DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu (CN 114381605 A, 2022) (the translation provided with the attached original document is referenced below).
Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches a method for manufacturing a battery material (Yu, [0056]-[0064]), comprising:
a preparation step for preparing a recovery object containing at least Li (Yu, [0057], waste lithium-ion battery positive and negative mixed black powder); and
a chlorination heating step of heating the recovery object together with a non-metal chlorine compound to produce LiCl (Yu, [0057], hydrogen chloride gas; LiCl is a solid product).
Regarding claim 2, Yu teaches the method according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the non-metal chlorine compound contains hydrogen chloride (Yu, [0057]).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Yu teaches the method according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the chlorination heating step comprises heating the recovery object at 1000°C (Yu, [0057]).
Regarding claim 4, Yu teaches the method according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the chlorination heating step comprises heating the recovery object under an inert atmosphere (Yu, [0057], under an argon protective atmosphere).
Regarding claim 5, Yu teaches the method of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the recovery object contains a lithium-nickel-manganese-cobalt composite oxide (Yu, [0032], [0054], [0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Yu teaches the method according to claim 1, as discussed above, further comprising a water dissolution step of immersing the recovery object after the chlorination heating step in water to dissolve LiCl in water to obtain an Li solution (Yu, [0058], water leaching giving elemental filtrate and CuCl residue; as LiCl is produced in accordance with Paragraph [0057], LiCl is in the elemental filtrate).
Regarding claim 7, Yu teaches the method according to claim 6, as discussed above, further comprising an Li crystallization step of precipitating an Li compound crystal from the Li solution (Yu, [0063], Li2CO3 is precipitated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 114381605 A, 2022) (the translation provided with the attached original document is referenced below), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brown (U.S. Patent No. 3,141,765 A, 1959).
Regarding claim 8, Yu teaches the method according to claim 6, as discussed above, wherein the recovery object contains Ni and Co (Yu, [0054], [0060]), but does not teach an NH3 leaching step of immersing a solid after the water dissolution step in an ammonia aqueous solution to obtain a metal solution containing at least one of Ni and Co. However, Yu’s method produces a solid Ni-Co alloy (Yu, [0060]), and Brown teaches that an Ni-Co alloy can be immersed in an ammonia aqueous solution to obtain a metal solution containing Ni and Co (Brown, Fig. 1, Col. 2, line 22 – Col. 3, line 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Yu’s method by incorporating an NH3 leaching step of immersing the Ni-Co alloy after the water dissolution step in an ammonia aqueous solution, as Brown teaches that a high nickel low-cobalt alloy from a smelting process can be efficiently extracted with ammonia and thereafter reduced to nickel and cobalt metals (Brown, Col. 2, lines 41-51) Further, Yu’s method is directed to achieving “effective separation of each valuable metal” (Yu, [0033]) but does not separate Ni from Co in its Ni-Co alloy (Yu, [0060]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have therefore been motivated to further process the Ni-Co alloy to achieve separation of Ni and Co and thereby acquire valuable metal products.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY JOHN BAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1736