Claim Rejection – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brynolfsson et al. (US 20230115732 A1) hereinafter referenced as Brynolfsson in view of Yeo (Task-Optimal Registration Cost Functions) hereinafter referenced by Yeo.
Regarding claim 1, Brynolfsson teaches the following:
A medical image display method, comprising:
"methods for creation, analysis, and/or presentation of medical image data." (Brynolfsson, [02])
receiving a plurality of medical reference images corresponding to a plurality of image sources in different formats;
"(c) receiving, by the processor, a 3D pelvic atlas image comprising [12] … the 3D pelvic atlas image received at step ( c) is selected from a set of multiple prospective 3D pelvic atlas images (e.g., multiple different 3D pelvic atlas image options, e.g., reflecting different subject body types, height/weights ranges, etc.) [16]" (Brynolfsson, [12, 16])
The multiple prospective 3D pelvic atlas images received by the processor read on receiving a series of reference images.
performing image co-registration and image segmentation based on the plurality of medical reference images to generate at least one co-registered image mask, wherein the image co-registration is performed by adjusting a coordinate transformation function in an iterative manner based pelvic atlas image with the segmentation map;
"(b) segmenting, by the processor, the 3D anatomical image of the subject to identify representations of one or more pelvic bones within the 3D anatomical image of the subject, thereby creating a 3D segmentation map aligned with the 3D anatomical image of the subject ...(d) transforming ( e.g., applying a coordinate transform to), by the processor, the 3D pelvic atlas image to co-register it with the 3D segmentation map using (i) the one or more reference pelvic bone regions identified within the pelvic atlas image and (ii) the one or more pelvic bone regions of the 3D segmentation map ( e.g., as landmarks), thereby creating a transformed 3D pelvic atlas image comprising the identified one or more pelvic lymph sub-regions thereby aligned to the 3D anatomical image and segmentation" (Brynolfsson, [12])
Brynolfsson teaches performing co-registration (alignment) and segmentation based on the plurality of atlas images to generate a transformed atlas image wherein the image co-registration is performed by applying a coordinate transform based on the pelvic atlas image with the segmentation map.
performing an image overlay according to the at least one co-registered image mask and at least one of the plurality of medical reference images to generate an overlay image;
"by transforming the pelvic atlas image to register it with the segmentation map, the pelvic lymph regions of the transformed pelvic atlas image are thereby aligned to the 3D anatomical image. Where the 3D anatomical image is (e.g., also) aligned with a 3D functional image, such as a PET image (e.g., as in a PET/CT composite image), hotspots within the 3D functional image can be identified as being located within, overlapping with and/or in close proximity to particular pelvic lymph regions." (Brynolfsson, [11])
Brynolfsson teaches performing an image overlay according to the at least one transformed atlas image and at least one of the plurality of atlas image to generate an 3D anatomical image.
However, Brynolfsson does not teach displaying a medical image according to the overlay image in the present embodiment in the same embodiment.
In a later embodiment, Brynolfsson does teach the following:
and displaying
"Segmentation maps and masks may also be displayed, for example as a graphical representation overlaid on a medical image to guide physicians and other medical practitioners." (Brynolfsson, [151])
Segmentation maps and mask comprise of segmented medical images and atlas images. Brynolfsson teaches segmentation maps and mask can be displayed in accordance to an overlay.
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the primary embodiment of Brynolfsson to display the medical image according to the overlay image as taught in the later embodiment of Brynolfsson to improve identifying and diagnosing medical illnesses and otherwise motivating experimentation and optimization.
Brynolfsson fails to co-registration is performed by adjusting a coordinate transformation function in an iterative manner based on a cost function to obtain a minimum value of the cost function;
But Yeo does. Yeo teaches the following:
co-registration is performed by adjusting a coordinate transformation function in an iterative manner based on a cost function to obtain a minimum value of the cost function;
“In this paper, we propose a framework for learning the parameters of registration cost functions – such as the tradeoff between the regularization and image similiarity term – with respect to a specific task” (Yeo, Abstract)
“Given an atlas coordinate frame and a new image, f(w, Ψ) denotes a smooth registration cost function parametrized by the weights w and transformation Ψ. For example, the parameters w can be the tradeoff between the regularization and image similarity measure. f is typically a function of the template and the input image, but we omit this dependency to simplify notation. We assume a known and fixed template. Image registration is the process of estimating Ψ* for a given set of parameters w:
A different set of parameters w will result in a different solution and thus will effectively lead to a different image coordinate system. While there are typically multiple solutions to Eq. (1), we work with a single local optimum in practice.
The results of registration are used for further tasks, such as image segmentation. We assume the task performance can be measured by a smooth cost function g, so that smaller values of g(Ψ*(w)) correspond to better task performance. g is a function of input data associated with a subject, such as its anatomical labels or functional activation map, not available to the cost function f.” (Yeo, Section 2);
Yeo teaches co-registration is performed by adjusting a coordinate transformation function in an iterative manner based on a cost function to obtain a minimum value of the cost function. Yeo employs a two-step loop, where an inner loop minimizes a registration cost function for a given weight set, and an outer loop evaluates the resulting coordinate transformation function using a task cost function. Based on this performance feedback, the weights are updated to improve the task outcome, repeating the process until the task performance is optimized.
Yeo BASE is analogous art with respect to Brynolfsson because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely medical image co-registration. Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Brynolfsson with the feature of Yeo to incorporate adjusting a coordinate transformation function in an iterative manner based on a cost function to obtain a minimum value of the cost function via a two-step loop. A person of ordinary skill in the art would do such in order to optimizes image registration cost function.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected using the same rationale or bases as applied to claim 1 and the structure mentioned.
Additionally, claim 11 recites the following structure:
An electronic device, comprising: a display; and a storage device configured to store at least one image segmentation model; and a processor coupled to the display and the storage device
"In certain embodiments, systems and methods described herein utilize an approach that combines direct (e.g., machine learning-based) segmentation of a 3D anatomical image with an atlas image approach” (Brynolfsson, [10])
“Machine learning module: As used herein, the term “machine learning module” refers to a computer implemented process (e.g., function) that implements one or more specific machine learning algorithms in order to determine, for a given input (such as an image (e.g., a 2D image; e.g., a 3D image), dataset, and the like) one or more output values" (Brynolfsson, [123])
“The computing device 3100 includes a processor 3102 , a memory 3104 , a storage device 3106 , a high-speed interface 3108 connecting to the memory 3104 and multiple high-speed expansion ports 3110 , and a low-speed interface 3112 connecting to a low-speed expansion port 3114 and the storage device 3106 . Each of the processor 3102 , the memory 3104 , the storage device 3106 , the high-speed interface 3108 , the high-speed expansion ports 3110 , and the low-speed interface 3112 , are interconnected using various busses, and may be mounted on a common motherboard or in other manners as appropriate. The processor 3102 can process instructions for execution within the computing device 3100 , including instructions stored in the memory 3104 or on the storage device 3106 to display graphical information for a GUI on an external input/output device, such as a display 3116 coupled to the high-speed interface 3108" (Brynolfsson, [287])
"segmenting, by the processor" (Brynolfsson, [12])
Brynolfsson teaches a computing device which includes a processor, a storage device, and a display. The processor executes instructions for segmentation. The storage device stores instructions which are to be executed by the processor. Thus, the storage device stores at least one image segmentation model.
Regarding claim 4, Brynolfsson in view of Yeo teaches the method of claim 1 and the following:
inputting the one of the plurality of medical reference images to a plurality of corresponding image segmentation models to generate a plurality of image masks;
"In certain embodiments, systems and methods described herein utilize an approach that combines direct (e.g., machine learning-based) segmentation of a 3D anatomical image with an atlas image approach [10] … segmenting, by the processor, the 3D anatomical image of the subject to identify representations of one or more pelvic bones within the 3D anatomical image of the subject, thereby creating a 3D segmentation map… an identification (e.g., one or more segmentation masks; e.g., one or more 3D segmentation masks, e.g., a segmentation map) of one or more pelvic lymph sub-regions in the 3D pelvic atlas image [12] … Machine learning module: As used herein, the term “machine learning module” refers to a computer implemented process (e.g., function) that implements one or more specific machine learning algorithms in order to determine, for a given input (such as an image (e.g., a 2D image; e.g., a 3D image), dataset, and the like) one or more output values [123]" (Brynolfsson, [10, 12, 123])
Brynolfsson teaches inputting the one of the plurality of atlas images to a plurality of corresponding machine learning algorithms to generate a plurality of segmentation maps/masks.
and using the one of the plurality of medical reference images as a reference image,
"atlas images (e.g., multiple different 3D pelvic atlas image options, e.g., reflecting different subject body types, height/weights ranges, etc.) [16] ... a reference pelvic bone region comprising the one or more reference pelvic bone regions identified within the particular prospective pelvic atlas image" (Brynolfsson, [16, 23])
Brynolfsson teaches using the one of the plurality of atlas images as a reference image.
and performing co-registration on at least another one of the plurality of image masks to the reference image to generate the at least one co-registered image mask.
"the 3D pelvic atlas image to co-register it with the 3D segmentation map using (i) the one or more reference pelvic bone regions identified within the pelvic atlas image and (ii) the one or more pelvic bone regions of the 3D segmentation map (e.g., as landmarks), thereby creating a transformed 3D pelvic atlas image" (Brynolfsson, [29])
Brynolfsson teaches performing co-registration on at least another one of the plurality of segmentation masks to the reference image to generate the at least one transformed atlas image.
However, Brynolfsson fail to teach all in a single embodiment.
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the primary embodiment of Brynolfsson to use the one of the plurality of atlas images as a reference image and perform co-registration on at least another one of the plurality of segmentation masks to the reference image to generate the at least one transformed atlas image as taught in the other embodiment of Brynolfsson improve identifying medical issues/illness and otherwise motivating experimentation and optimization.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected using the same rationale or bases as applied to claim 4.
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brynolfsson in view of Yeo and Kim (Jointly Aligning and Segmenting Multiple Web Photo Streams) hereinafter referenced as Kim.
Regarding claim 2, Brynolfsson in view of Yeo teaches the method of claim 1 and the following:
using the one of the plurality of medical reference images as a reference image,
"atlas images (e.g., multiple different 3D pelvic atlas image options, e.g., reflecting different subject body types, height/weights ranges, etc.) [16] ... a reference pelvic bone region comprising the one or more reference pelvic bone regions identified within the particular prospective pelvic atlas image" (Brynolfsson, [16, 23])
Brynolfsson teaches using the one of the plurality of atlas images as a reference image.
image segmentation model
"In certain embodiments, systems and methods described herein utilize an approach that combines direct (e.g., machine learning-based) segmentation of a 3D anatomical image with an atlas image approach [10] … Machine learning module: As used herein, the term “machine learning module” refers to a computer implemented process (e.g., function) that implements one or more specific machine learning algorithms in order to determine, for a given input (such as an image (e.g., a 2D image; e.g., a 3D image), dataset, and the like) one or more output values" (Brynolfsson, [10, 123])
Brynolfsson teaches segmenting image via a machine learning module.
However, Brynolfsson in view of Yeo fail to teach preforming co-registration on images followed by segmenting such image to create one co-registered image mask.
Kim teaches the following:
performing co-registration on at least another one of the plurality of medical reference images to the reference image; and inputting at least one co-registered medical reference image to at least one corresponding image segmentation model to generate the at least one co-registered image mask.
"a method to jointly perform alignment of multiple photo streams and cosegmentation of aligned images, as shown in Fig.1. In the alignment step, images of different photo sets are matched based on visual contents and associated meta-data. The alignment is a core task to build a big picture of storylines from a large number of fragmented photo streams of individual users. In the cosegmentation step, the aligned images are segmented together in order to facilitate image understanding such as pixel-level classification in the images.” (Kim, page 2)
Kim teaches performing co-registration, (alignment) on at least another one of the plurality of images to another image; and segmenting at least one the aligned images to generate the at least one aligned segmented images.
Kim BASE is analogous art with respect to Brynolfsson in view of Yeo because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely image processing. Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Brynolfsson in view of Yeo to perform co-registration, (alignment) on at least another one of the plurality of images to another image; and segment at least one the aligned images to generate the at least one aligned segmented images as taught by Kim in order to improve grouping and visualization.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected using the same rationale or bases as applied to claim 2.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brynolfsson in view of Yeo, Kim, and Kong (CN104933672A), hereinafter referenced as Kong.
Regarding claim 3, Brynolfsson in view of Yeo and Kim teaches the method of claim 2 and the following:
reference images
"atlas images (e.g., multiple different 3D pelvic atlas image options, e.g., reflecting different subject body types, height/weights ranges, etc.) [16] ... a reference pelvic bone region comprising the one or more reference pelvic bone regions identified within the particular prospective pelvic atlas image" (Brynolfsson, [16, 23])
Brynolfsson teaches using the one of the plurality of atlas images as a reference image.
and performing co-registration on the at least another one of the plurality of medical reference images to the reference image.
"coarse registration comprises determining a registration transformation that that aligns (i) a reference pelvic bone region comprising the one or more reference pelvic bone regions identified within the 3D pelvic atlas image [e.g., a reference pelvic bone mask and/or distance map created therefrom that represent a combined pelvic bone region comprising the one or more reference pelvic bones (together)] to (ii) a target pelvic bone region comprising the one or more pelvic bone regions of the 3D segmentation map [e.g., a reference pelvic bone mask and/or distance map created therefrom that represent a combined pelvic bone region comprising the one or more reference pelvic bone regions (together)]; " (Brynolfsson, [22])
Brynolfsson teaches performing co-registration (alignment) on the at least another one of the plurality of atlas images to the reference image. Moreover, Brynolfsson shows how to align and co-register medical images to a reference pelvic bone region to a target pelvic bone region which can consist of one or more reference pelvic bone regions.
However, Brynolfsson in view of Yeo and Kim fail to teach how to adjust the image resolution of two medical images to be the same.
Kong teaches the following:
adjusting an image resolution of the at least another one of the plurality of medical reference images to be the same as an image resolution of the reference image;
"fast convex optimization algorithm includes the following steps: adjusting the resolution of ultrasound and CT images to be the same;" (Kong, [1])
Kong teaches adjusting an image resolution of the at least another one of the plurality of medical reference images to be the same as an image resolution of the reference image.
Kong BASE is analogous art with respect to Brynolfsson because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely medical imaging. Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Brynolfsson in view of Yeo and Kim to adjust an image resolution of the at least another one of the plurality of medical reference images to be the same as an image resolution of the reference image as taught by Kong in order to improve the accuracy of the medical image.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected using the same rationale or bases as applied to claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Brynolfsson in view of Yeo, Kim and Kong teaches the method of claim 4 and the following:
reference images
"atlas images (e.g., multiple different 3D pelvic atlas image options, e.g., reflecting different subject body types, height/weights ranges, etc.) [16] ... a reference pelvic bone region comprising the one or more reference pelvic bone regions identified within the particular prospective pelvic atlas image" (Brynolfsson, [16, 23])
Brynolfsson teaches using the one of the plurality of atlas images as a reference image.
image masks
"segmenting, by the processor, the 3D anatomical image of the subject to identify representations of one or more pelvic bones within the 3D anatomical image of the subject, thereby creating a 3D segmentation map… an identification (e.g., one or more segmentation masks; e.g., one or more 3D segmentation masks [12]" (Brynolfsson, [10, 12])
Brynolfsson teaches that atlas images can be segmented to create segmentation maps/masks.
and performing the co-registration on the at least another one of the plurality of image masks to the reference image.
"the 3D pelvic atlas image to co-register it with the 3D segmentation map using (i) the one or more reference pelvic bone regions identified within the pelvic atlas image and (ii) the one or more pelvic bone regions of the 3D segmentation map " (Brynolfsson, [29])
Brynolfsson teaches performing the co-registration on the at least another one of the plurality of segmentation map to the reference image.
Kong teaches the following:
adjusting an image resolution of the at least another one of the plurality of image masks to be the same as an image resolution of the reference image;
"fast convex optimization algorithm includes the following steps: adjusting the resolution of ultrasound and CT images to be the same;" (Kong, [1])
Kong teaches adjusting an image resolution of the at least another one of the plurality of medical reference images to be the same as an image resolution of the reference image.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust an image resolution of the at least another one of the plurality of medical reference images to be the same as an image resolution of the reference image as taught by Kong in order to improve the accuracy of the medical image.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected using the same rationale or bases as applied to claim 15.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 8, 16, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brynolfsson in view of Yeo and Shanbhag et al. (US 20240029415 A1), hereinafter referenced as Shanbhag.
Regarding claim 6, Brynolfsson in view of Yeo teaches the method of claim 1 and the following:
co-registered image mask
"the 3D pelvic atlas image to co-register it with the 3D segmentation map using (i) the one or more reference pelvic bone regions identified within the pelvic atlas image and (ii) the one or more pelvic bone regions of the 3D segmentation map (e.g., as landmarks), thereby creating a transformed 3D pelvic atlas image" (Brynolfsson, [29])
Brynolfsson teaches performing co-registration (alignment) and segmentation based on the plurality of atlas images to generate a transformed atlas image, which reads on a co-registered image mask.
medical reference images
"the 3D pelvic atlas image received at step ( c) is selected from a set of multiple prospective 3D pelvic atlas images (e.g., multiple different 3D pelvic atlas image options, e.g., reflecting different subject body types, height/weights ranges, etc.)" (Brynolfsson, [16])
Brynolfsson teaches of an atlas image which comprise of different medical images.
However, Brynolfsson in view of Yeo fail to explicitly teach overlaying a mask with a reference image.
Shanbhag teaches the following:
performing the image overlay according to image mask and the plurality of medical reference images to generate the overlay image.
"FIG. 9, an anatomy mask may be overlaid on the reference case" (Shanbhag , [98])
Shanbhag teaches performing the image overlay according to anatomy mask and the reference case to generate the overlay image, as showed in FIG. 9 below.
Shanbhag BASE is analogous art with respect to Brynolfsson in view of Yeo because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely medical imaging. Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Brynolfsson in view of Yeo to perform the image overlay according to anatomy mask and the reference case to generate the overlay image as taught by Shanbhag in order to improve medical accuracy.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected using the same rationale or bases as applied to claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Brynolfsson in view of Yeo teaches the method of claim 1 and the following:
co-registered image masks
"the 3D pelvic atlas image to co-register it with the 3D segmentation map using (i) the one or more reference pelvic bone regions identified within the pelvic atlas image and (ii) the one or more pelvic bone regions of the 3D segmentation map (e.g., as landmarks), thereby creating a transformed 3D pelvic atlas image" (Brynolfsson, [29])
"Turning to FIG. 7 in certain embodiments, step 714 is repeated for multiple pelvic atlas images—that is, multiple pelvic atlas images 712 may be co-registered with segmentation map 710." (Brynolfsson, [197])
Brynolfsson teaches performing co-registration (alignment) and segmentation based on the plurality of atlas images to generate a transformed atlas image, which reads on a co-registered image mask. Brynolfsson also teaches these steps can be repeated to create multiple a transformed atlas images, which reads on co-registered image masks.
medical reference images
"the 3D pelvic atlas image received at step ( c) is selected from a set of multiple prospective 3D pelvic atlas images (e.g., multiple different 3D pelvic atlas image options, e.g., reflecting different subject body types, height/weights ranges, etc.)" (Brynolfsson, [16])
Brynolfsson teaches of an atlas image which comprise of different medical images.
Shanbhag teaches the following:
performing the image overlay according to a plurality masks and the one of the plurality of medical reference images to generate the overlay image.
"FIG. 9, an anatomy mask may be overlaid on the reference case" (Shanbhag , [98])
Shanbhag teaches performing the image overlay according to anatomy mask and the reference case to generate the overlay image, as showed in FIG. 9 below.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Brynolfsson in view of Yeo to perform the image overlay according to anatomy mask and the reference case to generate the overlay image as taught by Shanbhag in order to improve medical accuracy.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected using the same rationale or bases as applied to claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Brynolfsson in view of Yeo teaches the method of claim 1 and the following:
co-registered image masks
"the 3D pelvic atlas image to co-register it with the 3D segmentation map using (i) the one or more reference pelvic bone regions identified within the pelvic atlas image and (ii) the one or more pelvic bone regions of the 3D segmentation map (e.g., as landmarks), thereby creating a transformed 3D pelvic atlas image" (Brynolfsson, [29])
"Turning to FIG. 7 in certain embodiments, step 714 is repeated for multiple pelvic atlas images—that is, multiple pelvic atlas images 712 may be co-registered with segmentation map 710." (Brynolfsson, [197])
Brynolfsson teaches performing co-registration (alignment) and segmentation based on the plurality of atlas images to generate a transformed atlas image, which reads on a co-registered image mask. Brynolfsson also teaches these steps can be repeated to create multiple a transformed atlas images, which reads on co-registered image masks.
medical reference images
"the 3D pelvic atlas image received at step ( c) is selected from a set of multiple prospective 3D pelvic atlas images (e.g., multiple different 3D pelvic atlas image options, e.g., reflecting different subject body types, height/weights ranges, etc.)" (Brynolfsson, [16])
Brynolfsson teaches of an atlas image which comprise of different medical images.
Shanbhag teaches the following:
performing the image overlay according to a plurality masks and the one of the plurality of medical reference images to generate the overlay image.
"FIG. 9, an anatomy mask may be overlaid on the reference case" [98]
Shanbhag teaches performing the image overlay according to anatomy mask and the reference case to generate the overlay image, as showed in FIG. 9 below.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Brynolfsson in view of Yeo to perform the image overlay according to anatomy mask and the reference case to generate the overlay image as taught by Shanbhag in order to improve medical accuracy.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected using the same rationale or bases as applied to claim 8.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brynolfsson in view of Yeo, Shanbhag, and Ou (CN109157284A), hereinafter referenced as Ou.
Regarding claim 9, Brynolfsson in view of Yeo teaches the method of claim 1 and the following:
medical images
"the 3D pelvic atlas image received at step (c) is selected from a set of multiple prospective 3D pelvic atlas images (e.g., multiple different 3D pelvic atlas image options, e.g., reflecting different subject body types, height/weights ranges, etc.)" (Brynolfsson, [16])
Brynolfsson teaches of an atlas image which comprise of different medical images.
Shanbhag teaches of an overlay image. Shanbhag teaches the following:
the overlay image.
"FIG. 9, an anatomy mask may be overlaid on the reference case" [98]
Shanbhag teaches of an image overlay according to anatomy mask and the reference case, as showed in FIG. 9 below.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Brynolfsson in view of Yeo to perform the image overlay according to anatomy mask and the reference case to generate the overlay image as taught by Shanbhag in order to improve medical accuracy.
Brynolfsson in view of Yeo and Shanbhag fails to teach the calculations needed for displaying an image in accordance with a three-dimensional display.
Ou teaches the following:
the image is volume data, and displaying the image
"In this embodiment, the volume data to be 3D modeled is obtained from the preprocessed image...synthesized with naked-eye stereoscopic imaging. A three-dimensional model of the brain can be seen on a naked-eye 3D display." (Ou, [73])
Ou teaches the preprocessed image is volume data, and displaying the image on a naked-eye 3D display.
calculating a plurality of light paths corresponding to a three-dimensional display;
"The ray simulation of the data extraction is that a ray is projected from the viewpoint position onto the bounding box. The ray passing through the bounding box is equivalent to the ray passing through the volume data." (Ou, [73])
Ou teaches calculating a plurality of rays corresponding to a bounding box.
matching the plurality of light paths with eye coordinates to determine a plurality of light projection paths;
"the direction of the ray projection can be uniquely determined based on the viewpoint position and the point coordinates on the surface of the bounding box, thereby determining the incident ray." (Ou, [73])
Ou teaches matching the plurality of rays with viewpoint positions to determine a plurality of incident rays.
determining a plurality of sampling data corresponding to a plurality of pixels of the three-dimensional display according to the overlay image and the plurality of light projection paths
" In this embodiment, the volume data to be 3D modeled is obtained from the preprocessed image ... the direction of the ray projection can be uniquely determined based on the viewpoint position and the point coordinates on the surface of the bounding box, thereby determining the incident ray … Then, the light is sampled. The so-called light resampling means sampling the light between the incident point and the exit point of the bounding box. During sampling, the color value and opacity value of each sampling point are calculated. Finally, the three-dimensional image is obtained by image synthesis" (Ou, [73])
Ou teaches determining a plurality of sampling data corresponding to a plurality of color value and opacity value of each sampling point of the bounding box according to the preprocessed image and the plurality of incident rays.
to generate display data; and displaying the medical image according to the display data.
"The depth calculation of the model is performed by the calculation plugin and synthesized with naked-eye stereoscopic imaging. A three-dimensional model of the brain can be seen on a naked-eye 3D display. " (Ou, [73])
Ou teaches generating naked-eye stereoscopic imaging; and displaying three-dimensional model of the brain can be seen on a naked-eye 3D display.
Ou is analogous art with respect to Brynolfsson in view of Yeo and Shanbhag because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely medical imaging. Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Brynolfsson in view of Yeo and Shanbhag to use the preprocessed image the volume data, and display the image on a naked-eye 3D display; to calculate a plurality of rays corresponding to a bounding box; to match the plurality of rays with viewpoint positions to determine a plurality of incident rays; to determine a plurality of sampling data corresponding to a plurality of color value and opacity value of each sampling point of the bounding box according to the preprocessed image and the plurality of incident rays; and generate naked-eye stereoscopic imaging; and to display three-dimensional model of the brain can be seen on a naked-eye 3D display as taught by Ou in order to improve upon display data and diagnostic information.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected using the same rationale or bases as applied to claim 9.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brynolfsson in view of Yeo and Ou.
Regarding claim 10, Brynolfsson in view of Yeo teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Brynolfsson in view of Yeo fails to teach a displaying a medical image by a naked-eye three-dimensional display.
But, Ou does. Ou teaches the following:
the medical image is displayed by a naked-eye three-dimensional image display.
"A three-dimensional model of the brain can be seen on a naked-eye 3D display." (Ou, [73])
Ou teaches a three-dimensional model of the brain is displayed by a naked-eye three-dimensional image display.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Brynolfsson in view of Yeo to use a three-dimensional model of the brain to be displayed by a naked-eye three-dimensional image display in order to improve upon display data and diagnostic information.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected using the same rationale or bases as applied to claim 10.
Response to Argument
Applicant argues:
“Regarding independent claim 1, Applicant respectfully submits that Brynolfsson fails
to disclose the features "wherein the image co-registration is performed by adjusting a
coordinate transformation function in an iterative manner based on a cost function to obtain a
minimum value of the cost function" as recited in claim 1.
Paragraphs [0011, 0012, 0016, 0151] of Brynolfsson teach that the multiple prospective 3D pelvic atlas images received by the processor; the 3D anatomical image segmented to creating a bone regions of 3D segmentation map, then transforming 3D pelvic atlas image to co-register it with bone regions of the 3D segmentation map to create a transformed 3D pelvic atlas image aligned to the 3D anatomical image.
However, Brynolfsson does not teach transforming 3D pelvic atlas image to co-register it with bone regions of the 3D segmentation map in an iterative manner based on a cost function to obtain a minimum value of the cost function. Therefore, Brynolfsson does not teach "wherein the image co-registration is performed by adjusting a coordinate transformation function in an iterative manner based on a cost function to obtain a minimum value of the cost function" in claim 1.”
Examiner response:
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 06/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC § 103, regarding the newly recited claim language, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yeo (Task-Optimal Registration Cost Functions) necessitated by the amendment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNE NGOC NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2618
/DEVONA E FAULK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2618