch [mapped to adjacent node] and the ingress node of the access switch mapped to remote node]).
Claim 20,
Shen discloses
A method, comprising:
detecting one or more adjacent devices Fig. 3, para 0063-root node performs links discovery to detect child nodes, also see para 0092- The root node device discovers that links corresponding to a plurality of downlink ports of the root node device are connected, and sequentially performs link discovery based on a port sequence number);
retrieve remote path data associated with a plurality of remote devices (para 0136- The root node device discovers a link Root device.1<->AGG1.1<->ACC1.1 based on the identifier of the port ACC 1.1 and a discovered link Root device.1<->AGG1.1.
Also see para 0130-0135)
wherein the remote path data comprises at least local path data generated by the plurality of remote devices(fig. 6A- S304- acknowledgement message is generated by AGG1)
determining at least one remote device connected to the one or more adjacent devices (para 0136-AGG1.1 is remote device).;
and generating a plurality of network paths connecting to the at least one remote device (para 0136- generates a network path).
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.)
In the present application the duplication of the step to generate a network path to a remote device is not new and does not produce an unexpected result. Thus, there is no patentable significance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. U.S. Patent Application publication 2022/0255836 in view of Gandhi et al. U.S. Patent Application publication 2016/0197784.
Claim 13,
Shen discloses
connect to a [storage] (para 0137);
store at least one of: the local path data or the global network path data in the [storage] (para 0137- discloses storing a global network path)
Although Shen discloses substantial limitations of the claimed invention, it fails to disclose
connect to a distributed database;
store at least one of: the local path data or the global network path data in the distributed database; and
retrieve the remote path data from the distributed database.
In an analogous art, Gandhi discloses:
[a distributed database] (para 0044-each HSL module of the switches stores the global topology, the distributed database is mapped to the distributed storage at each of the HSL modules)
connect to a distributed database (para 0045- the HSL module is connected to switching device 104);
store at least one of: the local path data or the global network path data in the distributed database (para 0044-the global topology is stored);
and retrieve the remote path data from the distributed database (para 0044-during the synchronization of topologies amongst the HSL modules the topology data is retrieved and stored.).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to combine the distributed storage of Gandhi with the Shen system to produce the predictable result of distributing topology information throughout the switching network.
Claim 14,
The device of claim 13, wherein the distributed database is synchronized with the plurality of remote devices.(Gandhi para 0044)
Same motivation as claim 12.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. U.S. Patent Application publication 2022/0255836 in view of Gandhi et al. U.S. Patent Application publication 2016/0197784 in view of Wang et al. U.S. Patent Application publication 2025/0141780.
Claim 15,
Although Shen/Gandhi discloses substantial limitations of the claimed invention, it fails to disclose
wherein the plurality of adjacent devices include at least one spine switch and the plurality of remote devices include at least one leaf switch connected to the at least one spine switch.
In analogous art, Wang discloses
Spine switch and leave switches (Fig. 1B)
The disclosure of Wang teaches a method to discover adjacent nodes in a spine-leaf topology. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to combine the Shen/Gandhi system with the Wang architecture to produce the predictable result of discovering global topological information within a Spine-leaf network.
Conclusion
Related Prior Art:
Mukerjee et al. U.S. Patent Application publication 2006/0002401– discloses a method that populates an adjacency matrix of a plurality of network nodes.
Tenny et al. U.S. Patent Application publication 2023/0209439 – discloses a discovery method in a mesh network that retrieves remote routing paths.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JMC/Examiner, Art Unit 2459
/TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459 /TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459