Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/25/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hase et al. (US 20210197585 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hase teaches an ink-jet recording apparatus (Figure 1 displays an “image forming apparatus 100” described in paragraph [0047].) comprising:
an ink image forming unit configured to form an ink image on a recording medium (Figure 1 displays an “image forming device 3” within the “image forming apparatus 100” that forms an image on the “sheet P” described in paragraph [0056]); and
a fixing apparatus that is arranged downstream of the ink image forming unit in a conveyance direction of the recording medium (Figure 1 displays how the “drying device 6” is downstream of the “image forming device 3” with respect to the “sheet conveyance direction described in paragraph [0058]) and is configured to fix the ink image on the recording medium while pinching and conveying the recording medium (Paragraph [0058] further describes how the ”drying device 6” dries the ink on the “sheet P”. Paragraph [0151] describe how the “heat belt 48” and the “heat belt 40” are pressed together, which pinches the “sheet P” that is conveyed between the belts.),
wherein the fixing apparatus includes: a first belt configured to rotate and come into contact with the ink image formed by the ink image forming unit (Figure 17, “heat belt 40” described in paragraphs [0148] and [0150].);
a second belt configured to form a nip portion by coming into contact with the first belt (Figure 17 displays a “heat belt 48” described in paragraph [0148]. Furthermore, Figure 17 displays how the “heat belt 40” and the “heat belt 48” are pressed together.);
a first roller unit including a plurality of rollers that comes into contact with an inner circumferential surface of the first belt and on which the first belt is suspended (Figure 14 displays how the “heat belt 40” is supported by two, which is a plurality, rollers that contact the inner circumferential surface of the “heat belt 40” described as the “tension roller 41” and the “fixed roller 42” in paragraph [0097].);
a second roller unit including a plurality of rollers that comes into contact with an inner circumferential surface of the second belt and on which the second belt is suspended (Figure 14 displays how the “heat belt 48” is supported and stretched by two, which is a plurality, of “support rollers 38 and 49” that are shown to be in contact with the inner circumferential surface of the “heat belt 48” as described in paragraph [0148].);
a first heater unit that is arranged on the inner circumferential surface of the first belt and is configured to heat the nip portion contactlessly; and a second heater unit configured to heat the inner circumferential surface of the second belt contactlessly and to correspond to the second belt (Paragraph [0160] describes a halogen heater that is a non-contact heating source for the drying device. Paragraph [0098] further discloses how both the “heat belt 40” and “heat belt 48” could be heated by a heater that is a non-contact type heater.).
Regarding claim 2, Hase teaches the ink-jet recording apparatus according to claim 1, Hase further discloses wherein the fixing apparatus includes a pad member that is arranged on the inner circumferential surface of the second belt and forms the nip portion together with the first belt via the second belt (Figure 14 displays how the “support roller 38” pushes the “heat belt 48” towards the “heat belt 40” from the inner circumference of the “heat belt 48” to create the nip portion and therefore also functions as the pad of the claimed limitation.).
Regarding claim 3, Hase teaches the ink-jet recording apparatus according to claim 2, Hase further discloses wherein the second heater unit heats the inner circumferential surface of the second belt other than the nip portion (Figure 17 displays the placement for a heater “53” within the inner circumference surface of the “heat belt 48” that is not where the nip portion is. Paragraph [0098] further discloses how both the “heat belt 40” and “heat belt 48” could be heated by a heater that is a non-contact type. Therefore, a non-contact type heater may be placed where the heater “53” is placed in Figure 17.).
Regarding claim 13, Hase teaches the ink-jet recording apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a second temperature detection member configured to detect a temperature of an outer circumferential surface of the first belt (Figure 7 displays a “temperature detector 29” within one embodiment of the heating device by the “heat belt 40” described in paragraph [0097].), wherein the second temperature detection member detects the temperature of the outer circumferential surface of the first belt other than the nip portion (Figure 7 displays how the “temperature detector 29” is placed by the “heat belt 40” that is not at the nip portion described in paragraph [0097].).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hase et al. (US 20210197585 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Nakajima et al. (US 5961864).
Regarding claim 4, Hase teaches the ink-jet recording apparatus according to claim 3,
Hase fails to teach wherein the first heater unit includes a plurality of halogen heaters, and wherein the second heater unit includes a plurality of halogen heaters.
However, Nakajima teaches wherein the first heater unit includes a plurality of halogen heaters, and wherein the second heater unit includes a plurality of halogen heaters (Figures 2 and 3 display the “first heating roller 20” and the “second heating roller 21” to each have a plurality of heaters, that may be “halogens lamps, or the like”. Column 3, lines 10-19 describes these heaters and labels them as “h1”, “h2”, and “h3” for the heaters in the “first heating roller 20” and as “h4”, “h5”, and “h6” for the heaters in the “second heating roller 21”).
Hase and Nakajima are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving the use of a device to fix an image on a recording material. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink-jet recording apparatus taught by Hase to also apply wherein the first heater unit includes a plurality of halogen heaters, and wherein the second heater unit includes a plurality of halogen heaters taught by Nakajima. This would have been done for the purpose of sufficiently heating the recording material when conveyed at a high speed (Nakajima, Column 1, lines 23-26).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hase and Nakajima teaches the ink-jet recording apparatus according to claim 4, Hase further discloses wherein the halogen heaters included in the first heater unit are arranged along the conveyance direction (Figure 17 displays the “heater 50” within the “heat belt 40” is arranged along the belt and is therefore arranged along the “sheet conveyance direction”.).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hase et al. (US 20210197585 A1) and Nakajima et al. (US 5961864) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Yamada (US 20080080909 A1)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hase and Nakajima teaches the ink-jet recording apparatus according to claim 5.
Modified Hase fails to teach wherein a number of halogen heaters included in the first heater unit is greater than a number of halogen heaters included in the second heater unit.
However, Yamada teaches wherein a number of halogen heaters included in the first heater unit is greater than a number of halogen heaters included in the second heater unit (Figure 1A displays how the “heating roller 52” has more “halogen heaters 54” than the “pressure roller 55” which includes fewer “halogen heater 56” that are described in paragraph [0046]).
Modified Hase and Yamada are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving an ink-jet image forming apparatus. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink-jet recording apparatus taught by Modified Hase to also apply wherein a number of halogen heaters included in the first heater unit is greater than a number of halogen heaters included in the second heater unit taught by Yamada. This would have been done for the purpose of effectively heating and fixing the image onto the recording medium (Yamada, paragraph [0046]).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hase et al. (US 20210197585 A1), Nakajima et al. (US 5961864) and Yamada (US 20080080909 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Akio (JP 201248063 A).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Hase teaches the ink-jet recording apparatus according to claim 6.
Modified Hase fails to teach wherein the first heater unit and the second heater unit include reflectors.
However, Akio teaches wherein the first heater unit and the second heater unit include reflectors. (Figure 1 displays the “heating unit 8” that functions as a fixing device including a “first unit 6” and a “second unit 7”. The “first unit 6” and “second unit 7” includes a “reflector 62” and “reflector 72” respectively that is described in paragraph [0015].)
Modified Hase and Akio are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving an image forming apparatus. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink-jet recording apparatus taught by Modified Hase to also apply wherein the first heater unit and the second heater unit include reflectors taught by Akio. This would have been done for the purpose of deflecting the heat from the heater in a specific direction (Akio, paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Hase teaches the ink-jet recording apparatus according to claim 7.
Modified Hase fails to teach wherein the reflectors included in the first heater unit and the second heater unit are open in a same direction.
However, Akio teaches wherein the reflectors included in the first heater unit and the second heater unit are open in a same direction (Figure 1 displays how the “reflector 62” and “reflector 72” are open in the same direction as described in paragraph [0015]).
Modified Hase and Akio are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving an image forming apparatus. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink-jet recording apparatus taught by Modified Hase to also apply wherein the reflectors included in the first heater unit and the second heater unit are open in a same direction taught by Akio. This would have been done for the purpose of deflecting the heat from the heater in a specific direction (Akio, paragraph [0015]).
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hase et al. (US 20210197585 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamada (US 20050180786 A1), further referenced as “Yamada 2”.
Regarding claim 9, Hase teaches the ink-jet recording apparatus according to claim 1, Hase further discloses wherein the first roller unit includes a first roller that is arranged downstream of the nip portion in the conveyance direction (Figure 14 displays a “fixed roller 42” that is within the “heat belt 40” and is arranged downstream of the nip region in the sheet conveyance direction),
Modified Hase fails to teach wherein the ink-jet recording apparatus further includes a first temperature detection member configured to detect a temperature of the first roller.
However, Yamada 2 teaches wherein the ink-jet recording apparatus further includes a first temperature detection member configured to detect a temperature of the first roller (Figure 2 displays a “heating roller 263” that functions as the first roller that has a “temperature sensor 268” beside it to “check the temperature of the peripheral surface of the heating roller 263” as described in paragraph [0082].)
Modified Hase and Yamada 2 are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving an image forming apparatus. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink-jet recording apparatus taught by Hase to also apply wherein the ink-jet recording apparatus further includes a first temperature detection member configured to detect a temperature of the first roller taught by Yamada 2. This would have been done for the purpose of detecting the temperature of the peripheral surface of the heating roller (Yamada 2, paragraph [0082]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hase and Yamada 2 teaches the ink-jet recording apparatus according to claim 9, Hase further discloses wherein the first temperature detection member is not in contact with the first roller (Figure 7 displays the “temperature detector 29” does not contact the “fixed roller 42” that is within the “heat belt 40”.).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hase and Yamada 2 teaches the ink-jet recording apparatus according to claim 10.
Modified Hase fails to teach wherein the first roller is a metal roller.
However, Yamada 2 teaches wherein the first roller is a metal roller (Paragraph [0081] describes the “heating roller 263” as a thin cylinder made of a metal such as aluminum, carbon steel, and stainless steel.).
Modified Hase and Yamada 2 are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving an image forming apparatus. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink-jet recording apparatus taught by Hase to also apply wherein the first roller is a metal roller taught by Yamada 2. This would have been done for the purpose of uniformly heating the belt the roller supports (Yamada 2, paragraph [0081]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hase and Yamada 2 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Nozawa et al. (US 20160306306 A1) and Yamada (US 20080080909 A1)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hase and Yamada 2 teaches the ink-jet recording apparatus according to claim 11, Hase further discloses wherein the first roller unit includes a drive roller (Paragraph [0101] describes how the “tension roller 41” may also function as a drive roller.)
Modified Hase fails to teach wherein the first roller unit includes a drive roller connected to a drive source to be driven to rotate.
However, Nozawa teaches wherein the first roller unit includes a drive roller connected to a drive source to be driven to rotate (Figure 2 displays the “fixing device 1”, where the driver drives and rotates the “fixing roller 11” in the conveyance direction so the “fixing belt 12” is also rotated as described in paragraph [0040].).
Modified Hase and Nozawa are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving a fixing device. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink-jet recording apparatus taught by Modified Hase to also apply wherein the first roller unit includes a drive roller connected to a drive source to be driven to rotate taught by Nozawa. This would have been done for the purpose of rotating the belt (Nozawa, paragraph [0040].).
Modified Hase fails to teach wherein the drive roller has a rubber surface.
However, Yamada teaches wherein the drive roller has a rubber surface (Paragraph [0049] describes how the “fixing roller 51” includes a core and a “heat-resistant elastic layer made of silicone rubber”.).
Modified Hase and Yamada are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving an ink-jet image forming apparatus. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink-jet recording apparatus taught by Modified Hase to also apply wherein the drive roller has a rubber surface taught by Yamada. This would have been done for the purpose of having a heat-resistant elastic layer as the surface layer of the roller (Yamada, paragraph [0049]).
Conclusion
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/N.D.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 2853