DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 14-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nagano et al. (US 2024/0089914 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nagano appears to disclose a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive information indicating a paging occasion, from a plurality of paging occasions, for receiving paging (Fig. 14, 101/102, [0182], [0188] disclosing 101 receives downlink control information including paging early indication (PEI) comprising paging occasion (PO) and subgroup indication indicating subgroups targeted for paging in a plurality of POs as disclosed in the second aspect with respect to Fig. 6 and Fig. 7; for example, Fig. 6, [0120]-[0122] disclosing the PO/subgroup as PEI indicates the PO #0 to a UE belonging to subgroup #1 from among the four POs); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to determine the paging occasion for receiving paging based on the information (Fig. 14, 0103, [0202]-[0204] disclosing the control unit determines which paging occasion to monitor; for example as in Fig. 6, [0122] disclosing the PO to be monitored among the four POs as the PO corresponding to the subgroup assigned to the terminal),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to monitor the determined paging occasion for receiving paging (Fig. 14, 101, 102, [0189] disclosing 101 may receive paging DCI monitored in a paging period; [0122] disclosing the terminal monitors in the determined PO).
Regarding claim 2, Nagano appears to disclose the UE of Claim 1, wherein: the information indicating the paging occasion for receiving paging is a paging occasion index (Fig. 7 PO Indication field; [0125]); and
the processor is further configured to: determine the paging occasion for receiving paging based on the paging occasion index, and monitor the determined paging occasion (Fig. 14, 0103, [0202]-[0204]; Fig. 7, [0128]).
Regarding claim 3, Nagano appears to disclose the UE of Claim 1, wherein:
the information indicating the paging occasion for receiving paging is a paging occasion index for a paging subgroup associated with the UE (Fig. 6, [0121]-[0122]); and
the processor is further configured to: determine the paging occasion for receiving paging based on the paging occasion index, and monitor the determined paging occasion (Fig. 6, [0121]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 5, Nagano appears to disclose the UE of Claim 1, wherein: the information indicating the paging occasion for receiving paging is a paging occasion index indicating a set of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasions for paging from a plurality of sets of PDCCH monitoring occasions for paging (Fig. 7, [0125]-[0129]); and
the processor is further configured: to group, valid PDCCH monitoring occasions for paging occurring after an occasion in which the information indicating the paging occasion is received, sequentially into the plurality of sets of PDCCH monitoring occasions (Fig. 7, [0130]; Fig. 2, [0050]-[0051], [0054]);
determine that the paging occasion for receiving paging is the set of PDCCH monitoring occasions indicated by the paging occasion index; and monitor the determined paging occasion (Fig. 7, [0128]).
Regarding claim 8, Nagano appears to disclose a base station (BS) comprising:
a transceiver configured to transmit information indicating a paging occasion, from a plurality of paging occasions, for receiving paging (Fig. 15, 201, 202, [0210], [0215] disclosing 202 transmits downlink control information including paging early indication (PEI) comprising paging occasion (PO) and subgroup indication indicating subgroups targeted for paging in a plurality of POs as disclosed in the second aspect with respect to Fig. 6 and Fig. 7; for example, Fig. 6, [0120]-[0122] disclosing the PO/subgroup as PEI indicates the PO #0 to a UE belonging to subgroup #1 from among the four POs); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to determine a paging occasion for transmitting paging based on the information (Fig. 15, 203, [0215]-[0216], [0221] disclosing 203 controls the base station and the base station transmits the PO for monitoring; for example as in Fig. 6, [0122] disclosing the PO to be monitored among the four POs as the PO corresponding to the subgroup assigned to the terminal),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the paging in the paging occasion for receiving paging (Fig. 15, 201, 202, [0215]-[0216] disclosing 202 transmits the PO for monitoring).
Regarding claim 9, Nagano appears to disclose the BS of Claim 8, wherein: the information indicating the paging occasion for receiving paging is a paging occasion index (Fig. 7 PO Indication field; [0125]); and
the processor is further configured to determine the paging occasion for transmitting paging based on the paging occasion index (Fig. 14, 0103, [0202]-[0204]; Fig. 7, [0128]).
Regarding claim 10, Nagano appears to disclose the BS of Claim 8, wherein:
the information indicating the paging occasion for receiving paging is a paging occasion index for a paging subgroup associated with a UE (Fig. 6, [0121]-[0122]); and
the processor is further configured to determine the paging occasion for receiving paging based on the paging occasion index (Fig. 6, [0121]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 12, Nagano appears to disclose the BS of Claim 8, wherein: the information indicating the paging occasion for receiving paging is a paging occasion index indicating a set of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasions for paging from a plurality of sets of PDCCH monitoring occasions for paging (Fig. 7, [0125]-[0129]); and
the processor is further configured determine that the paging occasion for transmitting paging is the set of PDCCH monitoring occasions indicated by the paging occasion index (Fig. 7, [0128], [0130]; Fig. 2, [0050]-[0051], [0054]).
Regarding claims 14-16 and 18, the claims are directed towards the method performed by the UE of claims 1-3 and 5; accordingly, claims 14-16 and 18 are rejected on the grounds presented above for claims 1-3 and 5
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7-8, 11, 13-14, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cui et al. (US 2024/0244583 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cui appears to disclose a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 18 transceiver 1830, [0206]-[0210]) configured to receive information indicating a paging occasion, from a plurality of paging occasions, for receiving paging (Fig. 6 S10, [0061]-[0062] disclosing the terminal receives the paging early indication PEI from the network device indicating to the terminal a paging occasion (PO) from a group of POs); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (Fig. 18, 1810, [0206]-[0210]), the processor configured to determine the paging occasion for receiving paging based on the information ([0058], [0062]-[0063] disclosing the PEI is used to indicate whether the terminal needs to monitor a first PO in a group of more than one PO),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to monitor the determined paging occasion for receiving paging ([0058], [0062] disclosing the terminal needs to monitor the first PO of the more than one POs).
Regarding claim 4, Cui appears to disclose the UE of Claim 1, wherein:
the information indicating the paging occasion for receiving paging is a number (K) of paging occasions for receiving paging; the UE is associated with a UE identity (UE_ID); and the processor is further configured to: determine a paging occasion index (i), where i = UE_ID mod K; determine the paging occasion based on the paging occasion index ([0050] disclosing the terminal may calculate the PO based on UE_ID…an index i_s of the PO corresponding to the terminal may be calculated according to a formula is =floor (UE ID/N) mod Ns…N represents the number of PFs in the DRX cycle; Ns represents the number of POs in one PF); and
monitor the determined paging occasion ([0058], [0062]).
Regarding claim 6, Cui appears to disclose the UE of Claim 1, wherein:
the information indicating the paging occasion is a starting physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion number ([0095]-[0098], [0102], [0104]); and
the processor is further configured to: sequentially number valid PDCCH monitoring occasions for paging occurring after an occasion in which the information indicating the paging occasion is received (Fig. 8, [0104]);
determine that the paging occasion is a set of consecutive PDCCH monitoring occasions starting from the PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging indicated by the starting PDCCH monitoring occasion number; and monitor the determined paging occasion ([0058]-[0062], [0104]-[0106]).
Regarding claim 7, Cui appears to disclose the UE of Claim 1, wherein the information indicating the paging occasion is received in a low power wakeup signal (LP WUS) occasion ([0041]).
Regarding claim 8, Cui appears to disclose a base station (BS) comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 18 transceiver 1830, [0206]-[0210]) configured to transmit information indicating a paging occasion, from a plurality of paging occasions, for receiving paging (Fig. 6 S10, [0061]-[0062] disclosing the network device transmits the paging early indication PEI to the terminal indicating to the terminal a paging occasion (PO) from a group of POs); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (Fig. 18, 1810, [0206]-[0210]), the processor configured to determine a paging occasion for transmitting paging based on the information ([0058], [0062]),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the paging in the paging occasion for receiving paging ([0058], [0062]).
Regarding claim 11, Cui appears to disclose the BS of Claim 8, wherein:
the information indicating the paging occasion for receiving paging is a number (K) of paging occasions for receiving paging; a UE is associated with a UE identity (UE_ID); and the processor is further configured to: determine a paging occasion index (i), where i = UE_ID mod K ([0050] disclosing the terminal may calculate the PO based on UE_ID…an index i_s of the PO corresponding to the terminal may be calculated according to a formula is =floor (UE ID/N) mod Ns…N represents the number of PFs in the DRX cycle; Ns represents the number of POs in one PF); and
determine the paging occasion based on the paging occasion index ([0058], [0062]).
Regarding claim 13, Cui appears to disclose the BS of Claim 8, wherein the information indicating the paging occasion is transmitted in a low power wakeup signal (LP WUS) occasion ([0041]).
Regarding claims 14, 17 and 19-20, the claims are directed towards the method performed by the UE of claims 1, 4 and 6-7; accordingly, claims 14, 17 and 19-20 are rejected on the grounds presented above for claims 1, 4 and 6-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano et al. (US 2024/0089914 A1) in view of LG Electronics, “Discussion on L1 signal design and procedure for LP-WUS, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #113, Incheon, Korea, May 22nd – 26th, 2023, R1-2305147, hereafter D1.
Regarding claim 7, Nagano does not expressly disclose the following; however, D1 suggest the UE of Claim 1, wherein the information indicating the paging occasion is received in a low power wakeup signal (LP WUS) occasion (Section 2.5.3 disclosing low power wakeup signal (e.g., LP-WUS) can function as PEI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Nagano as suggested by D1 because the suggestion lies in D1 that this can ensure the main radio is awake when it should not be in sleep mode while combining the functionality of PEI with the LP-WUS (Sections 2.5 and 2.5.3).
Regarding claim 13, Nagano does not expressly disclose the following; however, D1 suggest the BS of Claim 8, wherein the information indicating the paging occasion is transmitted in a low power wakeup signal (LP WUS) occasion (Section 2.5.3 disclosing low power wakeup signal (e.g., LP-WUS) can function as PEI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Nagano as suggested by D1 because the suggestion lies in D1 that this can ensure the main radio is awake when it should not be in sleep mode while combining the functionality of PEI with the LP-WUS (Sections 2.5 and 2.5.3).
Regarding clam 20, the claims is directed towards the method performed by the UE of claim 7; accordingly, claim 20 is rejected on the grounds presented above for claim 7.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A BEDNASH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461