DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 55, 58, 59, 63, 93 and 94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 55 line 2, it is unclear if the recitation “a casing” is intended to reference the previously recited casing (cl. 1 line 9), or another casing.
Regarding claim 55 line 3, it is unclear if the recitation “a shaft” is intended to reference the previously recited shaft (cl. 1 line 2), or another shaft.
Regarding claim 55 line 4, it is unclear if the recitation “a vane assembly” is intended to reference the previously recited vane assembly (cl. 1 line 1), or another vane assembly.
Regarding claim 55 line 9, it is unclear if the recitation “a dam sealing portion” is intended to reference the previously recited dam sealing portion (cl. 1 line 4), or another dam sealing portion.
Claim 86 recites the limitation "the dam sealing portion" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 17-19, and 72-74 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP H06129467-A to Kashima et al.
Re-claim 1, Kashima et al. disclose a vane assembly for a snubber, the vane assembly comprising: a hub 14 for mounting on a shaft (not shown, an internal connection thread is shown at one distal end of the hub, see figure 2) of the snubber to rotate with the shaft about a snubber axis, the hub has an inner surface (internal thread) for mounting on the shaft and an outer surface with a vane mounting portion (splines 17) and a dam sealing portion (as part of dam 2); a vane 7 is removably secured to the hub to rotate with the hub about the snubber axis, the vane extends from the hub in a vane-vertical direction and defines at least a distal portion of an outer contour of the vane assembly, the vane has a hub facing surface (spline surfaces of 8) for mounting to the vane mounting portion of the hub; a seal assembly (such as seal 19) provides a seal between a casing 5 of the snubber and the vane assembly (see figure 2).
Re-claim 2, the vane 7 comprises a pedestal (interpreted as 8) removably secured to the hub 14 and a nose 28 removably secured to the pedestal opposite the hub. The nose (or ball element) can be removed if necessary, as it is a separate element from the pedestal, or vane.
Re-claim 17, the hub comprises a pressure conduit (such as part of 25, 26, 27, 29 and 30) that extends from a pressure inlet to a pressure outlet in a seal channel of the hub, the pressure conduit allowing flow from the pressure inlet to the pressure outlet to pressurize at least a portion of the seal channel. Fluid from channel 26 reaches seal 19.
Re-claim 18, a conduit flow control device (such as 31/32) restrict reverse flow in the pressure conduit from the pressure outlet to the pressure inlet.
Re-claim 19, the conduit flow control device is a check valve 32 provided along the pressure conduit between the pressure inlet and the pressure outlet.
Re-claim 72, Kashima et al. disclose a vane assembly for a snubber, the vane assembly comprising: a hub 14 for mounting on a shaft (at threaded section of the hub) of the snubber to rotate with the shaft about a snubber axis, the hub having an inner surface (such as the inner threaded surface) for mounting on the shaft and an outer surface (splines 17) with a vane 7 extending radially outwardly from the outer surface; a seal assembly (such as at least 19) for providing a seal between a casing of the snubber and the vane assembly.
Re-claim 73, the hub comprises a pressure conduit (such as part of 25, 26, 27, 29 and 30) that extends from a pressure inlet to a pressure outlet in a seal channel of the hub, the pressure conduit allowing flow from the pressure inlet to the pressure outlet to pressurize at least a portion of the seal channel.
Re-claim 74, a conduit flow control device 32 restricts reverse flow in the pressure conduit from the pressure outlet to the pressure inlet.
Claim(s) 1, 55, 58, 63, 64, 70, 72, 86 and 94 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3,126,910 to Reed.
Re-claim 1, Reed discloses a vane assembly for a snubber, the vane assembly comprising: a hub 14 for mounting on a shaft 40 of the snubber to rotate with the shaft about a snubber axis, the hub has an inner surface (at 42, see figure 1) for mounting on the shaft and an outer surface with a vane mounting portion and a dam sealing portion 64; a vane 48/50 is removably secured to the hub to rotate with the hub about the snubber axis (via bolt 52), the vane extends from the hub in a vane-vertical direction and defines at least a distal portion of an outer contour of the vane assembly, the vane has a hub facing surface for mounting to the vane mounting portion of the hub; a seal assembly 54 provides a seal between a casing 10 of the snubber and the vane assembly.
Re-claim 55, Reed further discloses the snubber comprising: the casing 10 having an internal cavity, the shaft extends through the casing into the internal cavity; the vane assembly is secured on the shaft within the internal cavity to rotate with the shaft about the snubber axis and through a vane-swept region within the internal cavity, the outer contour of the vane assembly 48 corresponds to an inner contour of the internal cavity in the vane-swept region, the seal assembly 54 provides a seal between the vane assembly and the casing; a dam 58 is secured to the casing within the internal cavity and engaging the dam sealing portion of the hub of the vane assembly, the dam and the vane assembly divide the internal cavity into a first pressure chamber (such as one of 66 or 68) and an opposing second pressure chamber (such as on of 70 or 72), a fluid control passage (see 80 or 90) is provided between the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber, to control fluid flow between the first and second pressure chambers as the vane assembly rotates.
Re-claim 58, the bellows and piston structure (96/98) operate as an accumulator (see column 3 lines 1-5) in fluid communication with the fluid control passage 80, the accumulator is housed within the casing.
Re-claim 63, the bellows and piston structure (96/98) operate as an accumulator (see column 3 lines 1-5) in fluid communication with the internal cavity, the accumulator is housed completely within the casing.
Re-claim 64, Reed discloses snubber comprising: a casing 10 having an internal cavity; a shaft 40 extends through the casing and into the internal cavity; a vane assembly 48 is secured on the shaft (via hub 14) within the internal cavity to rotate with the shaft about a snubber axis and through a vane-swept region within the internal cavity; a dam 58 is secured to the casing within the internal cavity and engages the vane assembly (via the hub 14) such that the dam and the vane assembly divide the internal cavity into a first pressure chamber and a second pressure chamber; an accumulator (elements 96/98) is in fluid communication with the internal cavity, the accumulator is housed completely within the casing 10.
Re-claim 70, the accumulator is in fluid communication with the internal cavity via a flow path 80 that includes at least one flow control device 102.
Re-claim 72, Reed discloses a vane assembly for a snubber, the vane assembly comprising: a hub 14 for mounting on a shaft 40 of the snubber to rotate with the shaft about a snubber axis, the hub has an inner surface for mounting on the shaft (see splines 42) and an outer surface with a vane 48/50 extending radially outwardly from the outer surface; a seal assembly 54 provides a seal between a casing 10 of the snubber and the vane assembly.
Re-claim 86, Reed further discloses the snubber comprising: the casing 10 having an internal cavity, the shaft extends through the casing into the internal cavity; the vane assembly is secured on the shaft within the internal cavity (it is noted the splines are easily extended as desired) to rotate with the shaft about the snubber axis and through a vane-swept region within the internal cavity, an outer contour of the vane assembly 48 corresponds to an inner contour of the internal cavity in the vane-swept region, the seal assembly 54 provides a seal between the vane assembly and the casing 10; a dam 58 is secured to the casing within the internal cavity and engaging the dam sealing portion of the hub of the vane assembly, the dam and the vane assembly divide the internal cavity into a first pressure chamber (such as one of 66 or 68) and an opposing second pressure chamber (such as on of 70 or 72), a fluid control passage (see 80 or 90) is provided between the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber, to control fluid flow between the first and second pressure chambers as the vane assembly rotates.
Re-claim 94, the accumulator is in fluid communication with the internal cavity (such as via paths 74/84).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 59 and 93 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed in view of US 7,828,127 to Jeffries.
Re-claims 59 and 63, Reed fails to teach the use of one or more displacement bodies secured within the internal cavity of the casing and positioned outside the vane-swept region to reduce an amount of fluid required to fill the first and second pressure chambers.
Jeffries teaches a snubber having one or more displacement bodies 125 secured within an internal cavity of the casing and positioned outside the vane-swept region to reduce an amount of fluid required to fill the first and second pressure chambers. The body 125 impacts the vane as in the instant invention and is thus interpreted as outside the swept region. In addition, the body 125 provides compensation for changes in volume (see column 6 lines 66-67).
Claim(s) 65, 66 and 71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed in view of US 9,404,550 to Sakuta.
Re-claims 65 and 66, Reed fails to teach the accumulator arrangement having a volume, a flexible diaphragm separating a liquid side from a gas side holding a compressed gas.
Sakuta teaches various forms for an accumulator, such as having diaphragm separating a liquid side L from a compressed gas side G (see figure 1 and column 10 lines 55-60). This arrangement would replace the screw 100, bellows 98 and piston 96 of Reed and accomplish the same function. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the compensation arrangement of Reed with a liquid and compressed gas chamber separated by a diaphragm as taught by Sakuta, as each of these arrangements would have yielded the same expectant result of compensating for changes in temperature and excessive pressures.
Re-claim 71, Reed fails to teach a check valve as part of a flow control device in communication with the accumulator.
Sakuta teaches an accumulator arrangement communicated via a check valve V, disc elements controlling flow in a single direction. The check valve controls flow as needed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the snubber of Reed with a check valve flow control device to the accumulator as taught by Sakuta, as the valve would only open when necessary, thus preventing diversion of fluid when not needed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Donahoo, Mitchell, Diebel, MacDonald, Uehara, Zenz and Busch each teach a snubber.
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128.
The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
supervisor, Robert Siconolfi, can be reached at 571-272-7124. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW /THOMAS J WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
August 28, 2026