Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-13, 16-28, 30-41is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20160329033 A1) in view of Robotham (US 20020015042 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 30:
Woo (US 20160329033 A1) discloses a display device (Fig. 2) comprising:
a host (200, Fig. 2); a display panel (Fig. 2); and a display driving device (200, Fig. 2) coupled between the host (100) and the display panel (300) to drive the display panel based on data provided by the host ( also see Fig. 2, [0118],[0270-0272]), wherein in a multi-area (i.e. Ar1, AR2, see Fig. 2) multi-frame-rate mode (in [0118] discloses multiple partial update method ,which is a plurality of partial regions on the display panel 300 that are split or separated from one another may be simultaneously updated with multiple partial update, it is obvious to have in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode since the size of the display area is different with multiple partial update), the host transmits partial frame image data to the display driving device in each of frame periods until the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode ends (plurality of partial regions; and a source driver configured to drive the display panel based on the plurality of image data output from the storage during one frame period, see Abstract, ([0123-0124]);
in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode, the display driving device selectively feeds back an additional area refresh (e.g. AR3) ([0130-0133]); and in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode, in response to the additional area refresh, the host transmits at least one additional display area image data (i.e. image at AR3) to the display driving device in addition to transmitting the partial frame image data in at least one corresponding frame period corresponding to the additional area refresh (see, [0119-0120], [0126-0127], [0194], Fig. 2-3, 5A, 10 and 13A).
Note that Woo does not specifically disclose additional area refresh request as discloses in claim 1.
Robotham (US 20020015042 A1) discloses display area refresh request to the host (2) and transmit multipart refresh based on request (in multipart refresh the host processor 2, render and transmit display data (data from bitmap) on request) (see, [0033, 0341-0344], Fig. 1, [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woo with the teaching of Robotham, thereby creating high performance display device and improving the user experience.
Regarding claim 17:
Woo discloses an operation method of a display device (Fig. 2), comprising: in a multi-area (AR1, Ar2, Ar3) multi-frame-rate mode ([0118]), transmitting partial frame image data to a display driving device (200, Fig. 2) of the display device in each of frame periods by a host (100, Fig. 2) of the display device until the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode ends (see Fig. 2, [0118-0120], [0270-0272]);
in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode, selectively feeding back an additional area refresh by the display driving device to the host ((100), Fig. 2, [0119-01122]; and
in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode (i.e. multiple partial update for AR1, Ar2, , in response to the additional area refresh (i.e. Ar3), transmitting at least one additional display area image data (image data for Ar3) by the host to the display driving device in addition to transmitting the partial frame image data in at least one corresponding frame period corresponding to the additional area refresh (see, [0119-0120], [0126-0127], [0194], Fig. 2-3, 5A, 10 and 13A).
Note that Woo does not specifically disclose additional area refresh request as discloses in claim 17.
Robotham (US 20020015042 A1) discloses display area refresh request to the host (2) and transmit multipart refresh based on request (in multipart refresh the host processor 2, render and transmit display data (data from bitmap) on request) (see, [0033, 0341-0344], Fig. 1, [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woo with the teaching of Robotham, thereby creating high performance display device and improving the user experience.
Regarding claim 2:
Woo discloses wherein the host comprises an application processor ([0118], [0270-0272]).
Regarding claims 3, 18 and 31:
Woo discloses wherein the host sends partial refresh position information to the display driving device in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode ([0128-0129], [0138-0139]), and
the display driving device partially refreshes a high-frame-rate display area (i.e. AR3) of the display panel using the partial frame image data based on the partial refresh position information in another frame period (display image currant frame) except the at least one corresponding frame period (display image in previous frame, see Fig. 3, [0127-0129]).
Regarding claims 4, 19 and 32:
Woo discloses wherein the partial frame image data and the at least one additional display area image data constitute full frame image data (entire image display data, [0138-0139]), in response to the display driving device sending the additional area refresh, the display driving device ignores the partial refresh position (do not refresh based on partial image) information in the at least one corresponding frame period, and the display driving device performs global refresh on the display panel using the full frame image data in the at least one corresponding frame period (i.e. in current frame display entire display image data , [0138-0139], Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 5, 20 and 33:
Woo discloses wherein in response to the display driving device deciding to perform image processing (image processing at display panel 300, see Fig. 2) on the data provided by the host in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode, the display driving device feeds back the additional area refresh to the host to the at least one additional display area image data [0138-0139].
Woo in view of Robotham discloses area refresh request to the host and transmit multipart refresh based on request (in multipart refresh render and transmit based on request (see, [0033. 0341-0344], Fig. 1, [0060]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 6, 21, and 34:
Woo discloses the image processing comprises color shift compensation (see [0126, 0218]).
Regarding claim 7, 22 and 35:
Woo discloses wherein in response to the host (100) deciding to perform image processing on the data provided by the host to the display driving device (200) in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode, the host sends a display state switching command (i.e. change to AR3 partial image to the display driving device (200); and in response to the display state switching command, the display driving device feeds back the additional area refresh request to the host to request the at least one additional display area image data (i.e. image data for Ar3) (see, [0119-0120], [0126-0127], [0194], Fig. 2-3, 5A, 10 and 13A).
Note that Woo does not specifically disclose additional area refresh request .
Robotham (US 20020015042 A1) discloses display area refresh request to the host (2) and transmit multipart refresh based on request (in multipart refresh the host processor 2, render and transmit display data (data from bitmap) on request) (see, [0033, 0341-0344], Fig. 1, [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woo with the teaching of Robotham, thereby creating high performance display device and improving the user experience.
Regarding claims 8, 23 and 36:
Wood discloses wherein the image processing comprises brightness adjustment (color adjustment for display brightness) ([0126]).
Regarding claims 9, 24 and 37:
Woo discloses wherein in response to the display driving device receiving the display state switching command (rendering update for partial image from host 200, see Fig. 2) in a current frame period in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode , the display driving device feeds back the additional area refresh (AR3) to the host in the current frame period ) (see, [0119-0120], [0126-0127], [0194], Fig. 2-3, 5A, 10 and 13A).
Robotham (US 20020015042 A1) discloses display area refresh request to the host (2) and transmit multipart refresh based on request (in multipart refresh the host processor 2, render and transmit display data (data from bitmap) on request) (see, [0033, 0341-0344], Fig. 1, [0060]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woo with the teaching of Robotham, thereby creating high performance display device and improving the user experience.
Regarding claims 10, 25 and 38:
Woo discloses wherein in response to the display driving device receiving the display state switching command (i.e. changing or update the information for AR3) in a current frame period in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode, the display driving device feeds back the additional area refresh to the host in a next frame period after the current frame period (see Woo [0119-0120], [0126-0127], [0194], Fig. 2-3, 5A, 10 and 13A).
Robotham (US 20020015042 A1) discloses display area refresh request to the host (2) and transmit multipart refresh based on request (in multipart refresh the host processor 2, render and transmit display data (data from bitmap) on request) (see, [0033, 0341-0344], Fig. 1, [0060]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 11, 26 and 39:
Woo discloses wherein the partial frame image data and the at least one additional display area image data constitute full frame image data (entire image data on the display screen) ([0138]),
the additional area refresh comprises a pulse signal (TE, see Fig. 8), and in response to the host receiving the pulse signal in a current frame period in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode, the host transmits the full frame image data to the display driving device in a next frame period after the current frame period ([0123-0124, 0138, 0178-0179]).
Robotham (US 20020015042 A1) discloses display area refresh request to the host (2) and transmit multipart refresh based on request (in multipart refresh the host processor 2, render and transmit display data (data from bitmap) on request) (see, [0033, 0341-0344], Fig. 1, [0060]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 12, 27 and 40:
Woo discloses wherein the display driving device feeds back the pulse signal to the host in a vertical front porch of the current frame period (see Fig. 8, ([0123-0124, 0138, 0178-0179]).
Regarding claims 13, 28 and 41:
Woo discloses wherein the partial frame image data and the at least one additional display area image data constitute full frame image data (entire image data for the display), the host transmits the full frame image data to the display driving device in a next frame period after the current frame period ([0138, 0178-0179]).
Woo in view of Robotham discloses area refresh request to the host and transmit multipart refresh based on request (in multipart refresh render and transmit based on request) (see Robotham, [0341-0344]) and the host (2, see Fig. 1) polls a register (bitmap 14) of the display driving device to obtain the area refresh request, and in response to the host receiving the additional area refresh request in a current frame period in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode (see Robotham, [0033, 0060-0064], Fig. 1) . Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 16:
Woo discloses wherein the additional area refresh comprises a plurality of area s corresponding to different display areas of the display panel (AR1, AR2, AR3), and in response to a designated area among the area , the host transmits the additional display area image data corresponding to the designated area to the display driving device (see Abstract, ([0123-0124], Fig. 2).
Woo (US 20160329033 A1) in view of Robotham (US 20020015042 A1) discloses area refresh request to the host and transmit multipart refresh based on request (in multipart refresh the host processor render and transmit based on request) [see [0033], [0060], [0341-0344]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
2. Claim(s) 14-15, 29, 42-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20160329033 A1) in view of Robotham (US 20020015042 A1) further in view of Lee (US 20240029624 A1).
Regarding claims 14-15, 29 and 42-43:
Woo discloses wherein the display driving device comprises: a source driver (260, Fig. 6) configured to drive a plurality of data lines of the display panel ([0147],[0155]); and
Woo in view of Robotham discloses the control circuit (200, see Woo, Fig. 2) selectively feeds back the additional area refresh request to the host in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode refresh (see,Woo, [0119-0120], [0126-0127], [0194], Fig. 2-3, 5A, 10 and 13Aand Robotham [0033, 0341-0344], Fig. 1, [0060]); and in response to the additional area refresh request, the host transmits the at least one additional display area image data to the control circuit in the at least one corresponding frame period corresponding to the additional area refresh request in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode (see,Woo, [0119-0120], [0126-0127], [0194], Fig. 2-3, 5A, 10 and 13Aand Robotham [0033, 0341-0344], Fig. 1, [0060]).
Woo in view of Robothham does not specifically disclose a timing control circuit coupled to the gate signal generator and the source driver, wherein the timing control circuit processes the data provided by the host and provides the processed data to the source driver, the timing control circuit controls the gate signal generator.
However, Lee (US 20240029624 A1) discloses display driving device comprises: a gate signal generator (115_1) configured to control a gate driver of the display panel, wherein the gate driver is configured to drive a plurality of scan lines of the display panel (see Fig. 2); a source driver (115_2) configured to drive a plurality of data lines of the display panel ([0054-0060]); and a timing control circuit (113) coupled to the gate signal generator and the source driver([0054-0060]), wherein the timing control circuit processes the data provided by the host (200, See Fig.1) and provides the processed data to the source driver ([0054-0060]), the timing control circuit controls the gate signal generator (see Fig. 2, [0054-0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woo with the teaching of Robotham and Lee, thereby providing high efficient data transmission in the display device.
Regarding claims 15 and 43:
Woo in view of Robotham discloses the control circuit (200, see Woo, Fig. 2) selectively feeds back the additional area refresh request to the host in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode refresh (see,Woo, [0119-0120], [0126-0127], [0194], Fig. 2-3, 5A, 10 and 13Aand Robotham [0033, 0341-0344], Fig. 1, [0060]); and in response to the additional area refresh request, the host transmits the at least one additional display area image data to the control circuit in the at least one corresponding frame period corresponding to the additional area refresh request in the multi-area multi-frame-rate mode (see,Woo, [0119-0120], [0126-0127], [0194], Fig. 2-3, 5A, 10 and 13Aand Robotham [0033, 0341-0344], Fig. 1, [0060]).
Woo in view of Robothham and Lee discloses wherein the timing control circuit (113) comprises: a timing controller coupled to the gate signal generator (115_1); and an image processor (114) coupled to the timing controller and the source driver (115_2), wherein the image processor processes the data provided by the host (200, see Fig. 1) and provides the processed data to the source driver (see Lee, [0054-0060]Fig. 2), the timing controller selectively feeds back the additional area refresh request to the host (see Lee[0054-0060], Fig. 2). Same motivation as applied to claim 14.
Responds to Applicant’s argument
Applicant’s argument filed on 07/25/2024 has been considered but are not persuasive. More specifically the Applicant argues that Examiner’s cited reference singly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the subject matter of claim 1, 17 and 30. In responds, The Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s point of view. Note that the limitations are broadly recited in the claims. Examiner gives a broadest reasonable interpretation towards the claimed language as recited in the claim. Examiner’s cited reference implicitly discloses the subject matter as recited in the claim.
Conclusion
15. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Pertinent art
3. Pertinent art of record Kim (US 11854470 B2) discloses display device.
Inquiry
/SHAHEDA A ABDIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627