DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (11,478,692) in view of Tsai (5,820,114).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 9-10, 14-17, and 18-19, Sandusky discloses a truck assembly for a skateboard and a method of operation thereof, comprising:
a baseplate (102);
a hanger (104) movably disposed relative to the baseplate; and
a dampening mechanism (164) configured to dampen movement of the hanger relative to the baseplate, wherein the dampening mechanism includes:
a compression spring (164) or a resilient material (e.g., cast polyurethane, see Col. 7, lines 61-64) to provide resistance during movement of the hanger relative to the baseplate.
While Sandusky discloses that the dampening mechanism can be a spring or a resilient material, it does not disclose a spring at least partially molded within a resilient material.
Paton teaches a composite dampener including a coil spring that is combined with an elastomeric body, such that the coil spring (14) is embedded within the resilient material (10) with the space between the coils filled with the resilient material (see Fig. 4) and define a substantially cylindrical configuration with a hollow interior (see Fig. 1). The presence of the spring-surrounding resilient material inherently providing addition damping characteristics in addition to the resilient material being configured to eliminate “dead coils” which supplements the resistance provided by the spring (see e.g., Col. 2, lines 3-5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the truck assembly of Sandusky to use a composite spring as that taught by Paton to arrive at the claimed device with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes a simple substitution of one known element (a coil spring or a elastomeric element) for another (a spring having both a coil spring and an elastomeric element) to obtain predictable results (e.g., a spring that is stronger over a shorter length).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 5, Sandusky further discloses that the skateboard truck is in a channel configuration wherein the baseplate (102) has two spaced kingpin cups (124, 126) with the hanger (104/200) at least partially disposed therebetween, the hanger (200, see Fig. 17 - denoted 202) including a cylindrical extension (202) protruding therefrom wherein a coil spring (164) fits over the extension.
-----
Regarding claims 8 and 20, as discussed above with respect to claim 1, Sandusky discloses that the dampening mechanism for a skateboard truck can be formed from a polyurethane resilient material, but while Paton teaches that a dampening composite spring can be formed by embedding a coil spring within a tubular elastomeric body, it does not specifically recite that the elastomeric material is polyurethane.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the truck assembly of the Sandusky combination to a urethane resilient material as part of dampening mechanism as taught by Sandusky to arrive at the claimed device/method with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes a simple substitution of one known element (a urethane elastomeric element) for another (a generic elastomeric element) to obtain predictable results (e.g., a composite spring that uses a material known to be used in skateboard truck dampers).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The independent claims have been amended to narrow the scope of the claim to eliminate the previous alternative language. The amendment, while overcoming the prior art rejection based on the now-deleted alternative limitations required additional searching and review of the prior art resulting in the above prior art §103 rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE CLEMMONS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618