CTNF 18/784,820 CTNF 84958 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-5, 9, 11-15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Cao et al (US 2022/0338212)(hereinafter Cao) . Regarding claim 1, Cao discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (e.g., UE 120), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: transmit, to a network device (e.g., BS 110), a first indication of a minimum time associated with switching between a first frequency used for downlink (DL) communication and a second frequency used for uplink (UL) communication (see Cao, p. [0061], e.g., the UE 120 is configured to report its capability of uplink data preparation time (e.g., the minimum time) in which the UE 120 can prepare uplink data for transmission while also accommodating for UL Tx switching time to the BS 110, and Fig. 4, p. [0104-0118]); receive, from the network device via the first frequency, a second indication scheduling an UL communication at a time that is no sooner than the minimum time after the second indication is received (see Cao, p. [0064], e.g., The BS 110 may schedule the UE 120 with such resources, such as by transmitting one or more uplink grants of the resources to the UE 120 in a downlink (e.g., PDCCH), and p. [0090], e.g., At 310, the UE receives an indication of uplink scheduling from the BS based on the reporting, and Fig. 4, p. [0104-0118]); switch from the first frequency to the second frequency based on the second indication (see Cao, p. [0090], e.g., an indication of uplink data preparation time of the UE, wherein the UL Tx switching time is a time for the UE to switch between transmitting on different frequency bands, and Fig. 4, p. [0104-0118]); and transmit the scheduled UL communication via the second frequency (see Cao, p. [0090], e.g., At 315, the UE communicates with the BS based on the uplink scheduling, and Fig. 4, p. [0104-0118]). Regarding claim 2, Cao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the minimum time is indicated as a number of at least one of slots, symbols (see Cao, p. [0058-0070], [0061], [0091], e.g., the UL Tx switching time comprises a number of symbols), or milliseconds. Regarding claim 3, Cao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first indication is an index into an indexed set of candidate minimum times (see Cao, p. [0062], e.g., the UL Tx switching time and/or the uplink data preparation time is reported from the UE 120 to the BS 110 as an index value, and p. [0094]). Regarding claim 4, Cao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first indication is a set of indexes comprising a first index associated with a first number of slots and a second index associated with a second number of symbols, wherein the minimum time is indicated to be the first number of slots plus the second number of symbols (see Cao, p. [0062], e.g., The UE 120 and BS 110 may be configured with a mapping of index values (e.g., a separate mapping for each of UL Tx switching time and/or uplink data preparation time) to numbers of symbols and/or time values, and p.[0095], e.g., the indication of uplink data preparation time comprises an index that maps to a time). Regarding claim 5, Cao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first indication is of a UE category associated with the minimum time (see Cao, p. [0061], e.g., UL Tx switching time (e.g., the minimum time) in which the UE 120 can perform UL Tx switching to the BS 110). Regarding claim 9, Cao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a flexible slot is scheduled based on the minimum time (see Cao, p. [0050], e.g., a subframe contains a variable number of slots (e.g., 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, . . . slots) depending on the subcarrier spacing, and p. [0062], [0086], e.g., uplink data preparation time is based on the SCS used for communication on the uplink between the UE 120 and the BS 110). Regarding claim 11, Cao discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (e.g., UE 120), comprising: transmitting, to a network device (e.g., BS 110), a first indication of a minimum time associated with switching between a first frequency used for downlink (DL) communication and a second frequency used for uplink (UL) communication (see Cao, p. [0061], e.g., the UE 120 is configured to report its capability of uplink data preparation time (e.g., the minimum time) in which the UE 120 can prepare uplink data for transmission while also accommodating for UL Tx switching time) to the BS 110, and Fig. 4, p. [0104-0118]); receiving, from the network device via the first frequency, a second indication scheduling an UL communication at a time that is no sooner than the minimum time after the second indication is received (see Cao, p. [0064], e.g., The BS 110 may schedule the UE 120 with such resources, such as by transmitting one or more uplink grants of the resources to the UE 120 in a downlink (e.g., PDCCH), and p. [0090], e.g., At 310, the UE receives an indication of uplink scheduling from the BS based on the reporting, and Fig. 4, p. [0104-0118]); switching from the first frequency to the second frequency based on the second indication(see Cao, p. [0090], e.g., an indication of uplink data preparation time of the UE, wherein the UL Tx switching time is a time for the UE to switch between transmitting on different frequency bands, and Fig. 4, p. [0104-0118]); and transmitting the scheduled UL communication via the second frequency(see Cao, p. [0090], e.g., At 315, the UE communicates with the BS based on the uplink scheduling, and Fig. 4, p. [0104-0118]). Regarding claim 12, Cao discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the minimum time is indicated as a number of at least one of slots, symbols (see Cao, p. [0061], [0091], e.g., the UL Tx switching time comprises a number of symbols), or milliseconds. Regarding claim 13, Cao discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the first indication is an index into an indexed set of candidate minimum times (see Cao, p. [0062], e.g., the UL Tx switching time and/or the uplink data preparation time is reported from the UE 120 to the BS 110 as an index value, and p. [0094]). Regarding claim 14, Cao discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the first indication is a set of indexes comprising a first index associated with a first number of slots and a second index associated with a second number of symbols, wherein the minimum time is indicated to be the first number of slots plus the second number of symbols (see Cao, p. [0062], e.g., The UE 120 and BS 110 may be configured with a mapping of index values (e.g., a separate mapping for each of UL Tx switching time and/or uplink data preparation time) to numbers of symbols and/or time values, and p.[0095], e.g., the indication of uplink data preparation time comprises an index that maps to a time). Regarding claim 15, Cao discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the first indication is of a UE category associated with the minimum time (see Cao, p. [0061], e.g., UL Tx switching time (e.g., the minimum time) in which the UE 120 can perform UL Tx switching to the BS 110). Regarding claim 19, Cao discloses the method of claim 11, wherein a flexible slot is scheduled based on the minimum time (see Cao, p. [0050], e.g., a subframe contains a variable number of slots (e.g., 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, . . . slots) depending on the subcarrier spacing, and p. [0062], [0086], e.g., uplink data preparation time is based on the SCS used for communication on the uplink between the UE 120 and the BS 110). Regarding claim 20, Cao discloses the computer-readable medium storing computer executable code at a user equipment (UE) (e.g., UE 120), the computer executable code when executed by a processor causes the processor to: transmit, to a network device (e.g., BS 110), a first indication of a minimum time associated with switching between a first frequency used for downlink (DL) communication and a second frequency used for uplink (UL) communication(see Cao, p. [0061], e.g., the UE 120 is configured to report its capability of uplink data preparation time (e.g., the minimum time) in which the UE 120 can prepare uplink data for transmission while also accommodating for UL Tx switching time) to the BS 110, and Fig. 4, p. [0104-0118]); receive, from the network device via the first frequency, a second indication scheduling an UL communication at a time that is no sooner than the minimum time after the second indication is received (see Cao, p. [0064], e.g., The BS 110 may schedule the UE 120 with such resources, such as by transmitting one or more uplink grants of the resources to the UE 120 in a downlink (e.g., PDCCH), and p. [0090], e.g., At 310, the UE receives an indication of uplink scheduling from the BS based on the reporting, and Fig. 4, p. [0104-0118]); switch from the first frequency to the second frequency based on the second indication(see Cao, p. [0090], e.g., an indication of uplink data preparation time of the UE, wherein the UL Tx switching time is a time for the UE to switch between transmitting on different frequency bands, and Fig. 4, p. [0104-0118]); and transmit the scheduled UL communication via the second frequency(see Cao, p. [0090], e.g., At 315, the UE communicates with the BS based on the uplink scheduling, and Fig. 4, p. [0104-0118]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Tabet et al (US 2016/0337107) (hereinafter Tabet) Regarding claim 6, Cao discloses NR may utilize OFDM with a CP on the uplink and downlink and include support for half-duplex operation using TDD (see Cao, p. [0051]). However, Cao does not expressly disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are associated with a half-duplex (HD) frequency division duplexing (FDD) (HD-FDD) mode of operation. Tabet discloses the above recited limitations (see Tabet, p. [0096], e.g., The capabilities may indicate that the UE supports full duplex frequency division duplexing (FD-FDD) (full duplex mode of operation), half duplex FDD (HD-FDD) (half duplex mode of operation), or both (although not concurrently), and p. [0092], e.g., the second mode of operation may be the half duplex mode of operation). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Tabet’s teachings into Cao. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide half duplex mode of operation to indicate the UE is a power constrained device. Regarding claim 16, the combined teaching of Cao and Tabet disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are associated with a half-duplex (HD) frequency division duplexing (FDD) (HD-FDD) mode of operation (see Tabet, p. [0089], [0096], e.g., The capabilities may indicate that the UE supports full duplex frequency division duplexing (FD-FDD) (full duplex mode of operation), half duplex FDD (HD-FDD) (half duplex mode of operation), or both (although not concurrently), and p. [0092], e.g., the second mode of operation may be the half duplex mode of operation) . 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim s 7-8, 10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Hao et al (US 2022/0386337) (hereinafter Hao) . Regarding claim 7, Cao does not expressly disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the minimum time is based on a difference between the first frequency and the second frequency. Hao discloses the above recited limitations (see Hao, Fig. 4, p. [0024], [0106-0114], e.g., a UE may have two transmit chains where a first transmit chain may support a first component carrier (e.g., high band (e.g., 3.5 GHz) TDD component carrier) and a second component carrier (e.g., low band (e.g., 2.1 GHz) FDD component carrier) and a second transmit chain may support the first component carrier, and p. [0114], e.g., Gap 425-a may be defined from the start of retuning duration 420-a to the end of retuning duration 420-b). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hao’s teachings into Cao. The suggestion/motivation would have been to perform at most one switching operation per resource as suggested by Hao. Regarding claim 8, the combined teaching of Cao and Hao disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the UE does not expect DL communication during a first window preceding a beginning of the scheduled UL communication (see Hao, Fig. 4, p. [0108], e.g., CC2 435) or during a second window following an end of the scheduled UL communication, wherein the first window and the second window span at least the minimum time (see Hao, Fig. 5, p. [0150], e.g., the gap between two consecutive uplink carrier switching operations may be limited to a duration (e.g., 14 symbols, 14 ms), such that the UE may expect to perform at most one switching operation per a duration less than or equal to a threshold). Regarding claim 10, the combined teaching of Cao and Hao disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the minimum time is a first minimum time associated with switching from the first frequency used for DL communication to the second frequency used for UL communication and a second minimum time associated with switching from the second frequency used for UL communication to the first frequency used for DL communication and the UE does not expect DL communication during a first window spanning at least the first minimum time preceding a beginning of the scheduled UL communication or during a second window spanning at least the second minimum time following an end of the scheduled UL communication (see Hao, Fig. 4, p. [0108], Fig. 5, p. [0150], e.g., the gap between two consecutive uplink carrier switching operations may be limited to a duration (e.g., 14 symbols, 14 ms), such that the UE may expect to perform at most one switching operation per a duration less than or equal to a threshold). Regarding claim 17, the combined teaching of Cao and Hao disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the minimum time is based on a difference between the first frequency and the second frequency (see Hao, Fig. 4, p. [0024], [0106-0114], e.g., a UE may have two transmit chains where a first transmit chain may support a first component carrier (e.g., high band (e.g., 3.5 GHz) TDD component carrier) and a second component carrier (e.g., low band (e.g., 2.1 GHz) FDD component carrier) and a second transmit chain may support the first component carrier, and p. [0114], e.g., Gap 425-a may be defined from the start of retuning duration 420-a to the end of retuning duration 420-b). Regarding claim 18, the combined teaching of Cao and Hao disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the UE does not expect DL communication during a first window preceding a beginning of the scheduled UL communication (see Hao, Fig. 4, p. [0108], e.g., CC2 435) or during a second window following an end of the scheduled UL communication, wherein the first window and the second window span at least the minimum time (see Hao, Fig. 5, p. [0150], e.g., the gap between two consecutive uplink carrier switching operations may be limited to a duration (e.g., 14 symbols, 14 ms), such that the UE may expect to perform at most one switching operation per a duration less than or equal to a threshold). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MINH TRANG T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)270-5248. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30am-6:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag C Shah can be reached at 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MINH TRANG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/784,820 Page 2 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/784,820 Page 3 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/784,820 Page 4 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/784,820 Page 5 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/784,820 Page 6 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/784,820 Page 7 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/784,820 Page 8 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/784,820 Page 9 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/784,820 Page 10 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/784,820 Page 11 Art Unit: 2477