DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyashita (US 2013/0114046).
Regarding Claims 1 and 13, Miyashita teaches a projection device (Figure 3; Optical Unit 9), comprising:
a light source module (Figure 3; Light Source Lamp 805), configured to provide an illumination beam (see Paragraph [0035]);
an optical engine module (Figure 3; Electrooptic Module 10), comprising:
a cover (Figure 7; Defining Member 80 and Cover 90), having at least one filling hole (Figure 7; Engagement Hole 950) and comprising a cover part (Figure 7; Frame-like Plate Portion 97), a plurality of support parts (Figure 7; Engagement Plate Portions 95), and a plurality of connection parts (Figure 7; Side Plate Portions 94), wherein the support parts (Figure 7; Engagement Plate Portions 95) and the connection parts (Figure 7; Side Plate Portions 94) are vertically connected to the cover part (see Figure 7), the cover part (Figure 7; Frame-like Plate Portion 97) has an opening (Figure 7; Opening 98), and the connection parts (Figure 7; Side Plate Portions 94) connect the support parts (Figure 7; Engagement Plate Portions 95) that are separated from each other (see Figure 7);
a light valve module (Figure 3; Electrooptic Panels 40), disposed on a transmission path of the illumination beam (see Figure 3) and configured to convert the illumination beam into an image beam (see Paragraph [0035]; wherein it is disclosed that the transmission-type electrooptic panels 40 modulate the light fluxes of the respective colors), wherein the light valve module (Figure 3; Electrooptic Panels 40) comprises a base (Figure 4B; Substrate 51) and a light valve element (Figure 4B; Liquid Crystal Layer 450), the light valve element (Figure 4B; Liquid Crystal Layer 450) is disposed on the base (see Figure 4B; wherein the liquid crystal layer 450 is disposed on the substrate 51), the base (Figure 7; Substrate 51) is disposed on the support parts (Figure 7; Engagement Plate Portions 95) of the cover (see Figure 7), the light valve element (Figure 4B; Liquid Crystal Layer 450) has a light emitting surface (see Figure 4B; Image Display Region 40a) and a peripheral surface connected to the light emitting surface (see Figure 4B; wherein the peripheral surface is the outermost surface of the liquid crystal layer 450), the light emitting surface (see Figure 4B; wherein the top surface of the liquid crystal layer 450 is the light emitting surface) corresponds to the opening (Figure 7; Opening 98) and is spaced apart from the cover part (see Figure 7), the connection parts (Figure 7; Side Plate Portions 94) surround the peripheral surface (see Figure 7), and the at least one filling hole (Figure 7; Engagement Hole 950) communicates with a space between the peripheral surface of the light valve element (Figure 4B; Liquid Crystal Layer 450) and the cover (see Figure 7); and
a thermal glue (Figure 4A; Sealing Member 407), disposed between the light valve module (Figure 4B; Electrooptic Panels 40) and the cover (see Figures 4A and 4B), wherein the thermal glue (Figure 4A; Sealing Member 407) connects the base (Figure 7; Substrate 51), the peripheral surface (see Figure 4B; wherein the peripheral surface is the outermost surface of the liquid crystal layer 450), the cover part (Figure 7; Frame-like Plate Portion 97), the connection parts (Figure 7; Side Plate Portions 94), and the support parts (see Paragraph [0044]); and
a projection lens (Figure 3; Projection Lens Unit 6), disposed on a transmission path of the image beam and configured to project the image beam out of the projection device (see Paragraph [0035]).
Regarding Claim 2, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Miyashita further teaches the at least one filling hole (Figure 7; Engagement Hole 950) is located in at least one of
Regarding Claim 3, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Miyashita further teaches a housing (Figure 7; Frame 60), having an assembly port (Figure 7; Opening 68), wherein the cover (Figure 7; Defining Member 80 and Cover 90) is disposed on the housing (see Figure 7), and the opening (Figure 7; Opening 98) is aligned with the assembly port (see Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 4, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 3 as detailed above.
Miyashita further teaches a housing dust-proof component (Figure 7; Plate 56; Paragraph [0056]) disposed between the housing (Figure 7; Frame 60) and the cover part (Figure 7; Frame-like Plate Portion 97) of the cover (see Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 5, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 3 as detailed above.
Miyashita further teaches the cover (Figure 7; Defining Member 80 and Cover 90) further comprises a plurality of abutment protrusions (see Annotated Figure 7 below), the cover part (Figure 7; Frame-like Plate Portion 97) has a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other (see Figure 7), the support parts (Figure 7; Engagement Plate Portions 95) are located on the first surface (see Figure 7), and the abutment protrusions (see Annotated Figure 7 below) are located on the second surface (see Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 6, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above.
Miyashita further teaches a dust-proof component (Figure 5A; Plate 56), disposed on the second surface of the cover part (Figure 7; Frame-like Plate Portion 97), wherein the at least one filling hole (Figure 7; Engagement Hole 950) is located in the cover part (see Figure 7), and the dust-proof component (Figure 5A; Plate 56) covers the at least one filling hole (see Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 7, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Miyashita further teaches the peripheral surface of the light valve element (Figure 4B; Liquid Crystal Layer 450) is a stepped surface (see Figure 4B).
Regarding Claim 8, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Miyashita further teaches the support parts (Figure 7; Engagement Plate Portions 95) of the cover (Figure 7; Defining Member 80 and Cover 90) each have a stepped surface on a side facing the thermal glue (see Figures 6-7).
Regarding Claim 9, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Miyashita further teaches a heat transfer plate (Figure 7; Frame 60), disposed between the cover (Figure 7; Defining Member 80 and Cover 90) and the base (Figure 7; Substrate 51), wherein the heat transfer plate (Figure 7; Frame 60) comprises a body part (Figure 7; Frame Portions 61-64) and at least one extension part (Figure 7; Columnar Portions 651-654) vertically connected to the body part (see Figure 7), the body part (Figure 7; Frame Portions 61-64) is disposed on the cover part (see Figure 7), the at least one extension part (Figure 7; Columnar Portions 651-654) is connected to the base (Figure 7; Substrate 51), and the base (Figure 7; Substrate 51) and the peripheral surface of the light valve element (Figure 4B; Liquid Crystal Layer 450) are connected to the heat transfer plate (Figure 7; Frame 60) without a gap through the thermal glue in a direction perpendicular to the light emitting surface (see Figure 7 and Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding Claim 10, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 9 as detailed above.
Miyashita further teaches a side of the at least one extension part (Figure 7; Columnar Portions 651-654), which faces the thermal glue, has a stepped surface (see Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 14, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above.
Miyashita further teaches the optical engine module (Figure 3; Electrooptic Module 10) further comprises a prism set (Figure 3; Prism Unit 20), and the prism set (Figure 3; Prism Unit 20) is located on the transmission path of the image beam and disposed between the light valve module (Figure 3; Electrooptic Panels 40) and the projection lens (see Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 15, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 14 as detailed above.
Miyashita further teaches the optical engine module (Figure 3; Electrooptic Module 10) further comprises a dust-proof component (Figure 5A; Plate 56), the cover (Figure 7; Defining Member 80 and Cover 90) further comprises a plurality of abutment protrusions (see Annotated Figure 7 below), the cover part (Figure 7; Frame-like Plate Portion 97) has a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other (see Figure 7), the support parts (Figure 7; Engagement Plate Portions 95) are located on the first surface (see Figure 7), the abutment protrusions (see Annotated Figure 7 below) are located on the second surface and abut the prism set (see Figures 3, 5A and 7), and the dust-proof component (Figure 5A; Plate 56) is located between the cover part and the prism set (see Figures 3, 5A and 7).
Regarding Claim 16, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 14 as detailed above.
Miyashita further teaches the optical engine module (Figure 3; Electrooptic Module 10) further comprises:
a housing (Figure 7; Frame 60), having an assembly port (Figure 7; Opening 68) and comprising a plurality of housing abutment protrusions (Figure 7; Columnar Portions 651-654), wherein the opening (Figure 7; Opening 98) is aligned with the assembly port (see Figure 7), and the housing abutment protrusions (Figure 7; Columnar Portions 651-654) abut the prism set (see Figures 3, 5A and 7); and
a housing dust-proof component (Figure 5A; Plate 56), disposed between the housing (Figure 7; Frame 60) and the cover part (Figure 7; Frame-like Plate Portion 97) of the cover (see Figure 7).
Miyashita further teaches a housing (Figure 7; Frame 60), having an assembly port (Figure 7; Opening 68), wherein the cover (Figure 7; Defining Member 80 and Cover 90) is disposed on the housing (see Figure 7), and the opening (Figure 7; Opening 98) is aligned with the assembly port (see Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 17, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 16 as detailed above.
Miyashita further teaches the optical engine module (Figure 3; Electrooptic Module 10) further comprises a prism dust-proof component (Figure 5A; Plate 56), located between the housing (Figure 7; Frame 60) and the prism set (see Figures 3, 5A and 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyashita (US 2013/0114046) in view of Yen et al (US 2012/0175507; hereinafter referred to as Yen).
Regarding Claim 11, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Miyashita does not expressly disclose a compressible material, at least part of which is disposed between the light emitting surface of the light valve element and a periphery of the cover part of the cover and has an annular shape.
Yen discloses a compressible material (Figure 2; Elastic Frame 136), at least part of which is disposed between the light emitting surface of the light valve element (Figure 2; Light Valve Component 134) and a periphery of a cover part of a cover (see Figure 3; Chassis 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the optical engine module of Miyashita such that a compressible material, at least part of which is disposed between the light emitting surface of the light valve element and a periphery of the cover part of the cover, as taught by Yen, because doing so would prevent dust from entering the optical system (see Yen Paragraph [0025]).
While Miyashita as modified by Yen does not expressly disclose that the compressible material has an annular shape the Applicant has not stated that any long standing of stated problem in the art is solved by providing the compressible material with an annular shape. Therefore, absent any showing of criticality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide the compressible material as an annular shape or a rectangular shape as it appears the invention would perform equally well.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyashita (US 2013/0114046) as applied to claim 1, in view of Fujimori et al (US 2003/0071975; hereinafter referred to as Fujimori).
Regarding Claim 12, Miyashita teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Miyashita does not expressly disclose that the thermal glue comprises a light curable material or a thermally curable material, and a thermal conductivity of the thermal glue is greater than or equal to 2 W/(m·K).
Fujimori discloses a thermal glue that comprises a light curable material or a thermally curable material (see Paragraph [0254]), and the thermal glue having a thermal conductivity (see Paragraph [0292]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the thermal glue of Miyashita such that the thermal glue comprises a light curable material or a thermally curable material, and the thermal glue having a thermal conductivity, as taught by Fujimori, because doing so would allow for heat generated by the liquid crystal panels to escape efficiently (see Fujimori Paragraph [0292]).
Miyashita as modified by Fujimori does not expressly disclose that the thermal conductivity of the thermal glue is greater than or equal to 2 W/(m·K). However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882