In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Status of Claims
- Applicant’s Remarks filed November 26, 2025 is acknowledged.
- No claim(s) is/are amended
- Claim(s) 1-15 is/are pending in the application.
This action is FINAL
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 26, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that Han in view of Park and Moon fail to fairly teach or suggest the claimed invention because technical means of Park to reduce or prevent the image sticking and flicker contrasts with the present application “by enabling the first frequency fl and the frequency of the second sub-stage B2 to correspond to different data voltages, the brightness of the screen at the two frequencies can be adjusted as needed to reduce the brightness difference of the second screen displayed at the two frequencies, thereby effectively avoiding the brightness flicker when entering the third stage A2 from the second sub-stage B2 (see paragraph 0058).
Therefore, the function of Park differs from that of the present application and thus fails to provide any technical motivation to combine the above technical features with Han to obtain the technical solution of claim 1.
Accordingly, Park fails to teach, suggest, or otherwise render obvious the above difference a).
In addition, Moon does not refer to the above difference a) at all.
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that independent claim 1 is patentable over Han, Park and Moon, either alone or in any combination.”, is unpersuasive because independent claims 1, 14, 15 do not recite “by enabling the first frequency fl and the frequency of the second sub-stage B2 to correspond to different data voltages, the brightness of the screen at the two frequencies can be adjusted as needed to reduce the brightness difference of the second screen displayed at the two frequencies”.
To the extent that Applicant’s argument is that Applicant has recognized a benefit that was not explicitly recognized by the prior art, Examiner notes that newly recognized benefits that flow naturally from following the teachings of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability.
To the extent that the features of claim 6 correspond to Applicant’s asserted “ by enabling the first frequency fl and the frequency of the second sub-stage B2 to correspond to different data voltages, the brightness of the screen at the two frequencies can be adjusted as needed to reduce the brightness difference of the second screen displayed at the two frequencies “, Examiner maintains the recited claims are obvious as articulated in the rejection above.
In response to applicant's argument that Park is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Park’s teachings are in the same field of endeavor as Applicant’s, display driving.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., by enabling the first frequency fl and the frequency of the second sub-stage B2 to correspond to different data voltages, the brightness of the screen at the two frequencies can be adjusted as needed to reduce the brightness difference of the second screen displayed at the two frequencies) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 12, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130038639 in view of Park et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200211471.
Consider claim 1, Han teaches a method for driving a display panel, wherein in a first mode, a driving process of the display panel comprises a first stage, a second stage
in at least a part of the second stage sequential to the first stage, the first screen is displayed at a frequency greater than the first frequency (see Han figure 3, reproduced below, elements first stage, second stage and paragraphs 0063-0070, 0076-0083 specifically for example paragraph 0073-0074 where in other words, in a frame in which the moving image is recognized to be displayed, the display panel 300 displays the still image with the second scan ratio up to a vertical blank period at the end of the frame. Next, in the (n+1)-th frame, which is a frame for displaying the moving image, the graphics processing unit 700 transmits the image data DAT of the moving image to the signal controller 600, and the display panel 300 displays the moving image with the first scan ratio and paragraph 0080-0081 where the signal controller 600 does not transmit the STV signal to the gate driver 400 at the start of the (n+1)-th frame, which is a point where the second scan ratio is changed into the first scan ratio. switching element Q is not turned on in the (n+1)-th frame such that the pixel is not newly charged; instead, the voltage charged to the pixel in the n-th frame is maintained, and thus the display panel 300 displays the still image); and
Han is silent regarding transitioning from still image display to moving image display then back to still image display. In a related field of endeavor, Park teaches transitioning from still image display to moving image display then back to still image display so as to reduce image sticking (see Park figures 2A-2B, 5-6D and paragraphs 0053, 0072-0084).
Park teaches a transition period where a second image signal is output at a higher frequency before returning to a second low frequency so as to reduce image sticking when switching still display images.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Han with the teachings of Park to have a display transition from a low frequency image output to a higher frequency image output before returning to a low frequency output so as to minimize image sticking when switching from a first still image to a second still image using known technique with predictable results.
Consider claim 2, Han as modified by Park teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the second stage comprises a first sub-stage and a second sub-stage (see Han figure 3, reproduced below, first substage, second substage);
in the first sub-stage, the first screen is displayed at a frequency greater than the first frequency (see Han figure 3, reproduced above, element first substage and paragraphs 0063-0070, 0076-0083 specifically for example paragraph 0073-0074 where in other words, in a frame in which the moving image is recognized to be displayed, the display panel 300 displays the still image with the second scan ratio up to a vertical blank period at the end of the frame. Next, in the (n+1)-th frame, which is a frame for displaying the moving image, the graphics processing unit 700 transmits the image data DAT of the moving image to the signal controller 600, and the display panel 300 displays the moving image with the first scan ratio and paragraph 0080-0081 where the signal controller 600 does not transmit the STV signal to the gate driver 400 at the start of the (n+1)-th frame, which is a point where the second scan ratio is changed into the first scan ratio. switching element Q is not turned on in the (n+1)-th frame such that the pixel is not newly charged; instead, the voltage charged to the pixel in the n-th frame is maintained, and thus the display panel 300 displays the still image and Park figure 6A, image transition period for example 60Hz); and
in the second sub-stage, the second screen is displayed at a frequency greater than the first frequency (see Han figure 3, reproduced above, second substage and Park figure 6A, image transition period for example any one of 30Hz, 15Hz, 7Hz, 5Hz).
Consider claim 3, Han as modified by Park teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches wherein a frequency of the second sub-stage is smaller than a frequency of the first sub-stage (see Park figure 6A, image transition period for example any one of 30Hz, 15Hz, 7Hz, 5Hz).
Consider claim 4, Han as modified by Park teaches all the limitations of claim 3. Han/Park does not appear to explicitly teach wherein a difference between the frequency of the second sub-stage and the frequency of the first sub-stage is defined as a first difference, a difference between the frequency of the second sub-stage and the first frequency is defined as a second difference, and the first difference is equal to the second difference. Park teaches various examples of image transition period options (see Park figures 5-6D and paragraphs 0074-0084, 0092 where foregoing is illustrative of aspects of some example embodiments and is not to be construed as limiting thereof. Although a few example embodiments have been described, those skilled in the art will readily appreciate that many modifications are possible in the example embodiments without materially departing from the novel teachings and characteristics of the present inventive concept. Accordingly, all such modifications are intended to be included within the scope of the present inventive concept). Therefore, as best understood by Examiner, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it to be an obvious matter of design choice to have the recited differences since such a requirement, absent any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), is generally achievable through routine optimization/experimentation, and since discovering the optimum or workable requirement, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, involves only routine skill in the art (i.e. selection of various transitional frequency options), In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Moreover, in the absence of any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), the requirement set forth above would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Consider claim 5, Han as modified by Park teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches wherein the first sub-stage has a same frequency as the second sub-stage (see Han figure 3, reproduced above, first substage, second substage).
Consider claim 10, Han as modified by Park teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first screen is displayed in the second stage at a constant frequency (see Han paragraph 0080-0081 where the signal controller 600 does not transmit the STV signal to the gate driver 400 at the start of the (n+1)-th frame, which is a point where the second scan ratio is changed into the first scan ratio. switching element Q is not turned on in the (n+1)-th frame such that the pixel is not newly charged; instead, the voltage charged to the pixel in the n-th frame is maintained, and thus the display panel 300 displays the still image. Where n+1-th frame is displayed at a constant frequency of the first scan ratio).
Consider claim 12, Han as modified by Park teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the second stage comprises a third sub-stage and a fourth sub-stage, and the third sub-stage is located between the first stage and the fourth sub-stage (see Park figure 6A, image transition period for example any one of 15Hz, 7Hz, 5Hz); and
the first screen is displayed in the third sub-stage and the fourth sub-stage paragraph 0080-0081 where the signal controller 600 does not transmit the STV signal to the gate driver 400 at the start of the (n+1)-th frame, which is a point where the second scan ratio is changed into the first scan ratio. switching element Q is not turned on in the (n+1)-th frame such that the pixel is not newly charged; instead, the voltage charged to the pixel in the n-th frame is maintained, and thus the display panel 300 displays the still image), respectively, and
a frequency of the fourth sub-stage is greater than the first frequency and is smaller than a frequency of the third sub-stage (see Park figure 6A where for example a first frequency corresponds to 1Hz, a frequency of a third sub-stage corresponds to 15Hz and a frequency of a fourth sub-stage corresponds 7Hz).
Consider claim 13, Han as modified by Park teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the second stage comprises x frames, where 1>x>15 (see Park figure 6A where transition period illustrates 5 frames).
Consider claim 14, Hans teaches a display panel, driven by a method, wherein in a first mode, a driving process of the display panel comprises a first stage, a second stage display panel 300 may display the still image with the second scan ratio from a third frame to an (n-1)-th frame like the second frame.);
in at least a part of the second stage sequential to the first stage, the first screen is displayed at a frequency greater than the first frequency (see Han figure 3, reproduced below, elements first stage, second stage and paragraphs 0063-0070, 0076-0083 specifically for example paragraph 0073-0074 where in other words, in a frame in which the moving image is recognized to be displayed, the display panel 300 displays the still image with the second scan ratio up to a vertical blank period at the end of the frame. Next, in the (n+1)-th frame, which is a frame for displaying the moving image, the graphics processing unit 700 transmits the image data DAT of the moving image to the signal controller 600, and the display panel 300 displays the moving image with the first scan ratio and paragraph 0080-0081 where the signal controller 600 does not transmit the STV signal to the gate driver 400 at the start of the (n+1)-th frame, which is a point where the second scan ratio is changed into the first scan ratio. switching element Q is not turned on in the (n+1)-th frame such that the pixel is not newly charged; instead, the voltage charged to the pixel in the n-th frame is maintained, and thus the display panel 300 displays the still image); and
Han is silent regarding transitioning from still image display to moving image display then back to still image display. In a related field of endeavor, Park teaches transitioning from still image display to moving image display then back to still image display so as to reduce image sticking (see Park figures 2A-2B, 5-6D and paragraphs 0053, 0072-0084).
Park teaches a transition period where a second image signal is output at a higher frequency before returning to a second low frequency so as to reduce image sticking when switching still display images.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Han with the teachings of Park to have a display transition from a low frequency image output to a higher frequency image output before returning to a low frequency output so as to minimize image sticking when switching from a first still image to a second still image using known technique with predictable results.
Consider claim 15, Han teaches display apparatus, comprising a display panel driven by a method, wherein in a first mode, a driving process of the display panel comprises a first stage, a second stage and paragraphs 0063-0070, 0076-0083 specifically for example paragraph 0078, 0067-0072 where, for example, in a second frame, which is a frame for displaying the still image, the graphics processing unit 700 transmits the image data DAT of the still image to the signal controller 600 along with a still image start signal indicating the start of the display of the still image. Here, the display panel 300 displays the still image with the second scan ratio in the second frame. For example, in the case that the second scan ratio is 40 Hz, the image is displayed each 1/40.sup.th of a second in the second frame. As can be gleaned from the middle of the timing diagram in FIG. 2, the display panel 300 may display the still image with the second scan ratio from a third frame to an (n-1)-th frame like the second frame.);
in at least a part of the second stage sequential to the first stage, the first screen is displayed at a frequency greater than the first frequency (see Han figure 3, reproduced below, elements first stage, second stage and paragraphs 0063-0070, 0076-0083 specifically for example paragraph 0073-0074 where in other words, in a frame in which the moving image is recognized to be displayed, the display panel 300 displays the still image with the second scan ratio up to a vertical blank period at the end of the frame. Next, in the (n+1)-th frame, which is a frame for displaying the moving image, the graphics processing unit 700 transmits the image data DAT of the moving image to the signal controller 600, and the display panel 300 displays the moving image with the first scan ratio and paragraph 0080-0081 where the signal controller 600 does not transmit the STV signal to the gate driver 400 at the start of the (n+1)-th frame, which is a point where the second scan ratio is changed into the first scan ratio. switching element Q is not turned on in the (n+1)-th frame such that the pixel is not newly charged; instead, the voltage charged to the pixel in the n-th frame is maintained, and thus the display panel 300 displays the still image); and
Han is silent regarding transitioning from still image display to moving image display then back to still image display. In a related field of endeavor, Park teaches transitioning from still image display to moving image display then back to still image display so as to reduce image sticking (see Park figures 2A-2B, 5-6D and paragraphs 0053, 0072-0084).
Park teaches a transition period where a second image signal is output at a higher frequency before returning to a second low frequency so as to reduce image sticking when switching still display images.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Han with the teachings of Park to have a display transition from a low frequency image output to a higher frequency image output before returning to a low frequency output so as to minimize image sticking when switching from a first still image to a second still image using known technique with predictable results.
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130038639 and Park et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200211471 in view of Moon et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20230178034.
Consider claim 6, Han as modified by Park teaches all the limitations of claim 2.
Han is silent regarding wherein the display panel displays according to a mapping relationship constructed by grayscale values and data voltages, wherein the first frequency and a frequency of the second sub-stage correspond to different mapping relationships, and a same grayscale value corresponds to different data voltages in different mapping relationships.
In a related field of endeavor, Moon teaches wherein the display panel displays according to a mapping relationship constructed by grayscale values and data voltages, wherein the first frequency and a frequency of the second sub-stage correspond to different mapping relationships, and a same grayscale value corresponds to different data voltages in different mapping relationships (see Moon figure 16 and paragraphs 0006, 0021, 0085-0116 specifically for example paragraphs 0108-0115 where weights reflected in a data voltage of an input gray level are differently set based on a refresh rate to adjust a level of a flicker compensation data voltage.) so as to reduce flicker and improve display quality.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Han with the teachings of Moon to have a mapping relationship constructed by grayscale values and data voltages, wherein the first frequency and a frequency of the second sub-stage correspond to different mapping relationships, and a same grayscale value corresponds to different data voltages in different mapping relationships so as to reduce flicker and improve display quality using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 7, Han as modified by Park and Moon teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches wherein duty ratios of light-emitting control signals corresponding to the first frequency and a frequency of the second sub-stage are different, and the duty ratio denotes a proportion of a light-emitting active level in a light-emitting period (see Moon paragraph 0067 where length of the emission operation interval EP of the skip frame can be longer than the emission operation interval EP of the refresh frame. Therefore, when comparing a luminance integral amount for a certain time, as a refresh rate is lowered (e.g., as the number skip frames increases), the luminance integral amount can increase. For example, a luminance integral amount for a certain time can be higher in 60 Hz than 120 Hz, higher in 24 Hz than 60 Hz, and higher in 1 Hz than 24 Hz).
Consider claim 8, Han as modified by Park and Moon teaches all the limitations of claim 7, and further teaches wherein the display panel has a first driving period at the first frequency (see Han figure 3 reproduced above, first stage) ,
wherein a duty ratio of the light-emitting control signal in the first driving period is smaller than a duty ratio of the light-emitting control signal in the second driving period (see Moon paragraph 0067 where length of the emission operation interval EP of the skip frame can be longer than the emission operation interval EP of the refresh frame. Therefore, when comparing a luminance integral amount for a certain time, as a refresh rate is lowered (e.g., as the number skip frames increases), the luminance integral amount can increase. For example, a luminance integral amount for a certain time can be higher in 60 Hz than 120 Hz, higher in 24 Hz than 60 Hz, and higher in 1 Hz than 24 Hz).
Han is silent regarding the first driving period includes a writing frame and a holding frame and the second driving period at least comprises a writing frame. Moon teaches a first driving period includes a writing frame and a holding frame and a second driving period at least comprises a writing frame (see Moon figure 4, element PP, EP and paragraphs 0063-0067 where a refresh rate based on a number of skip frames disposed between refresh frames is disclosed For example, the data refresh period can be 1 sec/120 in 120 Hz, 1 sec/60 in 60 Hz, 1 sec/24 in 24 Hz, and 1 sec in 1 Hz. The number of skip frames disposed between two adjacent refresh frames can be zero in 120 Hz, one in 60 Hz, four in 24 Hz, and 119 in 1 Hz) so as to implement different refresh rates.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Han with the teachings of Moon to have the recited features so as to implement different refresh rates using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 9, Han as modified by Park and Moon teaches all the limitations of claim 8 and further teaches wherein the display panel has the first driving period at the first frequency (see Han figure 3 reproduced above, first stage and figure 4, element PP, EP and paragraphs 0063-0067 where a refresh rate based on a number of skip frames disposed between refresh frames is disclosed For example, the data refresh period can be 1 sec/120 in 120 Hz, 1 sec/60 in 60 Hz, 1 sec/24 in 24 Hz, and 1 sec in 1 Hz. The number of skip frames disposed between two adjacent refresh frames can be zero in 120 Hz, one in 60 Hz, four in 24 Hz, and 119 in 1 Hz where PP corresponds to charging period),
the display panel has the second driving period at the frequency of the second sub-stage (see Park figure 6A, image transition period for example any one of 30Hz, 15Hz, 7Hz, 5Hz and Moon figure 6 and paragraphs 0072 where PP` corresponds to charging period), and
a charging duration in the first driving period is greater than a charging duration in the second driving period (see Moon paragraph 0073 where length of the anode reset interval PP′ may be equal to or approximately equal to that of the programming operation interval PP so that a luminance integral amount of the anode reset frame is equal to or approximately equal to a luminance integral amount of the refresh frame); and
wherein the duty ratio of the light-emitting control signal in the second driving period is smaller than the duty ratio of the light-emitting control signal in the first driving period (see Moon paragraph 0095-0116 specifically for example paragraph 0097 where a level of a flicker compensation data voltage is differently set based on a refresh rate (or the number of anode reset frames), to compensate for flickers caused by a grayscale response delay amount difference).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claimed invention recites
Claim 11 “ The method according to claim 1, wherein the second stage comprises a third sub-stage and a fourth sub-stage, and the third sub-stage is located between the first stage and the fourth sub-stage; and the first screen is displayed in the third sub-stage and the fourth sub-stage, respectively, and a frequency of the third sub-stage is greater than the first frequency and is smaller than a frequency of the fourth sub-stage. ”
The following prior arts are representative of the state of the prior art:
Han et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130038639 (figure 3)
Park et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200211471 (figures 6A-6D)
Moon et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20230178034 (figure 16)
The prior arts cited fails to fairly teach or suggest the combined features of the invention including wherein the second stage comprises a third sub-stage and a fourth sub-stage, and the third sub-stage is located between the first stage and the fourth sub-stage; and the first screen is displayed in the third sub-stage and the fourth sub-stage, respectively, and a frequency of the third sub-stage is greater than the first frequency and is smaller than a frequency of the fourth sub-stage.
These features find support at least at paragraph 0060 and figure 7 of Applicant’s original specification.
As such, modification of the prior art of record can only be motivated by hindsight reasoning, or by changing the intended use and function of the prior art themselves. Therefore, it is not clear that one of ordinary skill in the art would have made the necessary modifications to the prior art of record to encompass the limitations set forth in the present application. Moreover, none of the prior arts of record, taken either alone or in combination, anticipate nor render obvious the claimed inventions. Hence, claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sato et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20010024187 (figure 5), Park et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20080106542 (display system), Kim et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140375627 (figure 3), Kim et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160035260 (driving display panel), Lin, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160189682 (display apparatus), Nam et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200111418 (display apparatus), Park et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200226980 (display apparatus), Kim et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210043143 (display apparatus), Lee et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220114956 (operating method for display)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Dorothy Harris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625