DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on 05/19/2026, in which claims 1, 5 12, 16, 22, and 25-27 are amended, claims 4 and 15 are canceled, claims 28-29 are added, rejection of claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-14, 16-19 and 21-26 are traversed and claims 1-3, 5-14, and 16-29 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 11, 22, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Mishchenko et al. (US 11,922,144 B1, hereinafter referred as “Mishchenko”).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a control method for a projection device (106a) (title discloses Method for Controlling Projector), comprising:
sending an original instruction to a cloud server (104a) through a terminal device (102a) (¶0036 discloses when the voice assistant 102a receives the voice signal for powering on the Company A projector, the voice assistant 102a transmits the voice signal to the cloud service platform 104a);
inputting the original instruction and the rule instruction… through the cloud server (104a) (¶0011 and ¶0444 discloses the cloud service platform 104a may analyze the first control command CMD1 according to the first semantic analyzing program), wherein a rule instruction is stored in a storage device of the cloud server in advance (¶0035 and ¶0042-¶0043 discloses the cloud service platform 104a may store/record skill applications, a semantic analyzing program, pre-established CMD2 commands, and a look-up table/database);
in response to the original instruction corresponding to an operation of the projection device (106a) (¶0041 discloses the first control command CMD1 may correspond to the user's intent, i.e., the control operation (e.g., powering on, powering off, increasing/decreasing brightness, increasing/decreasing contrast ratio, starting on screen display (OSD), etc.)), generating a standard instruction according to the original instruction (¶0044 discloses the cloud service platform 104a may analyze the first control command CMD1 according to the first semantic analyzing program, acquire/retrieve or generate the corresponding second control command CMD2 according to the first control command CMD1)… and receiving the standard instruction through the cloud server (104a) to control the projection device (106a) according to the standard instruction (¶0045 discloses the cloud service platform 104a may transmit … the second control command CMD2 corresponding to ‘power on’ to the management server 108; ¶0047 discloses the management server 108 may… adjust the projector 106a as a first operating state (e.g., powering on, powering off, increasing/decreasing brightness, increasing/decreasing contrast ratio, starting OSD, etc.) according to the corresponding second control command CMD2); and
in response to the original instruction not corresponding to the operation of the projection device (106a), generating feedback information according to the original instruction… and sending the feedback information to at least one of the terminal device (102a) and the projection device (106a) through the cloud server (104a) (¶0046 discloses if the second control command CMD2 corresponding to the first control command CMD1 (e.g., turning on the light) input by the user is not present on the cloud service platform 104a, the cloud service platform 104a may control the voice assistant 102a to output/reply a response sentence of recognition failure (e.g., ‘Sorry, I don't know what you mean.’)).
Lin doesn’t disclose inputting the original instruction and a rule instruction into a natural language model; generating a standard instruction according to the original instruction and the rule instruction through the natural language model; and wherein the rule instruction is configured to limit the natural language model to merely output the standard instruction executable to the projection device; and generating feedback information according to the original instruction through the natural language model.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mishchenko discloses inputting the original instruction (col. 10, line 6 discloses user’s natural language input) and a rule instruction (col. 7, lines 53-57 and col. 8, lines 40-42 discloses external API/manifest description that governs which API functions to call) into a natural language model (col. 10, lines 1-10 discloses from the description of functions, the natural language model may select one or more of the functions which it may determine based on the desired external API, a natural language input from a user of the natural language model user interface, and information scraped from the manifest and/or the description of the particular web API (e.g., according to associations learned through training)); generating a standard instruction according to the original instruction and the rule instruction through the natural language model (col. 9, line 65 to col. 10, line 12 discloses the model selects a function based on both the natural-language input and the information obtained from the API/manifest description); and wherein the rule instruction is configured to limit the natural language model to merely output the standard instruction executable to the projection device (col. 5, lines 15-30, col. 9 line 65-col. 10, line 18 and claim 7 discloses supplying the descriptions of the permitted API functions through the system prompt, has the model select from those functions, and convert the selected function calls into executable requests by a processor); and generating feedback information according to the original instruction through the natural language model (col. 10, lines 20-31 and 43-65 discloses the computer-implemented method 100 may include transmitting, based on the accessing, a response message (e.g., based on a result from the particular external API) to the natural language model user interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin for the purpose of using natural language which reduces the learning curve for non-technical users.
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses the control method for the projection device (106a) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the step of sending the original instruction to the cloud server (104a) comprises: sending the original instruction to the projection device (106a) through the terminal device (102a) to send the original instruction to the cloud server (104a) through the projection device (106a) (¶0084 discloses the voice assistant 102a is integrated into the projector 106a and the projector 106a can thus integrally perform the operations originally respectively performed by the voice assistant 102a and the projector 106a of FIG. 1; and ¶0036 discloses when the voice assistant 102a receives the voice signal for powering on the Company A projector, the voice assistant 102a transmits the voice signal to the cloud service platform 104a).
Regarding claim 5, Lin discloses the control method for the projection device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the step of in response to the original instruction corresponding to the operation of the projection device comprises:
outputting the standard instruction (¶0044-¶0045 discloses Cloud Service Platform 104 a analyzes CMD1 and outputs/transmits corresponding second control command CMD2 to management server 108) and the feedback information corresponding to the standard instruction (¶0053-¶0054 and claim 4 discloses CMD2 for powering on results in feedback stating that the projector is powered on) according to the original instruction (¶0054 discloses the power on confirmation corresponds to the projector operating state produced by executing the command derived from CMD 1); and
sending the feedback information to the at least one of the terminal device (102a) and the projection device (106a) through the cloud server (104a) (¶0046 discloses if the second control command CMD2 corresponding to the first control command CMD1 (e.g., turning on the light) input by the user is not present on the cloud service platform 104a, the cloud service platform 104a may control the voice assistant 102a to output/reply a response sentence of recognition failure (e.g., ‘Sorry, I don't know what you mean.’)).
Lin doesn’t disclose outputting the standard instruction and the feedback information according to the original instruction and the rule instruction through the natural language model.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mishchenko discloses outputting the standard instruction and the feedback information according to the original instruction and the rule instruction (col. 10, lines 1-10 discloses from the description of functions, the natural language model may select one or more of the functions which it may determine based on the desired external API, a natural language input from a user of the natural language model user interface, and information scraped from the manifest and/or the description of the particular web API (e.g., according to associations learned through training)) through the natural language model (col. 10, lines 1-10 discloses based on the natural language input and manifest information, the NLM selects and generates a function call; and col. 10, lines 20-31 and 43-65 discloses the computer-implemented method 100 may include transmitting, based on the accessing, a response message (e.g., based on a result from the particular external API) to the natural language model user interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin for the purpose of using natural language which reduces the learning curve for non-technical users.
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses the control method for the projection device (106a) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the natural language model is a chatbot (¶0007 discloses an intelligent voice system and a method for controlling a projector by using the intelligent voice system).
Regarding claim 22, Lin discloses a projection device (106a), configured to receive a projector control code from a cloud server (¶0048-¶0049 discloses the management server 108 may generate a corresponding third control command CMD3 according to the second control command CMD2 and transmit the third control command CMD3 to the controller 106a1 of the projector 106a), wherein a rule instruction is stored in a storage device of the cloud server in advance (¶0035 and ¶0042-¶0043 discloses the cloud service platform 104a may store/record skill applications, a semantic analyzing program, pre-established CMD2 commands, and a look-up table/database), the projection device comprising:
a projection module (106a);
a processor coupled to the projection module (Fig. 1 and ¶0049 discloses the controller 106a1 includes, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), or another programmable microprocessor);
a communication interface (110) coupled to the processor and configured to connect to a cloud server (104a) (Fig. 1 and ¶0032 discloses an intelligent voice system 100 includes a voice assistant 102a, a cloud service platform 104a, a projector 106a, and a management server 108. The above devices may all be connected to each other via a network (Internet) 110), wherein the processor is configured to:
send an original instruction to the cloud server (104a) through the communication interface (¶0034 and ¶0036 discloses the voice assistant 102a transmits the voice signal to the cloud service platform 104a; and ¶0084 discloses voice assistant 102a is integrated into the projector 106a);
in response to the original instruction corresponding to an operation of the projection device (106a), receive a projector control code sent by the cloud server (104a) through the communication interface (110) (¶0041-¶0049 and ¶0084-¶0087 discloses CMD1 identifies operations such as power, brightness, contrast, or OSD. The cloud obtained CMD2, generates CMD3, and send CMD3 to the projector controller); and
control the projection module according to the projector control code (¶0049-¶0050 discloses controller 106a1 receives CMD3, adjust the projector, and generate CMD4 supplied to light-source device 106a2);
…wherein the projector control code is converted by the cloud server according to the standard instruction (¶0048 and ¶0084-¶0087 discloses Management Server 108 generates CMD3 according to CMD2. In Figure 7B Cloud Server 710 incorporates the Management Server functionality).
Lin doesn’t disclose wherein the original instruction and the rule instruction are input into a natural language model by the cloud server, a standard instruction is generated by the natural language model according to the original instruction and the rule instruction, and the rule instruction is configured to limit the natural language model to merely output the standard instruction executable to the projection device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mishchenko discloses wherein the original instruction (col. 10, line 6 discloses user’s natural language input) and a rule instruction (col. 7, lines 53-57 and col. 8, lines 40-42 discloses external API/manifest description that governs which API functions to call) are input into a natural language model by the cloud server (col. 7, lines 51-67 and col. 10, lines 1-10 discloses from the description of functions, the natural language model may select one or more of the functions which it may determine based on the desired external API, a natural language input from a user of the natural language model user interface, and information scraped from the manifest and/or the description of the particular web API (e.g., according to associations learned through training)), a standard instruction is generated by the natural language model according to the original instruction and the rule instruction (col. 9, line 65 to col. 10, line 12 discloses the model selects a function based on both the natural-language input and the information obtained from the API/manifest description), and the rule instruction is configured to limit the natural language model to merely output the standard instruction executable to the projection device (col. 5, lines 15-30, col. 9 line 65-col. 10, line 18 and claim 7 discloses supplying the descriptions of the permitted API functions through the system prompt, has the model select from those functions, and convert the selected function calls into executable requests by a processor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin for the purpose of using natural language which reduces the learning curve for non-technical users.
Regarding claim 24, Lin discloses the projection device (106a) as claimed in claim 22, wherein the processor is configured to: send the original instruction to the cloud server (104a) through the communication interface (110) (¶0036 discloses when the voice assistant 102a receives the voice signal for powering on the Company A projector, the voice assistant 102a transmits the voice signal to the cloud service platform 104a); and receive feedback information sent by the cloud server (104a) through the communication interface (110) (¶0046 discloses if the second control command CMD2 corresponding to the first control command CMD1 (e.g., turning on the light) input by the user is not present on the cloud service platform 104a, the cloud service platform 104a may control the voice assistant 102a to output/reply a response sentence of recognition failure (e.g., ‘Sorry, I don't know what you mean.’)).
Regarding claim 25, Lin discloses the projection device as claimed in claim 24, wherein the feedback information is generated according to the original instruction (¶0042-¶0046 discloses recognition failure response results from comparing CMD1 which is the original instruction with the supported CMD2 commands) and the rule instruction (¶0042-¶0043 discloses semantic analyzing program, lookup table and predefined CMD2 set function as command rules)…
Lin doesn’t disclose the feedback information is generated through the natural language model, and the natural language model is stored in the cloud server or connected to the cloud server through a wireless network.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mishchenko discloses the feedback information is generated through the natural language model (col. 10, lines 27-32 disclose transmitting the response message to the user may include summarizing payload contents received from the particular external API and generating (e.g., using the natural language model) and displaying natural language text (e.g., based on the payload contents) to the user via the natural language model user interface), and the natural language model is stored (col. 16, lines 40-54 discloses computer storage media can store data for a machine learning model) in the cloud server (col. 13, lines 25-42 discloses the operating environment 400 may include computing devices that are client server connected or connected within a cloud) or connected to the cloud server through a wireless network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin for the purpose of using natural language which reduces the learning curve for non-technical users.
5. Claim(s) 2, 12-16, 23 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Mishchenko and in further view of Faaborg et al. (US 2015/0261496 A1, hereinafter referred as “Faaborg”).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses the control method for the projection device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: …using the text instruction as the original instruction (¶0044 discloses convert the first control command CMD1, which is originally a voice signal, into a text file).
Lin as modified doesn’t disclose further comprising: converting a speech instruction into a text instruction through the terminal device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Faaborg discloses further comprising: converting a speech instruction into a text instruction through the terminal device (¶0081 discloses computing device 100 may or may not transcribe the speech into text. Computing device 100 may cause one of the display devices, such as presence-sensitive input display 105, projector 120, presence-sensitive display 128, or presence-sensitive display 132 to output a graphical element indicating that audio data is being received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Lin so that the users audio never leaves the device, reducing risk of misuse.
Regarding claim 12, Lin discloses a projection system, comprising:
a projection device (106a) (title discloses Method for Controlling Projector);
a cloud server (104a), configured to store a rule instruction in a storage device (¶0035 and ¶0042-¶0043 discloses the cloud service platform 104a may store/record skill applications, a semantic analyzing program, pre-established CMD2 commands, and a look-up table/database); and
a terminal device (102a) coupled to the cloud server (104a) and the projection device (106a) (¶0032 discloses an intelligent voice system 100 includes a voice assistant 102a, a cloud service platform 104a, a projector 106a, and a management server 108. The above devices may all be connected to each other via a network (Internet) 110) and configured to send an original instruction to the cloud server (104a) (¶0036 discloses when the voice assistant 102a receives the voice signal for powering on the Company A projector, the voice assistant 102a transmits the voice signal to the cloud service platform 104a),
wherein the cloud server (104a) is configured to input the original instruction (¶0011 and ¶0044 discloses the cloud service platform 104a may analyze the first control command CMD1 according to the first semantic analyzing program)…, in response to the original instruction corresponding to an operation of the projection device (106a), …generate a standard instruction according to the original instruction (¶0044 discloses the cloud service platform 104a may analyze the first control command CMD1 according to the first semantic analyzing program, acquire/retrieve or generate the corresponding second control command CMD2 according to the first control command CMD1), and the cloud server (104a) is configured to receive the standard instruction to control the projection device (106a) according to the standard instruction (¶0045 discloses the cloud service platform 104a may transmit … the second control command CMD2 corresponding to ‘power on’ to the management server 108; ¶0047 discloses the management server 108 may… adjust the projector 106a as a first operating state (e.g., powering on, powering off, increasing/decreasing brightness, increasing/decreasing contrast ratio, starting OSD, etc.) according to the corresponding second control command CMD2); and
in response to the original instruction not corresponding to the operation of the projection device (106a), …generate feedback information according to the original instruction, and at least one of the terminal device (102a) and the projection device (106a) is configured to receive… the feedback information (¶0046 discloses if the second control command CMD2 corresponding to the first control command CMD1 (e.g., turning on the light) input by the user is not present on the cloud service platform 104a, the cloud service platform 104a may control the voice assistant 102a to output/reply a response sentence of recognition failure (e.g., ‘Sorry, I don't know what you mean.’)).
Lin doesn’t disclose input the original instruction and a rule instruction into a natural language model; the natural language model is configured to generate a standard instruction according to the original instruction and the rule instruction; and wherein the rule instruction is configured to limit the natural language model to merely output the standard instruction executable to the projection device; and the natural language model is configured to generate feedback information according to the original instruction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mishchenko discloses input the original instruction (col. 10, line 6 discloses user’s natural language input) and a rule instruction (col. 7, lines 53-57 and col. 8, lines 40-42 discloses external API/manifest description that governs which API functions to call) into a natural language model (col. 10, lines 1-10 discloses from the description of functions, the natural language model may select one or more of the functions which it may determine based on the desired external API, a natural language input from a user of the natural language model user interface, and information scraped from the manifest and/or the description of the particular web API (e.g., according to associations learned through training)); the natural language model is configured to generate a standard instruction according to the original instruction and the rule instruction (col. 9, line 65 to col. 10, line 12 discloses the model selects a function based on both the natural-language input and the information obtained from the API/manifest description); and wherein the rule instruction is configured to limit the natural language model to merely output the standard instruction executable to the projection device (col. 5, lines 15-30, col. 9 line 65-col. 10, line 18 and claim 7 discloses supplying the descriptions of the permitted API functions through the system prompt, has the model select from those functions, and convert the selected function calls into executable requests by a processor); and the natural language model is configured to generate feedback information according to the original instruction (col. 10, lines 20-31 and 43-65 discloses the computer-implemented method 100 may include transmitting, based on the accessing, a response message (e.g., based on a result from the particular external API) to the natural language model user interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin for the purpose of using natural language which reduces the learning curve for non-technical users.
Lin as modified doesn’t disclose at least one of the terminal device and the projection device is configured to display the feedback information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Faaborg discloses at least one of the terminal device and the projection device is configured to display the feedback information (¶0014, ¶0082 and ¶0101 discloses in the event that an absence of a voice-initiated action has been determined by computing device 200, computing device 200 may cause graphical element 204-D to ‘shake’ as an indication that a voice-initiated action has not been determined from a voice input).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Lin for the purpose of avoiding ambiguity about whether a command was recognized or executed.
Regarding claim(s) 13, this/these system claim(s) has/have similar limitations as method claim(s) 2, and therefore rejected on similar grounds.
Regarding claim 14, Lin discloses the projection system as claimed in claim 12, wherein the terminal device (102a) is configured to send the original instruction to the projection device (106a), and the projection device (106a) is configured to send the original instruction to the cloud server (104a) (¶0084 discloses the voice assistant 102a is integrated into the projector 106a and the projector 106a can thus integrally perform the operations originally respectively performed by the voice assistant 102a and the projector 106a of FIG. 1; and ¶0036 discloses when the voice assistant 102a receives the voice signal for powering on the Company A projector, the voice assistant 102a transmits the voice signal to the cloud service platform 104a).
Regarding claim(s) 16, this/these system claim(s) has/have similar limitations as method claim(s) 5, and therefore rejected on similar grounds.
Regarding claim 23, Lin doesn’t disclose the projection device as claimed in claim 22, wherein the processor is configured to: convert a speech instruction into a text instruction and use the text instruction as the original instruction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Faaborg discloses wherein the processor (100) is configured to: convert a speech instruction into a text instruction and use the text instruction as the original instruction (¶0081 discloses computing device 100 may or may not transcribe the speech into text. Computing device 100 may cause one of the display devices, such as presence-sensitive input display 105, projector 120, presence-sensitive display 128, or presence-sensitive display 132 to output a graphical element indicating that audio data is being received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin so that the users audio never leaves the device, reducing risk of misuse.
Regarding claim 26, Lin discloses the projection system as claimed in claim 12, a terminal device (102a) configured to control a projection device (106a) (¶0036 and ¶0037 discloses control a projector using a voice assistant 102a), wherein the terminal device (102a) comprises:
in response to the original instruction corresponding to an operation of the projection device (106a) (¶0044 discloses the cloud service platform 104a may analyze the first control command CMD1 according to the first semantic analyzing program, acquire/retrieve or generate the corresponding second control command CMD2 according to the first control command CMD1), output a projector control code through the terminal device (102a) to the projection device (106a) to drive the projection device (106a) to execute an operation corresponding to the projector control code (¶0045 discloses the cloud service platform 104a may transmit … the second control command CMD2 corresponding to ‘power on’ to the management server 108; ¶0047 discloses the management server 108 may… adjust the projector 106a as a first operating state (e.g., powering on, powering off, increasing/decreasing brightness, increasing/decreasing contrast ratio, starting OSD, etc.) according to the corresponding second control command CMD2), wherein the projector control code corresponds to the original instruction (¶0047 discloses the management server 108 may… adjust the projector 106a as a first operating state (e.g., powering on, powering off, increasing/decreasing brightness, increasing/decreasing contrast ratio, starting OSD, etc.) and projection device (106a) information (¶0041 discloses the projector 106a has been registered on the management server 108 in advance based on the first alias AL1 and the unique identification information (e.g., a serial number) of the projector 106a.); and
in response to the original instruction not corresponding to the operation of the projection device, [relay] feedback information (¶0046 discloses if the second control command CMD2 corresponding to the first control command CMD1 (e.g., turning on the light) input by the user is not present on the cloud service platform 104a, the cloud service platform 104a may control the voice assistant 102a to output/reply a response sentence of recognition failure (e.g., “Sorry, I don't know what you mean.”)).
Lin doesn’t disclose a screen configured to display a control interface; and a processor coupled to the screen, wherein the processor is configured to: receive an original instruction through the control interface; and …display feedback information through the control interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Faaborg discloses a screen configured to display a control interface (Fig. 1 and ¶0023 discloses a user may provide input (e.g., one or more tap or non-tap gestures, etc.) at or near locations of UID 4 that correspond to locations of user interface 16 at which one or more graphical elements are being displayed as the user interacts with user interface 16 to command computing device 2 to perform a function); and a processor (40) coupled to the screen (Fig. 2 illustrates processor 40 coupled to user interface device 4), wherein the processor (40) is configured to: receive an original instruction through the control interface (Fig. 1 and ¶0023 discloses a user may provide input (e.g., one or more tap or non-tap gestures, etc.) at or near locations of UID 4 that correspond to locations of user interface 16 at which one or more graphical elements are being displayed as the user interacts with user interface 16 to command computing device 2 to perform a function); and …display feedback information through the control interface (¶0014, ¶0082 and ¶0101 discloses in the event that an absence of a voice-initiated action has been determined by computing device 200, computing device 200 may cause graphical element 204-D to ‘shake’ as an indication that a voice-initiated action has not been determined from a voice input).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Lin for the purpose of avoiding ambiguity about whether a command was recognized or executed.
6. Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Mishchenko and in further view of Paluch et al. (US 2014/0280983 A1, hereinafter referred as “Paluch”).
Regarding claim 6, Lin as modified doesn’t disclose the control method for the projection device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: scanning pairing information of the projection device through the terminal device to obtain projection device information of the projection device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Paluch discloses a scanning pairing information of the projection device (¶0028 discloses user device 320 can also be a digital cable card device, digital television, WebTV client, video game device, digital video disk (DVD) player, digital television streaming device, entertainment computer, and the like) through the terminal device (¶0029 discloses the control device 321 can be a mobile computing device such as a smart phone) to obtain projection device information of the projection device (¶0066 discloses output identification method 665b has been described in terms of an audio tone, similar methods wherein the audio tone is replaced with a bar code, quick response code (QRC), or other visual indicator can be used in place of the tone. The visual indicator can be displayed on a television or monitor attached the user device 320 and received on the control device 321 using a still or video camera; and ¶0046 discloses server 325 can attempt to identify one or more user devices 320 in proximity to the control device 321 for pairing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Lin for the purpose of allow a guest non-subscriber to access content from the subscriber's account on the guest's mobile device (¶0001).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses the control method for the projection device (106a) as claimed in claim 6, wherein the step of receiving the standard instruction through the cloud server (104a) further comprises: converting the standard instruction into a projector control code (¶0042 discloses the cloud service platform 104a may include a first semantic analyzing program and a plurality of second control commands CMD2. Each of the second control commands CMD2 is, for example, a control command (e.g., powering on, powering off, increasing/decreasing brightness, increasing/decreasing contrast ratio, starting OSD, etc.) pre-established by the manufacturer of the projector 106a) according to the projection device (106a) information through the cloud server (104a) (¶0041 discloses the projector 106a has been registered on the management server 108 in advance based on the first alias AL1 and the unique identification information (e.g., a serial number) of the projector 106a.).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses the control method for the projection device (106a) as claimed in claim 7, wherein the step of controlling the projection device (106a) according to the standard instruction further comprises: receiving the projector control code from the cloud server (104a) through the projection device (106a) (¶0045 discloses the cloud service platform 104a may transmit … the second control command CMD2 corresponding to ‘power on’ to the management server 108; ¶0047 discloses the management server 108 may… adjust the projector 106a as a first operating state (e.g., powering on, powering off, increasing/decreasing brightness, increasing/decreasing contrast ratio, starting OSD, etc.) according to the corresponding second control command CMD2), or receiving the projector control code from the cloud server (104a) through the terminal device (102a) and sending the projector control code to the projection device (106a).
7. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Mishchenko and in further view of Gagnon et al. (US 8,165,886 B1, hereinafter referred as “Gagnon”).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses the control method for the projection device (106a) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the step of generating the standard instruction according to the original instruction… comprises: in response… determining the original instruction being a single control instruction, generating the standard instruction corresponding to a single operation …(¶0091 discloses the management server 108 may access/control the projector 106a in response to the first alias AL1 and turn on a first application of the projector 106a according to the second control command CMD2).
Lin as modified doesn’t disclose a natural language model; and in response to the natural language model determining the original instruction being a multiple control instruction or a complex control instruction, generating the standard instruction corresponding to a plurality of single operations through the natural language model.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gagnon discloses a natural language model (col. 4, lines 44-47); and in response to the natural language model (col. 4, lines 44-47 discloses at least one of a temporal analysis, natural language analysis, and syntactic analysis may be used to determine a context of the speech input) determining the original instruction being a multiple control instruction (co. 28, line 67) or a complex control instruction (col. 16, lines 7-8), generating the standard instruction corresponding to a plurality of single operations through the natural language model (col. 28, line 66 to col. 29, line 14 discloses the system is designed to accept one command per input stream, and multiple commands are input one at a time, however it may be desirable to allow the user to input more than one command per input stream. Note that this differs from a single command with multiple parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Lin so that the user can issue one intent instead of multiple step-by-step commands.
8. Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Mishchenko, in further view of Faaborg and in further view of Paluch.
Regarding claim(s) 17-19, this/these system claim(s) has/have similar limitations as method claim(s) 6-8 respectively, and therefore rejected on similar grounds.
9. Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Mishchenko, in further view of Faaborg and in further view of Gagnon.
Regarding claim(s) 21, this/these system claim(s) has/have similar limitations as method claim(s) 10, and therefore rejected on similar grounds.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 9, 20, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. Claims 28-29 are allowed due to limitations “converting the standard instruction into a projector control code according to projection device information through the terminal device and outputting the projector control code to the projection device” as recited in claim 28 and similarly in claims 29.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims * have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRIYANK J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626