DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a distribution determination unit” in claim 1.
“an extraction unit” in claim 1.
“a measurement value determination unit” in claims 1-2 and 7-8,
“a candidate determination unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sai (US 2010/0070208 A1) (hereinafter Sai).
Regarding claim 1, Sai teaches a level meter that measures a level of an object stored in a container [tank level measurement system] (see Abstract, Para [0019]), the level meter comprising:
a transmission/reception unit including a transmission circuit that transmits a measurement signal for measuring the level and a reception circuit that receives a reflection signal due to reflection of the measurement signal [antenna 108 emits electromagnetic waves or other wireless signals towards the material 104 and receives reflected signals from the material 104; each sensor 106a-106b includes any suitable structure for generating signals for wireless transmission and for receiving reflected signals] (Para [0020], see Figs. 1-2);
a distribution determination unit that determines a reception intensity distribution of the reflection signal with respect to a distance from the level meter based on a reception intensity of the reflection signal received by the reception circuit [data acquisition 212 and signal processing 214; range profile of received wireless signals; can plot a magnitude of the received wireless signals along a time/range axis] (Para [0046-0048], see Figs. 2-7);
an extraction unit that extracts a peak position and a peak intensity from the reception intensity distribution determined by the distribution determination unit [selecting/classifying at least some of the detected reflection peaks] (Para [0054] see Abstract, Claim 1);
a measurement value determination unit that determines a measurement value related to a distance or the level of the object based on the peak position extracted by the extraction unit [identifying a level of the material of the tank using at least one of the tracked reflection peaks] (see Abstract, Claim 1);
a candidate determination unit that extracts a plurality of combinations of the peak position and the peak intensity by the extraction unit from the reception intensity distribution determined by the distribution determination unit and determines the combination as a plurality of peak candidates [Hierarchical Decision Making algorithm for peak detection, identification and tracking; reflection peaks are identified and classified; different peak candidates such as pre-identified level peaks, bottom peaks, obstruction peaks (Para [0054-0064]); and
a display configured to display information on the measurement value and the reception intensity corresponding to each of the plurality of peak candidates determined by the candidate determination unit [information (such as the determined material level) can be displayed via display unit 216; reflections identified can be displayed as a series of pulsed peaks] (Para [0029, 0034], see Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 2, Sai as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein when any one of a plurality of the peak candidates displayed on the display is selected as a target peak, the measurement value determination unit removes the peak candidate other than the target peak from the reception intensity distribution and determines a distance or the level of the object based on the target peak to be the measurement value related to the object [dynamic screening of the detected reflection peaks; locks out reflections that are not relevant; identifying a level of the material using at least one of the tracked reflection peaks] (Para [0055-0064], see Fig. 4, Claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Sai as applied to claim 2 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein after the target peak is selected, the display displays information on the measurement value and the reception intensity corresponding to the target peak as the peak candidate [information (such as the determined material level) can be displayed via display unit 216; reflections identified can be displayed as a series of pulsed peaks] (Para [0029, 0034], see Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 4, Sai as applied to claim 2 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein after the target peak is selected, information on the target peak can be erased [computer readable program code capable of deleted information] (Para [0011, 0080-0081]).
Regarding claim 5, Sai as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the display displays a stability of the reception intensity when displaying the information on the measurement value and the reception intensity corresponding to each of a plurality of the peak candidates [in range profile 300, reflections identified can be displayed as a series of pulsed peaks (which can be considered as indicative of signal stability)] (Para [0029, 0034], see Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 7, Sai as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein after the target peak is selected, diagnosis regarding a measurement environment is performed based on the target peak and the reception intensity distribution, and the measurement value determination unit executes optimization of a setting necessary for determining a measurement value regarding a distance or the level of the object according to a result of the diagnosis [HDM algorithm can identify a target peak under various interferences, such as high-mode interferences in stillpipes, bottom reflections, obstruction reflections, power on/off, loading in/off, antenna/internal EMC reflections, different types of material, and small tank dimension; self-adaptive detection and tracking for optimizing level detection] (Para [0024, 0078, 0046-0076]).
Regarding claim 8, Sai as applied to claim 7 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the measurement value determination unit executes optimization of a setting necessary for determining a measurement value related to a distance or the level of the object by applying a predetermined setting corresponding to a classification of a result of the diagnosis [HDM algorithm can identify a target peak under various interferences, such as high-mode interferences in stillpipes, bottom reflections, obstruction reflections, power on/off, loading in/off, antenna/internal EMC reflections, different types of material, and small tank dimension; self-adaptive detection and tracking for optimizing level detection; filtering peaks associated with a distance greater than a specified maximum distance] (Para [0024, 0078, 0046-0076], see Claims 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sai, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Turcotte et al. (US 2018/0238997 A1) (hereinafter Turcotte).
Regarding claim 6, Sai as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein after the target peak is selected, diagnosis regarding a measurement environment is performed based on the target peak and the reception intensity distribution [HDM algorithm can identify a target peak under various interferences, such as high-mode interferences in stillpipes, bottom reflections, obstruction reflections, power on/off, loading in/off, antenna/internal EMC reflections, different types of material, and small tank dimension; self-adaptive detection and tracking for optimizing level detection] (Para [0024, 0078, 0046-0076]). Sai fails to teach wherein the display displays a suggestion message regarding the measurement environment of the level according to a result of the diagnosis. Turcotte teaches a level meter comprising a display with a user interface for displaying status information (Para [0039]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Sai with Turcotte such that the display displays a suggestion message regarding the measurement environment of the level according to a result of the diagnosis, in order to inform the user of the status.
Regarding claim 9, Sai as applied to claim 1 teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein a question regarding a measurement condition of the level is displayed on the display, and optimization of a setting necessary for determining a measurement value regarding a distance or the level of the object is executed based on an answer input to the question. Turcotte teaches a level meter comprising a user interface for entering parameters with a keypad and displaying user and status information (Para [0039]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Sai with Turcotte such that a question regarding a measurement condition of the level is displayed on the display, and optimization of a setting necessary for determining a measurement value regarding a distance or the level of the object is executed based on an answer input to the question, in order to allow a user to input desired parameters for determining the level.
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855