DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3, and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (US-20230014961- A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Chen’
Regarding Claim 1,
Chen teaches a method for producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte, comprising obtaining a sulfide-based solid electrolyte recycled product (Chen, “In a method for recycling all solid-state batteries, spent battery cells are dissolved in anhydrous ethanol. The resulting solution is separated into solids and supernatants which are separately processed to regenerate the solid electrolyte and the solid electrode materials. ”, see Abstract) (B) from a liquid in which a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (A) in a sulfide-based solid electrolyte-containing mixture is dissolved in an organic solvent, wherein the sulfide-based solid electrolyte-containing mixture comprises the sulfide- based solid electrolyte (A) and another substance insoluble in the organic solvent, and the method comprises: obtaining a solid-liquid mixture by immersing the sulfide-based solid electrolyte- containing mixture in the organic solvent to dissolve the sulfide-based solid electrolyte (A) in the organic solvent while having the other substance remaining as a solid component in the organic solvent (Chen, “the dissolution step is preferably conducted under an inert gas environment, e.g., argon. The battery was stirred or physically agitated within the ethanol until all of the solid electrolyte was fully dissolved”, see [0033]) (Chen, “ dissolving spent battery cells in a solvent to form a solution; separating the solution into solids and supernatant”, see [0018]); obtaining the dried sulfide-based solid electrolyte recycled product (B) by subjecting the solid-liquid mixture to solid-liquid separation, causing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte to be deposited out from an obtained liquid fraction (Chen, “After decanting the supernatant, the dissolved solid electrolyte (SSE) within the supernatant was precipitated using vacuum evaporation by heating to a range of 40 to 100° C. for from 2-10 hours. ”, see [0034], and vaporizing the organic solvent; and subjecting the recycled product (B) to a heat treatment at 340°C or higher (Chen, “The solution was placed in a hydrothermal autoclave flask and sealed. …the excess LiOH solution was rinsed away, and the cathode particles were annealed by heating between 400-800° C. under flowing oxygen for 4-12 hours. The resulting cathode powders were evaluated and found to exhibit identical voltage profiles ”, see [0035]).
Regarding Claim 3,
Chen teaches the method for producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte according to the method for producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte according to further comprising adding one or more selected from the group consisting of a sulfur source, a phosphorus source, a halogen source, and a lithium source (Chen, “In some embodiments, the step of relithiating may include suspending the solids in in a solution of lithium salt or using hydrothermal relithiation to achieve a target stoichiometric Li ratio of 1 a solution of LiOH and rinsing excess LiOH from the solids. ”, see [0020]).
Regarding Claim 5,
Chen teaches the method for producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte according to The method for producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte according to wherein the organic solvent comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of methanol, ethanol, isopropyl alcohol, dipropylene glycol, ethyl acetate, chloroform, acetone, carbon disulfide, acetonitrile, dimethylformamide, 1,4-dioxane, N-methylformamide, tetrahydrofuran, and ethylenediamine (Chen, “In a method for recycling all solid-state batteries, spent battery cells are dissolved in anhydrous ethanol.”, see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 6,
Chen teaches the method for producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte according to the method for producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte according to wherein the sulfide-based solid electrolyte-containing mixture comprises a substance extracted from an all-solid-state battery (Chen, “In a method for recycling all solid-state batteries, spent battery cells are dissolved in anhydrous ethanol.”, see Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20230014961- A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Chen’
Regarding Claim 2,
Chen teaches the method for producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte according to the method for producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte according to wherein in the heat treatment, the recycled product (B) is heat-treated at 600°C or higher (Chen, “After relithiation, the excess LiOH solution was rinsed away, and the cathode particles were annealed by heating between 400-800° C. under flowing oxygen for 4-12 hours. The resulting cathode powders were evaluated and found to exhibit identical voltage profiles ”, see [0035]).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 400-800° C broadly overlaps the claimed range of 600°C or higher Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20230014961- A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Chen’ in view of (US-20220115718-A) hereinafter referred to as ‘Yue’
Regarding Claim 4,
Chen does not teach wherein the heat treatment is performed in a gas atmosphere containing a sulfur element.
Yue teaches wherein the heat treatment is performed in a gas atmosphere containing a sulfur element (Yue, “Optionally, the strong oxidizing gas includes any one or a combination of at least two of oxygen, chlorine, fluorine, nitrogen dioxide, ozone, and sulfur trioxide, preferably oxygen, and for example oxygen, chlorine, fluorine, or the like.”, see [0022]).
Yue teaches that this allows for decarburization in a way that reduces energy use (Yue, “The preparation method proposed in the present disclosure enables the oxidative decarburization to be performed simultaneously with the process of restoring the crystal structure of the material by sintering, whereby energy consumption and cost can be reduced.”, see [0013]).
Chen and Yue are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery recycling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught in Chen to use sulfur in addition to oxygen for an oxidizing gas to allow for decarburization with reduced energy cost.
Regarding Claim 7,
Chen does not teach the mixture comprises a substance obtained by pulverizing a battery.
Yue teaches mixture comprises a substance obtained by pulverizing a battery (Yue, “putting waste electrode sheets made of lithium iron phosphate into a tube furnace and calcining the waste electrode sheets made of lithium iron phosphate at 500° C. for 2 hours in a nitrogen atmosphere to obtain a stripped waste lithium iron phosphate material, and then pulverizing, by jet pulverization, the waste lithium iron phosphate material dry-stripped by calcination,”, see [0083]).
Yue teaches that this allows for the material desired to be separated from the rest of the waste and prepared for case decarburization in a way that reduces energy use (Yue, “ stripping a waste positive material from waste battery electrode sheets, and then crushing the waste positive material to obtain the positive material to be recycled.”, see [0037])(Yue, “The preparation method proposed in the present disclosure enables the oxidative decarburization to be performed simultaneously with the process of restoring the crystal structure of the material by sintering, whereby energy consumption and cost can be reduced.”, see [0013]).
Chen and Yue are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery recycling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught in Chen to pulverize the material in order to separate the materials and allow for decarburization with reduced energy cost.
15. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20230014961- A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Chen’ in view of (US-9484606-B1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Sloop’
Regarding Claim 8,
Chen teaches the method for producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte according to the method for producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte according to comprising performing an operation of extracting an organic component from the sulfide-based solid electrolyte-containing mixture (Chen, “In one aspect of the invention, a method for recycling all solid-state batteries having a solid electrolyte and solid electrode, the method includes: dissolving spent battery cells in a solvent to form a solution;”, see [0018])
Chen does not teach using an aprotic solvent before the immersion.
Sloop teaches sing an aprotic solvent before the immersion (Sloop, “ In other embodiments, other solvents besides water may be used in the suspension, e.g., tetrahydrofuran, acetonitrile, and hexane. When these solvents are present in the suspension, lower reaction temperatures may be used. Following the heating step at 62, method 56 proceeds to 64. At 64, method 56 includes cooling the processed spent electrode material to thereby recover a reconditioned electrode material.”, Col 12, Ln. 4).
Sloop teaches that the given solvent allows for low reaction temperatures and tailoring reaction temperatures to the regeneration of the material (Sloop, “ In other embodiments, other solvents besides water may be used in the suspension, e.g., tetrahydrofuran, acetonitrile, and hexane. When these solvents are present in the suspension, lower reaction temperatures may be used. Following the heating step at 62, method 56 proceeds to 64. At 64, method 56 includes cooling the processed spent electrode material to thereby recover a reconditioned electrode material.”, Col 12, Ln. 4) (Sloop, “ For example, a predetermined temperature range for the suspension may be 0-35° C., and the rate of addition of the methyllithium solution may be controlled so that the temperature does not exceed the upper limit of the temperature range” Col 8, Ln. 21).
Chen and Sloop are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery recycling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught in Chen to have a step of immersion in an aprotic solvent such as Sloop to tailor the regeneration reaction temperature in order to get a desired reaction result.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20230014961-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Chen’ in view of (KR-102269019-B1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Cho’
Regarding Claim 9,
Chen teaches the method for producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte according to the method for producing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte according to wherein the obtained a carbon content of 0.01 mass% or more (Chen, “Specifically, the pristine electrolyte was measured at 0.5 wt % C (upper left), recovered electrolyte had 5.2 wt % C (upper right)”, see [0037]).
Chen does not teach sulfide-based solid electrolyte has an oxygen content of 1 mass% or more.
Cho teaches teach sulfide-based solid electrolyte has an oxygen content of 1 mass% or more (Cho, “In order to achieve the above object, the present invention provides a solid electrolyte for an all-solid-state battery comprising an oxysulfide-based compound represented by the following chemical formula. LiaMbPcSdOeXf (5≤a≤7, 0⟨b≤1, 0≤c⟨1, 2.5≤d≤5, 0⟨e≤2 and 1⟨f≤1.5,”, see pg. 2)(The examiner notes that 0 to 16% by mass, when calculating the mass percentage above, overlaps the claimed range).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 0 to 16% oxygen broadly overlaps the claimed range of 1 mass% or more. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Cho teaches that a solid electrolyte with oxygen ionic conductivity and moisture stability (Cho, “electrolyte in which an anion of an existing sulfide solid electrolyte is partially substituted with oxygen, and a solid electrolyte having improved ionic conductivity and moisture stability; It relates to an all-solid-state battery including the same.”, see pg. 1),
Chen and Cho are analogous as they are both of the same field of electrolyte materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the solid state electrolyte as taught in Chen to have oxygen as taught in Cho in order to improve stability.
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752