DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Examiner agrees with applicant’s argument on page 2 with respect to the nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejections. Therefore, the previous nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejections with respect to claims 1-20 have been withdrawn.
3. Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 USC § 103 claim rejections filed 02/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant(s) asserts with arguments (on pages 2-4) that neither Chen nor Chandran, taken individually or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest the features of “wherein at least one frame is not encoded into the bitstream output according to the plurality of content activity analysis results” as required by independent claims 1 and 19.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Chen already discloses content activity analyzer circuit (see fig. 4 unit 168 and/or fig. 10 unit 868), arranged to apply a content activity analysis process (see fig. 2 unit 34) to a plurality of frames (see fig. 1 and/or fig. 2 unit 30, e.g. “GOP”), and generate a plurality of content activity analysis results (see col. 4 lines 52-54 and col. 10 lines 31-36), the examiner does not rely on Chen to teach such capabilities regarding “wherein at least one frame is not encoded into the bitstream output according to the plurality of content activity analysis results” as claimed. Thus, the examiner merely introduced Chandran to teach the well-known concept of “wherein at least one frame is not encoded (see fig. 1A, paragraph [0076], e.g., “where the examiner notes that by referring to fig. 1A and paragraph [0076], that the input of encoder 106 does not receive or process the output of nonencoded video frames 104 when the input of computation engine 118 is capable of receiving the nonencoded frames 104 as illustrated by the dotted line path illustrated in Fig. 1A”) into the bitstream output (see fig. 1A, e.g., “bitstream output → of encoded video frames 104’ “) according to the plurality of content activity analysis results” (see paragraphs [0053] and [0059]).
Accordingly, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejections and applicability of the prior art used. Since dep. claims 2-18 and 20 each depend on one of independent claims 1 or 19, these dependent claims are rejected for the same or similar reasons as the claims from which they depend. Rejections of claims 1-20 are sustained for the reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (“Chen”) (US Patent No.: 8,774,272 B1) in view of Chandran et al. (“Chandran”) (US Pub. No.: 2020/0380261 A1) for the same reasoning as stated in the office action dated 11/24/2025.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Larbier (US Pub. No.: 2018/0302627 A1) discloses method for analyzing a video sequence and equipment for implementing said method.
Wells (US Pub. No.: 2004/0240546) discloses method and/or apparatus for analyzing the content of a surveillance image.
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.B.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2485
/JAYANTI K PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2485
March 12, 2026