DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on 08/20/2026. The amendments of Applicant are entered and have been considered by Examiner. Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Claims 1, 2, 15, 17-20 were amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on new prior art not present in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0094062 A1 to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of US 2022/0386100 A1 (foreign priority date of Sep. 10, 2019) to Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee”)
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches A policy processing method, perform by a first network function, comprising: (Figure 8, illustrates V-PCF (i.e. first network function))
sending User Equipment (UE) policy assistance information to a second network function, (Figure 8 and [0220], discloses step 6, The V-PCF may send the notification of data change from the V-UDR to the H-PCF by invoking Npcf_UDR_DM_Notify. New service operation, Npcf_UDR_DM_Notify can be defined. According to the subscription in step 0b, updates, changes, etc. in EAS information occur, the V-PCF may notify it to the H-PCF (i.e. sending to a second network function). These notifications may include updated EAS information (i.e. UE policy assistance information). Therefore, the H-PCF may recognize the EAS information updated by the notification )
wherein the UE policy assistance information is used to generate, configure, or update a policy of a target UE. (Figure 8 and [0221], discloses step 7, The H-PCF may determine the URSP rules based on the data including EAS information. [0225], discloses determining the URSP rules by the H-PCF may be interpreted as setting URSP rules or configuring URSP rules or creating/updating/deleting URSP rules (i.e. generate/configure/update a policy). [0226], further discloses step 8, The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules to the UE (i.e. target UE) via the V-PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure for transparent UE Policy delivery)
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the UE policy assistance information comprises at least one of the following: a UE Route Selection Policy (USRP) of a visit network; a service descriptor of the URSP of the visit network; or a route descriptor of the USRP of the visit network.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lee discloses in Figure 2, [0032], and [0102]-[0107], transmitting an indicator requesting transmission or allowance of transmission of a visited user equipment route selection policy (V-URSP) (i.e. URSP of a visit network)) of the V-PCF to a home-policy control function (H-PCF) of a home PLMN. [0053]-[0054], further discloses different URSP rules for different PLMNs. For example, the visited PLMN and the home PLMN may have an indicator (traffic descriptor) (i.e. service descriptor)) indicating a same video reproducing application. However, route selection components (i.e. route descriptors) of the visited PLMN and home PLMN may be different from each other. [0070], further discloses URSP rule may include rule precedence, a traffic descriptor, and a route selection descriptor list.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim to include the above limitations as suggested by Lee, in order to prevent conflict of URSP rules to be applied by the UE as suggested in [0057] of Lee.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 1,
Wherein Kim further teaches the UE policy assistance information comprises at least one of the following: application information ([0196], discloses EAS information (e.g., EAS IP address, EAS FQDN, Location Criteria, etc).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 1, wherein Kim further teaches before the sending UE policy assistance information to a second network function, the policy processing method further comprises: receiving a first request or a subscription sent by the second network function, wherein the first request or the subscription is used to request to obtain the UE policy assistance information, or the first request or the subscription is used to obtain a subscription to the UE policy assistance information. ([0185], discloses The H-PCF (i.e. second network function) may request V-PCF to perform the subscription to notification to the data modified in the V-UDR for the UE (i.e. request/subscription to obtain UE policy assistance information) (step 0b). For this operation, new service operation, Npcf_UDR_DM_Subscribe can be defined (i.e. first request or subscription). The Npcf_UDR_DM_Subscribe message may include an identifier (e.g., SUPI) of the UE and information indicating service subscription for service specific information for the UE.
Regarding Claim 4, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 3, wherein Kim further teaches the first request or the subscription comprises at least one of the following: a Visit Public Land Mobile Network (VPLMN) UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) obtaining indication; a target UE identifier; a target group identifier; target application information; target Data Network Name (DNN) information; target slice information; target Data Network Access Identifier (DNAI) information; target service descriptor information; or target route descriptor information. ([0186], discloses The Npcf_UDR_DM_Subscribe message may include an identifier (e.g., SUPI) of the UE (i.e. target UE identifier) and information indicating service subscription for service specific information for the UE)
Regarding Claim 5, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 4, wherein Kim further teaches the sending UE policy assistance information to a second network function comprises at least one of the following:
comprises the target UE identifier, sending the UE policy assistance information to the second network function or sending UE policy assistance information associated with the target UE identifier to the second network function in a first target process, wherein the first target process is a UE policy association creation process or a UE policy updating process indicated by the target UE identifier; ([0220], discloses step 6, The V-PCF may send the notification of data change from the V-UDR to the H-PCF by invoking Npcf_UDR_DM_Notify (i.e. sending UE policy assistance information associated with the target UE identifier to the second network function in a first target process). New service operation, Npcf_UDR_DM_Notify can be defined. According to the subscription in step 0b, updates, changes, etc. in EAS information occur, the V-PCF may notify it to the H-PCF. These notifications may include updated EAS information. Therefore, the H-PCF may recognize the EAS information updated by the notification. [0221] and [0225], further discloses step 7, The H-PCF may determine the URSP rules based on the data including EAS information. Determining the URSP rules by the H-PCF may be interpreted as setting URSP rules or configuring URSP rules or creating/updating/deleting URSP rules (i.e. target process is a UE policy creation process or updating process))
Regarding Claim 6, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 4, wherein Kim further teaches the target application information comprises at least one of an identifier of a target application or a service descriptor. (Examiner interpreted claim 4 to be the first request includes “target UE identifier”. This limitation further limits a non-chosen alternative and thus given no patentable weight, as the invention can be performed based on the chosen alternative)
Regarding Claim 7, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 4, wherein Kim further teaches the target service descriptor information comprises at least one of an application descriptor, an Internet Protocol (IP) descriptor, a non-IP descriptor, a domain descriptor, a DNN, or connection capability information. (Examiner interpreted claim 4 to be the first request includes “target UE identifier”. This limitation further limits a non-chosen alternative and thus given no patentable weight, as the invention can be performed based on the chosen alternative)
Regarding Claim 8, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 4, wherein Kim further teaches the target route descriptor information comprises at least one of a session and service continuity mode, a network slice selection, a DNN, a non-seamless indication, or an access type preference. (Examiner interpreted claim 4 to be the first request includes “target UE identifier”. This limitation further limits a non-chosen alternative and thus given no patentable weight, as the invention can be performed based on the chosen alternative)
Regarding Claim 9, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 4, wherein Kim further teaches when the first request comprises the target application information, the UE policy assistance information sent by the first network function comprises at least one of the following: a Quality of Service (QoS) requirement, a DNN, slice information, a service descriptor, a URSP, a route descriptor, or a DNAI. (Examiner interpreted claim 4 to be the first request includes “target UE identifier”. This limitation further limits a non-chosen alternative and thus given no patentable weight, as the invention can be performed based on the chosen alternative)
Regarding Claim 10, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 4, wherein Kim further teaches when the first request comprises the target DNN information, the UE policy assistance information sent by the first network function is associated with a DNN corresponding to the target DNN information, and the UE policy assistance information comprises at least one of the following: a URSP, a DNAI, slice information, a service descriptor, or a route descriptor. (Examiner interpreted claim 4 to be the first request includes “target UE identifier”. This limitation further limits a non-chosen alternative and thus given no patentable weight, as the invention can be performed based on the chosen alternative)
Regarding Claim 11, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 4, wherein Kim further teaches when the first request comprises the target slice information, the UE policy assistance information sent by the first network function is associated with a slice corresponding to the target slice information, and the UE policy assistance information comprises at least one of the following: a URSP, a DNAI, a DNN, a service descriptor, or a route descriptor. (Examiner interpreted claim 4 to be the first request includes “target UE identifier”. This limitation further limits a non-chosen alternative and thus given no patentable weight, as the invention can be performed based on the chosen alternative)
Regarding Claim 12, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 4, wherein Kim further teaches when the first request comprises the target DNAI information, the UE policy assistance information sent by the first network function is associated with a DNAI corresponding to the target DNAI information, and the UE policy assistance information comprises at least one of the following: a URSP, slice information, a DNN, a service descriptor, or a route descriptor. (Examiner interpreted claim 4 to be the first request includes “target UE identifier”. This limitation further limits a non-chosen alternative and thus given no patentable weight, as the invention can be performed based on the chosen alternative)
Regarding Claim 13, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 4, wherein Kim further teaches when the first request comprises the target service descriptor information, the UE policy assistance information sent by the first network function is associated with a service descriptor corresponding to the target service descriptor information, and the UE policy assistance information comprises at least one of the following: a URSP, slice information, a DNN, or a route descriptor. (Examiner interpreted claim 4 to be the first request includes “target UE identifier”. This limitation further limits a non-chosen alternative and thus given no patentable weight, as the invention can be performed based on the chosen alternative)
Regarding Claim 14, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 4, wherein Kim further teaches when the first request comprises the target route descriptor information, the UE policy assistance information sent by the first network function is associated with a route descriptor corresponding to the target route descriptor information, and the UE policy assistance information comprises at least one of the following: a URSP, slice information, a DNN, or a service descriptor. (Examiner interpreted claim 4 to be the first request includes “target UE identifier”. This limitation further limits a non-chosen alternative and thus given no patentable weight, as the invention can be performed based on the chosen alternative)
Regarding Claim 17, Kim teaches A first network function, comprising: (Figure 8, illustrates V-PCF (i.e. first network function).
A memory storing computer-readable instructions; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer-readable instructions, wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor cause the processor to perform operations comprising: [0127], discloses PCF (Policy Control Function) is a node that controls the operator's policy. Examiner notes that a node such as a PCF that is able to control the operator’s policy, such as disclosed in [0157], must include a processor and memory for storing instructions for execution by the processor)
sending User Equipment (UE) policy assistance information to a second network function, (Figure 8 and [0220], discloses step 6, The V-PCF may send the notification of data change from the V-UDR to the H-PCF by invoking Npcf_UDR_DM_Notify. New service operation, Npcf_UDR_DM_Notify can be defined. According to the subscription in step 0b, updates, changes, etc. in EAS information occur, the V-PCF may notify it to the H-PCF (i.e. sending to a second network function). These notifications may include updated EAS information (i.e. UE policy assistance information). Therefore, the H-PCF may recognize the EAS information updated by the notification )
wherein the UE policy assistance information is used to generate, configure, or update a policy of a target UE. (Figure 8 and [0221], discloses step 7, The H-PCF may determine the URSP rules based on the data including EAS information. [0225], discloses determining the URSP rules by the H-PCF may be interpreted as setting URSP rules or configuring URSP rules or creating/updating/deleting URSP rules (i.e. generate/configure/update a policy). [0226], further discloses step 8, The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules to the UE (i.e. target UE) via the V-PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure for transparent UE Policy delivery)
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the UE policy assistance information comprises at least one of the following: a UE Route Selection Policy (USRP) of a visit network; a service descriptor of the URSP of the visit network; or a route descriptor of the USRP of the visit network.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lee discloses in Figure 2, [0032], and [0102]-[0107], transmitting an indicator requesting transmission or allowance of transmission of a visited user equipment route selection policy (V-URSP) (i.e. URSP of a visit network)) of the V-PCF to a home-policy control function (H-PCF) of a home PLMN. [0053]-[0054], further discloses different URSP rules for different PLMNs. For example, the visited PLMN and the home PLMN may have an indicator (traffic descriptor) (i.e. service descriptor)) indicating a same video reproducing application. However, route selection components (i.e. route descriptors) of the visited PLMN and home PLMN may be different from each other. [0070], further discloses URSP rule may include rule precedence, a traffic descriptor, and a route selection descriptor list.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim to include the above limitations as suggested by Lee, in order to prevent conflict of URSP rules to be applied by the UE as suggested in [0057] of Lee.
Claim 18 is rejected for having the same limitations as claim 2 above, except the claim is in network function apparatus format.
Regarding Claim 19, Kim teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor of a first network function, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: (Figure 8, illustrates V-PCF (i.e. first network function). [0127], discloses PCF (Policy Control Function) is a node that controls the operator's policy. Examiner notes that a node such as a PCF that is able to control the operator’s policy, such as disclosed in [0157], must include a processor and memory for storing instructions for execution by the processor)
sending User Equipment (UE) policy assistance information to a second network function, (Figure 8 and [0220], discloses step 6, The V-PCF may send the notification of data change from the V-UDR to the H-PCF by invoking Npcf_UDR_DM_Notify. New service operation, Npcf_UDR_DM_Notify can be defined. According to the subscription in step 0b, updates, changes, etc. in EAS information occur, the V-PCF may notify it to the H-PCF (i.e. sending to a second network function). These notifications may include updated EAS information (i.e. UE policy assistance information). Therefore, the H-PCF may recognize the EAS information updated by the notification )
wherein the UE policy assistance information is used to generate, configure, or update a policy of a target UE. (Figure 8 and [0221], discloses step 7, The H-PCF may determine the URSP rules based on the data including EAS information. [0225], discloses determining the URSP rules by the H-PCF may be interpreted as setting URSP rules or configuring URSP rules or creating/updating/deleting URSP rules (i.e. generate/configure/update a policy). [0226], further discloses step 8, The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules to the UE (i.e. target UE) via the V-PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure for transparent UE Policy delivery)
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the UE policy assistance information comprises at least one of the following: a UE Route Selection Policy (USRP) of a visit network; a service descriptor of the URSP of the visit network; or a route descriptor of the USRP of the visit network.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lee discloses in Figure 2, [0032], and [0102]-[0107], transmitting an indicator requesting transmission or allowance of transmission of a visited user equipment route selection policy (V-URSP) (i.e. URSP of a visit network)) of the V-PCF to a home-policy control function (H-PCF) of a home PLMN. [0053]-[0054], further discloses different URSP rules for different PLMNs. For example, the visited PLMN and the home PLMN may have an indicator (traffic descriptor) (i.e. service descriptor)) indicating a same video reproducing application. However, route selection components (i.e. route descriptors) of the visited PLMN and home PLMN may be different from each other. [0070], further discloses URSP rule may include rule precedence, a traffic descriptor, and a route selection descriptor list.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim to include the above limitations as suggested by Lee, in order to prevent conflict of URSP rules to be applied by the UE as suggested in [0057] of Lee.
Claim 20 is rejected for having the same limitations as claim 2 above, except the claim is in non-transitory CRM format.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim/Lee in view of US 2024/0333841 A1 to Settipalli et al. (hereinafter “Settipalli”)
Regarding Claim 15, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 1, wherein
Kim/Lee does not explicitly teach after the sending UE policy assistance information to a second network function, the policy processing method further comprises: receiving a second request sent by the second network function, wherein the second request is used to instruct the first network function not to send the UE policy assistance information to the second network function in the UE policy association creation process or the UE policy updating process.
However, the concept of a network function cancelling a subscription is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Settipalli discloses in Figure 2 and [0050]-[0052], step s220: receiving a subscription request from NF, step S210: sending a notification message from the CHF to the NF, indicating one or more charging triggers (i.e. sending assistance information), and step s230: checking whether an unsubscription request has been received (i.e. after the sending assistance information, receiving second request instructing the first NF not to send the assistance information) from the NF, and thereafter act accordingly by either sending yet another notification message to the NF (arrow 210), or by (if the unsubscription request has in fact been received) stop sending further notification messages to the NF (arrow 220).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim/Lee to include the above limitations as suggested by Settipalli, for improved flexibility and dynamic updates as indicated in [0009] of Settipalli
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim n view of US 2021/0314906 A1 to Matolia et al. (hereinafter “Matolia”)
Regarding Claim 16, Kim/Lee teaches The policy processing method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Kim/Lee does not explicitly teach receiving an update request sent by the second network function; and sending updated UE policy assistance information to the second network function based on the update request.
However, the concept of a on-demand updates are well known in the art. For example, Matolia, in Figure 8 and [0130]-[0140], At 814, a NF sends a data analytics subscription request to the NWDAF (i.e. receiving). At 816, the NWDAF derives analytics and at 818 responds to the NFs with the requested data analytics. Figure 9 and [0143]-[0152], further discloses an “on-demand” basis rather than as a subscription service. At 902, a NF sends an analytics information request message (i.e. update request) to the NWDAF for data analytics information. At 916, the NWDAF derives analytics and at 918 responds to the NFs with the requested data analytics (i.e. updated information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim/Lee to include the above limitations as suggested by Matolia, as allowing different ways for receiving assistance information allows for flexibility of the system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENKEY VAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477