DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims will be examined as best understood.
Claim 1, 5, 11, 12, 13 recites the term “module”. It is not clear from the claims or the specification whether the module as used in the claims is a separate physical structure or a sub-division of internal circuits which perform these functions, or a defined software function.
claim 11 contains the acronym PID. Not clear from the claim or the specification what is the meaning of PID.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford (US 6650404) in view of Clark (US 11415682).
In regards to claim 1, Crawford discloses a LiDAR receiving control method, comprising:
determining an echo characteristic value of an echo signal of a response period (as seen at least in Fig. 2D, echo/return signal voltage characteristic value graphed);
determining a baseline voltage fluctuation based on the echo characteristic value (Crawford C2:10 “A noise detector measures a noise level associated with the detector signal, and the noise level establishes the threshold offset from the baseline”);
determining a target sampling threshold according to the baseline voltage fluctuation and a sampling threshold of the response period (C2:10 “A noise detector measures a noise level associated with the detector signal, and the noise level establishes the threshold offset from the baseline”); and
while Crawford discloses in Fig. 2D , dashed line, ref. 240A adjusted signal in the sampling threshold is adjusted for a period comprising a reflected signal and as weaker pulse, Crawford does not expressly disclose the limitation: adjusting a threshold of a next response period of a threshold processing module according to the target sampling threshold.
Clark teaches adjusting a threshold of a next response period of a threshold processing module according to the target sampling threshold (abstract “Example systems include signal detection electronics with dynamic thresholding and real-time calibration of timing electronics, in which the threshold level for signal detection is adjusted in response to both information acquired during calibration cycles and ambient light measured between active rangefinding cycles”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Crawford with Clark by providing the means for adjusting a threshold of a next response period of a threshold processing module according to the target sampling threshold in order allow the device to detect lower power signals.
In regards to claim 2, Crawford discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the echo characteristic value of the echo signal of the response period comprises:
obtaining a reference echo amplitude of all echo signals in the response period and a duty cycle of a positive pulse of the echo signal (as suggested in Fig. 2D of Crawford, return echo/signals graphed with regards to a response period),
wherein the all echo signals comprise at least one echo signal (as suggested in Fig. 2D of Crawford, return echo/signals graphed with regards to a response period); and determining the echo characteristic value of the echo signal based on the reference echo amplitude and the duty cycle (as suggested in Fig. 2D of Crawford, return echo/signals graphed with regards to a response period , as best understood duty cycle seen as “the percentage of time the pulse is high compared to the total period”).
In regards to claim 3, Crawford as combined discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the obtaining the reference echo amplitude of all echo signals in the response period comprises:
sampling all the echo signals according to a set sampling threshold to obtain a sampling result (as suggested in Fig. 2D of Crawford, return echo/signals graphed with regards to threshold level), and determining the reference echo amplitude according to the sampling result (as suggested in Fig. 2D of Crawford, return echo/signals peaks graphed/determined with regards to time); or
sampling all the echo signals according to a plurality of set sampling thresholds to obtain a plurality of sampling results, and determining the reference echo amplitude according to a weighted average of the plurality of sampling results.
In regards to claim 4, Crawford discloses the method according to claim 2, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the determining the echo characteristic value of the echo signal based on the reference echo amplitude and the duty cycle comprises: determining the echo characteristic value of the echo signal by using the following formula: E=Vp*Ton/T, wherein E is the echo characteristic value, Vp is the reference echo amplitude, Ton is a duration of the positive pulse of all the echo signals in the response period, T is the response period, and Ton/T is the duty cycle. However, Crawford discloses for an echo/return characteristic determining using returning signal voltage to determine signal peaks. Therefore, it would have been an obvious substitution of functional equivalents to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to substitute the means of Crawford to determine an echo/return characteristic value in order to determine peak returns from the detector, since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
In regards to claim 5, Crawford discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the baseline voltage fluctuation based on the echo characteristic value comprises:
obtaining a preset baseline voltage of a receiving module and an initial baseline voltage of a current response period (Crawford as suggested in Fig. 2D, solid, dotted and dashed lines indicating signal voltage); obtaining an end-of-period baseline voltage of the current response period based on the echo characteristic value and the initial baseline voltage (Crawford as suggested in Fig. 2D); and
determining the baseline voltage fluctuation based on the preset baseline voltage and the end-of-period baseline voltage of the current response period (Crawford as suggested in Fig. 2D, C2:1 discloses fluctuation/offset “a laser rangefinder receiver comprises a photoconductive detector; a high-pass element producing a detector signal; means for establishing a baseline for the detector signal; means for establishing a detection threshold, offset from the baseline by a threshold offset”).
In regards to claim 6, Crawford discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the obtaining the initial baseline voltage of the current response period comprises:
obtaining the end-of-period baseline voltage of a last response period (Crawford as suggested in Fig. 2D, solid, dotted and dashed lines indicating signal voltage), and determining that the end-of-period baseline voltage of the last response period is the initial baseline voltage of the current response period (Crawford C2:3 disclose “means for establishing a baseline for the detector signal”, which is indicated in at least Fig. 2D).
In regards to claim 7, Crawford discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the obtaining the end-of-period baseline voltage of the current response period based on the echo characteristic value and the initial baseline voltage comprises: obtaining a reference baseline voltage based on the echo characteristic value and the initial baseline voltage (Crawford C2:1 discloses fluctuation/offset “a laser rangefinder receiver comprises a photoconductive detector; a high-pass element producing a detector signal; means for establishing a baseline for the detector signal); and obtaining the end-of-period baseline voltage based on the reference baseline voltage (Crawford as suggested in Fig. 2D), and a recovery coefficient, wherein the recovery coefficient is a coefficient for recovering the baseline voltage to the preset baseline voltage after the baseline voltage is offset. (while Crawford does not expressly disclose a recovery coefficient, Crawford, in Figs. 2A-2D suggests recovery/return to the reference baseline).
In regards to claim 8, Crawford as combined discloses the method according to claim 7, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the obtaining the reference baseline voltage based on the echo characteristic value and the initial baseline voltage comprises: obtaining the reference baseline voltage by using the following formula: Vb1= -E+Vb0, wherein Vb1 is the reference baseline voltage, E is the echo characteristic value, and Vb0 is the initial baseline voltage. However, Crawford discloses for an echo/return characteristic determining using returning signal voltage to determine signal peaks. Therefore, it would have been an obvious substitution of functional equivalents to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to substitute the means of Crawford to determine an echo/return characteristic value in order to determine peak returns from the detector, since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
In regards to claim 9, Crawford discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the determining the baseline voltage fluctuation based on the preset baseline voltage and the end-of-period baseline voltage of the current response period comprises: determining that a difference between the end-of-period baseline voltage and the preset baseline voltage is the baseline voltage fluctuation (as suggested in Fig. 2D, solid, dotted and dashed lines indicating signal voltage and a difference in signal voltage between them).
In regard to claim 10, Crawford discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the target sampling threshold based on the baseline voltage fluctuation and the sampling threshold of the response period comprises: determining that a sum of the baseline voltage fluctuation and the sampling threshold of the response period is the target sampling threshold (Crawford C7:9 “The threshold voltage generated by the differential amplifier 110 is the sum of three components”).
In regards to claim 11, Crawford discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the adjusting the threshold of the next response period of the threshold processing module according to the target sampling threshold comprises: determining a PID parameter according to the target sampling threshold (Crawford Fig. 2D discloses peaks from echo, used as parameters); and determining a control signal for outputting the threshold of the next response period to the threshold processing module according to the PID parameter (Crawford as combined, Clark abstract discloses “the threshold level for signal detection is adjusted in response to both information acquired during calibration cycles and ambient light measured between active rangefinding cycles”).
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford in view of Clark in view of Zhang et al (US 11289873).
In regards to claim 12, Crawford discloses a LiDAR receiving control device, comprising:
While Crawford discloses the device is configured to determine: an echo characteristic value of an echo signal of a response period; a baseline voltage fluctuation based on the echo characteristic value; a target sampling threshold according to the baseline voltage fluctuation and a sampling threshold of the response period (detailed in claim 1 rejection);
Crawford does not expressly disclose the terminology of a first, second and third determining module respectively for each of the above functions. As a module is not defined as a physical division, it is viewed as separate functions operable by the device as a whole. Zhang teaches a plurality of modules for a Lidar system (as seen in Fig. 5, refs. 502, 510-512).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Crawford with Zhang by providing the device of Crawford comprises a first, second and third determining modules respectively to determine an echo characteristic value of an echo signal of a response period; to determine a baseline voltage fluctuation based on the echo characteristic value; to determine a target sampling threshold according to the baseline voltage fluctuation and a sampling threshold of the response period in order to provide separate functions within the device architecture which would not interfere with one another.
Crawford as combined does not expressly disclose: an adjusting module, configured to adjust a threshold of a next response period of a threshold processing module according to the target sampling threshold.
Clark teaches adjusting a threshold of a next response period of a threshold processing module according to the target sampling threshold (abstract “Example systems include signal detection electronics with dynamic thresholding and real-time calibration of timing electronics, in which the threshold level for signal detection is adjusted in response to both information acquired during calibration cycles and ambient light measured between active rangefinding cycles”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Crawford with Clark by providing the means for adjusting a threshold of a next response period of a threshold processing module according to the target sampling threshold in order allow the device to detect lower power signals.
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford in view of Clark in view of Zhang et al (US 11289873).
In regards to claim 13, Crawford discloses: wherein the LiDAR receiving control method comprises:
determining an echo characteristic value of an echo signal of a response period (as seen at least in Fig. 2D, echo/return signal voltage characteristic value graphed); determining a baseline voltage fluctuation based on the echo characteristic value (Crawford C2:10 “A noise detector measures a noise level associated with the detector signal, and the noise level establishes the threshold offset from the baseline”); determining a target sampling threshold according to the baseline voltage fluctuation and a sampling threshold of the response period (Crawford C2:10 “A noise detector measures a noise level associated with the detector signal, and the noise level establishes the threshold offset from the baseline”);
Crawford does not expressly disclose: adjusting a threshold of a next response period of a threshold processing module according to the target sampling threshold.
Clark teaches adjusting a threshold of a next response period of a threshold processing module according to the target sampling threshold (abstract “Example systems include signal detection electronics with dynamic thresholding and real-time calibration of timing electronics, in which the threshold level for signal detection is adjusted in response to both information acquired during calibration cycles and ambient light measured between active rangefinding cycles”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Crawford with Clark by providing the means for adjusting a threshold of a next response period of a threshold processing module according to the target sampling threshold in order allow the device to detect lower power signals.
While Crawford does not expressly disclose: a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores computer-executable instructions, and when the computer-executable instructions are executed by a computer device, the computer device performs a LiDAR receiving control method, Zhang teachers a Lidar device operated by a computer device on which computer-executable instructions executed (“may each be implemented by software, but may also be implemented in hardware, firmware, or any combination of software, hardware, and firmware”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Crawford with Zhang by providing the means for the computer-executable instructions to be executed by a computer device as is well known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure cited on PTO 892. The cited references display laser scanning devices which adjust the scanning device in response to previous scans.
/V.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642