DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe (US 2019/0344398).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses a polishing apparatus comprising: a polishing table (4) configured to support a polishing pad (3; note that the polishing pad is not positively recited as a part of the claimed apparatus) having a through-hole (12); a polishing head (6) configured to press a workpiece (5) against the polishing pad (fig 1, [0037]); an optical film-thickness measuring system having an optical sensor head (including light emitting and receiving elements detailed below) mounted to the polishing table (as shown in fig 1); a transparent-liquid inlet passage (unlabeled passage between elements 14 and 12) configured to supply a transparent liquid to the through-hole (described [0041]); and a light-emitting-side transparent-liquid outlet passage (unlabeled passage on left side containing element 10) and a light-receiving-side transparent-liquid outlet passage (unlabeled passage on right side containing element 11) communicating with the through-hole (as shown in fig 1, these passages provide an outlet for fluid from the through hole 12), wherein the optical sensor head has a light-emitting surface (end surface of element 10) configured to emit light obliquely upward ([0041]; fig 1) and a light-receiving surface (end surface of element 11) configured to receive reflected light from the workpiece ([0041]), and the light-emitting surface faces the light-emitting-side transparent-liquid outlet passage (faces top of diagonal passage on left side in fig 1), and the light-receiving surface faces the light-receiving-side transparent-liquid outlet passage (faces top of diagonal passage on right side).
Regarding claims 2-6, Watanabe further discloses the light-emitting surface and the light-receiving surface face obliquely upward (as shown in fig 1); the light-emitting surface is located in the light-emitting-side transparent-liquid outlet passage, and the light-receiving surface is located in the light-receiving-side transparent-liquid outlet passage (fig 1; elements 10 and 11 in their respective passages); the transparent-liquid inlet passage (central passage connected to element 14) is located between the light-emitting-side transparent-liquid outlet passage and the light-receiving-side transparent-liquid outlet passage (as shown in fig 1); the light-emitting-side transparent-liquid outlet passage and the light-receiving-side transparent-liquid outlet passage are arranged symmetrically with respect to the transparent-liquid inlet passage (symmetrical configuration of passages shown in fig 1); and the transparent-liquid inlet passage is coupled to a transparent-liquid supply source (14) which is a pure-water supply source or a chemical-liquid supply source ([0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kimba (US 2019/0022820).
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe teaches all the elements of claim 1 as described above. Watanabe does not teach an ultrasonic vibrator configured to apply ultrasonic waves to the transparent liquid flowing through the transparent-liquid inlet passage. Kimba teaches a polishing apparatus including an ultrasonic vibrator (80) configured to apply ultrasonic waves to a transparent liquid flowing through a transparent-liquid inlet passage ([0039]; fig 3; in inlet 7). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an ultrasonic vibrator configured to apply ultrasonic waves to the transparent liquid flowing through the transparent-liquid inlet passage of Watanabe in order to clean the walls of the inlet passage as taught by Kimba ([0039]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hirokawa (US 2007/0042679).
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe teaches all the elements of claim 1 as described above. Watanabe does not teach a flow-rate regulation valve coupled to the transparent liquid inlet passage, or an operation controller configured to instruct the flow rate regulation valve to supply the transparent fluid at a particular flow rate. Hirokawa teaches a polishing apparatus including a flow-rate regulation valve (56) coupled to a transparent-liquid inlet passage (42; fig 1); and an operation controller (28) configured to control operation of the flow-rate regulation valve ([0110], controller 28 controls entire system), the operation controller being configured to: instruct the flow-rate regulation valve to supply transparent liquid to the through-hole at a first flow rate when the workpiece is located over the through-hole during polishing of the workpiece (high and low flow rates described [0114], [0125]; fluid supply during workpiece over through hole described in [0144] and fig 8); and instruct the flow-rate regulation valve to supply the transparent liquid to the through-hole at a second flow rate lower than the first flow rate when the workpiece is not located over the through-hole during polishing of the workpiece ([0146], [0169]; low flow rate when substrate is not blocking the through hole). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a flow rate regulation valve and controller configured to instruct the valve to supply the transparent fluid at a first flow rate when the workpiece is located over the through-hole during polishing, an a second flow rate lower than the first flow rate when the workpiece is not located over the through hole during polishing the workpiece of Watanabe, as this allows transparency to be maintained while reducing water usage as taught by Hirokawa ([0144-0147]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other similar apparatuses with optical film thickness measurement systems are cited.
/MARCEL T DION/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723