DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final communication is in response to Application No. 18/784,887 filed 7/25/2024 which claims priority from Provisional Application No. 63/517,886 filed 8/4/2023. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodati (US 2022/0324575 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kodati teaches a … screen skylight for an aircraft comprising:
a … display screen substantially conformed to a ceiling of an aircraft cabin; More specifically, an aircraft cabin includes a monitor disposed in the ceiling structure and conforms to the general shape of the ceiling, a controller to render images on the monitor, and cameras to capture real-time streaming environmental (external) images and renders them on the monitor (Kodati, abstract, [0032]).
a camera configured to provide a real-time external view from the aircraft. More specifically, the overhead monitors 200, 202 may display an environmental (external) image stream as captured by one or more environmental (external) cameras (Kodati, [0035]).
a memory storage device, wherein the camera and the memory storage device are communicatively coupled with the … display screen; More specifically, Figure 1 depicts a memory and cameras communicatively coupled to the overhead monitors (Kodati, [0027]).
a user interface operatively coupled with the camera and the memory storage device; wherein the … display screen is configured to display 1) a live video feed from the camera or 2) preloaded imagery stored on the memory storage device, and wherein the user interface enables a selection of the live video feed or the preloaded imagery to be displayed on the … display screen. More specifically, cameras capture real-time streaming environmental images and renders them on the monitor. At the passenger's request, the controller may render a selection of mood affective images, for example to promote sleep if desired (Kodati, abstract, [0026]).
However, while Kodati does not explicitly describe the overhead monitor as “curved”, Kodati does state that the overhead monitor is installed in an aircraft and may be embodied in ultrathin OLED screens that conform to the general shape of the ceiling [of an aircraft] (Kodati, [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Kodati, a display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft that displays a view external to the aircraft via cameras or alternatively provides selections of stored images would include that the display screen is a curved display screen. With Kodati disclosing that the display screen is mounted in a way that it conforms to the shape of the ceiling, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft that displays a view external to the aircraft via cameras or alternatively provides selections of stored images would include that the display screen is a curved display screen because one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the shape of the ceiling of the fuselage of an aircraft is curved. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft.
Regarding claim 2, Kodati suggests the curved screen skylight of claim 1 comprising an overhead panel having curvature to conform to the ceiling. More specifically, Kodati does state that the overhead monitor is installed in an aircraft and may be embodied in ultrathin OLED screens that conform to the general shape of the ceiling [of an aircraft] (Kodati, [0032], therefore, obviously having a curvature conforming to the ceiling).
Regarding claim 10, this claim recites the method substantially performed by the curved screen skylight of claim 1, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 16, Kodati teaches a … screen skylight for an aircraft comprising: a … display screen configured to be at least partially embedded into an aircraft ceiling; a camera communicatively connected to a memory storage device and the curved display screen; wherein the … display screen is configured to display at least one of: a live video feed from the camera, or preloaded imagery stored on the memory storage device. More specifically, an aircraft cabin includes a monitor disposed in the ceiling structure and conforms to the general shape of the ceiling is at least partially embedded using a flush mount, a controller to render images on the monitor, and cameras to capture real-time streaming environmental (external) images and renders them on the monitor (Kodati, abstract, [0032], [0033], Figure 2B, display screens 200 and 202). The overhead monitors 200, 202 may display an environmental (external) image stream as captured by one or more environmental (external) cameras (Kodati, [0035]). Figure 1 depicts a memory and cameras 110 communicatively coupled to the overhead monitors (Kodati, [0027]). Cameras capture real-time streaming environmental images and renders them on the monitor. At the passenger's request, the controller may render a selection of mood affective images, for example to promote sleep if desired (Kodati, abstract, [0026]).
However, while Kodati does not explicitly describe the overhead monitor as “curved”, Kodati does state that the overhead monitor is installed in an aircraft and may be embodied in ultrathin OLED screens that conform to the general shape of the ceiling [of an aircraft] (Kodati, [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Kodati, a display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft that displays a view external to the aircraft via cameras or alternatively provides selections of stored images would include that the display screen is a curved display screen. With Kodati disclosing that the display screen is mounted in a way that it conforms to the shape of the ceiling and at least partially embedded using a flush mount in the ceiling, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft that displays a view external to the aircraft via cameras or alternatively provides selections of stored images would include that the display screen is a curved display screen because one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the shape of the ceiling of the fuselage of an aircraft is curved. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft.
Regarding claim 17, Kodati suggests the curved screen skylight of claim 16 comprising a user interface configured to enable a selection for displaying either the live video feed from the camera or the preloaded imagery stored on the memory storage device. More specifically, cameras capture real-time streaming environmental images and renders them on the monitor. At the passenger's request, the controller may render a selection of mood affective images, for example to promote sleep if desired (Kodati, abstract, [0026]).
Regarding claim 18, Kodati suggests the curved screen skylight of claim 16 comprising a display frame configured to create an edge around the curved display screen and attach to the aircraft ceiling. More specifically, a cowling/frame disposed around the display surface of the overhead monitor 200, 202 (that is to say along the bottom surface) may hold the overhead monitor 200, 202 in place via positive contact between the display surface of the overhead monitor 200, 202 and the ceiling structure (Kodati, [0033], [0036], [0042]).
Claim(s) 3, 5-8, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodati, and further in view of Thornton et al. (US 2022/0281581 A1, hereinafter “Thornton”).
Regarding claim 3, Kodati suggests the curved screen skylight of claim 2 comprising a display frame disposed around a perimeter of the … display screen. More specifically, the overhead monitor may be framed by a cowling disposed around the bottom display surface. The cowling may be sized to completely cover any border region of the display surface and more realistically present the display surface as an overhead window (Kodati, [0036]).
However, while Kodati suggests the display screen itself may be curved to conform with the curved shape of an aircraft ceiling, Kodati may not explicitly teach every aspect of
[the frame is] configured to conform to the curvature of the overhead panel such that the display frame frames the curved display screen.
Thornton discloses a window display assembly that has a curved contour that substantially matches the curved contour of the fuselage of an aircraft (Thornton, abstract). Figures 4 and 5 depict the window display assembly as having a panel/frame 11 that is curved with the shape of the aircraft fuselage. Additionally shown, pertaining to the panel/frame 11, is that there is a flange portion that overlaps the outer edge of display screen 20 (which is attached to outer surface 40) (Thornton, [0030]-[0031], Figure 5, the flanges serve to embed the curved display screen within the panel/frame and fuselage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Kodati and Thornton, a display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft that includes a frame to give a realistic impression of a real window would include that the display screen and [frame is] configured to conform to the curvature of the overhead panel such that the display frame frames the curved display screen. With Kodati and Thornton suggesting framed aircraft display screens that provide window functions, with Kodati additionally suggesting that the display screen could be curved, and with Thornton also disclosing a curved display screen framed by a curved panel/frame, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft that includes a frame to give a realistic impression of a real window would include that the display screen and [frame is] configured to conform to the curvature of the overhead panel such that the display frame frames the curved display screen because having a curved display framed by a curved frame gives the virtual window a more realistic window appearance. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this curved display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft.
Regarding claim 5, Kodati and Thornton suggest the curved screen skylight of claim 3 comprising flanges which extend around a perimeter of the display frame and overlap an outer edge of the curved display screen. More specifically, Figures 4 and 5 depict the window display assembly as having a panel/frame 11 that is curved with the shape of the aircraft fuselage. Additionally shown, pertaining to the panel/frame 11, is that there is a flange portion that overlaps the outer edge of display screen 20 (which is attached to outer surface 40) (Thornton, [0030]-[0031], Figure 5, the flanges serve to embed the curved display screen within the panel/frame and fuselage).
Regarding claim 6, Kodati and Thornton suggest the curved screen skylight of claim 5 wherein the flanges are configured to embed the curved display screen within the overhead panel. More specifically, Figures 4 and 5 depict the window display assembly as having a panel/frame 11 that is curved with the shape of the aircraft fuselage. Additionally shown, pertaining to the panel/frame 11, is that there is a flange portion that overlaps the outer edge of display screen 20 (which is attached to outer surface 40) (Thornton, [0030]-[0031], Figure 5, the flanges serve to embed the curved display screen within the panel/frame and fuselage).
Regarding claim 7, Kodati and Thornton suggest the curved screen skylight of claim 5 wherein a viewable width is created in between the flanges such that the curved display screen displays either the preloaded imagery or the live video feed within the viewable width. More specifically, Figures 4 and 5 depict the window display assembly as having a panel/frame 11 that is curved with the shape of the aircraft fuselage. Additionally shown, pertaining to the panel/frame 11, is that there is a flange portion that overlaps the outer edge of display screen 20 (which is attached to outer surface 40) (Thornton, [0030]-[0031], Figure 5, the flanges serve to embed the curved display screen within the panel/frame and fuselage and creates the viewable width and length).
However, while Kodati and Thornton may not explicitly teach every aspect of
… the viewable width is in a range of 15 inches to 25 inches wide…
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, that the viewable width is in a range of 15 inches to 25 inches wide because this modification does not provide an advantage, is not used for a particular purpose, and does not solve a particular problem; the specification does nothing to remedy these deficiencies. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the display screen dimensions shown in Figure 4 of Kodati and Figures 2 or 6 of Thornton. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the viewable width to obtain the invention with the specific dimensions in the claim.
Regarding claim 8, Kodati and Thornton suggest the curved screen skylight of claim 5, wherein a viewable length is created in between the flanges such that the curved display screen displays either the preloaded imagery or the live video feed within the viewable length. More specifically, Figures 4 and 5 depict the window display assembly as having a panel/frame 11 that is curved with the shape of the aircraft fuselage. Additionally shown, pertaining to the panel/frame 11, is that there is a flange portion that overlaps the outer edge of display screen 20 (which is attached to outer surface 40) (Thornton, [0030]-[0031], Figure 5, the flanges serve to embed the curved display screen within the panel/frame and fuselage and creates the viewable width and length).
However, while Kodati and Thornton may not explicitly teach every aspect of
… the viewable length is in a range of 35 inches to 55 inches long...
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, that the viewable length is in a range of 35 inches to 55 inches long because this modification does not provide an advantage, is not used for a particular purpose, and does not solve a particular problem; the specification does nothing to remedy these deficiencies. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the display screen dimensions shown in Figure 4 of Kodati and Figures 2 or 6 of Thornton. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the viewable length to obtain the invention with the specific dimensions in the claim.
Regarding claim 20, Kodati suggests the curved screen skylight of claim 16, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of comprising flanges configured to extend from the aircraft ceiling and secure the curved display screen to the aircraft ceiling such that the curved display screen appears substantially embedded within the aircraft ceiling.
Thornton discloses a window display assembly that has a curved contour that substantially matches the curved contour of the fuselage of an aircraft (Thornton, abstract). Figures 4 and 5 depict the window display assembly as having a panel/frame 11 that is curved with the shape of the aircraft fuselage. Additionally shown, pertaining to the panel/frame 11, is that there is a flange portion that overlaps the outer edge of display screen 20 (which is attached to outer surface 40) (Thornton, [0030]-[0031], Figure 5, the flanges serve to embed the curved display screen within the panel/frame and fuselage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Kodati and Thornton, a display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft that includes a frame to give a realistic impression of a real window would include flanges configured to extend from the aircraft ceiling and secure the curved display screen to the aircraft ceiling such that the curved display screen appears substantially embedded within the aircraft ceiling. With Kodati and Thornton suggesting framed aircraft display screens that provide window functions, with Kodati additionally suggesting that the display screen could be curved, and with Thornton also disclosing a curved display screen framed by a curved panel/frame with flange portions that serve to embed the curved display screen within the paneling, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft that includes a frame to give a realistic impression of a real window would include flanges configured to extend from the aircraft ceiling and secure the curved display screen to the aircraft ceiling such that the curved display screen appears substantially embedded within the aircraft ceiling because having a curved display framed by a curved frame and embedded into the ceiling with flanges gives the virtual window a more realistic window appearance. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this curved display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodati and Thornton, and further in view of Van De Sluis (US 2023/0145323 A1, published 5/11/2023, hereinafter “Van”).
Regarding claim 4, Kodati and Thornton suggest the curved screen skylight of claim 3, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the display frame includes lighting elements which illuminate the display frame.
Van discloses a virtual window device functioning as a skylight mounted in a ceiling that displays an image of an external view using a camera (Van, abstract, [0003], [0005], [0034], [0037], [0040]). The virtual window device is surrounded by a frame with lighting elements such as in Figure 6a (Van, abstract, [0003], [0005], [0034], [0037], [0040], [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Kodati and Thornton with Van, a display screen mounted to the ceiling of a space that includes a frame to give a realistic impression of a real window would include wherein the display frame includes lighting elements which illuminate the display frame. With Kodati and Van suggesting framed display screens that create virtual ceiling windows, and with Van additionally disclosing the framed of the virtual window device in a ceiling including lighting elements in the frame, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a display screen mounted to the ceiling of a space that includes a frame to give a realistic impression of a real window would include wherein the display frame includes lighting elements which illuminate the display frame in order to add even more realism to a virtual skylight where the light from the lighting elements in the frame mimic sunlight (Van, [0035]). One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this curved display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft.
Claim(s) 9, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodati, and further in view of Candelore (US 2017/0240047 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kodati suggests the curved screen skylight of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the user interface enables a selection for augmented reality to be displayed on the curved display screen, and the augmented reality is stored on the memory storage device.
Candelore discloses a camera on a vehicle captures an image of the surroundings, and the image is presented in a window of the vehicle that is established by a display such as an OLED display or transparent LCD display. The image from the camera is presented on the display according to the angle of the camera with respect to the vehicle, such that an occupant of the vehicle sees the image on the window substantially in the same relative location with respect to the surroundings as the occupant would see looking at the objects in the image through the window. In other embodiments images from a database are presented on the window superimposed onto background objects seen through the window (Candelore, abstract). Curved active windows could be sunroofs and could be transparent or opaque regular displays mounted on the dome roof of the vehicle (Candelore, [0003], [0006], [0067]-[0068]). A user interface could be used to select from “Live view from Camera”, “Still images from Camera”, and “Fun Superimposition from Database” (augmented reality from storage) (Candelore, Figures 4-5, [0059]-[0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Kodati and Candelore, a display screen mounted to the ceiling of a vehicle that can display a live view external to the vehicle or stored images based on a user selection would include the user interface enables a selection for augmented reality to be displayed. With Kodati and Candelore suggesting vehicle ceiling display screens that display a live view external to the vehicle or stored images based on user selection, and with Candelore also disclosing a selection for enabling augmented reality, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a display screen mounted to the ceiling of a vehicle that can display a live view external to the vehicle or stored images based on a user selection would include the user interface enables a selection for augmented reality to be displayed in order to offer real time information to passengers of air travel which can present comfort and entertainment during long flights. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this curved display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft.
Regarding claim 11, Kodati suggests the curved screen skylight of claim 10, comprising providing a user interface operatively coupled to the curved display screen. More specifically, cameras capture real-time streaming environmental images and renders them on the monitor. At the passenger's request, the controller may render a selection of mood affective images, for example to promote sleep if desired (Kodati, abstract, [0026]).
However, Kodati may not explicitly suggest every aspect of wherein the user interface is configured to display a selectable menu on a human machine interface.
Candelore discloses a camera on a vehicle captures an image of the surroundings, and the image is presented in a window of the vehicle that is established by a display such as an OLED display or transparent LCD display. The image from the camera is presented on the display according to the angle of the camera with respect to the vehicle, such that an occupant of the vehicle sees the image on the window substantially in the same relative location with respect to the surroundings as the occupant would see looking at the objects in the image through the window. In other embodiments images from a database are presented on the window superimposed onto background objects seen through the window (Candelore, abstract). Curved active windows could be sunroofs and could be transparent or opaque regular displays mounted on the dome roof of the vehicle (Candelore, [0003], [0006], [0067]-[0068]). A user interface menu could be used to select from “Live view from Camera”, “Still images from Camera”, and “Fun Superimposition from Database” (augmented reality from storage) (Candelore, Figures 4-5, [0059]-[0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Kodati and Candelore, a method for having a curved display screen mounted to the ceiling of a vehicle that can display a live view external to the vehicle or stored images based on a user request would include the user interface is configured to display a selectable menu on a human machine interface. With Kodati and Candelore suggesting vehicle ceiling display screens that display a live view external to the vehicle or stored images based on user selection, and with Candelore also disclosing a user interface menu with selections for displaying a live external vehicle view, stored still images, or enabling augmented reality using stored images, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for having a curved display screen mounted to the ceiling of a vehicle that can display a live view external to the vehicle or stored images based on a user request would include the user interface is configured to display a selectable menu on a human machine interface in order to offer the choice of what to show on the display screens when a live view, still images, or augmented reality is available. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this curved display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft.
Regarding claim 12, Kodati and Candelore suggest the curved screen skylight of claim 11 wherein the selectable menu is configured to enable selection of either a) a live video feed from the camera, or b) preloaded imagery stored on the memory storage device, for displaying on the curved display screen. More specifically, a user interface menu could be used to select from “Live view from Camera”, “Still images from Camera”, and “Fun Superimposition from Database” (augmented reality from storage) (Candelore, Figures 4-5, [0059]-[0063]).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodati and Candelore, and further in view of Thornton.
Regarding claim 13, Kodati and Candelore suggest the curved screen skylight of claim 12 comprising disposing a display frame around the curved display screen. More specifically, the overhead monitor may be framed by a cowling disposed around the bottom display surface. The cowling may be sized to completely cover any border region of the display surface and more realistically present the display surface as an overhead window (Kodati, [0036]). Additionally, curved active windows could be sunroofs and could be transparent or opaque regular displays mounted on the dome roof of the vehicle (Candelore, [0003], [0006], [0067]-[0068]).
However, while Kodati and Candelore suggests the display screen itself may be curved to conform with the curved shape of a ceiling, Kodati may not explicitly teach every aspect of
conforming the display frame to an overhead panel, such that the display frame encloses an outer portion of the curved display screen.
Thornton discloses a window display assembly that has a curved contour that substantially matches the curved contour of the fuselage of an aircraft (Thornton, abstract). Figures 4 and 5 depict the window display assembly as having a panel/frame 11 that is curved with the shape of the aircraft fuselage. Additionally shown, pertaining to the panel/frame 11, is that there is a flange portion that overlaps the outer edge of display screen 20 (which is attached to outer surface 40) (Thornton, [0030]-[0031], Figure 5, the flanges serve to embed the curved display screen within the panel/frame and fuselage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Kodati and Candelore with Thornton, a method of having a display screen mounted to the ceiling of a vehicle that includes a frame to give a realistic impression of a real window would include that the display screen and [frame is] configured to conform to the curvature of the overhead panel such that the display frame frames the curved display screen. With Kodati, Candelore, and Thornton disclosing vehicle displays that are either windows or represent windows, with Kodati and Thornton suggesting framed aircraft display screens that provide window functions, with Kodati additionally suggesting that the display screen could be curved, and with Thornton also disclosing a curved display screen framed by a curved panel/frame, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method of having a display screen mounted to the ceiling of a vehicle that includes a frame to give a realistic impression of a real window would include that the display screen and [frame is] configured to conform to the curvature of the overhead panel such that the display frame frames the curved display screen because having a curved display framed by a curved frame gives the virtual window a more realistic window appearance in a vehicle. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this curved display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft.
Regarding claim 14, Kodati and Candelore with Thornton suggest the curved screen skylight of claim 13 comprising embedding the curved display screen into the overhead panel and securing the curved display screen using flanges extending from the overhead panel. More specifically, Figures 4 and 5 depict the window display assembly as having a panel/frame 11 that is curved with the shape of the aircraft fuselage. Additionally shown, pertaining to the panel/frame 11, is that there is a flange portion that overlaps the outer edge of display screen 20 (which is attached to outer surface 40) (Thornton, [0030]-[0031], Figure 5, the flanges serve to embed the curved display screen within the panel/frame and fuselage).
Regarding claim 15, Kodati and Candelore with Thornton suggest the curved screen skylight of claim 13 comprising conforming the curved display screen to the overhead panel such that a standup height is substantially maintained inside the aircraft cabin. More specifically, the overhead monitors are described and depicted as flush mounted, resulting in no substantial change in the height of the ceiling in the aircraft (Kodati, [0033], [0040]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodati, and further in view of Morales et al. (US 2011/0155851, hereinafter “Morales”).
Regarding claim 19, Kodati suggests the curved screen skylight of claim 16, however may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein a radius of curvature of the curved display screen is less than a radius of curvature of the aircraft ceiling.
Morales discloses an aircraft observation window that has a radius of curvature smaller than the fuselage radius of curvature (Morales, Figure 5, bubble form vs normal window, [0013]-[0014]). The dimensions are such that an observer may may look out and have a greater angle of vision than a normal aircraft window (Morales, [0032], [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Kodati and Morales, a curved display screen mounted to an aircraft that displays a view external to the aircraft as if it were a real window would include wherein a radius of curvature of the curved display screen is less than a radius of curvature of the aircraft ceiling. With Kodati and Morales disclosing views external to an aircraft using either real or virtual windows, and with Morales disclosing a window with a radius of curvature less than a radius of curvature of the aircraft fuselage in order to provide a viewer with a greater field of view than a normal window, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a curved display screen mounted to an aircraft that displays a view external to the aircraft as real window would include wherein a radius of curvature of the curved display screen is less than a radius of curvature of the aircraft ceiling because this allows each display screen to increase the field of view while maintaining a window appearance that would provide the same increased field of view realistically. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this display screen mounted to the ceiling of an aircraft.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Stavaeus (US 2010/00014009 A1) – curved display panel embedded in an aircraft ceiling.
Kathol (US 11,182,970 B1) – aircraft window displaying augmented reality.
Bachhuber (US 2010/00014009 A1) – curved display embedded in an aircraft ceiling.
Kim (US 2021/0006712 A1) – displays showing external view of an aircraft.
Boomgaarden (US 2015/0008282 A1) – ceiling mounted display in an aircraft simulating a night sky.
Velten (US 2014/0085337 A1) – displays on walls and ceiling of an aircraft that simulate the external views.
Brauer (US 2019/0258880 A1) – interior displays mimicking windows in an aircraft depicting a perspective of outside of the aircraft.
Johannessen (US 10,392,129 A1) – displays on walls and ceiling of an aircraft that display the external views.
Santos (US 12,358,623 B2) – aircraft window displaying augmented reality.
Sizelove (US 2017/0286037 A1) – virtual window in an aircraft.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171