DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 7/9/2026 is acknowledged.
The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-29 drawn to a nonelected invention are withdrawn.
Claims 1-13 are included in the prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimko (US20210022867A1).
Regarding claims 1-13, Shimko is drawn to an implantable composition (abstract and claims 1-20).
Shimko discloses bone graft refers to any implant and therefore may include expressions such as bone material and bone membrane. The implant can include ceramic scaffolding. Ceramic scaffolding, as used herein, refers to implant scaffolding that comprises ceramic materials such as calcium phosphate ceramics or silicon ceramic, calcium-silicate-based bioglass, silicon calcium phosphate, tricalcium phosphate (TCP) and other ceramic or synthetic ceramic material described hereinafter [0060-0061]. Shimko discloses collagen lattice [0194]. Shimko discloses an implantable composition comprising 3-D printed fibers to the intended bone defect, wherein the fibers are mechanically binded without an additional binding agent. in other implementations, the method of treatment comprises administering an implantable composition to the intended bone defect, wherein the 3-D printed fibers comprise a biodegradable polymer, a bone material and a bioactive agent [0197]. Shimko discloses the cross-link density of a polymer may be manipulated during polymerization by adding a cross-linking agent or promoter [0183]. Shimko discloses The terms “three-dimensional printing system,” “three-dimensional printer,” “printing,” describe various solid freeform manufacturing techniques for making three-dimensional articles or objects by selective deposition, jetting, fused deposition modeling, multijet modeling, and other additive manufacturing techniques now known in the art or that may be known in the future that use a build material or ink to fabricate three-dimensional objects [0075]. Shimko discloses 3-D printing devices and methods of use for creating, in some embodiments, a fiber of the implantable composition [0119]. Shimko discloses the fibers have a thickness or a diameter of about 0.01 mm to about 2.0 mm [0114]. Shimko discloses the pore size between fibers may be about 0.1 mm to about 5 mm [0118]. Shimko discloses the carrier material used to make the fiber may be supplemented with other microparticles and/or nanoparticles which can be incorporated before or during 3-D printing in order to impart certain desirable mechanical, magnetic, piezoelectric properties and/or stimulate cellular functions upon implantation under a variety of in vivo or in vitro conditions to the implantable composition [0231].
Shimko does not explicitly disclose each of the components of the composition in a single embodiment.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shimko, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Shimko is drawn to bone graft implants [0060-0061] that are 3D-printed [0197] in order to impart certain desirable mechanical, magnetic, piezoelectric properties and/or stimulate cellular functions upon implantation under a variety of in vivo or in vitro conditions to the implantable composition [0231]. Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615