DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground of rejection is applied to the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 60-65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koppel et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0255231).
Regarding claim 60, Koppel et al. disclose a fluid handling cassette (Figs. 1-11) comprising: a midplate (43) positioned between a rigid first plate (41) and a rigid second plate (42), the midplate (43) comprising a fluid port (Figs. 3a-d) and channel walls (Figs. 3a-d), an axis of the fluid port being parallel (Figs. 3a-d) to a face of the cassette (1), the channel walls (paragraphs 84-87) projecting from a first side (Figs. 3a-d), and a second side with a plurality of channel walls (paragraphs 84-87) projecting from the second side (Figs. 3a-d), wherein the rigid first plate (41) contacts the channel walls (paragraphs 84-87) on the first side of the midplate (43) and the rigid second plate (42) contacts the channel walls (paragraphs 84-87) on the second side of the midplate (43); and a plurality of edges (Figs. 3a-d), each of which is perpendicular and coinciding with an outer edge of the midplate (43); wherein the fluid port is located at a first edge (Figs. 3a-d) of the cassette (1) and is fluidically connected to a fluid channel defined by at least two channel walls (paragraphs 84-87).
Regarding claim 61, Koppel et al. disclose the fluid handling cassette (Figs. 1-11), wherein the midplate (43) is formed of an opaque material (paragraph 86) and the rigid first plate (41) and rigid second plate (42) are transparent or translucent (paragraph 82).
Regarding claim 62, Koppel et al. disclose the fluid handling cassette (Figs. 1-11), wherein the rigid first plate (41) and rigid second plate (42) permit transmission of laser wavelengths (the disclosed transparent material of paragraph 82 is capable of permitting laser wavelengths) and the midplate is opaque.
Regarding claim 63, Koppel et al. disclose the fluid handling cassette (Figs. 1-11), wherein the rigid first plate (41) and rigid second plate (42) are laser welded (product by process) to the midplate (43).
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product in the prior art, the claim in unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 64, Koppel et al. disclose the fluid handling cassette (Figs. 1-11), wherein the rigid first plate (41) and rigid second plate (42) are laser welded (product by process) to the channel walls.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product in the prior art, the claim in unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 65, Koppel et al. disclose a liquid handling cassette (Figs. 1-11) comprising: a rigid first plate (41); a midplate (43) positioned next to the rigid first plate (41), the mid-plate (43) comprising: a perimeter wall (Figs. 3a-d) around a pump or valve (paragraph 88) projecting from a first side of the midplate (43), the perimeter wall including a wall port (Figs. 3a-d); and an actuation channel (Figs. 3a-d) formed from two channel walls (paragraphs 84-87) projecting from the first side of the midplate (43), the actuation channel extending from the wall port in the perimeter wall (Figs 3a-d); wherein the first plate (41) contacts (paragraphs 84-87) the perimeter wall on the first side of the midplate (43), and wherein the midplate (43) is opaque (paragraph 86), the rigid first plate (41) permits transmission of laser wavelengths (the disclosed transparent material of paragraph 82 is capable of permitting laser wavelengths), and the perimeter wall is laser welded (product by process) to the rigid first plate (41).
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product in the prior art, the claim in unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 66-79 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753