DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 7/26/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendments
Applicants 7/26/2024 preliminary amendment to amend the Specification is acknowledged. Applicants 11/1/2024 preliminary amendment to amend the Specification and Claims is acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions & Claims’ Status
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and Species 1 in the reply filed on 9/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the product claims of Group I and the method claims of Group II are not independent or distinct. This is not found persuasive because, as stated in the requirement for restriction, the method claims of Group II necessitate the use of heating for separation of the adhesive layer, while the product claims of Group II could have used any means of separation (like etching or laser ablation) or the adhesive parts could have been formed separately. The need to search for the specific separation process of heating is therefore a serious search and examination burden over just having to look for two separate adhesive parts.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6 and 21-24 and Claim 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention Group II and Species 2, respectively, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/17/2026.
Claims 1-6 and 11-24 are currently pending, with Claims 1-5, 11-15, and 17-20 currently being examined as a result of Claims 6, 16, and 21-24 being withdrawn due to restriction election. Claims 1-6 and 11-24 have been amended. No claims have been newly added or cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re Claim 13, in line 2 “the semiconductor device” should be “the first semiconductor device” for proper antecedent basis.
Re Claim 15, in line 4 it is unclear what surface “the other surface of the main body” is referring to (improper antecedent basis). For the purposes of examination, “one surface of the main body” in line 3 and “the other surface of the main body” in line 4 will be interpreted as “a first surface of the main body” and “a second surface of the main body”, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 11, 13-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al (US 2023/0060115 A1, hereafter Park).
Re Claim 1, Park discloses a semiconductor device structure (FIG. 7I, with reference to FIG. 1C; [0081]), comprising:
a carrier (10; [0071]);
a first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I; [0076]) and a second semiconductor device (200A, right portion in FIG. 7I; [0076]) being separately from each other and located on the carrier (10; [0076]); and
a first adhesive part (300A, left portion in FIG. 7I; [0076]) and a second adhesive part (300A, right portion in FIG. 7I; [0076]) separated from each other ([0076]), and the first adhesive part (300A, left portion in FIG. 7I) located between the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) and the carrier (10; [0076]), and the second adhesive part (300A, right portion in FIG. 7I) located between the second semiconductor device (200A, right portion in FIG. 7I) and the carrier (10; [0076]);
wherein, in a top view (FIG. 1C; [0035]), the first adhesive part (300A, left portion in FIG. 7I) comprises a first outer contour surrounding the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I; [0035]), and the first outer contour comprises a round corner (FIG. 1C; [0035]).
Re Claim 3, Park discloses the semiconductor device structure according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein, in a cross-sectional view (FIG. 7I), the first adhesive part (300A, left portion in FIG. 7I) comprises:
an overflow part (300A, portion not under 200A and to the right of 200A; [0076]) protruding from a first outermost edge of the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I, rightmost edge; [0076]); and
a filling part (300A, portion under 200A; [0076]) located between the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) and the carrier (10; [0076]); wherein the overflow part (300A, portion not under 200A and to the right of 200A) comprises a maximum thickness larger than a smallest thickness of the filling part (300A, portion under 200A; [0076]).
Re Claim 4, Park discloses the semiconductor device structure according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein in a cross-sectional view (FIG. 7I), the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) comprises a first outermost edge (220, rightmost sidewall of first semiconductor device, see FIG. Z1 below; [0076]), and the first adhesive part (300A, left portion in FIG. 7I) has a curved side (“curved side”, see FIG. Z1 below; [0076], portion curving around first outermost edge) corresponding to the first outermost edge (220, rightmost sidewall of first semiconductor device; [0076]), and a virtual extension line (VEL, see FIG. Z1 below) of the first outermost edge (220, rightmost sidewall of first semiconductor device) extending toward the carrier (10) locates within the curved side (“curved side”; [0076], see FIG. Z1 below).
FIG. Z1: Annotated/zoomed-in version of FIG. 7I of Park
Re Claim 5, Park discloses the semiconductor device structure according to Claim 4, while further disclosing wherein the curved side (“curved side”; [0076]) of the first adhesive part (300A, left portion in FIG. 7I) is recessed toward the carrier (10; [0076], see FIG. Z2 below).
FIG. Z2: Annotated/zoomed-in version of FIG. 7I of Park
Re Claim 11, Park discloses the semiconductor device structure according to Claim 3, while further disclosing wherein the overflow part (300A, portion not under 200A and to the right of 200A) covers a part of the first outermost edge (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I, rightmost edge; [0076], in the horizontal direction parallel to top surface of carrier 10).
Re Claim 13, Park discloses the semiconductor device structure according to Claim 1, while further disclosing the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) comprises a sharp corner corresponding to the round corner of the first adhesive part (300A, left portion in FIG. 7I; FIG. 1C; [0076]).
Re Claim 14, Park discloses the semiconductor device structure according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) comprises a first outermost edge (220, leftmost portion, left edge, see FIG. Z3 below for example; [0035]) and a second outermost edge (220, leftmost portion, right edge, see FIG. Z3 below for example; [0035]) connecting to the first outermost edge (220, leftmost portion, left edge, by intervening top edge; [0035]), and the second outermost edge (220, leftmost portion, right edge) comprises a first slope, and the second outermost edge comprises a second slope greater than the first slope (220, leftmost portion, left edge; [0035], by nature of being curved edges with flipped matching curvatures, slope closest to vertical can
be compared to slope farthest from vertical).
FIG. Z3: Annotated/zoomed-in version of FIG. 4B of Park
Re Claim 15, Park discloses the semiconductor device structure according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) comprises a main body (201; [0031]) and an electrode structure (205; FIG. 4B; [0049]), and the electrode structure (205) is disposed on one surface of the main body (201, top surface in FIG. 4B; [0049]), and the first adhesive part (300A, left portion in FIG. 7I) is disposed on the other surface of the main body (201, bottom surface in FIG. 4B; [0049]).
Re Claim 17, Park discloses the semiconductor device structure according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein the first outer contour (of 300A, left portion in FIG. 7I) has 3-6 round corners (FIG. 1C; [0076]).
Re Claim 18, Park discloses the semiconductor device structure according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein in a top view (FIG. 1C), the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) comprises a rectangular shape (FIG. 1C; [0040]) and a diagonal length of the rectangular shape is larger than a shortest distance between the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) and the second semiconductor device (200A, right portion in FIG. 7I; [0076], by nature of the horizontal length of the first semiconductor device in FIG. 7I being larger than the shortest distance between the first and second semiconductor device in FIG. 7I, as the diagonal length would be longer than the horizontal length).
Re Claim 20, Park discloses the semiconductor device structure according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein the structure comprises a polymer layer (103; [0025]) between the first adhesive part (300A, left portion in FIG. 7I) and the carrier (10; FIG. 1B; [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Jang et al (US 2021/0111140 A1, hereafter Jang).
Re Claim 2, Park discloses the semiconductor device structure according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) comprises a projected area ranging from 50 um2 to 5000 um2.
However, Jang teaches a semiconductor device structure (FIG. 20; [0112]) wherein the first semiconductor device (200, left portion in FIG. 20; [0033]) comprises a projected area (of 360 on carrier C; [0109]) ranging from 50 um2 to 5000 um2 ([0047], taking diameter of 10 um).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure according to Claim 1 with the limitations taught by Jang to specify the diameter of the conductive bump to predictably ensure sufficient width for secure connection to the underlying semiconductor device with spacing accounting for multiple vias as taught by Jang ([0047]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Chang et al (US 2024/0128218 A1, hereafter Chang).
Re Claim 12, Park discloses the semiconductor device structure according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) comprises a bottom surface including a plurality of depression areas facing the carrier (10).
However, Chang teaches wherein the first semiconductor device (FIG. 9; [0037]-[0039]) comprises a bottom surface (114, bottom surface; [0015]) including a plurality of depression areas (114, areas with reduced thickness relative to surrounding areas of peak thickness; [0015]) facing the carrier ([0015]; bottom surface of 114 is facing downward, while Park teaches the carrier is below the first semiconductor device).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure according to Claim 1 with the limitations taught by Chang to utilize a passivation layer (Chang: 114) as part of the first semiconductor device (Park: 200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) to protect and electrically isolate underlying layers, formed with depressions to spatially accommodate the connection pads as taught by Chang ([0015]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, as applied to Claim 18, in view of Yew et al (US 2023/0395519 A1, hereafter Yew).
Re Claim 19, Park discloses the semiconductor device structure according to Claim 18, while further teaching wherein the shortest distance between the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) and the second semiconductor device (200A, right portion in FIG. 7I) is around 30-60 microns (FIG. 1C, taking d2 and multiplying by 3 to get distance from 200S to 100S, then doubling due to the first/second semiconductor devices being next to each other in FIG. 7I; [0041]).
Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the shortest distance between the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) and the second semiconductor device (200A, right portion in FIG. 7I) is 1/20 to 1/5 of the diagonal length of the first semiconductor device (200A, left portion in FIG. 7I).
However, Yew teaches a semiconductor device comprising a semiconductor device (FIG. 7A; [0064]) with an edge length around 300 microns ([0064]).
Park and Yew together teach wherein the shortest distance between the first semiconductor device (Park: 200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) and the second semiconductor device (Park: 200A, right portion in FIG. 7I) is 1/20 to 1/5 of the diagonal length of the first semiconductor device (Park: 200A, left portion in FIG. 7I) because taking the diagonal of a semiconductor device with a side length around 300 microns will yield around 424 microns, which satisfies the range limitation with a shortest distance of 30-60 microns between the first/second semiconductor devices.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure according to Claim 18 with the limitations taught by Yew to specify the semiconductor device’s dimensions as predictable dimensions when forming a semiconductor device with several metal pads/bumps connecting to a separate underlying semiconductor device as taught by Yew ([0064]).
Conclusion
/COLIN RUSSELL MCCUTCHEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892