DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2010/0086006 (“Higashi”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2006/0009823 (“Richardson”).
Claim 1
Higashi discloses a device comprising: an irradiation unit configured to periodically irradiate an object with light to heat the object (probe laser 105); a first temperature distribution acquisition unit configured to obtain a first temperature distribution of the object, the first temperature distribution being a temperature distribution of the object heated by the light of the first output power; a second temperature distribution acquisition unit configured to obtain a second temperature distribution of the object, the second temperature distribution being a temperature distribution of the object heated by the light of the second output power (paragraph [0017], temperature distribution profiles for each light intensity property x, y, z); and an identification unit configured to identify information about thermal conductivity and/or specific heat of the object based on the first temperature distribution and the second temperature distribution (paragraph [0066], thermal conduction analysis 220).
Higashi does not appear to explicitly disclose an output power switching unit configured to switch an output power of the light with which the object is irradiated by the irradiation unit at least between a first output power and a second output power, the first output power providing a first maximum output power during one period, the second output power providing a second maximum output power during one period.
Richardson discloses a laser system including a switch for selected output power (paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a switch for multiple output powers, as disclosed by Richardson, into the device of Higashi, such that an output power switching unit configured to switch an output power of the light with which the object is irradiated by the irradiation unit at least between a first output power and a second output power, the first output power providing a first maximum output power during one period, the second output power providing a second maximum output power during one period, for the purpose of providing controlled delivery of power to the laser (Richardson, paragraph [0020]).
Claim 3
Higashi in view of Richardson discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the identification unit is configured to: obtain a first maximum temperature distribution of the object based on the first temperature distribution, the first maximum temperature distribution being a distribution of maximum temperatures at respective locations on the object heated by the light of the first output power (Higashi, paragraph [0017], temperature distribution profiles for each light intensity property x, y, z); obtain a second maximum temperature distribution of the object based on the second temperature distribution, the second maximum temperature distribution being a distribution of maximum temperatures at respective locations on the object heated by the light of the second output power (Higashi, paragraph [0017], temperature distribution profiles for each light intensity property x, y, z); and identify the information about thermal conductivity and/or specific heat of the object based on the first maximum temperature distribution and the second maximum temperature distribution (Higashi, paragraph [0066], thermal conduction analysis 220).
Claim 4
Higashi in view of Richardson discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising a thermal diffusivity identification unit configured to identify information about thermal diffusivity of the object based on responses of changes over time in the temperature distribution of the object heated by the light of the first output power (Higashi, paragraph [0067], thermal diffusivity is directly correlated to thermal conductivity).
Claim 5
Higashi in view of Richardson discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising a specific heat identification unit configured to identify information about specific heat of the object based on the information about thermal conductivity of the object identified by the identification unit (Higashi, paragraph [0067]).
Claim 7
Higashi in view of Richardson discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the irradiation unit is configured to irradiate the object over a wider range than a region of the object in which the temperature distribution is measured, and the identification unit is configured to identify information about through-plane thermal conductivity of the object (Higashi, paragraph [0067], region size).
Claim 8
Higashi in view of Richardson discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the irradiation unit is configured to irradiate a region of the object extending in one direction on a surface of the object, and the identification unit is configured to identify information about in-plane thermal conductivity of the object (Higashi, paragraphs [0077-0080], heated output section 260).
Claim 9
Higashi in view of Richardson discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the irradiation unit is configured to switch between a first mode and a second mode, the first mode being a mode in which the irradiation unit irradiates the object over a wider range than a region of the object in which the temperature distribution is measured (Higashi, paragraph [0080], size of region), the second mode being a mode in which the irradiation unit irradiates a region of the object extending in one direction on a surface of the object, and the identification unit is configured to identify information about through-plane thermal conductivity of the object in the first mode and to identify information about in-plane thermal conductivity of the object in the second mode (Higashi, paragraph [0068], in plane thermal conductivity determined).
Claim 10
Higashi in view of Richardson discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the identification unit is configured to, based on the first temperature distribution and the second temperature distribution, calculate thermal conductivity of the object to identify information about fatigue of the object (Higashi, paragraph [0067], thermal conductivity determined).
Claim 11
Higashi discloses a method comprising: periodically irradiating an object with light to heat the object (probe laser 105); obtaining a first temperature distribution of the object, the first temperature distribution being a temperature distribution of the object heated by the light of the first output power; obtaining a second temperature distribution of the object, the second temperature distribution being a temperature distribution of the object heated by the light of the second output power (paragraph [0017], temperature distribution profiles for each light intensity property x, y, z); and identifying information about thermal conductivity and/or specific heat of the object based on the first temperature distribution and the second temperature distribution (paragraph [0066], thermal conduction analysis 220).
Higashi does not appear to explicitly disclose switching an output power of the light with which the object is irradiated at least between a first output power and a second output power, the first output power providing a first maximum output power during one period, the second output power providing a second maximum output power during one period, the second output power providing a second maximum output power during one period.
Richardson discloses a laser system including a switch for selected output power (paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a switch for multiple output powers, as disclosed by Richardson, into the device of Higashi, such as to switch an output power of the light with which the object is irradiated at least between a first output power and a second output power, the first output power providing a first maximum output power during one period, the second output power providing a second maximum output power during one period, for the purpose of providing controlled delivery of power to the laser (Richardson, paragraph [0020]).
Claim 13
Higashi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute functions of: periodically irradiating an object with light to heat the object (probe laser 105); obtaining a first temperature distribution of the object, the first temperature distribution being a temperature distribution of the object heated by the light of the first output power; obtaining a second temperature distribution of the object, the second temperature distribution being a temperature distribution of the object heated by the light of the second output power (paragraph [0017], temperature distribution profiles for each light intensity property x, y, z); and identifying information about thermal conductivity and/or specific heat of the object based on the first temperature distribution and the second temperature distribution (paragraph [0066], thermal conduction analysis 220).
Higashi does not appear to explicitly disclose switching an output power of the light with which the object is irradiated at least between a first output power and a second output power, the first output power providing a first maximum output power during one period, the second output power providing a second maximum output power during one period.
Richardson discloses a laser system including a switch for selected output power (paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a switch for multiple output powers, as disclosed by Richardson, into the device of Higashi, such as to switch an output power of the light with which the object is irradiated at least between a first output power and a second output power, the first output power providing a first maximum output power during one period, the second output power providing a second maximum output power during one period, for the purpose of providing controlled delivery of power to the laser (Richardson, paragraph [0020]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2010/0086006 (“Higashi”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2006/0009823 (“Richardson”), further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2020/0326247 (“Badarlis”).
Claim 2
Higashi in view of Richardson discloses the device according to claim 1.
Higashi in view of Richardson does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the identification unit is configured to: obtain a first temperature amplitude distribution of the object based on the first temperature distribution, the first temperature amplitude distribution being a temperature amplitude distribution of the object heated by the light of the first output power; obtain a second temperature amplitude distribution of the object based on the second temperature distribution, the second temperature amplitude distribution being a temperature amplitude distribution of the object heated by the light of the second output power; and identify the information about thermal conductivity and/or specific heat of the object based on the first temperature amplitude distribution and the second temperature amplitude distribution.
Badarlis discloses a device for measuring thermal property including determining temperature amplitude distribution.
It would have been obvious to have incorporated wherein the identification unit is configured to: obtain a first temperature amplitude distribution of the object based on the first temperature distribution, the first temperature amplitude distribution being a temperature amplitude distribution of the object heated by the light of the first output power; obtain a second temperature amplitude distribution of the object based on the second temperature distribution, the second temperature amplitude distribution being a temperature amplitude distribution of the object heated by the light of the second output power; and identify the information about thermal conductivity and/or specific heat of the object based on the first temperature amplitude distribution and the second temperature amplitude distribution, as disclosed by Badarlis, into the device of Higashi in view of Richardson, for the purpose of determining thermal conductivity using measurements with no ambiguity (Badarlis, paragraph [0045]).
Claim 6, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2010/0086006 (“Higashi”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2006/0009823 (“Richardson”), further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2009/0048788 (“Darerehbidi”).
Claim 6
Higashi in view of Richardson discloses the device according to claim 1.
Higashi in view of Richardson does not appear to explicitly disclose a fatigue information identification unit configured to identify information about fatigue of the object based on the information about thermal conductivity of the object identified by the identification unit.
Darerehbidi discloses fatigue life of an object measured by changes in thermal conductivity (paragraph [0064-0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein based on the first temperature distribution and the second temperature distribution, the calculating the thermal conductivity of the object is performed to identify information about fatigue of the object, as disclosed by Darerehbidi, into the device of Higashi in view of Richardson, for the purpose of determining a remaining fatigue life of a component (Darerehbidi, paragraph [0066]).
Claim 12
Higashi in view of Richardson discloses the method according to claim 11.
Higashi in view of Richardson does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein based on the first temperature distribution and the second temperature distribution, the calculating the thermal conductivity of the object is performed to identify information about fatigue of the object.
Darerehbidi discloses fatigue life of an object measured by changes in thermal conductivity (paragraph [0064-0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein based on the first temperature distribution and the second temperature distribution, the calculating the thermal conductivity of the object is performed to identify information about fatigue of the object, as disclosed by Darerehbidi, into the device of Higashi in view of Richardson, for the purpose of determining a remaining fatigue life of a component (Darerehbidi, paragraph [0066]).
Claim 14
Higashi in view of Richardson discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13.
Higashi in view of Richardson does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein based on the first temperature distribution and the second temperature distribution, the calculating the thermal conductivity of the object is performed to identify information about fatigue of the object.
Darerehbidi discloses fatigue life of an object measured by changes in thermal conductivity (paragraph [0064-0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein based on the first temperature distribution and the second temperature distribution, the calculating the thermal conductivity of the object is performed to identify information about fatigue of the object, as disclosed by Darerehbidi, into the device of Higashi in view of Richardson, for the purpose of determining a remaining fatigue life of a component (Darerehbidi, paragraph [0066]).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853